Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

I actually can't believe it's even being debated.

I would have thought everyone would say the league is first priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Clearly you're wrong when more than one person in the past couple of pages alone has said they'd prefer CL success.

Given that there's nowhere near 1000 posters in those few pages I'd say its very much up for debate.

Love how something that is very much up to the opinion of the individual isn't for debate. At all. Cool!

ill rephrase it then...it shouldnt even be up for debate. and id be pretty sure also, if the players have to choose, it would be the league all the way at the moment. maybe next year, if we regain our crown, then that attitude will change.

as regards peoples opinions on here, even a stopped clock is right two times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I think with our massive success in the league combined with our alright record in Europe has altered peoples perceptions on the Prem V CL.

The League is and should be goal numero uno.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

nicklauski wrote: »
    I actually can't believe it's even being debated.

I would have thought everyone would say the league is first priority.

Hang on, that's not quite the same thing.

United's priority when they set out in early August and what they'd prefer to win IF GIVEN THE CHOICE can be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

TheDoc wrote: »
    I'm with you on this one.

While obviously it is nice to win the CL, you cannot outweight going through 30+ games in a season and being crowned champions.

There is alot of cannon fodder in the CL to be fair, hence why failing to qualify is a disaster. But you can also get done over with poor decisions, moment dip in form etc.

Being crowned domestic champions should hold alot more water then the Champions League. I still call Liverpools victory the biggest capitulation by a team in the history of football, on the part of AC Milan.

Especially with the way the league is hotting up with so many contenders now, its the EPL for me all the way. Chelsea's victory last season pretty much summed up my feelings on the CL as a whole.

Absolutely love watching it, great spectacle, but every few years you get a random team winning it who shouldn't.

Agree completely . . I would take the league every season over the CL, its far more satisfying. The only reason we enjoy CL success so much is because its such a rarity . . If we won the CL every season and not the league, people would feel differantly. For me, the league is the target every season and our priority. The CL is and always will be the cream on the top of any season and never our primary goal.

You can get to the semis without actually playing a tough team . . For me, the defeat to City in the final day of the season was much much tougher then any champions league final defeat . . The team worked so hard to get back into the league and ended up throwing it away ! I would take a league victory this season . . Not because I accept less, but because the league is what I want to win most this season . ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    The CL means more to the vast majority of United fans. You can make all the points about it being a lottery and luck and bread/butter etc, and they're all valid. Doesn't matter. The Nou Camp and Moscow means far more to most fans that any league triumph, bar maybe 94. The losses to barca hurt more than the loss to City in the decider last year. And theyre our enemies.

You all remember the champions of England, champions of Europe chant? While line was always louder?

And there's no need for definitive proof on this point as always seems to be required on forums. It's common knowledge, simple as

What happened in 94 that was so special? Apart from the league win.

off the top of my head, the 96 league win takes some beating, after getting rid of all the players and the rise of Keane and performance of Cantona.

and dont even get me started on 2009 beating liverpool and claiming 18 titles, no champions league win will ever come close to that.

I'd say Hulk Hands meant 1993...(i.e. the 1992/1993 season / 1st title in 26 years etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Bet you wouldn't be saying that if United had had more European succes over the years....

no, in fact its me that should be labelling this sorta rubbish at you. if we had won less titles, you'd be saying league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

bullvine wrote: »
    What happened in 94 that was so special? Apart from the league win.

off the top of my head, the 96 league win takes some beating, after getting rid of all the players and the rise of Keane and performance of Cantona.

and dont even get me started on 2009 beating liverpool and claiming 18 titles, no champions league win will ever come close to that.

Not even the 6th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

ill rephrase it then...it shouldnt even be up for debate. and id be pretty sure also, if the players have to choose, it would be the league all the way at the moment. maybe next year, if we regain our crown, then that attitude will change.

If you could offer me CL or PL this year right now I'd take your hand off for the CL. It would be exactly the same at the start of any season. Our greatest memories as fans are all almost certainly Moscow 08 and Barcelona 99. As a club we should have had many more of those nights in the past 20 years. So yeah, CL for me.
    as regards peoples opinions on here, even a stopped clock is right two times a day.

You get plenty wrong yourself now in all fairness. And this is one of those times when no opinion is really right: its a matter of personal preference surely.

