Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭jsd1004

RoverJames wrote: »
    Murder and rape, now that you mention it, neither are treated consistently by the legal system here, unfortunately. That wouldn't encourage me to commit either offence personally.

Sarcasm, gentlemen and the hour need to be advised. Half of the polish community and somewhere in the region of 5% of irish drivers drive without insurance. I somehow doubt a drive up the motorway would be detected in an otherwise insured and legal vehicle. The consequences of an accident could be an all together different scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

When will I start to get reasonable quotes for insurance? It horrible having so many nice cars but not being able to drive them whenever I want :(

jsd1004 wrote: »
    Sarcasm, gentlemen and the hour need to be advised. Half of the polish community and somewhere in the region of 5% of irish drivers drive without insurance. I somehow doubt a drive up the motorway would be detected in an otherwise insured and legal vehicle. The consequences of an accident could be an all together different scenario.

Can you actually prove any of this?

Why do people always have something bad to say about foreign lads in this country?

........... I somehow doubt a drive up the motorway would be detected in an otherwise insured and legal vehicle.............

He's only after buying the thing, I doubt it's otherwise insured, probably not taxed either :)

I'm not even going to mention the 50% thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

andyseadog wrote: »
    God i didn't know that!

I just turned 22, suddenly i dont feel like such a spring chicken anymore :pac:

The amount of things i would change if i could go back even 2 or 3 years :rolleyes: fancy an age swap BW? :P

What age did you think I was? :D

Jaysus your going on like if your entering retirement. :p

Ya, as long as the glanza comes with the ages swap. :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    He's only after buying the thing, I doubt it's otherwise insured, probably not taxed either :)

I'm not even going to mention the 50% thing.

Well then he should burn in ANPR hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

cgal093 wrote: »
    When will I start to get reasonable quotes for insurance? It horrible having so many nice cars but not being able to drive them whenever I want :(

Your no exception to the rule.

My first years driving my insurance was over €3000 afaik, and to date i've nearly spent €10,000 on insurance policys since i started driving.

and i've never had a car much newer than ten years old or much bigger than a 2.0, and nothing i would consider "nice" enough to chance taking an uninsured bypass blast.

you have to suck it up and drive small cars until you cut your teeth in the driving world. man up and drive a micra until you get your no claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Fair enough, but it's all about the benefit against the risk. In the case of cgal, it's a massive risk just to ''rip up the motorway'' in a Rover, and certainly one I wouldn't take myself.

What age did you think I was? :D

Jaysus your going on like if your entering retirement. :p

Ya, as long as the glanza comes with the ages swap. :pac:

ah i had my suspicions you were a young lad too :P

just wasted so much good time ****ing around the last few years, im mad at myself for taking so long to get my **** together in life.

you can have the glanza, its up for its test this month, good luck with that :pac:

I feel really stupid now..Just think what could happen if I done this and was caught? Or if I hit someone or something?

Can you actually prove any of this?

Why do people always have something bad to say about foreign lads in this country?

I am referring to the Polish plate motors and indeed English reg cars. No general slurs. Girlfriend is Polish. She informed me..actually slightly more than 50 % .-)

and

http://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/surviving-the-recession/rise-in-number-of-uninsured-drivers-on-roads-2009417.html

I feel really stupid now..Just think what could happen if I done this and was caught? Or if I hit someone or something?

Look at it as a something learned :)
    You'll only be stupid if you actually do it or similar going forward ;)

ah i had my suspicions you were a young lad too :P

just wasted so much good time ****ing around the last few years, im mad at myself for taking so long to get my **** together in life.

you can have the glanza, its up for its test this month, good luck with that :pac:

I feel I should really be older as im shoe size 12 uk. :(:eek:

Ah It could be worse mate. :)

:pac: Swap for a snickers icecream? :p if you get it tested I will trow in a packet of wagon wheels. ;)

I feel I should really be older as im shoe size 12 uk. :(:eek:

Ah It could be worse mate. :)

:pac: Swap for a snickers icecream? :p if you get it tested I will trow in a packet of wagon wheels. ;)

Ah thats so weird, i was moving a pallet in work tonight and i was roasting and i got a craving out of the blue for a snickers ice cream! them yokes are fecking tasty!

