Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Hang your head in shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

So can anyone thing of anything manc related that rhymes with bel air?

Done to the fresh prince theme tune.

On north london born and raised
    with the physio i spent most of my days
    Chill'in out relaxin and acting all cool
    and looking down on those tottenham fools
    when a couple of oil guys were up to no good
    Started buying all the players in the neighbourhood
    I go on 1 little streak and my agent stared
    you're moving with your uncle fergie in ?????

Get stuck there.

..With your uncle Fergie to play with flair...

..With your uncle Fergie for trophies to share...

..for your knee joints to jar..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Everywhere saying we're gone cold on the mvila deal and with Sahin supposedly off too Liverpool haven't a clue who
    But I have no doubt we will strengthen

I think it all depends on what Walcott and Song do. We really are well stocked in all positions apart from maybe RB but there's no point in adding an exceptional player there as Sagna's back soon.

M'Vila maybe but what happens when Wilshire comes back??? We play M'Vila, Wilshire, Santi and leave Coq, Song, Arteta, Diaby, Rosicky on the bench??

I guess if we were picking a position to strengthen in, I'd say get in another RWF who can also play AMF. As it is, unless Ramsey comes into great form, we're looking at Walcott - Santi - Pod as the three behind the striker with Gerv an option that allows Pod to go up front if needed. There's the Ox as well I guess but I'm not too sold on him as a game winner yet and wouldn't like the team to be relying on him in any way this year. So if I had to pick, I'd say another out and out proven attacking midfielder like Santi.

If Song goes, then M'Vila all day long.

I wouldn't hold out too much hope though. In nearly every position from midfeild up we have two options with the desired combination of age and experience vrs youth and potential.

Next season we can field the seasoned reliable ...

Song - Arteta
    Carzola
    Walcott - Pod - Rosicky

or the young and full of potential ...

Coq - Wilshire
    Ramsey
    Ox - Giroud - Gerv

Leaving Diaby as a utility man.

Tough to see any gaps, no? I guess if you look at history Arteta will spend some of the season injured, Coq will end up playing LB or RB until he gets injured and Diaby won't really be an option at all. So yeah, maybe M'Vila regardless of Song.

Anyone an insight into who we need to get rid of still?

P.S. this is more rambling thoughts on our squad rather than a coherant post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well at least one positive now is we don't have to worry about his glass legs when he is away on international duty anymore. Thats a "pleasure" the united fans can experience now.

To be honest £24 million for a player of his age with one year left on his contract and his history of injuries is very good business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

gandalf wrote: »
    Well at least one positive now is we don't have to worry about his glass legs when he is away on international duty anymore. Thats a "pleasure" the united fans can experience now.

To be honest £24 million for a player of his age with one year left on his contract and his history of injuries is very good business.

I think so though would have rather 30mil. He had one good season, we've sold bigger players who have supposedly carried us for a lot longer. we'll certainly miss him but it's by no means the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

We sold rvp we signed giroud and podiski
    If we sell song we need a replacement got him
    Maybe one more midfielder and were stronger than last season

How are we not showing ambition we knew he was going and got our signings in early

I think the club is doing very good this summer no complaints so far

Yeah get rid of two of your main players from your previous season all the while holding onto the garbage.
    And even better you sell your best player and top goalscorer to one of your biggest rivals. :rolleyes:

Treachery will come home to
    the traitor!!!!
    Sinking ship implies we're gradually doing worse, we did better last year than the previous season.
    We are getting better, we will be back at the top in a few years.

We did better last season because some of our nearest competitors decided that they should shoot themselves in both feet.
    Don't expect such generosity every season.
    Sergio wrote: »
    Lads who do we think will be our new captain for the coming season. If Thomas Vermaelen can keep fit then i think he fits the bill,what you guys think?

Make Arshavin captain with Squillacci a vice captain.
    Then we can hope the trend continues.
    Modern day football for you. Nuture a player for 8 years who had a reputation of being a toe rag and a troublemaker. Before he can maintain any type of form he gets injured and takes ages to recover fully to gain any type of form. then he comes back, grabs the few goals, and then at the end of the year he says "I'm off" leaves to join your arch rivals.

