Worst Golf Course you have played in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Reganovski wrote: »
    Ah now....don't be talking about my home course like that :D
    For €160 and never having to play it, I think its super :)

How do you get a handicap without ever having to play it?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

golfwallah wrote: »
    How do you get a handicap without ever having to play it?;)

Didn't say I've never played it but rather I never have to play it again :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 bobob

hi guys. My attention was drawn last week to some course rating awards for 2012, where I spotted award for best parkland in Connacht went to westport and best golf resort in connacht to Ashford castle.
    Fair play to Westport's management, they must have coughed up a nice few quid for this title, because the standard of the course if dire at the moment and has been all year. Can't take away from the famous views though !!!!!!! What a load of bull.
    As for Ashford castle, the mind boggles ??????:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

Played carrick on Shannon a couple of months ago ,it was bad the greens where had more bold patches than Wayne rooneys head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,547 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Nedser101 wrote: »
    Played carrick on Shannon a couple of months ago ,it was bad the greens where had more bold patches than Wayne rooneys head

Far, far from the worst course in the country though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Old Thread - was looking up Seafield and found it here.

Played Seafield today - well named , field by the sea.

I agree with it being in this thread. Awfull place. The only thing going for it is the view. It even tries to stay away from the view, sending you into someones house. odd place.

Greens off to left and right of where you think you are going. A shared green that is silly, a field - age won't even help it.

35 euro a round :eek::eek::eek::eek::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

I agree, but the bottom line is I paid 25e although that was 35e too much, was raging I drove down to Wexford just to play that ****hole, never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭liverbear

Bodenstown is a disgrace. It used to be a grand long course (with a great atmosphere, barton winners in 1990) until destroyed by the owner changing holes around on a whim, moving teeboxes and greens. Nearly all the greens are elevated and almost impossible to get up and down if you miss one. The changes have made it into a pitch and putt course. Played few weeks back first time in ten years. Missed three putts inside five feet for birdie on first five holes. Didn't want to putt after that.

Overgrown bushes on teeboxes impeding on drives. Weeds everywhere. Worst greens I have ever seen, cut in circles. Wet patches from sprinklers left on. I will never play it again. Feel sorry for the members who are still there after all the breakaways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

liverbear wrote: »
    Bodenstown is a disgrace. It used to be a grand long course (with a great atmosphere, barton winners in 1990) until destroyed by the owner changing holes around on a whim, moving teeboxes and greens. Nearly all the greens are elevated and almost impossible to get up and down if you miss one. The changes have made it into a pitch and putt course. Played few weeks back first time in ten years. Missed three putts inside five feet for birdie on first five holes. Didn't want to putt after that.

Overgrown bushes on teeboxes impeding on drives. Weeds everywhere. Worst greens I have ever seen, cut in circles. Wet patches from sprinklers left on. I will never play it again. Feel sorry for the members who are still there after all the breakaways.

Strange. I played it alot as a beginner but haven't played it in about 5 years. It was in disgraceful condition then and I swore never again. But a friend played it in Barton Cup recently and said it was in great nick, had really improved and the changes and made a great difference?? I dunno... too many nice courses in the area for me to ever bother giving it another try out of curiosity, but funny how two people can get such differing opinions on the one course... Such is life, etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭liverbear

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Strange. I played it alot as a beginner but haven't played it in about 5 years. It was in disgraceful condition then and I swore never again. But a friend played it in Barton Cup recently and said it was in great nick, had really improved and the changes and made a great difference?? I dunno... too many nice courses in the area for me to ever bother giving it another try out of curiosity, but funny how two people can get such differing opinions on the one course... Such is life, etc etc...

I too played it a lot as a youngster member for 12 years and played on a lot of teams there. I dunno how anyone could say it was in good nick, completely neglected. He must have won his match and been too happy to care!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Dublin Mountain Golf....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 leedslunatic

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I was out in Rahan with work today, they hope to have the course open at the end of next week. New clubhouse built, lot of work done on the course with ponds added etc. and the driving range has been given a facelift.

Must say it looks well.

Have to agree with Mark. Rahan golf course is a disaster. 9 hole golf course. 10e for 9 holes, 12.50e for 18. Not too bad but when you consider the quality of other courses in the area, it really is a rip-off. I was happy to see it reopen, and it started well, but it went back downhill just as quick.

Where do ya start?? Tee boxes overgrown and uneven, greens in ****e. Bunkers are like quarries. Fairways were ok though. Absolutely nothing challenging about the course apart from the tightness in one or two spots.

