Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Melion wrote: »
    Ye must be well stocked in central midfield this season to be able to turn him down so. Expecting Diaby to step up?

Not as much as I expected you to change the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭shano_88

Hes really not worth replying to. Ignore ftw.

shano_88 wrote: »
    Hes really not worth replying to. Ignore ftw.

I'm scuttered drunk Shane and watching Rocky 4.I wanna do it for Apollo.I can take him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Jesus I touched a nerve in here. Sorry about that lads, ye will probably still sign him anyway.

We won't.But victory is mine.(Stewie Griffin voice but drunker)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Well with your comment regarding Arsenal developing players for Man City and Barcelona, you would obviously be touching a nerve. If somebody was to say something similar to that in the Liverpool super thread yas would all be crying in there.

On topic anyway, its disappointing that we appear to have lost out on Sahin. I hope Wenger has somebody else lined up as I still think we need another central midfielder in there for a starting place or competition. Wilshere will take a lot of time to get back into the swing of things, Diaby cant be relied on physically and Ramsey was very poor last season too. Hopefully Le Boss gets working on it before September 1st.

Anyway,my bedgaggled memory tells me we were green for go with Ben Arfa and suddenly signed Nasri out of nowhere.Anyone think we might sign M'Vila and that Sahin was a bit of trick of the light?We've done it before!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

As long as a quality player is bought to replace Song in the centre we will be grand. Better hurry up though and get someone. Don't fancy a final day nerve fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

We have made a habit of doing that down through the years. Media saturation linking us with one player only for another to be signed out of nowhere. I remember ages ago the media were certain we were going to sign Roberto Baggio, then suddenly Bergkamp turned up out of nowhere in an Arsenal shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I smelled a rat about this days ago. Too slow in going through. We should have taken him and negotiated in 6 months time. he will go to Liverpool now for sure.

if in 6 months he's done well they'd never agree to sell him

or even if they did it'd be for a lot more than what could be agreed now
    shano_88 wrote: »
    Bbc reporting that Liverpool have a £14 million option to buy clause in the loan deal. Won't be happy If that's the case..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19364375

sure if there was an option to buy wouldn't he be at arsenal?

or were they looking to buy him now

i think the BBC have gotten just as bad as the rest of them recently
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    Apparently the snag was yous would only pay 60% of the wages whereas we'd pay 70%

l'pool were always going to pay more of the wages, even weeks ago, but it didn't bother real then.

if anything i think its the option to buy or even arsenal looking to buy him now that's stopped it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭BINKY NIPPER

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Song for £15m was ridiculously low

Yeah he went for a Song alright

closes door quietly on way out......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Whats the betting Sahin bags the winner against us at some stage this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Whats the betting Sahin bags the winner against us at some stage this season?

Yeah would be typical alright, suppose we will find out soon as we got to Anfield on the 2nd of September I think.

wonga77 wrote: »
    it only takes one semi reliable twitter user to start a snowball...

25460367.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I think we will def sign a DM midfielder, we were in for Sahin well before song I think he was to ease jack back and not replace song

In say that we might only sign a 16yr old with two dodgy kness knowing us :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I wonder.
    If that was the case then why bid for Sahin at all?
    We have a week left to get a good holding midfielder and we definitely need one before we meet the "footballing" teams. I can't see any good reason for pussy-footing around Sahin if we had someone else lined up.

I'm guessing ... just guessing now because no-one's actually said anything about Sahin ... that Wenger is getting pretty sick of rebuilding after losing key players.

If Sahin's going to Liverpool it's because we didn't want the deal. I mean no disrespect to Liverpool, plenty of times in the past, it would have been the other way around but right now if we wanted him we would have gotten him.

So maybe the player we get mightn't be as good as Sahin but what would appear to be key to Wenger's thinking is that whoever it will be won't need to be replaced this time next year.

Stability is key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭smilerf

gosplan wrote: »
    I wonder.
    If that was the case then why bid for Sahin at all?
    We have a week left to get a good holding midfielder and we definitely need one before we meet the "footballing" teams. I can't see any good reason for pussy-footing around Sahin if we had someone else lined up.

I'm guessing ... just guessing now because no-one's actually said anything about Sahin ... that Wenger is getting pretty sick of rebuilding after losing key players.

If Sahin's going to Liverpool it's because we didn't want the deal. I mean no disrespect to Liverpool, plenty of times in the past, it would have been the other way around but right now if we wanted him we would have gotten him.

So maybe the player we get mightn't be as good as Sahin but what would appear to be key to Wenger's thinking is that whoever it will be won't need to be replaced this time next year.

Stability is key.
    biglia I reckon

gosplan wrote: »

Stability is key.

we did want him that's the problem.

it appears sahin is still hopeful of making a breakthrough at Real & only wanted a loan, Real it seems prefer this as well - at least going by mourinho's comments about him.

wenger was looking to buy now or at least have an option to buy

in a way you're right, it's an all or nothing approach by wenger. But it looks like sahin & Real didn't want it permanent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

smilerf wrote: »
    biglia I reckon

Isn't he Norwich bound?

The deal for Sahin would have cost €7m for the year with no option to buy
    Guess were right to pull out so, would ha e been a cracking player to get though

The deal for Sahin would have cost €7m for the year with no option to buy
    Guess were right to pull out so, would ha e been a cracking player to get though

He would but I'm personally sick to the teeth of losing the spine of our team.

Kos - Verm
    Arteta - Wilshire
    Cazorla - Pod
    Giroud

If i immeadiatly think of starting 11, they're the players i come up with.

They're all onlong term contracts (or their last big contracts) which should give us at least 2/3 years of stability.

Thank fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

I am disappointed about Sahin.

Granted, if Real want £5m loan fee and us to pay most of his wages, thats a bit rich for a player that cost them £10m, and has barely played all season. Possibly with no 'option to buy'.

Liverpool will pay it though. They seem to see value in it.

Fair play to them, reward only comes from risk.

Ye must be well stocked in central midfield this season to be able to turn him down so. Expecting Diaby to step up?

Nope, Diaby's going to be great over the next two games culminating in a spectacular hat trick at Anfield at which point he'll run to the away end and lift up his shirt to reveal a personal statment to the fans outlining how he wants to move to Barchester City to win trophies.

At this point while he's standing by the corner flag a point blank Suarez shot at an open goal will hit him in his dodgy ankle, thus ending his career for once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Disappointed about Sahin but if the terms were anywhere near what ive been reading then we are prob better off.

I have a sneaky feeling that we are done in the transfer market tho :(

jonny666 wrote: »
    Disappointed about Sahin but if the terms were anywhere near what ive been reading then we are prob better off.

I have a sneaky feeling that we are done in the transfer market tho :(

Wenger even said we are still active in the transfer market ins and outs going to be a busy week

is there a press conference today or is it tomorrow?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Hello there Gooners,
    this is my first post in the thread, I've been following the discussion for a while though.

Just to say hi and that I am confident that the team will do better this year.
    Another signing (or two) wouldn't hurt, but if we don't have the same injury record as the last couple of seasons, we will be grand!!
    As people said here before, just give the team some time to show its true colours!

So cheers, enjoy and have a great season!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Don't care just as long as he gets someone, the past few years we've wasted a lot of time chasing someone only for them to stay or go elsewhere and we end up getting noone at all. Transfer policy is like our game plan, no plan b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Wenger even said we are still active in the transfer market ins and outs going to be a busy week
    Don't care just as long as he gets someone, the past few years we've wasted a lot of time chasing someone only for them to stay or go elsewhere and we end up getting noone at all. Transfer policy is like our game plan, no plan b.

I know Wenger said we are still looking but that doesnt mean will we get someone in. Im worried too that we wasted too much time on Sahin

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Disappointed we didnt get Sahin but it looks like the right call to pull out. Too expensive.