If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Hazards of Belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Nodin wrote: »

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/aug/12/saudi-arabia-city-women-workers

Probably to become known as the "happy hunting grounds" to the Saudi lesbian community. And home to man-traffickers.

And this sham of a country is an ally of the US. Huh.

Btw, Saudi Arabia is full of gheys.

A friend told me last night that the middle east has a lot of man-to-man love. I have no links/ sources. Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

A letter to a man who came out as gay to his parents via reddit:
    http://i.imgur.com/pCrHU.jpg

Hope none of our (seemingly disproportionately large) gay contingent had to go through anything like this.

Perhaps all the hate leveled at gays by the religious means they tend to shy away from those religions at a higher rate? Who'd have thunk it?

*image too large to imbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Gbear wrote: »
    A letter to a man who came out as gay to his parents via reddit:
    http://i.imgur.com/pCrHU.jpg

Hope none of our (seemingly disproportionately large) gay contingent had to go through anything like this.

Perhaps all the hate leveled at gays by the religious means they tend to shy away from those religions at a higher rate? Who'd have thunk it?

*image too large to imbed.

My Dad just left highly abusive messages on my phone, my Mam's phone, my brother's phone, my sister's phone and my son's phone and boycotted my son's 21st birthday party when he found out I was a lesbian. And now he wonders why I am tetchy with him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    My Dad just left highly abusive messages on my phone, my Mam's phone, my brother's phone, my sister's phone and my son's phone and boycotted my son's 21st birthday party when he found out I was a lesbian. And now he wonders why I am tetchy with him....

....em...why the fuck was he onto your mother, brother sister and son ? Were they supposed to have zapped ye with the gay ray?

Nodin wrote: »
    ....em...why the fuck was he onto your mother, brother sister and son ? Were they supposed to have zapped ye with the gay ray?

It was hard to tell what he was on about tbh- something to do with being catlick and queer hawks and him being a 'mans man'. I think that as the time allowed per message ran out he just phoned the next person.

My brother informed him last week that my niece is a lesbian, right in the middle of Father Dearest telling brother's OH about what fun he used to have shouting abuse in the door of one of Cork's Gay bars. This eejit is 79 years old :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

A friend told me last night that the middle east has a lot of man-to-man love. I have no links/ sources. Yet.
    Allegedly there's a practice rife in middle eastern countries of men taking adolescent boys and "teaching" them the ways of the world. It's seen as a normal rite of passage. Very Greek...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

My brother informed him last week that my niece is a lesbian, right in the middle of Father Dearest telling brother's OH about what fun he used to have shouting abuse in the door of one of Cork's Gay bars.
    A few years back, an elderly female relative in my extended family(*) was ranting over dinner in Bedford in the UK one evening about the perfidious English and other foreign dross buying houses in the pleasant part of West Cork where she lives. Said that West Cork was for the Westcorkonians and them alone, and nobody else should be allowed to buy property there. So I asked her whether this rule should apply to people like her, who grew up in Waterford. She went ballistic and accused me of "making her look stupid".

Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?

(*) Btw, would Popette be a good name for her? This "elderly female..." bit is getting a bit repetitive.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

robindch wrote: »
    Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?[/SIZE]
    Sounds like you'd be a frequent poster there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Dades wrote: »
    Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?[/SIZE]
    Sounds like you'd be a frequent poster there!
    216809.png

216809.png

Push up and make space on that couch there robin. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Gbear wrote: »

Coming out as a vegetarian has literally been much harder than coming out gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Zillah wrote: »

The feck do you mean, vegetarian?

What kind of sicko abomination chooses to be a vegetarian?

Push up and make space on that couch there robin. ;)
    Ooooo, you foxy thing you :)

Zillah wrote: »

Being a meat eating lesbian (*childish titter*) was no picnic back in the 80s/90s :( .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Links234 wrote: »

Such a sick country. A shining beacon for the 'Christianity is on the rise globally' brigade. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

From Galvaseans article
    He withdrew from the outside world. Home alone for hours at a time, Peter reads the Bible he keeps by his bed for comfort. A wall decoration reads: "Jesus cares".

Eh, sorry buddy, not for your type he doesn't!

What a disgusting piece of legislation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,793 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

My atheist brain read that as 'Jesus Scares'

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-19253289
    Tunisia turns the clocks back to before 1956, when women got equal rights to men.
    The Islamist-led government has unveiled a draft constitution which refers to women as "complementary to men".