Clubhouse is fairly nice, and the driving range is a great facility to have although it's become a little neglected :(.

I wouldn't know anything about the costs of running a golf course, and I'd imagine in this economic climate it's a suicidal business venture, but i'd say this place won't stay open for long unless they sort it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Was up in Dargle View in Bray(Old Bray course) yesterday and the place is gone to the dogs Was never a good course, it was half decent for a knockabout rather than going to the range and learning nothing but wouldn't set foot in it again. Greens in a terrible state, a building site in the middle of the course, no yardages,fairways badly cut and a group of junkballs drinking cans along the 2nd hole.

Nice spot :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Quahog217

Played mitchelstown earlier in the year, it was a digrace at the time to be honest. Greens were the worst ive ever seen.

Three of the yardage signs on the par 3's were out by 30 yards. Hit three good shots and was nowhere near the green.

Maybe its better now but then it was awful.

RE: Tramore, it is a nice track now but it drains like a new bucket!!!! So wet the last time i was there around 5 weeks ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Quahog217 wrote: »
    Three of the yardage signs on the par 3's were out by 30 yards. Hit three good shots and was nowhere near the green.
    Lol I think thats the funniest thing I've ever read on here, as in it makes no sense whatsoever.

MP62 wrote: »
    Lol I think thats the funniest thing I've ever read on here, as in it makes no sense whatsoever.

The sign on a par 3 reads 130 yards, i hit a good 9 iron and come up way short of the green. I measure the hole and its closer to 160 yards.

Simple enough for you? :rolleyes:

It happened on 3 par 3's.

It was a south east league match, everyone it was terrible.

How so fuuny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Was up in Dargle View in Bray(Old Bray course) yesterday and the place is gone to the dogs Was never a good course, it was half decent for a knockabout rather than going to the range and learning nothing but wouldn't set foot in it again. Greens in a terrible state, a building site in the middle of the course, no yardages,fairways badly cut and a group of junkballs drinking cans along the 2nd hole.

Nice spot :rolleyes:

The most enjoyable thing I found when playing that course was the yorkie I ate. They keep the chocolate in the fridge so that's a plus. The last time I played it some fella was pushing a baby in a pram up the fairway. Craggy island stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Played mitchelstown earlier in the year, it was a digrace at the time to be honest. Greens were the worst ive ever seen.

Maybe its better now but then it was awful.

RE: Tramore, it is a nice track now but it drains like a new bucket!!!! So wet the last time i was there around 5 weeks ago.

It's marked with meters on the card...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Very funny indeed mp62. I have to be honest I only got it the second time I read it :-)

m r c wrote: »
    Very funny indeed mp62. I have to be honest I only got it the second time I read it :-)

I only got it after you posted:D-still had to read it again though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

The sign on a par 3 reads 130 yards, i hit a good 9 iron and come up way short of the green. I measure the hole and its closer to 160 yards.

How so fuuny?
    It's funny because you said you measured it by the distance you hit a club, (are you really that good?), now if you had used a laser then maybe your statement begins to make sense and would be somewhat credibile, also you were giving out about the greens but didn't say in particular what it was about them that didn't meet your exacting standards, perhaps there were been hollow cored at the time (which is standard practice for all golf courses in the spring), I also found that quite funny that as golfer you weren't aware of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭moycullen14

How so fuuny?

Ah, read your OP again. You said that you played 3 'good' shots to a 130 yd par 3 and failed to make the green. What you meant to say, maybe, was that you had 3 good TEE shots to the hole......

You know, My first was a great drive that finished at 80 yards. Next I middled a fine 5 wood 30 yards and had to lay up with a beautifully struck high-fade 5 iron that went 15 yds! Chipped on the green and took four putts for a very creditable 8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭WRENALDO

Kilcock GC is in smashing condition whilst some holes may go up and back it doesnt take away from the fact that they are nice holes. The 15th is a cracking golf hole. And also Corballis is a smahing little course with some of the best greens in Ireland .The 3rd hole could easily make it on best 18 holes in Ireland. Par 4 456 yard along the coast usually into the teeth of the wind . A par there is some achievement ! Both courses are only 15 euro as well so good value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

WRENALDO wrote: »
    Kilcock GC is in smashing condition whilst some holes may go up and back it doesnt take away from the fact that they are nice holes. The 15th is a cracking golf hole. And also Corballis is a smahing little course with some of the best greens in Ireland .The 3rd hole could easily make it on best 18 holes in Ireland. Par 4 456 yard along the coast usually into the teeth of the wind . A par there is some achievement ! Both courses are only 15 euro as well so good value for money.

