Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

keane2097 wrote: »
    Didn't Fulham destroy us with Carrick at centre half the year before last?

large.

That was s back three consisting if him,Evra and de Laet. not exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

keane2097 wrote: »
    Didn't Fulham destroy us with Carrick at centre half the year before last?

lol at Fellaini being the only player in the EPL who would destroy Carrick at centre half, keep taking the pills. Every striker in the league will be licking their chops at coming up against him whether they're small, medium or large.

With that tactic he is probably the only player who could do it. Drogba would as well but he's gone. Crouch has the height but not the physical power. Adebayor as well but that's not really his game.

Obviously if he came up against an Aguero or a Tevez then they would be using different tactics, and to a certain extent I feel Carrick would be able to cope.

Valencia isn't a bad defender. He is strong and quick enough to deal with everyone bar maybe Bale. With the ball at his feet he's a liability imo. Show him inside and he can't do a thing. If he had a left foot then he'd be a pretty good option there.

I think he's quite like Bale in that he is better attacking from deep where he gets a run at a player and isn't relying totally on a piece of magic to beat his man. Against weaker teams having him at RB could be an option but I would much prefer to see Rafael there.

Still don't think that Rafael or Wootton would have done any better against Everton though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Against Fulham I don't think you can afford to have Carrick at CB. He's needed for his defensive ability in CM, when you consider the midfield Fulham will name is nothing like the functional midfield of Neville and Gibson Everton used.

As such I would play Wooton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

lads, Rooney is not being dropped so just forget the nonsense. Welbeck will be dropped tomorrow and thats it, he was by far our most disappointing player the last day.

its amazing how some of ye on here get a notion into your heads about certain players and thats it then, they are no longer good enough for the club after years of doing great things.

lads, Rooney is not being dropped so just forget the nonsense. Welbeck will be dropped tomorrow and thats it, he was by far our most disappointing player the last day.

its amazing how some of ye on here get a notion into your heads about certain players and thats it then, they are no longer good enough for the club after years of doing great things.

Yes we all want to see him dropped permanently.:rolleyes:

Think before you post homer.Let that be your mantra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Squad for the weekend:
    United (from): De Gea, Lindegaard, Rafael, Vidic, Evra, Valencia, Nani, Scholes, Carrick, Anderson, Cleverley, Kagawa, Powell, Giggs, Young, Rooney, Van Persie, Welbeck, Hernandez, Berbatov, Macheda, Buttner.

Disappointing that none of our U21 defenders are in there.

We could go with a fairly solid back line and lose Carrick in midfield:

Rafael-Carrick-Vidic-Evra

Or if the manager is going a bit crazy:

Valencia-Vidic-Evra-Buttner/Rafael

Or even this with Buttner and Valencia/Rafael as wing-backs:
    Carrick-Vidic-Evra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

They were beaten because of the height of Fellaini and Everton's tactics. He is probably the only player in the league who would be able to do that. He has the height and power to do it.

I really don't think there was much that Wootton or Rafael would have been able to do against him. Fellaini was even dominating Vidic at times.

Correct, Fellaini was unplayable. We didn't lose last week because of the defense.

I expect a transfer request from Wooton by close of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,173 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Correct, Fellaini was unplayable. We didn't lose last week because of the defense.

It's unstoppable, not unplayable!

*pet hate* :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

haha clearly sure why dont all our players over 18 do it cause there is no chance at such an old age they will ever get a game for us ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Right back at ya buddy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

G.K. wrote: »
    Against Fulham I don't think you can afford to have Carrick at CB. He's needed for his defensive ability in CM, when you consider the midfield Fulham will name is nothing like the functional midfield of Neville and Gibson Everton used.

As such I would play Wooton.

If you were the manager and you had Wootton day in day out and thought, yeah this kid is going to good but he is not ready just yet.

would you still play him? Or would you consider playing guys you think can do the job you need in this one game.

I agree that Wootton could be the man to play and allow Carrick to play in midfield -but only if he is ready.

EDIT: looks like decision is made aleady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Personally I would still play him. I see why most in that situation wouldn't, however.

I suppose Fergie could play Evra at CB and Buttner at LB, that's another option. he just has to avoid Carrick at CB imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Yes we all want to see him dropped permanently.:rolleyes:

theres plenty of people on here who have an agenda for Rooney and have questioned his role in the club, so i dont know why you need to be a smart ass with your roll eyes and all that.

as for you dig at me once again, your starting to come across as a re reg who was booted out before for trolling and or being called up on being full of s*it. if you dont like my opinions, kindly put me on ignore as i am about to do with you and you'll be grand then.

theres plenty of people on here who have an agenda for Rooney and have questioned his role in the club, so i dont know why you need to be a smart ass with your roll eyes and all that.

as for you dig at me once again, your starting to come across as a re reg who was booted out before for trolling and or being called up on being full of s*it. if you dont like my opinions, kindly put me on ignore as i am about to do with you and you'll be grand then.

All anyone has said is he should be left out Saturday to give him a kick up the hole. The rest of your post is emotive paranoid nonsense .

G.K. wrote: »
    Personally I would still play him. I see why most in that situation wouldn't, however.

I suppose Fergie could play Evra at CB and Buttner at LB, that's another option. he just has to avoid Carrick at CB imo.

The idea of Evra at centre back scares me. He might do alright though.

I think Fergie threw the Evra thing out therr to keep Fulham guessing. It was annoying how Everton had clearly trained all week with Carrick at CB in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The idea of Evra at centre back scares me. He might do alright though.

He might actually learn about positioning & how to defend again.

On another note,just saw that according to Mexican soccer bigwig on twitter that United have 1st option on Herrera in January,they want to leave him at Pachuca until then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

zerks wrote: »
    He might actually learn about positioning & how to defend again.

Dempsey (if playing) will have him .

Leiva wrote: »

Isnt he on strike after ye tapped him up?

Leiva wrote: »

He has been left out again thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Wooton not even in the squad :eek:

Wonder if he is looking for the Liege switchboard number as we speak....:D
    Obviously not ready for Fergie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Wooton not even in the squad :eek:

Wonder if he is looking for the Liege switchboard number as we speak....:D
    Obviously not ready for Fergie...

i'd never really pay attention to those squad, especially for home games - wouldn't be at all suprised to see Wooton on the bench at least, or Evans involved too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

Whats the problem with thinking Rooney should be dropped tomorrow? I think he should be. He didnt look fit and so isnt fit to play. I dont mean match fit which comes with games, I mean not fit full stop. Nani was so poor as well and a half arsed display if I`m honest, I`d drop him too. its not as if we dont have options.

Rooney was by far the worst player on that pitch last Monday.

Also calling for him to be dropped for the next game because you dont think he looks fit or isnt putting the effort in doesnt automatically mean you have turned on him or want him out of the club or whatever, or indeed not acknowledging his huge contribution to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Kaka is heading to Manchester!!!!!

kaka_4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

First De Gea's white sheet, now this?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

zerks wrote: »
    Kaka is heading to Manchester!!!!!

slowpoke.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,366 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If Evra plays centre-back, we're fúcked. It'll be back-to-back losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Think before you post homer......

Maybe you should take your own advice there pal.

Other posters have given good reasons why Wooton didn't play, and why he wouldn't expect to play this weekend.

Expecting a transfer request? No chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

alproctor wrote: »
    Maybe you should take your own advice there pal.

Other posters have given good reasons why Wooton didn't play, and why he wouldn't expect to play this weekend.

Expecting a transfer request? No chance.

I'd be shocked if that was not a joke.