Bet you wouldn't be saying that if United had had more European succes over the years....

Its pie in the sky but United should have won the Champions League in 1998, by far the best team in europe that season but got decimated by injuries.

Fergie said so himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/2/04e0e834-e6c5-11e1-af33-00144feab49a.html#axzz24HKGiqFB

On another note, given the fact that we had to start our season with 2 midfielders in defence, its a surprise that the club hasnt tried to at least give our current squad the best opportunity possible to remain fit/comfortable while at the club. .

Say what you want about City, they seem to be doing some things the right way . .

Not even the 6th?

Ok, maybe the sixth would!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,336 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Let it all out brother, you'll feel better for it.

I'm not sure where this habit of pretending to be all magnanimous towards your hated rivals came from on here anyway? Its football, rivalry and hatred of your traditional foes are its lifeblood. It should be embraced rather than the hypocritical attempts to not appear bitter we see on here all too often . Of course we're bitter. Of course we're obsessed. Its football.

I actually bet a lot of the infighting and bitching on here would be solved by people accepting opposition fans will be delighted when you lose. how many threads are derailed by people accusing each other of "obsession" and "bitterness?" If we aqll accepted the flak a little better and engaged in it in a way that doesn't break the charter this place would be aot better off and more craic too, and would also reflect more accurately they way I bet we all are in real life.
    Are you from/living in the Manchester/Liverpool area? Or are you basing your "hatred" (which is a very strong word btw) on a few lads you know and the amount of Wummery the gang of ye get up to?

Personally I believe the only people who should be let away with a position of hatred for another club are those that live in the area of the club they support.
    Otherwise, it's just funny as that hatred is based on absolutely nothing but perhaps a want of some one-up-man-ship on fans of that club that you know.

Liverpool and Manchester are two cities a long way away from here. Why I would hate football clubs in either city is something I cannot comprehend.
    I might disagree with their business model and might question some of the people paid millions by these clubs, but to hate the clubs and the clubs fans is just moronic tbh.

no, in fact its me that should be labelling this sorta rubbish at you. if we had won less titles, you'd be saying league.

Doubt it. Back when we only had 9 or 10 leagues I remember looking at us toil in the CL against the likes of Gotherburg and dreaming of being up there with the Milans et al of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Hang on, that's not quite the same thing.

United's priority when they set out in early August and what they'd prefer to win IF GIVEN THE CHOICE can be different.

I still think it would be the League.
    But if you think different, work away.
    If we all agreed all the time, this place would be fairly boring. :)

kippy wrote: »
    Are you from/living in the Manchester/Liverpool area? Or are you basing your "hatred" (which is a very strong word btw) on a few lads you know and the amount of Wummery the gang of ye get up to?

Personally I believe the only people who should be let away with a position of hatred for another club are those that live in the area of the club they support.
    Otherwise, it's just funny as that hatred is based on absolutely nothing but perhaps a want of some one-up-man-ship on fans of that club that you know.

Liverpool and Manchester are two cities a long way away from here. Why I would hate football clubs in either city is something I cannot comprehend.

I might disagree with their business model and might question some of the people paid millions by these clubs, but to hate the clubs and the clubs fans is just moronic tbh.
    Who do you support and where do you live?

Because if I can love a club from Manchester (a long way away from here) then surely I can just as easily despise a club and its supporters that are based a long way away from here too. On is no more or less ludicrous than the other.

Doubt it. Back when we only had 9 or 10 leagues I remember looking at us toil in the CL against the likes of Gotherburg and dreaming of being up there with the Milans et al of this world.

Yeah but the foreign player restriction and the english club ban had a massive effect on the game in fairness in the early 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

the best team doesnt always win a knock out competition, normally the best team wins the league. Liverpool, Porto, Chelsea, 3 very average teams have come out of nowhere to win the CL in the past 8 years, which IMO devalues the competition when it comes down to saying who is the best team, not only in the country, but in europe.

Real Madrid are the best team in europe right now, not Chelsea and they are barely in the top 10 imo.

Out of them three Liverpool were probably the team that least deserved to win a champions league. At least Chelsea and Porto have won their domestic league recently.