Perhaps you misread the thread title? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭WRENALDO

Hi ni was just responding to the earlier comments been made about Corballis and Kilcock been the worst golf courses in Ireland which in my opinion is far from the truth.

It's funny because you said you measured it by the distance you hit a club, (are you really that good?), now if you had used a laser then maybe your statement begins to make sense and would be somewhat credibile, also you were giving out about the greens but didn't say in particular what it was about them that didn't meet your exacting standards, perhaps there were been hollow cored at the time (which is standard practice for all golf courses in the spring), I also found that quite funny that as golfer you weren't aware of that.

The greens had not been hollow cored or anything like that, they were simply the slowest, roughest, least smooth greens i have ever played on by a long way.

As regards the distance on the par 3's. I didnt really phrase it correct the last time but all i was trying to say that the hole were not playing anything like the distances on the card, that wasnt only my opinion, as i said it was a south east league match, there were 12 of us there from our club and everyone said the same thing about the par 3's.

Sorry for the confusion. We cant all be perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭B_Sharp

Have to agree with previous posters about Glenlo Abbey GC. 8 dreary holes, the par 3 towards the Corrib is it's only saving grace. Not sure I've ever slogged through the full 2 rounds of 9.

2nd green is donut shaped with rough in the centre, front 9 and back 9 pins often at opposite ends. Unless you hit the perfect shot into it, you're going to have to put sideways just to get an angle at the pin. There's challenging golf and then there's crazy golf!

It's not even maintained properly, you'll regularly find staff only beginning to cut the fairways and rough in the mid-afternoon. Only remains open so the adjoining hotel can advertise it to lure unsuspecting victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭DEVOTION

Dargle View in Bray is probably one of the worst for green conditions. But it is what it is; a temporary course waiting for the promised shopping centre to be built on it that will probably never arrive now. Living locally, I find it great for practice. It's not bad at all for a tenner.

The greens had not been hollow cored or anything like that, they were simply the slowest, roughest, least smooth greens i have ever played on by a long way.

As regards the distance on the par 3's. I didnt really phrase it correct the last time but all i was trying to say that the hole were not playing anything like the distances on the card, that wasnt only my opinion, as i said it was a south east league match, there were 12 of us there from our club and everyone said the same thing about the par 3's.

True the greens were in bad shape earlier on in the year,they're playing well at the minute and have been for a long time. The greens in Mitchelstown are notoriously slow-a 6 footer there could be a 20 footer elsewhere!! I always find it hard to readjust every time I go back to play there.I'm gonna see can I get them stinted...

As regards the distances on the par 3's, they're measured off the red white and blue markers. Have been out many a time with lads playing with GPS/laser devices and those markers are not wrong. There can be up to 15 metres in the difference as the back whites are sometimes on the front blues, and could be up to 5 meters shorter on some holes.
    Three of those par 3's play uphill/downhill- the 9th is downhill and open to all winds. I've seen the same players hit 5 wood/wedge there depending on the wind.
    Same with the eleventh-uphill and wide open. The 17th uphill usually into a prevailing wind is a half driver for me, 5-6 iron for others.
    The last 2 par 3's the 3rd and the 14th play to the distances on the card to the markers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

staker wrote: »

True the greens were in bad shape earlier on in the year,they're playing well at the minute and have been for a long time. The greens in Mitchelstown are notoriously slow-a 6 footer there could be a 20 footer elsewhere!! I always find it hard to readjust every time I go back to play there.I'm gonna see can I get them stinted...

As regards the distances on the par 3's, they're measured off the red white and blue markers. Have been out many a time with lads playing with GPS/laser devices and those markers are not wrong. There can be up to 15 metres in the difference as the back whites are sometimes on the front blues, and could be up to 5 meters shorter on some holes.
    Three of those par 3's play uphill/downhill- the 9th is downhill and open to all winds. I've seen the same players hit 5 wood/wedge there depending on the wind.
    Same with the eleventh-uphill and wide open. The 17th uphill usually into a prevailing wind is a half driver for me, 5-6 iron for others.
    The last 2 par 3's the 3rd and the 14th play to the distances on the card to the markers.

Ive played mitchelstown quite a few times and never had any issues with the par 3's or the course for that matter. It's nothing spectacular but it's by no means one of the worst courses in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

staker wrote: »

Stinted?:confused: