Michael D Kicks Ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

this has been on the go for over a year. I think everyone on earth has seen it at this stage.

The thread can be easily ignored you know. So why do you even feel the need to announce that? I love reading such ridiculous commentary, you and I may have heard it before alright. But you shouldn't make a stupid assumption on behalf of everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I didn't think Michael D came across any better than the other guy, to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Ficheall wrote: »
    I didn't think Michael D came across any better than the other guy, to be honest.

You listened to it yeah? Just to be sure.. the link the OP posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

karma_ wrote: »
    You listened to it yeah? Just to be sure.. the link the OP posted?
    Both the link the OP posted and the 20 minute interview it was taken from, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Losing the rag, name calling and shouting the other person down down, ya great way to win an argument. Michael D is making a total eejit of himself here, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It's possible to disagree with far-right, blow-hard propaganda trumpeting and still be entertained by the way in which it is presented.

Michael Graham may be a right-wing troll, but he knows it.

I don't believe he knows he's a troll. Also, people actually buy into his bull****. Look at the Tea Party crowd - without assholes like Glen Beck and Rush Limbaugh (and funding by billionaires) they probably wouldn't exist.

I doubt very much that a radio presenter spouting the exact opposite (calling Hamas freedom fighters, Israel baby killers, neocons the dumbest ****ers ever to get control of US foreign policy etc) would have much off a career in the US/west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Michael D is a legend. I cannot believe that Fianna Fail patsy Sean Gallagher nearly won.

This video has gone viral in the US, due to the election over there. It was from 2 years ago, but it is still nice to listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭SamHarris

Some people will have easier access to the 'public' airways than others. If I subscribe to the views of those in power then I will have an easier path to career 'success'.

I believe it's called 'manufacturing consent'.

You know there are very good reasons Chomsky is not read as part of Political Science or Media courses of any realy substance? And its not because of a CT ...

Why do I have a feeling the reaction would be very different if, say, Mitt Romney were to go on a tirade against the Irish healthcare system or our position of neutrality? Particularly from people who cheer this particular bit on.

I don't believe he knows he's a troll. Also, people actually buy into his bull****. Look at the Tea Party crowd - without assholes like Glen Beck and Rush Limbaugh (and funding by billionaires) they probably wouldn't exist.

I doubt very much that a radio presenter spouting the exact opposite (calling Hamas freedom fighters, Israel baby killers, neocons the dumbest ****ers ever to get control of US foreign policy etc) would have much off a career in the US/west.

Plenty call neocons/conservatives dumb. The "opposite" of Hamas is hardly Israel, but plenty criticise Israel. If you really wanted to look you would find many US commentators far more left than you get in Ireland. The vast majority, though, or middle of the road and I found far more balanced than Irish media personalities. Beck and co get plenty of attention, not because of the size of their audience but because they know exactly what to say to get people talking about them. Hence why you even give a crap about them and you dont even live on the same continent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

Graham is a wound up, nasally annoying idiot. I like to hear both sides of the debate. But only if the other side has something intelligent to say. He has never said anything remotely clever or funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

The amount of youngones and women I know who voted for Michael D for the fact he's "so cute" and looks like Dobby from Harry potter is mind boggling.

Lollers wrote: »
    Graham is a wound up, nasally annoying idiot. I like to hear both sides. But only if the other side has something intelligent to say. I've never him say anything smart or funny.

I agree with this in part. I hate when a show tries to give a particular perspective, but does so using basically charicatures.

Its a little ridiculous that there are only a handful of people giving an "alternative" hard opinion on subjects in this country, and none of those do so in a consice, fact based manner. Its probably part of the reason that of my many inteligent friends, few of them can defend their positions very well on any given political subject - all we have here is a chorus of people that by and large agree with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭Daith

MaxSteele wrote: »
    The amount of youngones and women I know who voted for Michael D for the fact he's "so cute" and looks like Dobby from Harry potter is mind boggling.

Small jockey big...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Daith wrote: »
    Small jockey big...
    Horse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

SamHarris wrote: »
    You know there are very good reasons Chomsky is not read as part of Political Science or Media courses of any realy substance? And its not because of a CT ...

Chomsky speaks truth to power - he irritates both the right and left. There is no conspiracy. Also, you need to actually listen to what he has to say rather than swallow right wing tapas sound bites like those pricks Limbaugh and Beck serve.

Why do I have a feeling the reaction would be very different if, say, Mitt Romney were to go on a tirade against the Irish healthcare system or our position of neutrality? Particularly from people who cheer this particular bit on.