I would definitely take a Champions League win over a Premier League this season if we finished a close second in the league. We have already proven ourselves in the league under Ferguson. Another couple of Champions League wins and he will go down as the greatest manager of all time (It will also mean we will also have the blue badge on the sleeves)

Winning the league gets a bit boring after a while. The fact that you could get knocked out if your not on form makes the Champions league more exciting in my opinion.

As an aside, I read recently enough that the antipathy between the two cities stems from Manchester's undercutting of Liverpool's dockland activities when the canals were built prior to the turn of the last century. It devastated Liverpool's economy.

Yeah but the foreign player restriction and the english club ban had a massive effect on the game in fairness in the early 90's.

That doesn't really affect that fact that the Cl was and is the pinnacle of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Felexicon wrote: »
    Premier League is the trophy we should be setting our sights on every season. If we get a good run in the Champions league well and good. I'm never really gutted when we go out of the CL but my heart sank when Aguero scored against QPR

I agree but to be fair losing the league the way we did last year wasn't your 'average' way of finishing runner-up.

We went into the final day of the season all resigned to the notion there was no hope of an upset at the Etihad, then we find ourselves approaching full time on our way to a 20th league title only for 2 injury time goals to snatch it away from us again.

This was an extraordinary way to lose the league after all the twist and turns, so it would have been felt alot more than say when Chelsea regained it in 2010 on the final day.

I'd say how we felt on May 13th was how all the Bayern Munich fans felt after the '99 CL final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

f*ck right off, nothing and i mean nothing, compares to last season. i was at Wembley for 11 final, was in moscow so ive experienced both sides of the coin.

ive also experienced the 6-1, ive been there for our last minute winners against them.

dont you f8cking dare try to tell me which hurt more, cos you just dont have a f*cking clue. this place is being shown up today for what it is, a bunch of glory hunters who just dont get the importance of a league title and what it means for our club.

you do realise this is a discussion forum, for people to post their own opinions? It sounds as if you're taking this much too personally.

f*ck right off, nothing and i mean nothing, compares to last season. i was at Wembley for 11 final, was in moscow so ive experienced both sides of the coin.

ive also experienced the 6-1, ive been there for our last minute winners against them.

dont you f8cking dare try to tell me which hurt more, cos you just dont have a f*cking clue. this place is being shown up today for what it is, a bunch of glory hunters who just dont get the importance of a league title and what it means for our club.

Homer thinks that what he feels should be what everyone else should feel too. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Every year the League v Champions League debate begins ,and every year the League comes out on top.

The champions league is a great competition and is a great spectacle to watch ,And throws up some mouth watering games every year ..

But for me and many other fans the league is the holy grail every year ,Its the bread and butter ,The monday morning glory , what makes or breaks your week /month /year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

This thread has jumped the shark.

Wembley in 2011 hurt me more than the final day of last season.

I went into the CL final full of hope, only to see the team that I love humiliated.

I went into the Sunderland vs United / City vs QPR games not feeling full of hope at all, so the end result didn't hurt me as much.

I am actually starting to think this place has become full of trolls, how anybody can think losing to Barca was worse than Agueros last minute winner.

The last month has been hell, the clip comes on Sky Sports News the hole time and I feel sick with the sight of it. I can't actually watch sky at the moment because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Wembley in 2011 hurt me more than the final day of last season.

I went into the CL final full of hope, only to see the team that I love humiliated.

I went into the Sunderland vs United / City vs QPR games not feeling full of hope at all, so the end result didn't hurt me as much.

Even though we were seconds from pulling off the unlikely? Was your hopes not brought up then? I know the CL defeats to Barcelona were hard to watch but when your outclassed your outclassed I find it much harder to lose in such closer margins.

Goal difference in stoppage time hurts alot more than a better team convincingly beating you on the day.

I am actually starting to think this place has become full of trolls, how anybody can think losing to Barca was worse than Agueros last minute winner.

The last month has been hell, the clip comes on Sky Sports News the hole time and I feel sick with the sight of it. I can't actually watch sky at the moment because of it.

I'd say Bayern Munich fans feel exactly the same everytime they see Ole's toe poke and those images of Sammy Kuffour punching the ground in agony.

The hurt from teh Aguero goal has as much to do with the manner of the defeat as the competition in which said defeat occured.