If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Things will come to those who wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

pconn062 wrote: »
    8.3 miles

Session: 1 mile WU, 3x2 mile @ LT pace (6.24) off 2 minutes recovery, 1 mile WD

So the Frank Duffy 10 mile is less than 2 weeks away so wanted to put in a good week this week mileage and session wise. Headed into the track with this session in mind and really wanted to nail it, was a bit warm and windy which I was kind of glad of as I wanted a real tester. I entered my 4 mile time into a calculator which gave my LT pace as 6.25 so that was the target. First 2 mile was fairly tough, felt I was working hard and the wind was testing but got through it. 2 mins recovery and then into the second one, again the pace felt tough and I was pushing to hold it and was fairly wrecked at the end, could definitely still feel Sundays race in my legs. Took an extra minutes recovery at the end of this because I felt it was better to do this than to bail out of the session. Last one was a bit better and felt a bit stronger overall. Good session and hopefully it should stand to me.

On another non running note I was standing outside tonight and happened to see the International Space Station as it passed overhead, maybe not that interesting but for a nerd like me it was pretty cool! :) (passing every hour if anyone is interested!)

2 mile splits: 12:46, 12:47, 12:51

MYTD: 1158

nice work with the tempo session there, they are very tough and you were right to extend recovery and get the 3 by 2miles in. best of luck with rest of training for the 10mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

tisnotover wrote: »
    nice work with the tempo session there, they are very tough and you were right to extend recovery and get the 3 by 2miles in. best of luck with rest of training for the 10mile

Cheers tisnotover, yeah was very tempted to throw the towel in after the second 2 mile group but felt better after the longer recovery, tough oul sessions them though, hopefully will stand to me!

4 mile, 34:06, 8.31 avg pace

Nice handy one today just to get a bit of blood flowing in the legs, felt tired enough though which I'm mainly putting down to the heat. Long run at the club tomorrow, my longest so far this year all going well, hope it's a nice day for it!

MYTD: 1183

16.5 miles, 2:11:17, 7.59 avg. pace

Into the club this morning to meet up with a few guys for a long run, 4 of us headed out. Enjoyed this run, was warm and a bit windy which wasn't ideal but the pace felt handy enough and manageable. The other lads started flagging around 14 miles but I think the few extra miles I have in my legs this year seemed to stand to me and I felt comfy the whole way around.
    Overall a good week, a good LT session on Tuesday, a medium long run on Wednesday at a good pace and a good long run today. Also my highest weekly mileage so far this year with 49.5 miles (no sniggering down the back please! :)) Easier week now this week to lead up to the race.

MYTD: 1199.5

Monday: Rest day

Today: 6.5 miles

2.5 mile WU, 3 miles in 19:34 (6.30 pace, 10 mile race pace hopefully! :o), 1.1 mile WD

This is the last hardish session I'm going to do before the race on Saturday. Probably won't do any good at this stage, more of a confidence boosting thing. Felt OK on the 3 fast miles, have to say though it felt like a fast pace to try and sustain for 10 miles! :eek: Just have to trust the training I suppose at this stage. Getting nervous now though, this is my longest race since the disaster that was the Dundalk 1/2.

MYTD: 1206

9.25 mile with 8.25 miles in 57:10 (6.55 avg. pace)

Into the club for this one, bit of a mixed bag this one, legs and breathing felt fine but the stomach was in ribbons for most of the 8 mile section. Dunno what was wrong, think I ate too close to running and it bit me right in the ass, was a real sufferfest. Happy enough with the pace though, way faster than I intended to run but because my stomach was so bad I just wanted to get it done, that and the fact that I got fucking soaked as well, this weather is starting to piss me off now! :mad: That's the work done now, easy run tomorrow and Friday off takes me up to Saturday.

MYTD: 1215.5

5.5 miles, 48:23, 8.43 avg. pace

Very slow recovery run today, nothing much to report except to say that my stomach still doesn't feel right, was cramping up a bit which was causing me to get side annoying little side stitches. Not sure what causing it but there's not much I can do about it, just going to forget about it and hope I'll be OK for Saturday. Not going to run tomorrow which should leave me feeling fresh enough. Just after reading Tunguska's break down of the course on the events page and it sounds like it's going to be toughie, making up time on the flat/downhill sections is going to be vital.

