Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

NukaCola wrote: »
    Ye are getting pretty precious about a fairly harmless jibe lads now in all fairness.

If this guy is agreeing with you, honestly, you need to be thinking what about what your posting.....

Im agreeing with the small handful of postrrs who actually havent theit heads in the clouds when it comes to the current stste of this once great club

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Melion your facination with lloyd is embarrassing to be honest

Why so? I didn't bring him up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Melion your facination with lloyd is embarrassing to be honest

Your the one thanking all his posts :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Im agreeing with the small handful of postrrs who actually havent theit heads in the clouds when it comes to the current stste of this once great club

:pac: nice try.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Please stop taking heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Haha. You're awful at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,913 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Mr Alan wrote: »
    He's not anti Rodgers'. He just doesn't think it's gonna work out. There's a difference. Llyod will be delighted if Rodgers' works wonders with us.

I stand by my opinion that Rodger's appointment equates to a huge step back in the stature of the club. I also stand by the fact if he was the guy you were bringing in it simply wasn't correct to get rid of Kenny.

Brendan Rodgers is an irrelevance in many respects. The problems the club has and the factors that will decide its success or failure in the future are bigger than him. Much bigger than him.
    So FSG will deliver a profitably run business, that finishes mid table year in, year out. AWESOME.

Kenny was too ambitious. Bringing in a well spoken, media savvy second car salesman makes a lot of sense in that context.

And yeah, he has needed to shut the **** up more since he got the job. A lot of the spiel coming through the club's media channels has been nauseating to be honest. Win games, get respect. Words are cheap, always have been and always will be.

That's where I am. I make no apologies for being extremely bearish on our current prospects and will be absolutely delighted over the ****ing moon if I'm wrong.

Loyd called him a second hand car salesman.....give me a break Al.
    He's a disgrace IMO

I don't find your opinion particularly relevant.
    Melion wrote: »
    Oh come on Al, he called him a used car salesman. It's easy to do what he has done, if BR fails he can say he was right, if BR succeeds he can say he's happy to be wrong. Its bull and I'm surprised more people havent seen through it.

I was massively positive right to the bitter end of Rafa and Kenny's reigns. I'm not playing some complex game of emotional hedging. I believed that sticking with Benitez and Dalglish were more right than the alternatives all the way past their sacking.

I am a supporter. I just don't buy into the majority opinion all the time, and refuse to accept that there are ways we "should" look at things at any one time.

Brendan Rodgers needs to win loads of football matches. If he does I'll be ****ing delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,814 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Have to say was fairly pessimistic going into todays game, especially when Lucas had to come off after 2 minutes, but what a performance, such a shame we couldn't get the 3 points but plenty of encouraging signs. Sterling looked great, kept his width, knew when to dribble and when to pass, put in a great cross for Borini in the first half, a really exciting prospect. Allen looks a super player too, so composed on the ball, a trait you don't often see in players from this part of the world. I'm always a bit skeptic of Shelvey, and particularly after his poor performance on Thursday, but he was very good today so credit where it's due, didn't look out of his depth at all. Couldn't decide what to make of Borini either, worked very hard and done a decent job but feel he could have had a goal and done a few things a bit better, quite a good game from him without being anything special.

Overall I believe Rodgers will be successful here, but I don't think it will be easy this year, we are going to make a lot of mistake and lose a lot of points, but in the long term I think we will be all the better for it. Great to see him give the likes of Sterling, Coates and Shelvey chances in such big games. Really looking forward to seeing Sahin and Assaidi in this team now, and to see if we bring any other new faces in before the window closes. Where do people think Henderson stands at the minute? When Rodgers came in I thought Henderson would do well with this style of football, but at the minute he seems to be behind Lucas, Gerrard, Allen, Sahin and Shelvey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

For me this guy was easily MOTM.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    He's not anti Rodgers'. He just doesn't think it's gonna work out. There's a difference. Llyod will be delighted if Rodgers' works wonders with us.

I stand by my opinion that Rodger's appointment equates to a huge step back in the stature of the club. I also stand by the fact if he was the guy you were bringing in it simply wasn't correct to get rid of Kenny.

Brendan Rodgers is an irrelevance in many respects. The problems the club has and the factors that will decide its success or failure in the future are bigger than him. Much bigger than him.
    So FSG will deliver a profitably run business, that finishes mid table year in, year out. AWESOME.

Kenny was too ambitious. Bringing in a well spoken, media savvy second car salesman makes a lot of sense in that context.

And yeah, he has needed to shut the **** up more since he got the job. A lot of the spiel coming through the club's media channels has been nauseating to be honest. Win games, get respect. Words are cheap, always have been and always will be.

That's where I am. I make no apologies for being extremely bearish on our current prospects and will be absolutely delighted over the ****ing moon if I'm wrong.

