Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

People these days has way too much time on their hands.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3785091

4 minutes since you posted that and the ad's already gone.
    Quick modding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

CianRyan wrote: »
    4 minutes since you posted that and the ad's already gone.
    Quick modding!

Dang should have done a screen grab...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Dang should have done a screen grab...

What was it?

cgal093 wrote: »
    What was it?

It was a joke. Someone up an ad of a fella, looking for a woman. It included low milage, extra boot space, just strange things like that..

But when I explain something, it never reall is funny... :( A bit of a catch 22. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

I know its not everybodies cup of tea but and spent the weekend up in Tyrone for round 4 of Prodrift and mother of god i am hooked!

Himself was driving in it and my heart was literally in my mouth. The Saturday driving session was something special went on until 10pm under flood lights the cars just looked amazing going around the track!

Roll on Mondello in September!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Quick Q for ye lads - where would be a good place to get a car radio/shop around for a car radio?

Seen this one in halfords and think it'd really suit my car but a bit on the expensive side - trying to pick up one similar to this for a bit less if possible.

*Edit* nevermind never realised pixmania did car audio parts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Fiona wrote: »
    I know its not everybodies cup of tea but and spent the weekend up in Tyrone for round 4 of Prodrift and mother of god i am hooked!

Himself was driving in it and my heart was literally in my mouth. The Saturday driving session was something special went on until 10pm under flood lights the cars just looked amazing going around the track!

Roll on Mondello in September!

So you're a pikey now?!

It's a great show but the support that follows it really let it down. I'd go to mondello to watch it only I couldn't leave my car in the carpark safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

So you're a pikey now?!

It's a great show but the support that follows it really let it down. I'd go to mondello to watch it only I couldn't leave my car in the carpark safely.

Pro Drift.

The Aslan of motorsports. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

So you're a pikey now?!

Can't really comment on that to be honest everybody i have encountered in it so far has been grand in the venues i have gone to.

It would be fair to say you will have some undesirables in all forms of sports that's just life! The buzz though is something else.

Some amount of work the lads put into their cars its a shame when it all goes horribly wrong for them especially the ones where they don't have sponsorship etc.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

To be fair, that's not one bit of a spoiler. It has absolutely nothing to do with the plot as it's a very small side-story :)

That's what you think!

*waits for Dave to find out that Jnr steals the car back and kills Gus with it*
    Maybe an RX8! I''ve no need for more than 2 seats just yet!;)

The RX8 is very practical though, it has 4 seats, the rear ones even come with isofix :D Very useful thing to know as you walk the kids passed the car on the way to the creche as you've no money for petrol :P There's a nice R3 you should take a look at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

so i've being going on about this so long now but its finally getting done.

all items are here, Head unit conversion kit for civic 2007 and the Head unit itself is in the DHL office at the airport (dublin) and will be collecting at 6pm.

so with all the items here to have the job done, i just need it all fitted !

finally getting this done :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

jenizzle wrote: »
    That's what you think!

*waits for Dave to find out that Jnr steals the car back and kills Gus with it*

The RX8 is very practical though, it has 4 seats, the rear ones even come with isofix :D Very useful thing to know as you walk the kids passed the car on the way to the creche as you've no money for petrol :P There's a nice R3 you should take a look at...

I'm finished seasons 1 - 4 so whisht yar face :P

Yeah Alan, you can LOOK at that R3 but if you touch it, your days are numbered buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

OSI wrote: »
    "Autoglass repair. Autoglass replace."

As well as the Irish and UK version of their TV ad, they have the exact same scripted ad in Australia, except they don't go under Autoglass there.

Instead it's "O-O-O---O'Briens!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

whyulittle wrote: »
    As well as the Irish and UK version of their TV ad, they have the exact same scripted ad in Australia, except they don't go under Autoglass there.

Instead it's "O-O-O---O'Briens!" :D

Same in the US of A! Although I can't remember what name they go under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

got the pffer i wanted in the CAO today... yaay :D
    got declined for any form on student assistance today... nay :mad:

i'l be cutting my work hours right back to go to college... does not compute that they can't offer a penny to me to go to college but could offer me the guts of 200 a week if i drop out and quit my job to sit on my hole :confused: losing faith here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

andyseadog wrote: »

i'l be cutting my work hours right back to go to college... does not compute that they can't offer a penny to me to go to college but could offer me the guts of 200 a week if i drop out and quit my job to sit on my hole :confused: losing faith here.

Got mine too. Got my second choice which I'm happy with as I knew I wasn't getting my first with the points I got. Happy out.

andyseadog wrote: »

Got mine too. Got my second choice which I'm happy with as I knew I wasn't getting my first with the points I got. Happy out.

Delighted for ye chaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Ah very good, where are you going then?

Changed the engine in a Punto this morning, started at 10 and finished about a half hour ago. Piece of cake :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

fair dues dgt cgal!

Also, with the donor car we took EVERYTHING out that was sell-able, its in bits :pac:

7824053092_a6f2dacfd7_c.jpg
    7824053622_21fb5159dd_c.jpg
    7824052388_0059db7a08_c.jpg

Might as well empty the bins into the back seats :pac:
    7824052782_0d48d90120_c.jpg
    7824050914_a961b81656_c.jpg

Old engine;
    7824051404_a1cf770614_c.jpg

Some rust;
    7824052060_8876920af9_c.jpg

If anyone wants the car for €30 lemme know :D

*might swap for a bottles of Budweiser..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You'd sell any windows in it handy enough if you can take them out I'd say.
    If it's anything like an old Starlet new windows are ****ing extortionate!

Two rear windows are gone, couldn't be arsed taking out the front two..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

7824052388_0059db7a08_c.jpg

"robbed yoke"

Classy...

dar83 wrote: »
    "robbed yoke"

Classy...

You should whats been drawn on the roof :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Hey guys im getting two new front tyres in the coming week.
    Rang one place for prices and they recommended BF Goodrich g-force profilers.
    117 euro each, he raved about them actually. I know nothing about these, are they any good, whats the grip like in the dry and wet etc? And is that a fair price??

gollywog wrote: »
    Hey guys im getting two new front tyres in the coming week.
    Rang one place for prices and they recommended BF Goodrich g-force profilers.
    117 euro each, he raved about them actually. I know nothing about these, are they any good, whats the grip like in the dry and wet etc? And is that a fair price??

Go to that place in Sheriff street, only €13 for a tyre, be grand.

13 euro for a tire? :eek: Are they triangler tires????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

OSI wrote: »
    Get some pretty good reviews:

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/BFGoodrich/gForce-Profiler-2.htm

What size tyres are on the 17's? Goodyear Eagle F1 2's on camskill for circa £90

225/45/17.
    Ya id prefer to buy local if at all possible and plus its just handier you know??
    I dont want an "ok" tyre this time though, I want an excellent one so should I pick another??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

13 euro for a tire? :eek: Are they triangler tires????

They're 'used' *cough*