Worst Golf Course you have played in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

GreeBo wrote: »
    Stinted?:confused:

A made up word by me... Stimped might be another one. Thought it was a stint meter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭h2005

bobob wrote: »
    hi guys. My attention was drawn last week to some course rating awards for 2012, where I spotted award for best parkland in Connacht went to westport and best golf resort in connacht to Ashford castle.
    Fair play to Westport's management, they must have coughed up a nice few quid for this title, because the standard of the course if dire at the moment and has been all year. Can't take away from the famous views though !!!!!!! What a load of bull.
    As for Ashford castle, the mind boggles ??????:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
    Played Westport last june and it was in great nick and would highly recommended it to anyone thinking of playing it. Total joke it getting mentioned in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭reo49

Has got to be the Heath, awful course. The sheep try to rob your balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Dont like this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

cornerboy wrote: »
    Dont like this thread.
    Well head the **** on then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Glebe GC in Trim, Co Meath is certainly the roughest (waterlogged, bad greens, bad layout) that I've played in recent years.

I got some sort of sanction for stating that this thread was not to my liking. I am a member of a golf club and indeed a past captain of that club. I have seldom heard golfers from one club critisize another clubs course. There are many challenges in running and maintaining a golf course in these tough financial times, this would be understood by all golfers.
    I would simply request that posters consider the implications of their post before they click the the mouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭scout353

Quahog217 wrote: »

RE: Tramore, it is a nice track now but it drains like a new bucket!!!! So wet the last time i was there around 5 weeks ago.

They spent a lot of money there on drainage over the past few years.

Fairways and greens were in superb condition even in all the rain we had this summer.

The water has to go somewhere and agree that some of the rough was quite wet but that's not where you're supposed to be ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I got some sort of sanction for stating that this thread was not to my liking. I am a member of a golf club and indeed a past captain of that club. I have seldom heard golfers from one club critisize another clubs course. There are many challenges in running and maintaining a golf course in these tough financial times, this would be understood by all golfers.
    I would simply request that posters consider the implications of their post before they click the the mouse.

Its a forum, people typically dont think before they post.

But at the same time, if a course if in ****e nick, or a course is designed poorly, it is pretty irrelvant what is going on behind the scenes, how much money you have to spend etc.

Feedback is feedback, a review is a review.

I've no qualms in stating that the society outing I had at Palmerstown was one of the WORST maintained courses I've played on. I know its owned by NAMA, I know it has no money, I know its run by like two fellas.

But that is irrelevant, the course was ****e.

Every second course is having some financial strain and difficulty, but plenty are keeping their place in top top shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭maudgone

There's just no contest here people. The worst golf club in the world is Abbeyfeale Golf Club in Co. Limerick. It's just one big boggy field, with 9 pieces of the field loosely mowed by a GAA type mower which are now called greens. Even in the Summer months you could lose 3/4 balls just plugging in the areas between tee box and green which are called fairways. The reason it hasn't been mentioned here is because so few people play here. I played here twice a good few years ago when I was a rep down that side of the country, and I was the only player there both times, which was in the middle of the Summer. I had only started playing at the time and I was delighted there was nobody else on the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

I wouldnt say its the worst course in Ireland but The Castlerosse in Killarney is possibly the most dangerous course ive played.
    9 holes squeezed into a piece of land big enough for maybe 5/6 holes.
    tee-boxes a few metres away from greens,blind tee shots, parallel fairways with a few wispy trees separating them,
    combine that with lads staying in the hotel who decide to play a few holes even though they dont usually play and dont know where they are hitting the ball to or know the meaning of "fore".
    1 or 2 semi decent holes though to be fair,
    crash helmets are a must:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭ciaeim

I wouldnt say its the worst course in Ireland but The Castlerosse in Killarney is possibly the most dangerous course ive played.
    9 holes squeezed into a piece of land big enough for maybe 5/6 holes.
    tee-boxes a few metres away from greens,blind tee shots, parallel fairways with a few wispy trees separating them,
    combine that with lads staying in the hotel who decide to play a few holes even though they dont usually play and dont know where they are hitting the ball to or know the meaning of "fore".
    1 or 2 semi decent holes though to be fair,
    crash helmets are a must:(

its not even the worst course in the killarney area , that honour is between dunloe and the ross, dunloe for me is the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

cornerboy wrote:
    i got some sort of sanction for stating that this thread was not to my liking. I am a member of a golf club and indeed a past captain of that club. I have seldom heard golfers from one club critisize another clubs course. There are many challenges in running and maintaining a golf course in these tough financial times, this would be understood by all golfers.

if you had posted that the first time you wouldn't have received one.
    Posting "i don't like this thread" adds nothing to the conversation and was perceived as trolling

In my experience golfers compare and criticize each others courses all the time; they also freely acknowledge a positive experience on another course.

A bit sensitive there regarding trolling......whatever that is.

Unfortunately a thread like this is inviting only negative comment and thats hardly fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Well there are plenty of threads about best course's in Ireland etc so all they offer is positive comments eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

DEVOTION wrote: »
    Dargle View in Bray is probably one of the worst for green conditions. But it is what it is; a temporary course waiting for the promised shopping centre to be built on it that will probably never arrive now. Living locally, I find it great for practice. It's not bad at all for a tenner.