MYTD: 1221

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You a number in your head for Saturday? Say you'll go 63.xx.

tang1 wrote: »
    You a number in your head for Saturday? Say you'll go 63.xx.

I have a number in my head alright but it's not 63!! Would be delighted with 65:xx, it's not an easy course by any means so 65 would be grand with me! How's the injury?

Not looking good, at physio again today and said no improvement in it. Reckons it looks more like a month out than 2 weeks. If thats the case, bye bye marathon. Ah your being soft on yourself with your 65, i reckon.

Ah that sucks but hopefully it will improve in the next while. One thing to remember is that there are lots of marathons in Ireland now and even though you might be disappointed to possibly miss Dublin, the training you have done won't go to waste and you can tackle another marathon at nearly every time of year. But fingers crossed it will heal up and you will be on the start line in Dublin.

Cheers, if i miss it then it wasn't meant to be. As you said loads of marathons in Ireland now so i can focus on another one when injury clears up. Best of luck Saturday, looking forward to the race report.

Told you so!!!

I should have trusted you! :)

Chip time: 1:03:48 (6.21 avg pace)

Very happy with that and much better than I expected. Thought 65 was on and I had intentions of taking it easy at the start and seeing how I felt. Lined up and met Philip (VaderMLK) who decided at the last minute to run and treat it as a MP effort I think (wasn't talking to you after, hope it went well!)
    Myself and a friend of mine set off together at the gun and eased into it, streams of people went past us but I wasn't worried and sure enough over the next two miles we started passing them in droves, first two miles 6.21, 6.34. Was feeling a bit ropey at the start and different feel 100% on these first two miles, stomach was a bit dodgy but it seemed to improve over the 3rd mile, 6.39. This was a tough enough mile, very open and windy. I was feeling good now and my friend was struggling a bit so I put in a bit of surge and we turned on the footpaths and back up chesterfield avenue, miles 4 and 5: 6.20 and 6.14.
    Was absolutely cruising at this point and passed halfway in about 32.20. Into mile 6 and I still felt great, I was consistently catching groups and passing them which was a real buzz and even the pace different suffer too badly as we hit the hills, mile 6 and 7: 6.10, 6.18.
    Mile 8 I put in a bit of a push to catch the group in front of me as I knew mile 9 would be tough and wanted a group to work with(mile 8 6.12). Everyone seemed to say mile 9 was tough and I was starting to feel the effort now, breathing was becoming more laboured and I was looking forward to finishing, mile 9: 6.39. Just as we passed the mile 9 marker I tagged on the a group that went by me and they were moving well, half a mile to go I spotted a guy ahead who I race a lot (and he always beats me!) so put in a final surge to pass him (and shot him a smug glance! :cool:) and flew down the finishing straight, final mile 6.08.
    Very, very happy with that, great to feel so strong in the middle and end miles of a longer race. Met Meno at the end who kindly gave me my t-shirt as I struggled to catch my breath. Good day for racing, conditions were fairly good and the course was not as tough as I anticipated, a great event as usual for the race series. Now I'm going to have a few beers, will try and get out tomorrow for a recovery run (no promises!)

138th place overall.

MYTD: 1232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Well done pconn - Fantastic time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Great running P. That's really upped the bar. You'll have to be going for sub 1.25 in the half now?

menoscemo wrote: »
    Great running P. That's really upped the bar. You'll have to be going for sub 1.25 in the half now?

Cheers Meno, yeah surprised myself a bit with that one today. Not sure what the plan is for the half, I would be delighted with 1.25/26. Good luck with your race tomorrow, will watch with interest (i.e. will wait to see how you get on and then decide on what time I need to run! :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Cheers Meno, yeah surprised myself a bit with that one today. Not sure what the plan is for the half, I would be delighted with 1.25/26. Good luck with your race tomorrow, will watch with interest (i.e. will wait to see how you get on and then decide on what time I need to run! :pac:)

Tomorrows race is all about setting targets.
    It allows me to set a target for Berlin and you and Ray to set a target for the Dublin Half :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

Good stuff, great racing today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 VaderMLK

Well done yesterday pconn. Good to meet u beforehand. that was a great time u did. I finished in about 67 min or thereabouts. kept the same pace all the way so was happy with that. hope your friend mark got on well also. half next up for you ? you'll have to do the marathon now to complete the t-shirt collection !!