Ennahda member Farida al-Obeidi, who chairs the constitutional assembly's human rights and public freedoms panel, said the wording of the draft constitution was not a backward step for Tunisian women, Reuters reports.
    Instead, the draft stipulates the "sharing of roles and does not mean that women are worth less than men", she said.

Hmmm.

biko wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-19253289
    Tunisia turns the clocks back to before 1956, when women got equal rights to men.
    The Islamist-led government has unveiled a draft constitution which refers to women as "complementary to men".

Ennahda member Farida al-Obeidi, who chairs the constitutional assembly's human rights and public freedoms panel, said the wording of the draft constitution was not a backward step for Tunisian women, Reuters reports.
    Instead, the draft stipulates the "sharing of roles and does not mean that women are worth less than men", she said.

Hmmm.

Begs the question: if women are walking several paces behind men, can men tell when women have taken a backwards step?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭postitnote

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/columnists/fionola-meredith/why-we-canrsquot-let-this-man-shape-our-view-of-world-16198075.html

In short, Ken Ham en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ken_Ham
    is about.

On Saturday night, Ken Ham said that “we need to be training these kids from a young age, right from when they're born.”

I love Free Presbyterians x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,793 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I wonder did anyone turn up expecting this guy

Ken%20Hom%20Ken%20Homs%20Chinese%20Kitchen%20front%20page%20picture%20pavilion%20HB%201994%201851459510.jpg

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Pussy Riot found guilty. Prosecutors looking to jail them for three years. Putin says they shouldn't be judged "too harshly".

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0817/breaking11.html
    A Russian judge found three women from the punk band Pussy Riot guilty of hooliganism motivated by religious hatred on Friday for staging an anti-Kremlin protest on the altar of Moscow's main Russian Orthodox church.

Judge Marina Syrova did not immediately issue a sentence, but state prosecutors want there-year jail terms for the three women who stormed the altar of the Christ the Saviour Cathedral in February and performed a "punk prayer" asking the Virgin Mary to rid Russia of President Vladimir Putin. Nadezhda Tolokonnikova (22), Maria Alyokhina (24) and Yekaterina Samutsevich (30) said they were protesting against close ties between Mr Putin and the Russian Orthodox church and did not intend to offend believers.

The defendants "committed an act of hooliganism . . . based on motives of religious hatred and enmity," the judge told the Moscow court as the defendants sat in a courtroom cage. "They deliberately sought a public scandal and they wanted to insult not only the church workers but society as a whole," the judge said. "They deeply insulted Orthodox believers," she said. Earlier today, hundreds of people outside chanted "Freedom!" and "Russia without Putin!", and police detained several activists including opposition leaders.

Opponents of Mr Putin, who began a six-year presidential term in May, portray the trial as part of a wider crackdown by the former KGB spy to crush their protest movement. "Our imprisonment is a clear and distinct sign that the whole country's freedom is being taken away," Ms Tolokonnikova said in a letter written in jail and posted on the Internet today by defence lawyer Mark Feigin. Police blocked off the street outside the brick courthouse with metal barriers, and police buses stood by. Four people were detained when they unfurled a banner reading: Free Pussy Riot.

The trial has divided Russia's mainly Orthodox Christian society, with many backing the authorities' demands for severe punishment over a protest the prosecution has described as sacrilege, but others asking for clemency for the women.

Mr Putin, who returned to the presidency for a third term in May, has said the women did "nothing good" but should not be judged too harshly.
    Meanwhile, in Austria:

http://rt.com/news/pussy-riot-international-support-775/

217397.jpg

I'd have rephrased the "Free Pussy Riot" line though. Too much chance of a double-entendre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Pussy Riot found guilty. Prosecutors looking to jail them for three years. Putin says they shouldn't be judged "too harshly".

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0817/breaking11.html

Meanwhile, in Austria:

http://rt.com/news/pussy-riot-international-support-775/

217397.jpg

I'd have rephrased the "Free Pussy Riot" line though. Too much chance of a double-entendre.

Jailed for two years.

[-0-] wrote: »
    Jailed for two years.
    Bastards. Can't see Putin receiving any invitations from Western capitals for the next while. Hey ho for pizzas in Pyongyang, I suppose.

Meanwhile, Moscow has just banned gay parades. For the next 100 years. I'm sure they'll have found a cure by then.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-19293465

Nice one, Pooty-poot.

