Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Can't disagree with that, i've seen continents move faster.

But I can't help but like the big man.

Yeah me too, he's slow sure, but to be honest I genuinely think he's the best second choice centreback we've had in a very very long time.

Pretty shocked to hear the fans were booing the team today, pretty disgraceful really. I think its important to get behind the team at this stage and make the new players feel at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

what about squillachi? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yeah me too, he's slow sure, but to be honest I genuinely think he's the best second choice centreback we've had in a very very long time.

Pretty shocked to hear the fans were booing the team today, pretty disgraceful really. I think its important to get behind the team at this stage and make the new players feel at home.

I'd imagine that was over the RVP thing rather than today's display though. From reading the papers many fans are not happy with him going to Utd.

He's a similar player to Stevie Bould. Not the quickest, but a great footballing and defensive brain. Knows how to keep the backline from panicking every attack as well.

Well the game has changed alot since Bould was at Arsenal but what an insult. he is nothing as good as Bould. He nearly trips over himself half the time. A poor mans Andy Linighan at the moment and that is saying something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

Well the game has changed alot since Bould was at Arsenal but what an insult. he is nothing as good as Bould. He nearly trips over himself half the time. A poor mans Andy Linighan at the moment and that is saying something

a poor mans Andy Linighan with 81 caps for Germany

do me a favour :rolleyes:

what about squillachi? :D

I suppose at least Mert will attack the ball. Toto is a truly awful defender. On paper i thought he might work out but by god is he sh*te. Poor Kyle Bartley gone to Swansea but compared to Squillachi he is Franco Baresi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Yeah the booing sucked, the atmosphere at the start of the match was one of the more intense that I've been to, the desire from the crowd for a win was almost physical. You could feel it, you could feel us all wanting the victory to turn up our fingers at the doubters and to reassure us that the new signings will do the business and replace those who are gone. (they will, in time I think)

I was behind 3 guys who booed, and an older gent turned around and said don't be booing the team, one of the boo-ers got up in his face (old guy, maybe 60, boo-er late 20's)giving it all "I pay for this I've got the right!"
    Just a d1ckhead.
    Not a supporter.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I suppose at least Mert will attack the ball. Toto is a truly awful defender. On paper i thought he might work out but by god is he sh*te. Poor Kyle Bartley gone to Swansea but compared to Squillachi he is Franco Baresi

I had high hopes for Squillachi before I actually saw him play! Thoguht he had a reasonabley good rep before he came here and knew he played for the french national team. Oh well :D

hahaha.

Squillachi must have been paying off pro evo and fifa for years. stats were always in the high 80s. then you see him properly in the prem and the only high 80s about him is that he's the same running speed as an 80year old.

a poor mans Andy Linighan with 81 caps for Germany

do me a favour :rolleyes:

Its a miracle he won all those caps. He is awful. Slow, no postioning and Clumsy. The premier league not the best in the world but is very fast and Mert is being taken to school by some highly average attacking players.

I had high hopes for Squillachi before I actually saw him play! Thoguht he had a reasonabley good rep before he came here and knew he played for the french national team. Oh well :D

Same here to be honest. He also won several league titles with lyon but he is so poor its embarrassing and its normally highly unusual to see Wenger push a player he paid 7m for down the pecking order but in Totos case its about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

After all the links i sent earlier ended up getting a phone call and having to head out and miss the match all together, but from what im hearing we played ok got a draw aainst a decent Sunderland side not a bad opening day really but as expected well now be hearing doom mongering from some fans and especially in the media wwho will say thats it were done, not by a long fcuking shot are we done yet.

As for the Mert argument I think hes been a very good solid signing, yes hes slow be hes a great reader of the game, a very good passer off the ball and seems to be a very calming influence on the defence. As for those saying hes awakwad he just looks awakrd ala Peter Crouch syndrome becaus eof his size, I remeber at one point last season he had our highest pass completion rate from evey player in the squad.

i dont think sunderland are that good tbh.

cuellar centre back...

frazer campbell up front...