I used to play Dargle regularly for all the same reasons as most users, cheap, handy, decent enough course etc. The when the twins arrived in 2010 i had to knock it on the head for a while.

Im hoping to get back into the evening Golf this summer and looking forward to going back to Dargle but the most recent reviews Ive found of it sound like it has fallen into further disrepair. Has anyone played it yet this season? I dont like the sound of the "Bulding Site", i can handle the hoards of teenagers drinking, sure thats just a form of hazard play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Lenstroni

Dublin Mountain. Unless its improved over the last 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭h2005

Lol is it not unfair to be naming a club you haven`t played in 7 years?

h2005 wrote: »

Well at least I admitted it had been a while since I played it :D. All I remember thinking at the time was, 'isn't this just a farmers field?'. On the plus side the green fees are cheap.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Daithio12

h2005 wrote: »

Not really, people don't judge courses on their current condition (or at least its not a good indicator of a courses quality), they judge it more on design.
    So it's fair to say if it was sh1te 7 years ago then it's more than likely still sh1te today unless the design has changed.

I suppose the very nature of this thread is a prickly subject and no matter what people say, other people will not be happy. And for obvious reasons too - people are trying to make a living.
    I guess its really down to value for money. Somebody mentioned Dargle in Bray - for a tenner its grand. Well worth it for the practice when everywhere else nearby is fully booked on a Sat morning but if they were trying to charge 25 quid a round it would be a different story. Its all relative in the end, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭tigerwood1

Lenstroni wrote: »
    Well at least I admitted it had been a while since I played it :D. All I remember thinking at the time was, 'isn't this just a farmers field?'. On the plus side the green fees are cheap.;)

Well it's funny you should say it reminded you of a farmers field, my wifes friend told her she had left the course a couple of weeks ago because the owner had told her he was closing it and putting sheep to graze on it within next couple of months. i believe she has since joined cradackstown it's like going from honda 50 to rolls royce:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ProV

tigerwood1 wrote: »
    Well it's funny you should say it reminded you of a farmers field, my wifes friend told her she had left the course a couple of weeks ago because the owner had told her he was closing it and putting sheep to graze on it within next couple of months. i believe she has since joined cradackstown it's like going from honda 50 to rolls royce:).

Get your facts right before you post on here, The course that now has sheep on it is Dublin City ..... tut tut

Lenstroni wrote: »

Not fair to comment from a game 7 years ago, a lot of work has been done, ( by Dublin Mountain committee & volunteers + over 300 trees strategically planted).
    7years ago there was 2 bunkers either side of the 1st like this.. ( in need of TLC ) Pic1
    1stxxx.jpg

Now there are 4 traps, much better quality ... pic
    1st2xxxx.jpg

12th fairway with new trees left and right, definitely not a farmers field
    Attachment not found.

ProV wrote: »
    Not fair to comment from a game 7 years ago, a lot of work has been done, ( by Dublin Mountain committee & volunteers + over 300 trees strategically planted).
    7years ago there was 2 bunkers either side of the 1st like this.. ( in need of TLC ) Pic1
    1stxxx.jpg

Now there are 4 traps, much better quality ... pic
    1st2xxxx.jpg

12th fairway with new trees left and right, definitely not a farmers field
    12thHolexx.jpg

^ I would guess the "field" is to do with the fact that its all cut out of the original ground, there are no green/tee complexes...

GreeBo wrote: »
    ^ I would guess the "field" is to do with the fact that its all cut out of the original ground, there are no green/tee complexes...
    Strange how you make no reference to his sheep scenario which is on another course which is now closed.

Then the only comment you make is again completely inaccurate, have you ever even played the course . . .

ProV wrote: »
    Strange how you make no reference to his sheep scenario which is on another course which is now closed.

Then the only comment you make is again completely inaccurate, have you ever even played the course . . .

No strangeness here.
    I was refering to Lenstroni's original comment of "isnt this just a farmers field"
    I think you will find that he didnt mention sheep, that was a different poster.

How is it inaccurate?
    Sorry but these are not green complexes, they are greens cut out of the natural field.

FWIW Im not having a go at the course, it is what it is, Im attempting to explain the "field" comment. I hardly think its an incredibly inaccurate comment.

Read back what you said : do with the FACT that its all cut out of the original ground.
    all the tee boxes are built up two or 3 feet from the ground, some with steps ... did they all just rise up of their own accord.
    I'm sorry Greebo but "you are having a go" when you state "Fact" and then give information that it is not factual.

Also, you are always naming our club with snide remarks.
    e.g. In one of your previous posts you named Dublin Mountain as one of the courses that would vanish because of economic pressures.
    ..."Well local to me in Dublin you have the likes of Slade Valley, Ballinscorney, Dublin Mountain, Sillogue, Leopardstown all offering cheap, affordable golf.
    However Im guessing (without putting words into your mouth) that you wouldnt consider these courses value for money due to the quality, especially compared to a greenfee in Killeen for example? "

I have no problem with people voting for whatever club, but I hate to see misinformation bandied about without anyone challenging it ! !