I have little interest in the millionaires pantomime that is the US presidential election. The Irish health care system is not without fault but at least ultimately everyone is covered regardless of wealth.

I'm pretty sure the 30 odd million people without healthcare in the billionaires paradise that is America would prefer the Irish system to theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

What's going on with this? I read this morning that it has gone "viral" in America? Anybody have the source for where it went viral?

I'm in America, have not heard it mentioned on the radio or tv and have not seen it trend on YouTube or Twitter over here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

Michael Graham is a troll and not to be taken seriously. Surprised Michael D. actually fell for it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭yer man!

WumBuster wrote: »
    Losing the rag, name calling and shouting the other person down down, ya great way to win an argument. Michael D is making a total eejit of himself here, imo.
    It gets people's attention a hell of a lot quicker. He's passionate and angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

It's gotten an insane amount of Youtube hits in the last 48 hours, mostly coming from the US. How did this happen one wonders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

very proud of Michael D. - I despise the elitist policy of the tea party - America needs a balanced healthcare system , to help the less off , rather than the persistent fear of raising taxes - Go Obama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Did he bite someone? :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kingtubby

I do not know much about the Israeli/Palestine politics so I do not have a very strong view on the matter.

Michael D Higgins seemed to lose his cool very quickly and that whole radio conversation spiralled out of control very early on. I wouldn't think he is a very convincing debater based on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I remember this from the Right Hook. They were broadcasting from a pub in Galway. The leprechaun became riled when he lost his way in the debate, with local voters watching, the pressure came on and it all got too much for the little fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I've been a fan of Michael D since way back when he had a regular column in the Hot Press when it was still in its infancy, I watched him use his far superior intelligence in political battles in the Dail, the little man is a giant in many ways. I supported him in his bid for presidency and I think all Irish people should be proud of him and his record, especially on human rights issues and for always speaking his mind and being honest. I wish there were more like him. And he's absolutely right, politicians, especially in the US but not exclusively, push through their political agendas by fear mongering.
    I've not often heard him that angry, but he has reason, and I hope more people will see through the bullcrap that emanates from that particular corner of the political circus that is the Republicans.

I remember this from the Right Hook. They were broadcasting from a pub in Galway. The leprechaun became riled when he lost his way in the debate, with local voters watching, the pressure came on and it all got too much for the little fella.
    Taking the piss out of his small stature doesn't make him less right.

Does he still "kick ass" when he rubberstamps whatever is put in front of him?... or does he perish the thought of rocking the boat because he is too cosy in the viceregal lodge?. Higgins puts on a good show, but at the end of the day he is still an establishment stooge. No amount of grandiose, self-righteous moralising will change that.
    That's got to be a joke. Michael D has been at the forefront at all sorts of protests and supported many a cause in more than just words, you could not be more wrong.
    If somebody said 'what's the opposite of Michael D?', then yeah, what you say stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Wompa1 wrote: »
    What's going on with this? I read this morning that it has gone "viral" in America? Anybody have the source for where it went viral?

I'm in America, have not heard it mentioned on the radio or tv and have not seen it trend on YouTube or Twitter over here

I never heard it before, although I understand It's been about for 2 years or thereabouts.
    A friend of mine in California had it on her FB on Tuesday last.
    I found it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Tea Party referred to as The American Taliban.

Clip from The Newsroom. Check it out.

Chomsky speaks truth to power - he irritates both the right and left. There is no conspiracy. Also, you need to actually listen to what he has to say rather than swallow right wing tapas sound bites like those pricks Limbaugh and Beck serve.

Yes yes I recognise the enormous academic shortfalls of Chomskies work so I must be a massive fan of Limbaugh and Beck :rolleyes:

Again, if his theories were not so widely dissproven, he would be taught in universities around the world, given how revolutionary his thesis would be, again if it actually had any academic merit. But then Im sure its just because those damn Media and Political scientist faculties are unable to see past their extreme right wing views in your estimation. You realise he is a highly regarded LINGUIST, right?

Trully his supporters are creationists of media and social criticsm - I guess I just need more faith.

I have little interest in the millionaires pantomime that is the US presidential election. The Irish health care system is not without fault but at least ultimately everyone is covered regardless of wealth.

Missed the point completly. Oh well. Didnt realise you were one of those Chomsky fan bois. Couldnt be bothered debating anything with people of that... type. Its a religion, not something that can be engaged with rationaly. Ciao.