Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I remember the Essien to United suggestion by a particular contributor last summer.

strange that his name would pop up again in the United thread when he hasn't played yet this season and managed less than 20 games out of 60 last season.

not saying much with that just that its odd :-D but yes, a pre injured Essien type player would be fantastic for United. Not sure that many of that type are around though.

What's that supposed to mean? There's been some talk (today and yesterday) of Essien leaving Chelsea so it's not pie in the sky. Peter Schmiechel's even publicly stated that he's not finished and that he could offer a lot to a top European club:

http://ghanasoccernet.mobi/essien-not-yet-finished-man-utd-legend-schmeichel/

And one of Essien's former international colleagues is even encouraging him to leave Chelsea:

http://sports.myjoyonline.com/pages/news/201208/92591.php[url][/url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,341 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Got up?? He didn't even go down after that kick in the face.

Beast!!

No biggie - his ear blocked it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Wasnt Garcia Aspe was it?

Wonder will we see Buttner getting some game time at the weekend? I watched this clip of him on YouTube,powerful left foot on him.

Well, after watching half of that youtube video it seems clear to me that he's better than Evra and should be starting every game. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    What's that supposed to mean?

There's talk of Essien leaving Chelsea.

Peter Schmiechel's even publicly stated that he's not finished and that he could offer a lot to a top European club:

Is that a joke?

First off, what the **** does Peter Schmiechel know about it? :confused:

Secondly, he was in Ghana to promote something or other, likely asked about their most high profile footballer....what was he going to see, "nah man, he's finished!"

Essien is entirely finished. He's played **** all over the last couple of years & more importantly than that, when he has played he has looked a pale pale pale pale shadow of his former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,341 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Peter Schmiechel's even publicly stated that he's not finished and that he could offer a lot to a top European club:

Peter Schmeichel? The fella that laughed at United for signing Lindegaard, saying he wasn't good enough? Yep - clearly the type of guy who should be relied on for football knowledge. Like Pele naming El Hadj Diouf as one of the best players EVER.

Footballers often have opinions of no more worth than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

im sure essien probably has something to offer but in fairness do we need another player who we are saying if he stays fit we dont need anyone else we already have anderson who hasnt had an injury free season for a few years, cleverley has had injuries keeping him out for a couple of months the last twp years and fletcher unfortunately may have his career ended because of illness. im not one of the people saying we are doomed if we dont add another CM but adding essien is not gonna add much if he cant stay fit. i would rather give a go to tunni and see if he can do the job. not straight away but start with some of the cup competitions and see from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Corvo

magnumbud wrote: »
    im sure essien probably has something to offer but in fairness do we need another player who we are saying if he stays fit we dont need anyone else we already have anderson who hasnt had an injury free season for a few years, cleverley has had injuries keeping him out for a couple of months the last twp years and fletcher unfortunately may have his career ended because of illness. im not one of the people saying we are doomed if we dont add another CM but adding essien is not gonna add much if he cant stay fit. i would rather give a go to tunni and see if he can do the job. not straight away but start with some of the cup competitions and see from there

Wasn't there a rumour that himself a few others stole a box of jerseys and boots from the training center and he was turfed out?

Like Pele naming El Hadj Diouf as one of the best EVER

He did once call Nicky Butt England's best player though so he's not all bad. And he's done wonders for the self esteem of dudes who can't get it up (so I'm told I hasten to add).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Is there much to the Kaka stories?

He isn't included in the squad for the Barca game tonight, and I hear hes taken that hes a Madrid player out of his bio on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

New left seems to be a bit of an Ian Harte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

zerks wrote: »
    Herrera doesn't do the prima donna rolling on the ground thing,he could do a job for us in midfield.He got up & played on as if nothing happened after this 'tackle'.

OLYMPIC-HEADKICK.gif

Those swiss fans in the background clearly enjoy a good kick to the face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Technophobe

He isn't included in the squad for the Barca game tonight, and I hear hes taken that hes a Madrid player out of his bio on twitter.

Latest on Kaka (again) seems to be off to Milan (again...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Wasnt Garcia Aspe was it?

Wonder will we see Buttner getting some game time at the weekend? I watched this clip of him on YouTube,powerful left foot on him.

Seems like a bit of a headcase this Buttner..You can tell by the video though he is gonna have the right attitude and by the way he,s talking it,s genuinely a dream to play for UTD hopefully make Evra work harder been far to cosy for to long..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Balligue reported that the Kaka stuff is rubbish and unfounded.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

What's that supposed to mean? There's been some talk (today and yesterday) of Essien leaving Chelsea so it's not pie in the sky. Peter Schmiechel's even publicly stated that he's not finished and that he could offer a lot to a top European club:

It means he was mentioned last summer as a possible United player and he then went on to play very little last season proving it was a bad idea last time I read about him here.

