Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I'd be shocked if that was not a joke.

And a rather obvious one at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

J. Marston wrote: »
    If Evra plays centre-back, we're fúcked. It'll be back-to-back losses.

apart from Carling cup and that win against Wolfsburg, i think our win % with Carrick Center back is poor.

he played CB against the likes of Fulham (0-3), villa ??? (0-1) and blackburn (2-3) as well as everton game.

i think he played there away to pompy and west ham for a short period also, but not sure.

all in all, once we are down to the bare bones at CH, it doesnt bode well for us at all. its not Carricks fault by the way, having him missing from in front of the back 4 also weakens the team.

if Wooten is ever to make it, then this is his chance. its like last year when we were down about 13 players and rather than playing Pogba, Fergie played Rafael and Park in CM.

no wonder all our young talent want to leave the place:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

And a rather obvious one at that.

:o

Silly me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

apart from Carling cup and that win against Wolfsburg, i think our win % with Carrick Center back is poor.

he played CB against the likes of Fulham (0-3), villa ??? (0-1) and blackburn (2-3) as well as everton game.

i think he played there away to pompy and west ham for a short period also, but not sure.

all in all, once we are down to the bare bones at CH, it doesnt bode well for us at all. its not Carricks fault by the way, having him missing from in front of the back 4 also weakens the team.

if Wooten is ever to make it, then this is his chance. its like last year when we were down about 13 players and rather than playing Pogba, Fergie played Rafael and Park in CM.

We just dealt with this silly line of reasoning a page ago. Jaysus like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

2 young players walked out refusing to sign a contract. stop being so melodramatic

i wouldnt.....theres a desperate smell of conno16 around this place lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Sorry Homer, that was me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

it's what Barcelona do all the time.

they stick youngsters in when they're down to the bare bones.

Wooton should really get a shot IMO. it's Fulham at home. at worst you should win 5-3 or something.

SlickRic wrote: »
    it's what Barcelona do all the time.

they stick youngsters in when they're down to the bare bones.

Wooton should really get a shot IMO. it's Fulham at home. at worst you should win 5-3 or something.

Yes, but Barcelona are known for not having great depth so they rely on the youngsters in case of injuries.

I do feel Wooton should be given the chance however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I think Fergie threw the Evra thing out therr to keep Fulham guessing. It was annoying how Everton had clearly trained all week with Carrick at CB in mind.

Wasn't the Rio injury only reported on Saturday night ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Wasn't the Rio injury only reported on Saturday night ?

Thought he stuck it on twitter earlier in the week, did he not?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

We just dealt with this silly line of reasoning a page ago. Jaysus like.

No we didn't.

Playing a midfielder at centre back when you've a specialist centre back on the bench is ludicrous, as was leaving Pogba on the bench and playing a right back in midfield. We're not talking about 16 year old kids either - Wooton's 20 years of age. What's next - Sticking Berbatov in at centre half 'cause he's quite tall and experienced?

The proof of the pudding is in the eating - We've lost the majority of times Carrick has played centre back (as pointed out homerjay). So what's the downside? Stick Wooton in. Give him some experience. He couldn't be much worse than Carrick.

Builder needs a paint job done urgently. All his painters are away. Should he: a) Get a plumber to do it or b) Get a 2nd year apprentice painter to do it? This Wooton stuff and the Pogba thing last year are mistakes by Fergie. He's the greatest manager ever but he's not immune to the odd howler. Centre back is a specialist position and it's laughable to suggest that a midfielder will do a better job than a 20 year old centre half on the cusp of first team action with probably half his adult life spent playing in the position.

These mistakes by Fergie are bad enough but people blindly endorsing them despite their total lack of logic just 'cause it's Fergie is even more bizarre TBH.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Mentioning Everton training to play Carrick was mentioned as a possible reason for Evra being talked about at CB.

not sure if it makes much odds, if fulham go aerial route as Carrick is there, then they would probably do it with Evra as well so its all the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Evra at CB? I like the idea. It has a certain understated stupidity about it.

Might as well go the whole hog and select Frodo Baggins at centre half.

Evra. I mean Jesus Christ. Why not Chicharito if we're just gonna do mad stuff for the craic of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    No we didn't.

Playing a midfielder at centre back when you've a specialist centre back on the bench is ludicrous, as was leaving Pogba on the bench and playing a right back in midfield. We're not talking about 16 year old kids either - Wooton's 20 years of age. What's next - Sticking Berbatov in at centre half 'cause he's quite tall and experienced?

The proof of the pudding is in the eating - We've lost the majority of times Carrick has played centre back (as pointed out homerjay). So what's the downside? Stick Wooton in. Give him some experience. He couldn't be much worse than Carrick.

Builder needs a paint job done urgently. All his painters are away. Should he: a) Get a plumber to do it or b) Get a 2nd year apprentice painter to do it? This Wooton stuff and the Pogba thing last year are mistakes by Fergie. He's the greatest manager ever but he's not immune to the odd howler. Centre back is a specialist position and it's laughable to suggest that a midfielder will do a better job than a 20 year old centre half on the cusp of first team action with probably half his adult life spent playing in the position.

These mistakes by Fergie are bad enough but people blindly endorsing them despite their total lack of logic just 'cause it's Fergie is even more bizarre TBH.

Analogy would have worked better if you switched plumber and painter around, anyone can do a bit of painting.

Other than that you're spot on, I wonder what goes on in peoples' heads at all at times.

right, im off to manchester for the match, enjoy your weekend ladies!

Saying it is a mistake for SAF to pick a senior player over an inexperienced one does not make it so.

using another analogy that has no relevance to football doesn't make it a mistake either.