I wished RVP well in the past for all he had done, but fook him if he has decided to go to united.
    Only way Park will explode is if he sets foot in North Korea ffs

Maybe he could get on the Korean badminton team now ?
    djan wrote: »
    Well, Im quite happy with the RVP deal, as regards to Song i think that if we get a solely defensive minded midfielder instead of him we will be better off.

You are happy our best player from last season, a highly proven goal scorer when uninjured, has gone to one of our biggest rivals.
    FFS give me patience.

Yeah he basically has gone down the same road as Gael Clichy, Samir Nasri etc,I dont expect any less from modern day footballers, they are all the same.

No at least Clichy and Nasri went to the new boys to get big paypackets not to one of the old enemies.
    What rvp has done is worse.
    And if it Wenger that pushed him out the door, then he is even worse.
    AFAIK the last time a top player was sold by Arsenal to united was frank stapelton and those were the days when united couldn't buy a league title.

Has Wenger forgotten silvestre ?

I am not allowed discuss …

meriwether wrote: »
    I hope he has an immediate career ending injury.

We could spend a couple of million of the transfer fee buying Martin Taylor and Dan Smith and then loan them out to Everton before the weekend. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

gosplan wrote: »
    We could spend a couple of million of the transfer fee buying Martin Taylor and Dan Smith and then loan them out to Everton before the weekend. :D

Come in Ryan Shawcross, your time has come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I think so though would have rather 30mil. He had one good season, we've sold bigger players who have supposedly carried us for a lot longer. we'll certainly miss him but it's by no means the end of the world.

We would have only gotten £30 million if City were really interested. Unless RvP retires from international football I do not see united getting a full season out of him.

jmayo wrote: »
    Yeah get rid of two of your main players from your previous season all the while holding onto the garbage.
    And even better you sell your best player and top goalscorer to one of your biggest rivals. :rolleyes:

out of curiosity, what have they done wrong this summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Everywhere saying we're gone cold on the mvila deal and with Sahin supposedly off too Liverpool haven't a clue who
    But I have no doubt we will strengthen

I think it all depends on what Walcott and Song do. We really are well stocked in all positions apart from maybe RB but there's no point in adding an exceptional player there as Sagna's back soon.

M'Vila maybe but what happens when Wilshire comes back??? We play M'Vila, Wilshire, Santi and leave Coq, Song, Arteta, Diaby, Rosicky on the bench??

I guess if we were picking a position to strengthen in, I'd say get in another RWF who can also play AMF. As it is, unless Ramsey comes into great form, we're looking at Walcott - Santi - Pod as the three behind the striker with Gerv an option that allows Pod to go up front if needed. There's the Ox as well I guess but I'm not too sold on him as a game winner yet and wouldn't like the team to be relying on him in any way this year. So if I had to pick, I'd say another out and out proven attacking midfielder like Santi.

I wouldn't hold out too much hope though. In nearly every position from midfeild up we have two options with the desired combination of age and experience vrs youth and potential.

Song - Arteta
    Carzola
    Walcott - Pod - Rosicky

Coq - Wilshire
    Ramsey
    Ox - Giroud - Gerv

Tough to see any gaps, no? I guess if you look at history Arteta will spend some of the season injured, Coq will end up playing LB or RB until he gets injured and Diaby won't really be an option at all. So yeah, maybe M'Vila regardless of Song.

Actually very good post and your right we don't need much

I wouldnt even have wilshere starting any big games this season. I think Santi and Artera start any big game, with either diaby or whoever we bring in assuming song goes

Ya have Ramsey, coq, ox(played all preseason through the middle) we do look well stocked there

Walcott/gervinho/podolski,ox for the wide positions

Giroud/podolski/gervinho/chamak(I no)

We seem well stocked everywhere bar maybe right back

Gonna be interesting to see where he strengthens supposedly looking at a few players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Has Arsene said he is going to spend the RVP monies on strengthening the squad or is the cash just going to be resting in his account?

Said he already replaced rvp but will strength other areas

Did you actually read what you replied to ????
    Arsenal have sold RVP our top goalscorer and best player from last season to one of our biggest rivals.
    Fair enough if he wanted to go, but fooking hell why sell him to ferguson ?

Now it looks like Song may be on the way out.