So with how little he played last time round, and as he has not played at all this season I thought it was odd for him to be mentioned in a united thread now. He also has no form whatsoever and he is not even in the news (mainstream news).

I agreed that the idea of a player like Essien was would be great to have around.

I want a Redondo myself but really wish for Veron to be 26 again and signing for United. Maybe best to send the scouts to Argentina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

DM-ICE wrote: »

(...Essien stuff....)

I want a Redondo myself but really wish for Veron to be 26 again and signing for United. Maybe best to send the scouts to Argentina.

Veron was ten years too early for us. Jesus what we would give to have someone like him signing for us now.....

Or Africa.

Veron was the right guy at the wrong time in my view. He needed to play Keane's role but ended up being stuck out on the right and elsewhere. Still, no point crying over what might make been (Essien, Pogba, Veron, etc).

When I saw the headline "United try and foil Liverpool move for midfielder", I nearly spilt my coffee 'cause I thought it was about Sahin. Turns out it's this Mexican guy who I confess to knowing little about.

Wasn't there a rumour that himself a few others stole a box of jerseys and boots from the training center and he was turfed out?

well they put an interview with him on manutd.com yesterday doubt they would do that if he was turfed out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Essien is finished lads.

You're probably right.

Shame given his age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Essien is finished lads.

You're probably right.

Shame given his age.
    Its pronounced shay given harhar.
    I take it this mexican twitterer was making up the "in the next few hours " part of his tweet.
    Im starting to think this twitter is all guess work . I could tweet victor moses will sign for chelsea this week . And he 70 per cent will . Does this then make me a reliable source.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Essien is finished lads.

I'd have to agree sadly, he was a beast before his injuries.

Doesn't look like he is going to be able to get back to anywhere near the level he was once at

kryogen wrote: »
    I'd have to agree sadly, he was a beast before his injuries.

Doesn't look like he is going to be able to get back to anywhere near the level he was once at

Excellent theory piece from this morning

http://www.football365.com/faves/8011059/F365-Says

TLDR: Everyone has been crying out for someone like Roy Keane to fill what they think is the void, simple fact is players like him are a dying breed.

With the way the game is going, it is not about having a midfield enforce ala Keane, Viera or Van Bommel, its about having an intellegent interceptor like Carrick or Busquets

I just started a Moses set to sign for Chelsea before Saturday rumour on Twitter as an experiment, I am hoping it makes SSN @ 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Felexicon

I just started a Moses set to sign for Chelsea before Saturday rumour on Twitter as an experiment, I am hoping it makes SSN @ 6
    Whats your twitter name?
    I get a bit of a retweet going

TheDoc wrote: »

TLDR: Everyone has been crying out for someone like Roy Keane to fill what they think is the void, simple fact is players like him are a dying breed.

With the way the game is going, it is not about having a midfield enforce ala Keane, Viera or Van Bommel, its about having an intellegent interceptor like Carrick or Busquets

Keane and Viera do not belong in the same catagory as someone like Van Bommel or De Jong though, its just lazy throwing them in there from journos/analysts.

I agree though, the way forward seems to be the Carrick/Busquets role, Sergio being the greatest exponent of the role at the moment, truly gifted at it.

you can have both though but they are a very rare breed. i would like a big strong CM to go in and dominate midfield against the teams that need it but then i think how many teams do you need it against really in the current PL i can only think of maybe 3 teams that have a player i fear could bully our midfield and still can play but is it needed to buy a player for 6 games out of 38. people keep saying but in europe and tbh last year we stuck to 442 in europe too much along with a constantly changing defence and thats what cost us in the group and bilbao were just class in the two games against us but didnt fully match this the rest of their season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Keane and Viera do not belong in the same catagory as someone like Van Bommel or De Jong though, its just lazy throwing them in there from journos/analysts.

I agree though, the way forward seems to be the Carrick/Busquets role, Sergio being the greatest exponent of the role at the moment, truly gifted at it.
    For all the giving out people do about carrick you do notice when hes not there.
    Id love the option of a young edger davids before they made him stop the steroids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Got up?? He didn't even go down after that kick in the face.

Beast!!

Couldn't have made him any uglier:pac:

ok WOW WOW WOW EVERYONE STOP

I knew it would be viewed as this, and I had a little disclaimer, but one of the lads said leave it and I know own him a fiver....

I'm not in anyway indicating the players mentioned are in the same bracket of class, but merely play a similar role.Van Bommel was very much a midfield enforcer as was Keane and Viera, first a foremost. The other stuff was bonuses. Many consider Busquests is the top DM in the world, and I have Carrick in there because he is essentially ours.

But the days of David Batty, Olly Dacourt, Keane, Viera and the likes are well and truly passed in the eyes of alot of people, and I have to admit, I'm kinda agreeing with it too.

The reason I'm always banging on about Strootman is because I think he ticks all the boxes for what a modern CM/DM needs