VaderMLK wrote: »
    Well done yesterday pconn. Good to meet u beforehand. that was a great time u did. I finished in about 67 min or thereabouts. kept the same pace all the way so was happy with that. hope your friend mark got on well also. half next up for you ? you'll have to do the marathon now to complete the t-shirt collection !!

Thanks Philip, nice to see you again. That's a great run you had, you did exactly what you wanted to do. Mark had a good run, 69 I think which he was pleased with given his current fitness. Def no marathon for me this year, will give the half a good crack and then it's into the cross country for the winter! Good luck with the training and keep us posted with how it's going.

35 mins easy

Dragged my self out of bed this morning to meet a friend for a short easy (read hungover) run. legs are sore, was tired and the stomach was bit funny which is to be expected I suppose. Feel better now for doing it though.
    Just came across one pic from yesterday, this was at the halfway mark where I felt great and was cruising along nicely, for once I don't look like I'm suffering! :)

http://www.racepix.com/Phoenix10Mile2012/racephotos/780/photo/112/

MYTD: 1235.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Well done pconn. Great time.

Cheers tBB, and thanks for the support on the course, seen you with the buggy (obviously didn't know it was you then! :D), much appreciated!

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: 55 mins

Up in Monaghan in the OH's parents house for a few days so today's run was in the gym on the dreadmill, as the trails in Rossmore Forest were all flooded. Decided to do a bit of a session so did 3x10 minutes at tempo pace. Only problem was all the paces on the fecking treadmill were in km/h so had to try and guess the paces a bit but went something like this, getting gradually quicker.

1st rep (4.10-4.00 pace)
    2nd rep (4.05-3.55 pace)
    3rd rep (4.00-3.50 pace)

Unfortunately those paces are km/h not mp/h. ;) Never felt like I was pushing the effort much and the legs felt good for the whole session, happy enough to get a bit of quality in. The next two weeks are all about the Dublin 1/2 before a taper week before the race itself. Club run tomorrow.

MYTD: 1242

9.5 miles, 7.14 avg pace

Into the club tonight, out with one or two of the lads for an 8 mile loop after a few warm up laps. Felt good for most of this, legs were a bit heavy by the end and had one or two stomach cramps but the effort level felt good for the pace we were running at. Going to head in again to do a session tomorrow, hopefully someone else will be there to do it with. Will probably do 2x20 minutes at 1/2 marathon pace (blatantly stolen from Raycun's log! :pac:), but will play it by ear and see what everyone else is doing.

MYTD: 1251.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Great racing Pconn, real strong last mile there. Are you doing DCM? Sub-3?

cwgatling wrote: »
    Great racing Pconn, real strong last mile there. Are you doing DCM? Sub-3?

Cheers cwgatling, no marathon for me this year at the coaches advice. Going to focus on the Dublin Half and then into cross country for the winter.
    That was an awesome run you had a the weekend, great to be so far under 60 at your first attempt, should set you up great for DCM. I saw a fellow in a Tallaght singlet hop the barrier and jump in beside me so I presume that was you, you hadn't much time before the gun went!

6 miles

Session: 1x20 minute, 3 min rec, 1x10 minute @ 1/2 marathon pace (6.30)

This was meant to be 2x20 minutes but the stomach was in absolute bits and had to cut it short. Didn't even feel good on the warm up but got through the first block OK, even if I was in bits by the end. Only for I was doing this session with a clubmate of mine I would have called it quits here but felt OK after 3 minutes and started the second one. I was really struggling and had to call it a day early :(. I know there is a case for HTFU here but I was nearly doubled over with cramps so probably did the right thing, couldn't even do a warm down. The only good thing was that the pace felt fine, breathing was fine for the whole thing and we were constantly throwing on the breaks to stay around 6.30 pace. Still, two more sessions next week should set me up OK. Recovery run tomorrow.

MYTD: 1257.5