Do three months of unpaid work or lose your dole: Warning to young jobless in benefit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭xDramaxQueenx

why drop it once the person gets to 24? plenty of older benefit cheats too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It is actually a good idea, young people need to gain experience for their CVs and they're working in charitable organisations and stuff rather than Tesco

Seems like it wouldn't be too difficult to implement either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

why drop it once the person gets to 24? plenty of older benefit cheats too.

There are no benefit cheats anyone not working can't work.Nobody wants to live on a pittance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Why can't we do this here to try and shift some benefit cheats?

If a job is worth doing, it's worth getting paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

kneemos wrote: »
    There are no benefit cheats anyone not working can't work.Nobody wants to live on a pittance.

You can't be that naive, can you ? If I understand your poorly constructed sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Culleeo

We have the future Taoiseach amongst us.

Vote this man in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Overflow wrote: »
    You can't be that naive, can you ? If I understand your poorly constructed sentence.

Why do people in glass houses throw stones? :rolleyes:

If I understand you right you'r jumping on the Bandwagon and ignoring the fact that when we had jobs for everyone,everyone worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

If a job is worth doing, it's worth getting paid for.

Tell that to degree-holding journalism interns that need to work years before their first paid salary - nothing gets handed to you on a plate anymore, unless you're on benefits of course.

If sitting around and not looking for a job is worth being paid for, I'd prefer some enforced community service for those who aren't showing any initiative in their unemployment. If you're getting paid from people's taxes and not looking for a job whatsoever, you deserve a kick up the ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

If I understand you right you'r jumping on the Bandwagon and ignoring the fact that when we had jobs for everyone,everyone worked.

That's hilarious !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

Yeah, hence the 0.0% unemployment during the boom...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

No they didn't, and your ignoring the fact that in families with children, living on the pittance is the same as living on the pittance of a minimum wage.

ceegee wrote: »
    Yeah, hence the 0.0% unemployment during the boom...

Pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Who will mind the children of the single mothers?

samina wrote: »
    No they didn't, and your ignoring the fact that in families with children, living on the pittance is the same as living on the pittance of a minimum wage.

They're not dole cheats,they're just looking after thier famlies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Hypothetical case.

What if a family of five lived on your street. Mammy, Daddy and three young kids. Mammy has a nice 4x4 Daddy has a BMW and a small van for his cleaning business. Only the van is taxed and none of them have an NCT.

So far this year the family have been on two foreign holidays and the Dads been away for a couple of weekends with the lads.

Daddy is drawing the dole for himself and his dependants and has been since before the Celtic tiger crash.

Is he a dole cheat?. Hypothetically of course.

We were talking about work shy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Stimpyone wrote: »
    Hypothetical case.

What if a family of five lived on your street. Mammy, Daddy and three young kids. Mammy has a nice 4x4 Daddy has a BMW and a small van for his cleaning business. Only the van is taxed and none of them have an NCT.

So far this year the family have been on two foreign holidays and the Dads been away for a couple of weekends with the lads.

Daddy is drawing the dole for himself and his dependants and has been since before the Celtic tiger crash.

Is he a dole cheat?. Hypothetically of course.

With three kids, and this arsenal of vehicles, I'd say they're more than likely drug dealers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

Hooray, looks like we're getting the generic dole thread.

In reply to the OP I can't see why someone who has never paid a stamp and is not in any form of training wouldn't benefit from work experience.
    What about topping up the Dole of someone under 21 if they do 20 hours a week voluntary work?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

work for 3months unpaid ? me bollochs id go out and beg rather then do that

saiint wrote: »
    work for 3months unpaid ? me bollochs id go out and beg rather then do that

It's not quite unpaid when the state is supporting you though. Maybe just earning a crust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Call me old fashioned but I believe that if you do an honest days work you should be paid for it. Forcing people to do unpaid work amounts to slavery and it further depresses the economy as there is no incentive to provide paying jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

How is this article relevant to Ireland, this is being implemented in London.

Call me old fashioned but I believe that if you do an honest days work you should be paid for it. Forcing people to do unpaid work amounts to slavery and it further depresses the economy as there is no incentive to provide paying jobs.

I'd agree, but on the other hand should someone who has never worked at least display a willingness to work before they can register as unemployed?
    There's litter to be picked, old people to help with shopping, various other community based voluntary work that people could do. I'm unemployed myself at the moment and find joining the queue to sign on soul destroying.

you get paid your dole if you work
    you don't get paid your dole if you don't work

=> paid work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

It's not unpaid work.

It's not slavery.

Instead of the Government paying people to do nothing all day they're paying them to work.

How the flying **** is that slavery. People need to stop living in benefit-land where the dole is a career choice that everyone is entitled to. The world doesn't owe anyone anything and if the taxpayer is going to feed, clothe and house you then why the hell shouldn't you work for it.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Clearly living on a different planet...

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Clearly living on a different planet...

Steer clear of the cliches bud.I think it makes perfect sense to have people work for the dole,even people on the dole would jump at the chance,just look at the waiting list for C.E. schemes.Logistically you would be dealing with a mammonth work force though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Short-term unemployment benefits are too low in Irl, lower than the USA (50% of former wages), Germany (approx 60-67% of former wages), and many other European countries. So JSB should be increased here, not cut.

However, the EU/IMF are correct to focus on the open-ended benefits that don't reduce with LT unemployment. After 1yr in Germany, the payment is 359pm or 83pw, plus health ins, plus housing benefit. After 99 wks in the USA, unemployment payments finish.

So we should abolish JSA ("the dole"), and instead offer jobs to the long-term unemployed. There is plenty of work to be done. I suggest 250pw. This may actually cost more than the current system, but will give the dignity of work.

Geuze wrote: »
    Short-term unemployment benefits are too low in Irl, lower than the USA (50% of former wages), Germany (approx 60-67% of former wages), and many other European countries. So JSB should be increased here, not cut.

However, the EU/IMF are correct to focus on the open-ended benefits that don't reduce with LT unemployment. After 1yr in Germany, the payment is 359pm or 83pw, plus health ins, plus housing benefit. After 99 wks in the USA, unemployment payments finish.

So we should abolish JSA ("the dole"), and instead offer jobs to the long-term unemployed. There is plenty of work to be done. I suggest 250pw. This may actually cost more than the current system, but will give the dignity of work.

Good idea.