Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

what about tyreland in swords/glasnevin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

what about tyreland in swords/glasnevin?

I used their one in Glasnevin, can't go wrong, decent price and the tyre was hardly worn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

andyseadog wrote: »
    Ah very good, where are you going then?

CIT for myself, you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

mmcn90 wrote: »
    They're 'used' *cough*

Worn badly or partly worn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Worn badly or partly worn?

I was kind of joking, but €13 just sounds far too cheap. Tyreland was the best value I found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

mmcn90 wrote: »
    I was kind of joking, but €13 just sounds far too cheap. Tyreland was the best value I found.

Nah seriously, €13 for a tyre. Although they're just about legal to get you through the NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

cgal093 wrote: »
    Go to that place in Sheriff street, only €13 for a tyre, be grand.
    Nah seriously, €13 for a tyre. Although they're just about legal to get you through the NCT

Just enough "to get you through" the NCT shouldn't be your main concern when buying tyres imo

Delighted for ye chaps.

Likewise, well done to ye both, won't be a walk in the park but still a great time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

OSI wrote: »
    Well, tbf I don't think the long term safety of the cars is Cgals main objective, getting them through the NCT so he can sell them is.

Not much help to Gollwog though.

I was only kidding when I said that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Ah yeah, that's fair enough, but in saying that, if they're ~£90 on Camskill, they can't be THAT much dearer locally.

Those BFGoorich's do get great reviews, guys in a M3, ST, and MX5 all give it great reviews on that site.

Yes you see i think there around 130 -140 depending on where i go.
    So im not sure whether to spend the extra 30 or 40 quid on them or just give the bf goodrich a go... decisions decisions eh?
    Any other recomendations while im here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

i am fecking puzzled.... i just found balancing weights from the wheel on the ground where mazda is usually parked. i cant see from which wheel those are as wheels not dirty enought to see. how the feck that is even possible?! i just took it and placed on the metal sheet and it glued to it like crazy... so how the feck it could have poped off from a standing car?! :confused:

i am getting some sort of unlucky streak here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Anyone know anything about landmowers?
    Last week I had the petrol mower upside down, tearing off all the old grass from underneath and spun the rotor a bit by hand. Oil came pouring out from somewhere under the motor on the topside of the mower (maybe 50ml-100ml)

When I started it up, white smoke filled the garden and its a big-ass garden! Now it sounds like the piston is slapping (the valves I presume?). But it ran for an hour since and seems to be alright, although it doesn't seem to get up to full speed and is drinking the fuel.

What would cause oil to leak out like that by turning the blade? Does the rotation of the blade work as the oil pump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

:cool:

1527917_o.gif

So goodyear or vredestein basically then?!
    was thinking about michelin ps3's either?
    And theres pirelli p-zero rossos' on the front at the moment that seem good in the dry even with small thread, there 125 each fitted.
    God im so confused right now....
    Please help, wet grip is of utmost importance to me!

Put the Punto up on Donedeal for €60, had 1 call from a guy, he offered €20.

Who the **** haggles on the price of a car going for €60???

Go for the goodyears golly, i would be all over 4x 19" but i can't justify it with a set of tyres albiet a crap brand with over 3/4 thread when i need a detail and some small dents removed first

Put the Punto up on Donedeal for €60, had 1 call from a guy, he offered €20.

Who the **** haggles on the price of a car going for €60???

Surely a scrapyard will give €50 if you remove the tyres

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Surely a scrapyard will give €50 if you remove the tyres

Ah but I'm really not arsed towing it, or taking off the tyres.

And I wanna buy bottles of Budweiser tonight!

Budweiser is pure muck, prolly better off drinking the brake fluid and coolant in the punto instead :p

This is the king of all beers :D

17789_M.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I got €100 for a Peugeot 106 a few months ago from a metal recycling company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

17789_M.jpg

That's a cider...

Ah but I don't wanna tow it! :(

17789_M.jpg

Doing it wrong you are

Zywiec.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

So you at least managed to sell one car? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

MugMugs wrote: »

LOL! :D:D:D

(Sorry MM!) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

:cool:

I mistyped, it was on its side.

Go for the goodyears golly, i would be all over 4x 19" but i can't justify it with a set of tyres albiet a crap brand with over 3/4 thread when i need a detail and some small dents removed first

Right then, ill call everywhere tommorrow morning and decide then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah but I don't wanna tow it! :(

You don't have to, they should collect it.
    MugMugs wrote: »

You're an asshole.
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    LOL! :D:D:D

(Sorry MM!) :p

You're also an asshole.