Yes they have bought some decent talent which will have to settle in and prove themselves.
    As for the signing themselves I am not so sure about two of them.
    Podolski was a flop when he moved to a big club before.
    We have not had much success of late with our French league goalscorers so not so sure how good Giroud will be.
    I hope they work out but I have my major doubts.
    Carzola I think is going to be the best signing and I think was the best statement of intent in the last few years.

Meanwhile we still have at least three or four complete wastes of space draining a couple of hundred grand a week and adding absolutely nothing to the club. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Meanwhile we still have at least three or four complete wastes of space draining a couple of hundred grand a week and adding absolutely nothing to the club. :mad::mad:

Just out of interest who are they?

Arsenal have sold RVP our top goalscorer and best player from last season to one of our biggest rivals.

Yes they have bought some decent talent which will have to settle in and prove themselves.
    We have not had much success of late with our French league goalscorers so not so sure how good Giroud will be.
    Carzola I think is going to be the best signing and I think was the best statement of intent in the last few years.

We should see some of the dross cleared but once we keep strengthening we shouldnt be worrying them let them in the reserves if they not gone by aug 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

Song - Arteta
    Carzola
    Walcott - Pod - Rosicky

Coq - Wilshire
    Ramsey
    Ox - Giroud - Gerv

Love how Arshavin doesn't even get a second's thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

So can anyone thing of anything manc related that rhymes with bel air?

Done to the fresh prince theme tune.

On north london born and raised
    with the physio i spent most of my days
    Chill'in out relaxin and acting all cool
    and looking down on those tottenham fools
    when a couple of oil guys were up to no good
    Started buying all the players in the neighbourhood
    I go on 1 little streak and my agent stared
    you're moving with your uncle fergie in ?????

Get stuck there.

With your Uncle Fergie in his Manc lair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

If Song ends up going to Barca id love us to bring in Javi Martinez, a DMF with amazing technique! We dont need to buy a striker to replace Judas, we already have Giroud, Podolski, Gervinho, Walcott who could play the lone striker to great effect.

The more I think of it I feel we got a great bargain, 20 million profit on Judas only thing that hurts is all my Utd mates giving it loads, It would bring a tear to the eye if we could win the league and beat them in a fa cup or champions lge final :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Just convert the pounds to euros there fella, and you'll get your 30m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Gringo180 wrote: »
    If Song ends up going to Barca id love us to bring in Javi Martinez, a DMF with amazing technique! We dont need to buy a striker to replace Judas, we already have Giroud, Podolski, Gervinho, Walcott who could play the lone striker to great effect.

Dunno suppsedly the reason barca are in for song is they can't get Martinez, if barca can't get him i can't see us getting him.

Martinez is gone to Munich.

Just out of interest who are they?

Chamakh - £50,000
    A lot of promise a long time ago.
    Blackburn Rovers supposedly interested in him on loan.
    Can't see many clubs breaking door down for him.

Park - £40,000
    The best we can hope for him is that he fecks off to do national service.

Squillaci - £60,000 (:eek:)
    Need I say anything.

Arshavin - £80,000
    Might be a good player if in the mood, but disinterest not good for team so waste of space IMHO.

Bendtner - £52,000
    Wants to go ...

Now that adds up to a fair chunk of money each week being wasted on 5 players who really add little if anything to the club.

Now we can hope that the likes of Bendtner/Arshavin can be offloaded, even if on loan, but does anyone seriously think anyone would be interested in Park or Squillaci ?
    According to above salary figures there is a £100,000 a week wasted on those two alone. :mad:

rvps number was up after the statement wenger was furious
    I like the managers stance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

gandalf wrote: »
    We would have only gotten £30 million if City were really interested. Unless RvP retires from international football I do not see united getting a full season out of him.

van gaal told him if he's playing 433 - which is what he does i think - huntelaar's starting ahead of him because he preforms better for the NT

athletic club want €40mil that's why

According to the gossip, Liverpool appear to have got Sahin.

Thats disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

link
    By Mirror Football 2 Comments 16 Aug 2012 10:45
    'We had no choice': Arsene Wenger says he had to sell contract rebel RvP - and hints he won't spend cash now

"We have already recruited since we bought (Olivier) Giroud and (Lukas) Podolski who originally were intended to offset the departure of van Persie," he added

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger insists the Gunners were left with "no choice" but to sell Robin van Persie to Manchester United.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side confirmed last night they had agreed a fee of £24million, for the Dutch striker who is today expected to undergo a medical and finalise terms.

