Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭IrishLoriii

I dont know if this counts as stingy but i was on the bus with my friend and I was charged an adult ticket while myfriend was charged a child. I can assure you that im under 16. I handed him the money I had for the child ticket not realising hed said adult, and got my seat. I genuinely didnt cop on that he said Adult till I lookedat my ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

areyawell wrote: »
    I know someone who refuses to buy a proper food roll out of a shop. They buy the normal bread roll and bring it back to the car. They take out a cutting board and a knife. They have a freezer bag with a couple of ice cubes in it with a slice of ham, cheese and some mayonaise in another bag and whatever else they want to put on it. Makes the roll up in the car. They do this whenever travelling in a car for a few hours instead of just buying one in a shop. Refuse to pay 4.50 for a roll

I know someone who refused to buy a proper unicorn. Instead they make their own unicorn from a donkey and an empty tinfoil roll. Then they ride it around majestically frolicking with fairy people all the way to tir na nog.....

.....its fun to make stuff up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It's for this reason I won't order pizza on delivery. It's fine if a Chinese/Indian arrives a bit cold because it reheats quite well in the microwave. Most of the times I've ordered pizza it's come half hot at best and it's rank if you reheat it and rank if you don't :(

Put it under the grill for 2 minutes, reheats it quickly and it doesn't go soggy like it does in the microwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Quazzie wrote: »
    I had a guy from the Netherlands over servicing a machine in work, who was very intrigued looking at me as I made myself banana sandwiches for lunch.

I would never thought banana sandwiches were an oddity till I seen how bizarre he found it.

in all fairness, in the Nether regions lands........... Im sure there are many uses for the banana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

What's wrong with cold Pizza?
    Never got why people in Ireland have such an issue with it.

Cold Pepperoni Pizza is great when you're hanging...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

BizzyC wrote: »
    What's wrong with cold Pizza?
    Never got why people in Ireland have such an issue with it.

Cold Pepperoni Pizza is great when you're hanging...
    Irish people like food, soup, coffee etc served at 900 degrees, if it dosnt cause third degree burns it's "rank".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

I know someone that used to buy Kandee Ketchup (that cheap watery $hit) in Dunnes then squeeze it into an empty Chef or Heinze bottle to fool the husband. Same guy would then tell visitors how lovely the ketchup was and complain in restaurants about how their Chef/Heinze ketchup was "off". :D

Almost everything about this is slightly depressing.

What sort of adult relationship includes counterfeit ketchup switching?

What sort of sad individual is so counterfeit-ketchup obsessed that (1) they tell their visitors about it and it's merits and (2) complain about ketchup in restaurants.

It's like some sort of tragic Royle Family tomato-based sitcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

A friend of mine who drives a taxi brought them home once, they said they had no cash and they'd go into the house to get some. They never came out. :eek: He just drove off rather than face the embarrassment of knocking at the door.

One of my mates done something similar to this on a J1, told the taxi driver they were getting money inside but instead went to bed. The taxi driver started banging on the door after a while, then lost the rag altogether, picked up a paving slab (the guy they lived with was getting some new paving done) and smashed it through the patio window!

They shouldn't have been cheap and just paid for the taxi!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Oh just remembered one...my younger sister and her friends would often get lifts from parents to town or whatever club/pub they were going to after a few drinks in someones house. They would take turns in asking the parents to drop them off and most of the time there was no hassle with this. One of the girls fathers though (a taxi driver) would charge them to give them a lift despite the fact that he'd only be able to give them a lift if he wasn't working. The rest of the parents would be raging and give extra lifts so the girls wouldn't have to ask yer man, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

miamee wrote: »
    Oh just remembered one...my younger sister and her friends would often get lifts from parents to town or whatever club/pub they were going to after a few drinks in someones house. They would take turns in asking the parents to drop them off and most of the time there was no hassle with this. One of the girls fathers though (a taxi driver) would charge them to give them a lift despite the fact that he'd only be able to give them a lift if he wasn't working. The rest of the parents would be raging and give extra lifts so the girls wouldn't have to ask yer man, lol

My dad is a cab driver and I insist on him turning on the metre, when bringing us places.
    I don't expect my friends parents to work for me, for free. If one is a doctor should I be able to get a perscription for free? If one is a farmer, should I get free spuds? or a room painted for free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

miamee wrote: »

Simple solution to that situation - Either get the other girls parents to charge the taxi drivers daughter for a lift. Or just don't give the girl a lift.

Another option would be just to approach the girl and ask her why her dad is such a money hungry s*it..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It's for this reason I won't order pizza on delivery. It's fine if a Chinese/Indian arrives a bit cold because it reheats quite well in the microwave. Most of the times I've ordered pizza it's come half hot at best and it's rank if you reheat it and rank if you don't :(

Order a bag of chips with the pizza, they are always worried about the chips going cold so they always deliver yours first, works for me anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Irish people like food, soup, coffee etc served at 900 degrees, if it dosnt cause third degree burns it's "rank".

I like food warm enough to eat and not hot enough to burn the roof off my mouth. I take exception to soup as i like to take my time with it

My dad is a cab driver and I insist on him turning on the metre, when bringing us places.
    I don't expect my friends parents to work for me, for free. If one is a doctor should I be able to get a perscription for free? If one is a farmer, should I get free spuds? or a room painted for free?

That's not the point. The point of the story is - every one elses parents are able to drop them without any hassle (cost) "they take turns" but just cause one girls father is a taxi driver he thinks it's OK to charge them even though everyone else's parents where dropping them (including taxi drivers daughter) for free.