Loyd called him a second hand car salesman.....give me a break Al.
    He's a disgrace IMO

I don't find your opinion particularly relevant.
    Melion wrote: »
    Oh come on Al, he called him a used car salesman. It's easy to do what he has done, if BR fails he can say he was right, if BR succeeds he can say he's happy to be wrong. Its bull and I'm surprised more people havent seen through it.

I was massively positive right to the bitter end of Rafa and Kenny's reigns. I'm not playing some complex game of emotional hedging. I believed that sticking with Benitez and Dalglish were more right than the alternatives all the way past their sacking.

I am a supporter. I just don't buy into the majority opinion all the time, and refuse to accept that there are ways we "should" look at things at any one time.

Brendan Rodgers needs to win loads of football matches. If he does I'll be ****ing delighted.

In what areas do you think Kenny is stronger than Rodgers in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Kenny was to ambitious? That's a good one. You know your a mid-table club when 8th place is being ambitious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭PRAF

Have to say was fairly pessimistic going into todays game, especially when Lucas had to come off after 2 minutes, but what a performance, such a shame we couldn't get the 3 points but plenty of encouraging signs. Sterling looked great, kept his width, knew when to dribble and when to pass, put in a great cross for Borini in the first half, a really exciting prospect. Allen looks a super player too, so composed on the ball, a trait you don't often see in players from this part of the world. I'm always a bit skeptic of Shelvey, and particularly after his poor performance on Thursday, but he was very good today so credit where it's due, didn't look out of his depth at all. Couldn't decide what to make of Borini either, worked very hard and done a decent job but feel he could have had a goal and done a few things a bit better, quite a good game from him without being anything special.

Overall I believe Rodgers will be successful here, but I don't think it will be easy this year, we are going to make a lot of mistake and lose a lot of points, but in the long term I think we will be all the better for it. Great to see him give the likes of Sterling, Coates and Shelvey chances in such big games. Really looking forward to seeing Sahin and Assaidi in this team now, and to see if we bring any other new faces in before the window closes. Where do people think Henderson stands at the minute? When Rodgers came in I thought Henderson would do well with this style of football, but at the minute he seems to be behind Lucas, Gerrard, Allen, Sahin and Shelvey.

Hendo seems to be down the pecking order right now. Without any insider knowledge, I'd guess that while Rodgers likes his attitude and work rate, he is looking for him to make some big changes to his game. At the moment he is neither a dynamic, attacking, dangerous CAM or a savvy, confident, composed DM.

The bad news for him is that Sahin will take another place and also Shelvey seems to have leapfrogged him in the race to be 2nd choice. The good news is that its a long season, he'll most likely get a good few chances to impress, and he can presumably learn a lot from working with Allen and Sahin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

Am I dreaming or is there rumours of west ham bidding 2million for Joe Cole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

My Ratings for Liverpool today

Reina - 6
    he was steady apart from Man city's 1st goal didnt have too make many saves
    Kelly - 5
    he made a poor mistake for Toure's goal.Isn't good going forward at all.
    Coates - 7
    first 20 minutes he was very nervous.But settled after & had a good 2nd half
    Skrtel - 7.5
    was superb throughout the game before his mistake for Tevez's goal
    Johnson - 7
    linked up well with Sterling & defended well against Milner who caused him no trouble
    Shelvey - 7.5
    was excellent after coming on for Lucas.His passing was much improved
    Gerrard - 7
    much improved display from Gerrard.But tends to hurry things at times needs more composure
    Allen - 8.5
    just the type of midfielder needed.Great accurate passes & very good positionly for interceptations too.Great composure on the ball too.Looks like he could be a great buy.
    Sterling - 7.5
    He was excellent.Great pace & some excellent balls into the box.He has also improved alot tactically
    Suarez - 7.5
    started of lively but seemed to rush things in the final.His free kick gave him a confidence boost & he was terrific for the last 25 mins
    Borini - 6.5
    Has a great attitude.Takes up some great positions too but looks a bit lost on the wing.Would like to seem him interchange with Suarez more

PRAF wrote: »

Hendo seems to be down the pecking order right now. Without any insider knowledge, I'd guess that while Rodgers likes his attitude and work rate, he is looking for him to make some big changes to his game. At the moment he is neither a dynamic, attacking, dangerous CAM or a savvy, confident, composed DM.

The bad news for him is that Sahin will take another place and also Shelvey seems to have leapfrogged him in the race to be 2nd choice. The good news is that its a long season, he'll most likely get a good few chances to impress, and he can presumably learn a lot from working with Allen and Sahin.

There will loads of game time for Henderson in the EL and the cups.

Good option to have.

Even if we had to pay them £2m it would be good value.

In a bidding war with QPR apparently :pac: I would say it will work out that Joe will accept a much reduced contract for three years with some club and we will supplement his wages with the fee similar to Aquilani.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

MD1990 wrote: »
    My Ratings for Liverpool today

Reina - 6
    he was steady apart from Man city's 1st goal didnt have too make many saves

I wouldn't say Reina was steady tbh. He was grand when the ball wasn't in the air, but I think he caught one cross in the whole game. He came for quite a few and got nowhere near them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Some people around here are in serious denial. If it was said to you 3 years ago, that in 3 years time we would have as manager, the man who has just been sacked by a team at the bottom of the championship, there is no doubt in my mind you would be calling for the owners to be fked out on their arse before it came to that.

What he did at Swansea changes things slightly, that is all it does. Im almost certain, having seen what he did at Swansea, that he had more converts to this job, if, and its a big if, there was a DOF in place alongside him. He doesnt, all we have signed so far is 2 lads he probably had in his phonebook and another lad who's manager was in his phonebook. Thats grand, will it take us to the next level?. How big is his phonebook and how much sh1te can drip from Tom Werner before some people get it?. It has nothing to do with Rodgers the man, all criticisms are directed through him but at the owners. I like Rodgers and i have no issue with what Lloyd says either.

I dont want to be here in another 3 years, 3 years filled with mediocre results with fancy diplomatic bollo*ks dripping from the owners. If i had a look into my crystal ball and told ye our manager in 3 years would be Keith John Hill (google) what would ye think?. Progress?. Challenging for the league title?.

I hope Rodgers does very well. I dont think we will go anywhere under him but i hope we do. I also hope fans see through this sh1te that comes from our owners and get a grasp of the bigger picture.

We have probably doubled our turnover since David Moores, yet we are still offering new players wages similar to what the players got under Moores 10 years ago. The business wasnt under threat under Moores so what is the story with wages?.

Wake up people, its not a question of prudence, its more related to honesty (We want to increase wages- Tom Werner) and competence in regard to what these owners think they can achieve and what they can actually achieve. We have signed 4 players this summer, 3 of them combined get less than Ashley Young and the other one we have to give back in 9 months (he is probably on Bellamy's wages). Ambition?, i dont see it from the owners.

Despite this, i will be fully behind the team, like i was under Moores, doesnt mean im a dissenting heretic wanting to be proved right by bad results. The lack of progress that some think will come from things currently is an observation more than a 'desire' to be proved right. Folk need to be able to distinguish between things before engaging in the 'you are anti Rodgers' spiel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Re: this new documentary. While it will be really interesting to see the goings on at the club, I really have reservations about the whole thing. For example, surely Sterling isn't going to be happy for footage of him getting a scolding from his boss being broadcast around the world?

daithijjj wrote: »
    Some people around here are in serious denial. If it was said to you 3 years ago, that in 3 years time we would have as manager, the man who has just been sacked by a team at the bottom of the championship, there is no doubt in my mind you would be calling for the owners to be fked out on their arse before it came to that.

What he did at Swansea changes things slightly, that is all it does. Im almost certain, having seen what he did at Swansea, that he had more converts to this job, if, and its a big if, there was a DOF in place alongside him. He doesnt, all we have signed so far is 2 lads he probably had in his phonebook and another lad who's manager was in his phonebook. Thats grand, will it take us to the next level?. How big is his phonebook and how much sh1te can drip from Tom Werner before some people get it?. It has nothing to do with Rodgers the man, all criticisms are directed through him but at the owners. I like Rodgers and i have no issue with what Lloyd says either.

I dont want to be here in another 3 years, 3 years filled with mediocre results with fancy diplomatic bollo*ks dripping from the owners. If i had a look into my crystal ball and told ye our manager in 3 years would be Keith John Hill (google) what would ye think?. Progress?. Challenging for the league title?.

I hope Rodgers does very well. I dont think we will go anywhere under him but i hope we do. I also hope fans see through this sh1te that comes from our owners and get a grasp of the bigger picture.

We have probably doubled our turnover since David Moores, yet we are still offering new players wages similar to what the players got under Moores 10 years ago. The business wasnt under threat under Moores so what is the story with wages?.

Wake up people, its not a question of prudence, its more related to honesty (We want to increase wages- Tom Werner) and competence in regard to what these owners think they can achieve and what they can actually achieve. We have signed 4 players this summer, 3 of them combined get less than Ashley Young and the other one we have to give back in 9 months (he is probably on Bellamy's wages). Ambition?, i dont see it from the owners.

Despite this, i will be fully behind the team, like i was under Moores, doesnt mean im a dissenting heretic wanting to be proved right by bad results. The lack of progress that some think will come from things currently is an observation more than a 'desire' to be proved right. Folk need to be able to distinguish between things before engaging in the 'you are anti Rodgers' spiel.

So basically Rodgers needs a bigger phonebook.

A wheelbarrow of phonebooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,913 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

djPSB wrote: »
    In what areas do you think Kenny is stronger than Rodgers in?

Winning a trophy last season, having the ability to win league titles, achieving a rather wonderful turnaround after taking over from Hodgson in January 2011.

During the calendar year 2011 Dalglish won more games at the top level than Brendan Rodgers has his entire career. I am consistently baffled at how people are so quick to buy into him as a nailed on cert if 'he gets time'. He has potential maybe, but it's hope rather than expectation if you're being positive.

Suarez : "I told you I should take it" :cool:

scaled.php?server=833&filename=tumblrm9dl5qg73d1qajs5g.jpg&res=landing

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I've re-watched the goals a few times. On the first one I think Sterling is to slow is getting back to defend and is beaten a bit to easily by Tevez, he struggles to even break his stride. Also I'm not to sure but I think I Reina actually shouts out "Pepe" just before Skrtel heads it. But he has already jumped for it so I'm not sure there is much he can do. Kelly is flat-footed and ball just bounces of his leg, still should have re-acted quicker though.

Second goal is interesting. Skrtel will obviously get the blame from most people but I feel for him. He's a right footed player on the left side of defence so his confidence in his left foot probably isn't great. Johnson stays hugging the touchline and seems to push up to far for Sktrel to squeeze a pass through Silva(I think). Shlvey comes deep but then just stands there and walks and doesn't bother giving Skrtel the chance to pass, really poor play there. Sterling is the only one who made an effort for Skrtel but he was well marked. Allen also broke further up field when he should have stay closer to Tevez. Even if Skrtel turns, looks up a see's Tevez he is still under huge pressure to do something with the ball.

Re: this new documentary. While it will be really interesting to see the goings on at the club, I really have reservations about the whole thing. For example, surely Sterling isn't going to be happy for footage of him getting a scolding from his boss being broadcast around the world?

Yeah when I put a WOW at the end of my post earlier it was in relation to the fact I was really surprised at the kind of access it seemed to have with regards stuff. Don't really feel great about having dirty laundry aired in public between the manager and players. Still it's from the Hardknocks crowd and I believe the club have final say on anything that's included.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Winning a trophy last season, having the ability to win league titles, achieving a rather wonderful turnaround after taking over from Hodgson in January 2011.

During the calendar year 2011 Dalglish won more games at the top level than Brendan Rodgers has his entire career. I am consistently baffled at how people are so quick to buy into him as a nailed on cert if 'he gets time'. He has potential maybe, but it's hope rather than expectation if you're being positive.
    Dalglish signings were terrible though
    Carroll 35m
    Henderson 20m
    Downing 20m
    Adam 8m
    wasting that money has really sent the club backwards

opr wrote: »
    Suarez : "I told you I should take it" :cool:

scaled.php?server=833&filename=tumblrm9dl5qg73d1qajs5g.jpg&res=landing

Opr

I was roaring at Suarez to get away from it, with the way his finishing was lately.

But he came up trumps. It's odd that he has such good technique for free kicks, but it lets him down at times in general play.

I've re-watched the goals a few times. On the first one I think Sterling is to slow is getting back to defend and is beaten a bit to easily by Tevez, he struggles to even break his stride. Also I'm not to sure but I think I Reina actually shouts out "Pepe" just before Skrtel heads it. But he has already jumped for it so I'm not sure there is much he can do. Kelly is flat-footed and ball just bounces of his leg, still should have re-acted quicker though.

Second goal is interesting. Skrtel will obviously get the blame from most people but I feel for him. He's a right footed player on the left side of defence so his confidence in his left foot probably isn't great. Johnson stays hugging the touchline and seems to push up to far for Sktrel to squeeze a pass through Silva(I think). Shlvey comes deep but then just stands there and walks and doesn't bother giving Skrtel the chance to pass, really poor play there. Sterling is the only one who made an effort for Skrtel but he was well marked. Allen also broke further up field when he should have stay closer to Tevez. Even if Skrtel turns, looks up a see's Tevez he is still under huge pressure to do something with the ball.

Tevez is a tank.

Sterling is a boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Re: this new documentary. While it will be really interesting to see the goings on bat the club, I really have reservations about the whole thing. For example, surely Sterling isn't going to be happy for footage of him getting a scolding from his boss being broadcast around the world?
    I for one can't wait to wstch it with a bucket of pop corn. Seems like a stupid yhing for the club to be doing. Makes yhe place into a circus or something. Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

opr wrote: »
    Yeah when I put a WOW at the end of my post earlier it was in relation to the fact I was really surprised at the kind of access it seemed to have with regards stuff. Don't really feel great about having dirty laundry aired in public between the manager and players. Still it's from the Hardknocks crowd and I believe the club have final say on anything that's included.

Opr

I hope the players have given the ok too. Sterling in that clip for example.