Gardner out of position at right back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

19m not the worst price for Song so long as it as reinvested. I liked Song but in all honesty players like him are ten a penny and it isnt as if he plays at a high tempo which i think at Arsenal we need a player to play at.
    Frimpong is still raw but in time he will more then replace him

15m mate

15 million pounds is 19 million euro.Mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

15 million pounds is 19 million euro.Mate.

bxz3N.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I'm starting to worry about next season already. Who will Barca be replacing and who can we expect to replace him from Arsenal?

At this stage, it would not only be Barca but most top clubs in Europe who would be looking at the best players in Arsenal this season. Walcot is yet to sign a new contract ffs and the other players are not deaf ,dumb and blind.

Anything short of top 3 and at least a trophy this season, then we could be in for bigger problems next year.

Sahin omitted from the Madrid squad for there match fingers crossed its a good sign for us. Also Arshavin has suppossedly had a meeting with Wenger the main topic of discussion being arranging a move away from the club for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Hi lads,

Haven't had a chance to read back over the thread since the end of the game so just posting my thoughts as an opposite view.

First half we played as we always do under O'Neill. Pure counter attacking football. Solid at the back, draw the opposition onto us and look to break as quickly as possible. I thought we did that pretty well to be honest, McClean got in behind early on, Sessegnon looked dangerous when on the ball and Colback broke from midfield nicely a couple of times and got a shot on target. For you lot I thought Cazorla was excellent in the first half, great shot and save from Mignolet, lovely movement and got himself into some nice positions in and around the box. I think the vast majority of what you do this season will come through him. He honestly reminded me of Fabregas out there at times.

Second half Cattermole was told to man mark Cazorla and I thought he did exceptionally well (apart from one time which I'll come back to). We started to fade around 55 minutes in, the players all spoke about how warm it was on the field so that, along with the fact it was the first game, was probably why we began to fall deeper and deeper back as time went on. Sessegnon was shattered so had to come off (he hasn't played any preseason game) and that's when it started to become something like an attack v defence training exercise. I thought the key change came around 70 minutes in when we brought Elmohamady on. He pinned Gibbs back a bit and relived a lot of pressure at key times with his pace. As for Arsenal in the second half, lets just say I need a new pair of underpants after Giroud went through on goal, I nearly shat myself :pac: Great ball from Carzola and that was the one time he got away from Cattermole which I spoke about earlier. Gervinho seemed a lot more confident and I thought it was interesting how Wenger rotated the front 3 and they each played in different positions over the course of the game. Giroud's miss was poor but he was only just on the field and I'd be a lot more worried if he wasn't getting into those positions.

Man of the Match - I'd have to give this to Cuellar. A great debut and a rock at the back IMO. A bargain if he continues to put in performances like that. Richardson and Cattermole also very good and Cazorla definitely in with a very good shout from the Arsenal side of things.

Overall I was delighted with the point. I know it's frustrating to see teams come to your place and defend like we did today but we honestly don't have the players to do anything other than that. If we had played open, attacking football today we'd have been hammered.

You'll be fine this year. Cazorla, Podolski, Walcott, Giroud, Vermaelan, Arteta, Koscienly, Wilshere etc are very good to quality players that will ensure you have a chance of winning any game. Top 4 without a doubt.

As for us, we badly need a proper CF and could do with a natural RB and LB (as Richardson will be off before the deadline), also another pacey winger who can beat a man and I think we'll have a decent season and finish top 10.

Best of luck for the rest of the season and see you at the Stadium of Light in February :)

Cazorla looked pretty impressive.
    Hit and miss. Should be excellent though, pretty much Fabregas with more experience and 1/3 the price.
    also can't believe the negativity towards today's result. A draw at home isn't great, but it's hardly a disaster when most of our important players were flying around the world on thursday to get back to the club after the ridiculous friendlies. I doubt many Sunderland players had to go through that and they played the usual Martin O'Neill tactical plan to a tee.
    I'm only negative about the result because I wanted 6 points going into 4 games including United, City and Liverpool
    thought podolski looked a bit pedestrian myself.
    Out of position, everyone on the match thread wanted him off and Podolski wider with Giroud in the middle.