It's like taking turn having dinner parties each week - you cook this week, I'll cook next "free of charge"
    Then one Friend inviting us over for dinner but because he works as a chief he thinks it's OK to charge us :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I know someone that used to buy Kandee Ketchup (that cheap watery $hit) in Dunnes then squeeze it into an empty Chef or Heinze bottle to fool the husband. Same guy would then tell visitors how lovely the ketchup was and complain in restaurants about how their Chef/Heinze ketchup was "off". :D

I frickin loved that Kandee ketchup!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭batistuta9

what about if he's not at work?

edit: why do you think farmers do a bit of decorating on the side? :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

batistuta9 wrote: »
    what about if he's not at work?

edit: why do you think farmers do a bit of decorating on the side? :pac::pac::pac:

I got lazy and cound not be arsed typing painter/decorators lol

The not at work bit is worse. He has been out driving all day and now has to go back to work. If a doctor is not at work should I be able to get free medical treatment?

It does not matter that the rest "Take turns". They are not being asked to go back to the office to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,728 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    That's not the point. The point of the story is - every one elses parents are able to drop them without any hassle (cost) "they take turns" but just cause one girls father is a taxi driver he thinks it's OK to charge them even though everyone else's parents where dropping them (including taxi drivers daughter) for free.

It's like taking turn having dinner parties each week - you cook this week, I'll cook next "free of charge"
    Then one Friend inviting us over for dinner but because he works as a chief he thinks it's OK to charge us :rolleyes:
    For the rest of the parents driving people around the place isn't their job. Not stingey in my books. Expecting a free lift from a taxi driver is stingey if anything.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

The not at work bit is worse. He has been out driving all day and now has to go back to work. If a doctor is not at work should I be able to get free medical treatment?

It does not matter that the rest "Take turns". They are not being asked to go back to the office to do something.

He was being asked to do a dad-thing for his daughter that all the parents with cars did in their spare time after a day at their respective offices.

You seriously are missing the point. There is a big difference between a doctor and a taxi driver. :confused:

Person 1 - Hey I'll change that light bulb for you cause I'm an electrician, as a favorite cause your my friend. Will you fix my broken table for me in return?

Person 2 - Thanks for changing the light as a favorite. I'll fix your table but I'll have to charge you cause I'm finished work for the day.
    :confused::confused::confused:

Get me ??? Person 2 = stingy &hungry

Ever hear of the term "you scratch my back, I'll scratch yours" - It's Returning a favorite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

This might be a pretty popular one, but...I know a lot, and I mean a lot, of people that would order a coke in a fast food and repeat "no ice in it!" twice or thrice to the guy/lady behind the counter. They shield behind the "I don't like it watered down!" excuse - which fails miserably if there are 38 degrees and the coke is a warm broth within the next 20 seconds...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    You seriously are missing the point. There is a big difference between a doctor and a taxi driver. :confused:

Person 1 - Hey I'll change that light bulb for you cause I'm an electrician, as a favorite cause your my friend. Will you fix my broken table for me in return?

Person 2 - Thanks for changing the light as a favorite. I'll fix your table but I'll have to charge you cause I'm finished work for the day.
    :confused::confused::confused:

Get me ??? Person 2 = stingy &hungry

Ever hear of the term "you scratch my back, I'll scratch yours" - It's Returning a favorite.

I'm glad you're not doing me any favourites :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Halfpan wrote: »
    A few years ago, our class went out to celebrate graduating from secondary school. Myself and 6 others decided to do rounds and when it came to the turn of the last lad to buy the drinks he had left the place before any of us mention it to him. So he bagged himself 6 free drinks out of it.
    I can't stand rounds, some of my friends would want €8 drinks when all I want is a guinness. Less hassle if everyone buys their own. people can drink at their own rate too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭BlueSmoker

Out of curosity, if your father was a doctor, and you felt unwell on a Saturday, would you expect to make an appointment, and pay for your visit to his office on Monday morning. Or would you just ring him and ask his opinion on your symptoms.

I know what I would do. ;)

Members of my family do it to me all the time, and likewise I do it back to them, but if they help me out I always give them a gift of appreciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,728 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BlueSmoker wrote: »
    Out of curosity, if your father was a doctor, and you felt unwell on a Saturday, would you expect to make an appointment, and pay for your visit to his office on Monday morning. Or would you just ring him and ask his opinion on your symptoms.

Members of my family do it to me all the time, and likewise I do it back to them, but if they help me out I always give them a gift of appreciation.
    Yea but I think the point is that if your father is a doctor and all your mates want to go get their bloods taken for example, or your all going away somewhere that needs vaccines. Should he do it for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

But the point is that no one gets paid for giving their kid's friends a lift, regardless of job status, so it's horribly stingy for him to demand payment. They asked for a lift, not a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭BlueSmoker

Yea but I think the point is that if your father is a doctor and all your mates want to go get their bloods taken for example, or your all going away somewhere that needs vaccines. Should he do it for free?

Absolutely not, but the point is as the post above stated that I about to thank. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

BlueSmoker wrote: »

No. The parents take turns giving lifts. They don't take turns giving vaccines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭ck83

That girl whose dad is a taxi driver should ask her mam for a lift next time her and her friends are stuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

A group of children like to have sleep overs at each others houses. The parents at whichever house they are staying at cooks dinner for them all when they are over. At one of the houses the parents is a chef. Would it be acceptable for that parent to charge all of the other children for dinner?

No, of course it wouldn't be. You would never let your child stay over there again and they would be labeled stingy f**kers. The taxi things is exactly the same. Driving your kids around is part of a parents job regardless of their career.

I know a lot of people do get taken advantage of because of their career, taxi drivers, computer technicians etc. But that does not make it acceptable for those people to be stingy in circumstances like the original story.