And up the road in St Petersburg, a $10 million dollar suit has been launched against Madonna for "insulted the[ir] feelings" of some homophobes:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0817/breaking47.html
    A group of Russian anti-gay activists sued American pop star Madonna for $10 million today, saying she had insulted their feelings when she spoke out for gay rights at a concert in St Petersburg last week.

Performing in black lingerie with the words "No Fear" scrawled on her back, Madonna attacked a city law adopted in March that imposed fines for spreading homosexual "propaganda". She had earlier called the law a "ridiculous atrocity". Homosexuality, punished with jail terms in the Soviet Union, was decriminalised in Russia in 1993, but much of the gay community remains underground as prejudice runs deep.

"She (Madonna) had been warned with words that she should behave in line with the law and she ignored it. So we will speak in the language of money," said Darya Dedova, one of the 10 activists who filed the lawsuit in a St Petersburg court. "Of course, it is difficult to measure moral damages and suffering but maybe people who earn money regardless of moral rules will better understand this," Ms Dedova said. She added if they won the case, the money would be sent to orphanages.

"Maybe someone does not see the link but after Madonna's concert maybe some boy becomes gay, some girl becomes lesbian, fewer children are born as a result and this big country cannot defend its borders - for me it causes moral suffering," said Alexei Kolotkov, another of the activists who filed the suit. The St Petersburg propaganda law is the model for a bill that has been submitted to the national parliament but has not yet faced a vote. Critics say they fear it could be used to clamp down on the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community, for example by barring gay rights demonstrations.

In Moscow, gay rights suffered a blow when an appeal court upheld a lower court's ruling that found city authorities had acted legally when they rejected applications from activists to hold a gay rights march every year for the next 100 years. Attempts to hold gay rights rallies in the Russian capital have often ended in arrests and clashes with anti-gay activists.

In May, dozens of people were detained in Moscow after Russian Orthodox activists broke up two gay rights marches, throwing water and shouting prayers.
    At least they're honest enough to admit their motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Russia is a ****hole masquerading as a democracy.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19199411
    Practising Muslims across the world are observing Ramadan. For one month, they are fasting between first light and sunset. But what do Muslims do in a town where the sun never really goes down?

The town of Rovaniemi in Finland lies in a land of extremes.

At 66 degrees north it straddles the Arctic Circle in Finnish Lapland. During midwinter it is cloaked in total darkness. But in the summer it is bathed in daylight.

The long days pose a particular problem for fasting Muslims like Shah Jalal Miah Masud.

It doesn't get dark. It always looks the same. The sun is always on the horizon”

Shah Jalal Miah Masud
    The 28-year-old moved to Rovaniemi - 830km (515 mile) north of the capital, Helsinki - from Bangladesh five years ago to study IT. He has not had any food or water for 21 hours. And he laughs.

God that's ****ing stupid.

Scotland's Roman Catholic leader - Cardinal Keith O'Brien - has suspended direct communication with the Scottish government on gay marriage.

The move is in protest at the Scottish government's support for the introduction of same-sex marriages.

The cardinal has turned down an invitation to discuss the issue, leaving any talks to officials.

The Scottish government said First Minister Alex Salmond and the cardinal do continue to communicate.

A spokesman revealed Mr Salmond and the cardinal spoke on Saturday morning and had an "entirely amicable conversation on first-name terms".

However, in a letter to Deputy First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, the cardinal asked for any future discussions between the church and government on the issue of same-sex marriage to take place between officials.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-19305232

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Better off without him, the church has little to add to any discussion on gay rights.

An 11-year-old Christian girl has been arrested after being accused of desecrating pages of the Koran.

She was detained for blasphemy after an angry mob demanded her arrest and threatened to burn down Christian homes outside of the capital, Islamabad, Pakistani media say.

The girl is known to have learning difficulties and could not properly answer police questions, officials say.

Police have taken her parents into protective custody following threats.

Dr Paul Bhatti, Pakistan's minister for National Harmony, told the BBC that the girl was known to have a mental disorder and that it seemed "unlikely she purposefully desecrated the Koran".

"From the reports I have seen, she was found carrying a waste bag which also had pages of the Koran. This infuriated some local people and a large crowd gathered to demand action against her. The police were initially reluctant to arrest her, but they came under a lot of pressure from a very large crowd, who were threatening to burn down Christian homes."
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-19311098

("Minister for National Harmony"....I'd say the poor bastard had to be sedated when he got the job.)