The result today was disappointing. Yes it was the first match but time and time again it felt like last season. 2 minutes to go against a Sunderland side who weren't trying to score and it was 1v5 in their half. We can't allow ourselves to be happy with that. It's just starting to feel like groundhog day and the galling thing is we have 2 defenders wound make it into a Premier League first XI every day of the week and we're still afraid to attack. Arteta is great, Song was great, I love Rosicky in the middle, I look forward to Wilshere coming back but come on, we're afraid to concede to Sunderland at home? It's a bit small-time.

Sunderland did the absolute best they could have done today short of Ji scoring a last-minute goal presented no threat. I would like the referee to be stricter with timekeeping and I'd like us to to have some more ****ing penetration. Sunderland were a typical MON team today, I can respect that. No fouls, no silly kicks, just drilled and discipline. If that's the worst we face this season I'd be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Yeah exactly, teams are gonna come to the emirates and shut up shop nine times outta ten. Maybe not to yesterdays extreme though. They were practically sat on their own 6 yard box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

http://twitter.com/#!/DuncanCastles/status/237097234204864515

Still plenty of money in the bank, even if this deal goes through.

In work, first mistake of the day buy that rag the Irish sun, don't even read any of the sections on Arsenal the scare mongering headlines were enough to make me angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

In work, first mistake of the day buy that rag the Irish sun, don't even read any of the sections on Arsenal the scare mongering headlines were enough to make me angry.
    The way some people go on about us you'd swear we were gonna get relegated!!! Garbage talk of the highest order were in with a great shout of silverware this season especially the Champions Lge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

No headline No RvP = No Goals
    Like we never drew games with him in the team

Gringo180 wrote: »
    The way some people go on about us you'd swear we were gonna get relegated!!! Garbage talk of the highest order were in with a great shout of silverware this season especially the Champions Lge

Unless its the champs league or league, we don't need sliver wear
    It might shut the papers up but top 4 comes before them it should be

Champs league
    League
    Top 4
    Fa cup
    League cup

Champs league
    League
    Top 4
    Fa cup
    League cup
    Kinda disagree there, I know how important a top 4 finish is but I think if we could just win a bit of silverware even the lge cup it will give us the taste and hunger to kick on and win more!

I just want us to lift a cup I really think Lè Gaffér deserves it to shut some of his critics up.

Champs league
    League
    Top 4
    Fa cup
    League cup
    Kinda disagree there, I know how important a top 4 finish is but I think if we could just win a bit of silverware even the lge cup it will give us the taste and hunger to kick on and win more!

I just want us to lift a cup I really think Lè Gaffér deserves it to shut some of his critics up.

So you would rather liverpools season last year to ours
    No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Watched that Arsenal game yesterday. Definitely some promising stuff. I know the Van Persie and Song departures will have dampened a few supporters but I liked what I saw.

For a team that has 3 or 4 new players, they've clicked quite well. Carzola dictated everything and himself and Arteta could be a very exciting and very interesting style in midfield.

I'd start Giroud over Podolski myself. Thought he showed a bit more than Podolski did when he was on.

Gervinho had an excellent game. One of the best I've seen him play in an Arsenal jersey myself. He's got the trickery and can find a bit of space. Needs to just work on his decision making a bit.

Walcott is... well, Walcott. Has the ability but needs to do it on a consistent basis. Looked bright yesterday though. Could've done with a bir more overlapping from Jenkinson though.

Diaby played well. Big ask for him but he was solid.

Defensively there are still problems there. Mertesacker allowed McLean too much time and space on more than one occasion to drift in behind him. He just hasn't the legs for it I feel.

I look at Arsenal and on paper their attacking options are great but Gibbs, Mertesacker and Jenkinson aren't good enough if Arsenal are to make any serious push for the title in my opinion.

I'm assuming Sagna is injured yeah?

Champs league
    League
    Top 4
    Fa cup
    League cup

So you would rather liverpools season last year to ours
    No thanks
    Obviously not that would be a complete disaster, but im just so desperate for us to win something its not much to ask for, for a club of our stature.

Watched a few clips there of Sunday supplement on Sky Sports news and the 3 journalists on it painting a picture of Armageddon at Arsenal if Theo Walcott leaves, absolute garbage they were talking, saying the players we brought in this summer arent good enough, clowns!!