"He is at Manchester United, unfortunately for us. The transfer was finalised in the afternoon," said Wenger whilst working for French TV station TF1.

"It's never great to lose players of that quality but he only had a year contract so we do not have a choice."

Wenger also suggested the money from the van Persie deal would not be immediately reinvested in the team, as he has already brought in new players this summer.

"We have already recruited since we bought (Olivier) Giroud and (Lukas) Podolski who originally were intended to offset the departure of van Persie," he concluded.

Van Persie will sign a four-year contract with United on £200,000-a-week in a package worth almost £40m to the Holland international.

After weeks of wrangling, Ferguson had made a personal plea to old foe Arsene Wenger to agree to allow van Persie to join United.

Wenger was reluctant to let his prized asset join the Red Devils, but was forced to cave in once the offer reached £24m.

The Dutchman had just one year left on his contract, and Arsenal faced the prospect of losing him for nothing next year unless they sold.

The capture is a formidable statement of intent from United on the eve of the new Premier League season, as they aim to reclaim the title from local rivals Manchester City.

United's attack now boasts the Premier League's two leading strikers from last season in van Persie and Wayne Rooney, who scored 71 goals between them.

The news was greeted with fury by celebrity Arsenal fan and TV presenter Piers Morgan, who laid into the Dutchman on Twitter, labelling him "mercenary, heartless and selfish."

Meanwhile one Manchester United striker could be going the other way and joining Arsenal. Click here to find out which one.

Plus our Arsenal expert John Cross says that although van Persie's move will be seen as a betrayal by fans, at £24m the deal represents good business for the Gunners.

Yeah, it was someone saying the club had done well this summer. You gave it the rolleyes so I assumed you think they've done terribly. I was just seeking clarification.

With due respect, I think it's cause we couldn't sell him to anyone else. And though I would have liked to see us not give in, with my rational hat on, I think he was always going to be sold this summer and he had to be sold. Not selling him basically would confine Giroud to the bench and Pod to the left wing for a year, and cost us 20 odd million plus another 6 or so in wages to have a potentially disgruntled player on the books.

Looks possible. Don't think anyone would be happy with that on it's own, but if he's well replaced, then so be it.

If he's angling for a move now and we didn't act then in 12 or 24 months time people would be giving out about how yet another player was allowed to run down their contract and we'd have to replace him then anyway. Personally if he wants out, what I'd do is find the replacement first and then sell him. if we can't find a replacement this year then keep him and try it again in Jan or next summer.

Yeah but what can we do?? You have to sign players and to get good players you have to sign a fair bunch of them from abroad.

You have doubts about our two CF's but we got two of them for one position so that reduced the risk considerably.

I know but try to look at what we've done this summer.

Players don't work out, fair enough but it seems we're being a lot more cautious about who we spend money on.

Mistakes have been made but we can't keep beating the club with the 'we signed Squillaci' stick. Yes, it's a continuing waste of money but signings don't always work out. Players don't always work out and Arsenal spend big money on players.

Arshavin for example was dropped and loaned last season and we're publically trying to get rid of him, but you can't go back and say we shouldn't have signed him at the time.

There's always going to be wastage at a club - I don't see how Arsenal are so much worse than anyone else though.

I appreciate that you've greviances with the way the club is run but this summer, I fail to see what else they could have done. Perhaps you woudl have liked to see us offload some of the dead wood but I think with his recent statement where he named players that are for sale Wenger's basically anouncing 'will take any price'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Martinez is gone to Munich.

Hes not that was confirmed as a hoax last night, it was stated it was all official 40million deal and ddusted it wasnt nothings been done yet.
    According to the gossip, Liverpool appear to have got Sahin.

Thats disappointing.

But other reports still saying were in for him, players prefers Arsenal, Mourinho prefers Liverpool its not over till the fat lady sings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

looks like Koscielny could be injured. fantastic :pac: :pac:

Laurent Koscielny was forced to withdraw from the squad with a calf issue. from arsenal.com