I am referring to the Polish plate motors and indeed English reg cars. No general slurs. Girlfriend is Polish. She informed me..actually slightly more than 50 % .-)

and

http://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/surviving-the-recession/rise-in-number-of-uninsured-drivers-on-roads-2009417.html

That link doesn't say anything about Polish people driving uninsured.

Ah thats so weird, i was moving a pallet in work tonight and i was roasting and i got a craving out of the blue for a snickers ice cream! them yokes are fecking tasty!

Why not take the offer so? :D Just imagine the sniker taste and all that snikery goodness. :p But you would have to walk home from work. :pac:

What do you folks reckon a 00 Rover 75 Club 2L is worth? No test or tax with 130k..

At a very very very very very very wild guess, id say 900 -1000. But im probly wrong. :pac:

200 euro

200 euro

Hilarious

At a very very very very very very wild guess, id say 900 -1000. But im probly wrong. :pac:

closer to half that if you want it to sell i'd say.

a nice car they are, but, particularly petrol ones seem to be sale proof at the best of times.

Hilarious

he's actually probably right.

closer to half that if you want it to sell i'd say.

a nice car they are, but, particularly petrol ones seem to be sale proof at the best of times.
    he's actually probably right.

Which one?

Edit; They seem to fetch decent money, even without test. http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/Rover%2075?filter%28max_year%29=2000&filter%28min_year%29=2000&source=all

I'm gonna bang it up for €550 ono after I fix the ABS light tomorrow :)

Which one?

well from a buyers perspective,

200 would be a good price to get it at, 500 would be the max i'd spend and anywhere in the middle is an o.k. purchase.

12 year old 2.0 petrol Rover with no test or tax, not an easy sold car, what do you value it at?

there are a few Rover followers on here, myself included, but that car isn't worth much.

I'm gonna ask €550 ono and see what interest I get

Which one?

Edit; They seem to fetch decent money, even without test. http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/Rover%2075?filter%28max_year%29=2000&filter%28min_year%29=2000&source=all

Seriously i doubt anyone would give more than 200 for it. If you get 550 i would be taking sleeve and most of shoulder in one bite. Tax is 600 euro and nct is 100 with no work..

Which one?

do you intend to remove the bulb or just paint/ tape over it?

Seriously i doubt anyone would give more than 200 for it. If you get 550 i would be taking sleeve and most of shoulder in one bite. Tax is 600 euro and nct is 100 with no work..

Well, like I said, they seem to go for good money. €1200 with no mention of test; http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3434240

Non-runner for €400; http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3573545

€1200 again with no test (lower miles though) ; http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3692965
    do you intend to remove the bulb or just paint/ tape over it?

Dunno, I'll have to have a look first :)

cgal093 :

its easy to search donedeal and look up the most grossly overpriced examples of what you are selling in an effort to pull the wool over your own eyes. But be realistic, this rover is something you picked up for **** all, and it was that price for a reason, that was its worth.

the most likely reason the cars you have linked on donedeal are still for sale is because of their price tags.

I'l let someone else school you on the ABS light.

cgal093 :

its easy to search donedeal and look up the most grossly overpriced examples of what you are selling in an effort to pull the wool over your own eyes. But be realistic, this rover is something you picked up for **** all, and it was that price for a reason, that was its worth.

the most likely reason the cars you have linked on donedeal are still for sale is because of their price tags.

I'l let someone else school you on the ABS light.

Not one for €200 there; http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/Rover%2075?filter%28max_year%29=2000&filter%28min_year%29=2000&source=all

This Rover is the 2nd most expensive car i've ever owned.....€300 :pac: