Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    i remember there was a pour on a few years ago and i used to get terrrible heartburn from it, its since gone off the market but it was awful

What do ye use now Whelan? Closomectin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

had vet out today, calf coming backwards and upside down, fair play vet got calf out alive, cow is massive simm..mental..she was locked into gate otherwise she would have killed all round her, after spending half hr there trying to get calf out from her and cant, definitely her last calf before culling..

I suppose if you had a calf upside down and backwards you mightn't be in the best of form! Locking her in the gate is like trapping her.
    I have a charlois due to calf shortly and I know when we put her in the gate she will roar like a spanish bull fighter had stuck his sword in her.. a deep bellow/roar that comes from somewhere. Hope to f**k it won't be complicated this time her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Figerty wrote: »
    had vet out today, calf coming backwards and upside down, fair play vet got calf out alive, cow is massive simm..mental..she was locked into gate otherwise she would have killed all round her, after spending half hr there trying to get calf out from her and cant, definitely her last calf before culling..

I suppose if you had a calf upside down and backwards you mightn't be in the best of form! Locking her in the gate is like trapping her.
    I have a charlois due to calf shortly and I know when we put her in the gate she will roar like a spanish bull fighter had stuck his sword in her.. a deep bellow/roar that comes from somewhere. Hope to f**k it won't be complicated this time her.
    To be fair we didn't lock her head till it looked like she would burst out of the little crush type enclosure, there is a skulling gate at the end but i prefer not to use it as cows usually go down when you lock their heads, calf died later on today, disappointing after getting her out alive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

To be fair we didn't lock her head till it looked like she would burst out of the little crush type enclosure, there is a skulling gate at the end but i prefer not to use it as cows usually go down when you lock their heads, calf died later on today, disappointing after getting her out alive

Sickener. That's a pity after all the hard work.

I notice a few more departed these fair shores.

Good luck BDee1 Atilathehun and Red menace.

We'll be opening a book on who's next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

To be fair we didn't lock her had till it looked like she would burst out of the little crush type enclosure, there is a skulling gate at the end but i prefer not to use it as cows usually go down when you lock their heads, calf died later on today, disappointing after getting her out alive
    #

sorry to hear about your loss Vander, balls after all the good work getting calf out alive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

just do it wrote: »
    Do you finish them?

No.. sell them on for stores and replacments...

Funny.. had a lad in the yard and he had a real hard on for four of our Hereford cross heifers yesterday..
    They weren't weighed but I'd say he paid over €2/kg for them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Anyone thinking of going to the Roundhill & Castleview Pedigree Limousin sale in Roscrea on Friday 7th ????
    66 Females from both herds on offer ...

Hoping to go - work permitting. Got the catelogue at the Tullamore show. On paper alot of nice stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Man of Aran

Just wondering if covering the eyes with a temporary blindfold is of any use in 'calming' agitated cattle or sheep at all?
    Something I noticed on those Nat Geo shows when they go to capture or relocate wild animals in Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Bizzum wrote: »

I don't think they have gone all that far. One or 2 of them may be still here under a different guise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »
    Bizzum wrote: »

I don't think they have gone all that far. One or 2 of them may be still here under a different guise :D
    Ah reilig, now you're teasing us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I could take a guess at one of the new posters original username aswell but I wont say anything for the minute ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Checkin out Redzers, Just do its (Pak I'm not sure what part of clare you're from!?) neck of the woods this weekend.

Touring weeeest Clare, staying in Liscannor on a Boards.ie deal..... 2nights B&B for 2 +bottle of wine for €80!! Where the f**k would you be going??

Came down from Galway city through kinvara and along the coast by Ballyvaughan/finore/doolin. Ashamed to say first time came down this way. wow! what scenery and some smashing land and cattle (more than a few fields of lovely charolais). Yes the land is hilly, but my God I passed some great fields of grass!! Would that land be designated 'the burren' and 'disadvantaged'???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    Touring weeeest Clare, staying in Liscannor on a Boards.ie deal..... 2nights B&B for 2 +bottle of wine for €80!! Where the f**k would you be going??

thats cheaper than being at home, great part of the country and luckily for me, my home away from home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Checkin out Redzers, Just do its (Pak I'm not sure what part of clare you're from!?) neck of the woods this weekend.

Came down from Galway city through kinvara and along the coast by Ballyvaughan/finore/doolin. Ashamed to say first time came down this way. wow! what scenery and some smashing land and cattle (more than a few fields of lovely charolais). Yes the land is hilly, but my God I passed some great fields of grass!! Would that land be designated 'the burren' and 'disadvantaged'???

there are more attractions than scenery and livestock , my youngest lad has a set of tyres worn courting a girl from that region

spent the last couple of hours bringing cattle home from the out farm and bringing sheep over there. that's my last trump card used up, if conditions get any worse we will have to house them :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Its classed as disadvantaged alright but in the burren life scheme you will only get paid for the ''burren'' land. You had right to call in for the tea when you were passing fanore ;), I hope you arent one of those tourists that stops every 2 minutes taking pictures of the rock on the coast road :rolleyes:. There is some great land from ballyvaughan to kinvara alright and its as dry as a cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was out and about in the car today, theres a serious amount of corn still to be cut, unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

As if the bad weather wasn't annoying enough,just after seeing one of my best suckler cows AIed since April with about ten bull calves after her.

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    As if the bad weather wasn't annoying enough,just after seeing one of my best suckler cows AIed since April with about ten bull calves after her.

Must be the day thats in it, just seen a heifer that was bulled last may with the bull above on her :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I hope you arent one of those tourists that stops every 2 minutes taking pictures of the rock on the coast road :rolleyes:. There is some great land from ballyvaughan to kinvara alright and its as dry as a cork.

No we didn't stop until we got down! Quick trip to kilkee today. God 'the massey is classy' around these parts and they're not 35X's either! :D

Whelan has a bit of a monolopy on the tractor front back west as we call it!! All north Clare is zetors and kubota's then....Might help if you get lost, follow the tractors :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Just wondering if covering the eyes with a temporary blindfold is of any use in 'calming' agitated cattle or sheep at all?
    Something I noticed on those Nat Geo shows when they go to capture or relocate wild animals in Africa.

Tried it myself with one cow. I mader the very very silly mistake of going between the bars of the crush. Two cracked ribs later and the b**ch was gone.

Great deal Muckit, and you're getting a nice weekend for it too! Yeah the scenery is great alright, I'd to move away for a few years to appreciate it. Keep coming down the road a bit beyond Liscannor and the dry limestone land thins out;).

Sorry to hear it vanderbadger

A sure-fire way of getting killed I'd say! They normally tranquilize those wild animals as well.

You should have given a wave when you passed my place;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

If we are tagging or dehorning calves I would usually cover the eye on the side that is being done when im holding them for the father . I think its no harm that they cant see the new tag or hot iron coming , and i think it keeps them quieter anyhow .
    Now a cow on the other hand wouldnt fall for that peek a boo craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Whelan has a bit of a monolopy on the tractor front back west as we call it!! All north Clare is zetors and kubota's then....Might help if you get lost, follow the tractors :D
    Jeez shes everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

td5man wrote: »
    Jeez shes everywhere

Think that's Joe Whelan is it Redz?

The banner is well represented here in F&F. It's not a county I know at all well. I must make a visit!