We see these guys on TV and in particular the young lads with no experience at a lower level or reserve level. SAF sees those games too but also on the training field day in day out. He knows if these lads are ready for playing against men (see Daehli post from other day as an example), if they have the skills to fit amongst his first team players.

for all we know Rafael trains in midfield at Carrington from time to time and outperformed Pogba. Carrick could be practising at centre half and doing better than Wootton or Keane.

simply - if the manager thinks they are good enough they play. Otherwise he doesn't pick them.

what would actually be a mistake would be for the manager to pick ANY player that he didn't think was ready to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

alproctor wrote: »
    Thought he stuck it on twitter earlier in the week, did he not?

Not sure . He put up something about being pissed off on Monday morning before the game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

right, im off to manchester for the match, enjoy your weekend ladies!

Heading over myself aswell, really looking forward to it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

lads, Rooney is not being dropped so just forget the nonsense. Welbeck will be dropped tomorrow and thats it, he was by far our most disappointing player the last day.

its amazing how some of ye on here get a notion into your heads about certain players and thats it then, they are no longer good enough for the club after years of doing great things.

Good God homerjay, you are some man for overreacting. Rooney played absolute dogshíte on Monday. Welbeck wasn't worse than Rooney, never mind "by far" the worst player. Rooney is the star of the team, he's expected to play above League 2 level. Welbeck is a very promising prospect, not a top class player yet. People are well within their rights to want Rooney dropped. Who said Rooney wasn't good enough for United anymore? Not a single fúcking soul and well you know it.

No there's not. Just 'cause someone doesn't agree with you it doesn't make them a troll. Cop on a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

adox wrote: »
    Whats the problem with thinking Rooney should be dropped tomorrow? I think he should be. He didnt look fit and so isnt fit to play. I dont mean match fit which comes with games, I mean not fit full stop. Nani was so poor as well and a half arsed display if I`m honest, I`d drop him too. its not as if we dont have options.

Rooney was by far the worst player on that pitch last Monday.

Also calling for him to be dropped for the next game because you dont think he looks fit or isnt putting the effort in doesnt automatically mean you have turned on him or want him out of the club or whatever, or indeed not acknowledging his huge contribution to the team.

I think from previous seasons, Rooney looks like he gets his fitness from matches. Aswell as he might be a litle physically unfit, hes horribly quick to lose match fitness aswell.

I'd be keeping him in there for atleast 60 minutes then taking him off if we are safely ahead.

How tedious do debates end up when one side insists on coming out with "the manager knows better than we do" as though the guy was infallible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

When were these times?

First time he played was against West Ham a few years back. We won 4-0. Second time was the week after away to Wolfsburg, we won 3-1.

He played against Barcelona on the pre-season tour, which we drew 0-0. He played against that Shanghai team and Valerenga as well I think. We won the first and drew the second.

The only one that I can think of that we lost in which he played at centre-back was the Everton. In that he was marking a 6'4/5 player who had one of his best ever games.

1 game in 6 isn't a majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Does anyone else remember Berba's stint at centre-back? He could do a job there against Fulham :pac:

keane2097 wrote: »
    Analogy would have worked better if you switched plumber and painter around, anyone can do a bit of painting.

Other than that you're spot on, I wonder what goes on in peoples' heads at all at times.

it was a crap analogy.

Footballers do similar training, have similar experience and a similar skill set. The skills used at Centre Half are not that differant to a holding Central midfield player. Also Carrick has a better history at CB than made out.

the idea of a young player like Pogba being regarded as a specialist at any position is laughable when he only has a hand full of first team games. Plenty of footballers played one position as a youth or reserve and changed to a new position as a senior player.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Saying it is a mistake for SAF to pick a senior player over an inexperienced one does not make it so.

using another analogy that has no relevance to football doesn't make it a mistake either.

We see these guys on TV and in particular the young lads with no experience at a lower level or reserve level. SAF sees those games too but also on the training field day in day out. He knows if these lads are ready for playing against men (see Daehli post from other day as an example), if they have the skills to fit amongst his first team players.

for all we know Rafael trains in midfield at Carrington from time to time and outperformed Pogba. Carrick could be practising at centre half and doing better than Wootton or Keane.

simply - if the manager thinks they are good enough they play. Otherwise he doesn't pick them.

what would actually be a mistake would be for the manager to pick ANY player that he didn't think was ready to play.

Sorry dude, but I do not accept that. It's a cop out (not from you but from Fergie). It's the classic defence of the indefensible (i.e. "you don't know what you're talking about - I'm the great manager".

Centre half is a specialist position. If you need a centre half, is the right decision to opt for a guy who plays in a completely different position and who has an at best questionable record in the handful of games he's played at centre half? Or is to choose a "mature apprentice" who is a specialist centre half and who has spent all his admittedly short career honing his skills in that position?

Sometimes football seems devoid of logic and common sense. Playing Carrick instead of Wooton and Rafael instead of Pogba were ridiculous decisions. They're howlers and make no sense at all. Even if the results were good, they'd still be mad decisions but the sad thing is they proved calamitous.

When were these times?

First time he played was against West Ham a few years back. We won 4-0. Second time was the week after away to Wolfsburg, we won 3-1.

He played against Barcelona on the pre-season tour, which we drew 0-0. He played against that Shanghai team and Valerenga as well I think. We won the first and drew the second.

The only one that I can think of that we lost in which he played at centre-back was the Everton. In that he was marking a 6'4/5 player who had one of his best ever games.

1 game in 6 isn't a majority.

Ha ha - That's some spinning - Including pre season friendlies!

Fulham 3-0

Everton 4 days ago.

Other losses referred to by Homerjay?

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Footballers undergo similar training and a Centre Half is not that differant to a holding Central midfield player.

fckthat.jpg