Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your OH and email access?

• 08-08-2012 12:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭

Mods: if this has been covered, please delete/merge.

I´ve been having a sort of relationship problem recently, stemming from herself and my email account(s), and wether or not to allow her access, or know the password.

Her logic; if you have nothing to hide, then what´s the problem?
    My logic; I know that I´ve nothing to hide, and you need to trust me.

I have never once allowed family, friend, work-mate, boss, partner ... anyone, access to my email or social network accounts without me being present, simply as I see it as a line not to cross.

This may seem juvenile, but I´d like some other opinions on this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Hell no. is she wants naked pics of her sister then she should ask her sister!!

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

My wife doesn't have the password to my email. She doesn't need it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Absolutely not. Your OH has a few issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Surely you'd have set up an additional email account for any activities that she would have a problem with anyway?

Seems a bit pointless for her to have access purely to check up on you. If there was a reason an OH needed to send a mail from my account the no bother but purely to keep an eye? No way.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭veronymus

I can't believe she is serious.

Think about it this way, when you receive an e-mail, the sender thinks he/she is e-mailing you, not you and your other half.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Aquila wrote: »
    Is she as forward with giving you her various passwords/access?

Yea, ask for her internet banking details!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Emails are boring so why would she want to see them. Has she given you her email account details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I also cannot fathom why this would be necessary !!! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Tell her to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

It's not so much to do with the trust between you and your partner. It's more to do with the fact that, when your friends send you messages, they are meant for you, and for you only.

If they wanted to chat about personal private matters with your girlfriend, then they'd text her instead. It's completely unfair, and a violation of their privacy, that you'd let her (or anyone else) see their messages.

For that matter, there may be personal private matters of your own that you might want to discuss with your friends, that are none of her business.

If she trusted you, then she wouldn't need your passwords as "proof" anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Jaxxy wrote: »
    Absolutely not. Your OH has a few issues.

This. Insecure much? If she doesn't trust you then it ain't gonna work out in the long run. Less you're both strict catholic :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Aquila wrote: »
    Is she as forward with giving you her various passwords/access?

Well, she´s offered and written down her email/facebook passwords, which I will never access. Because, well ... I´ve more productive things to be doing.

For now, my foot is firmly down and it´s a no go area. If I (in theory) ´was´ up to something, I´de be a bit more discreet (again, in theory) than use my primary email.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Just because you dont have anything to hide does not mean you are not allowed your privacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Has she stated why she wants/needs access?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

*Sigh* First I need a boyfriend, then I can moan about how badly he treats me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

does she open your post as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,835 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

IrishExpat wrote: »
    Mods: if this has been covered, please delete/merge.

I´ve been having a sort of relationship problem recently, stemming from herself and my email account(s), and wether or not to allow her access, or know the password.

Her logic; if you have nothing to hide, then what´s the problem?
    My logic; I know that I´ve nothing to hide, and you need to trust me.

I have never once allowed family, friend, work-mate, boss, partner ... anyone, access to my email or social network accounts without me being present, simply as I see it as a line not to cross.

This may seem juvenile, but I´d like some other opinions on this one.

Depends somewhat on the context in which her demand to access your email account arose.

I would consider my email as private as my post and would tell anyone the same. I would also consider it perfectly fine to have a couple of email addresses for handling online purchases, facebook crap and whatever else you want to do with your life

Just put it to her exactly the same way as you have put it to us and put the ball back in her court, she can either get over it or you can part ways. If you give an inch on some of these things you will lose miles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Wow.
    When you say OH do you mean long term partner or married or what. We only have one email account that we both use. I fail to see why I'd need or want my own. Has been the same since we got email, must be over 12 years. We're together 18 years and from the start shared banking, credit cards, bills everything. Neither phone is password locked so texts aren't private either.
    Just never seemed like a problem and honestly don't even remember making the decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I have a great word for you: NO

You are entitled to Privacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's one of those annoying things where your partner should never need to know your password and should never access your email without telling/asking you, but if you refuse to tell them your password then you appear to be a little bit unreasonable, as if you have something to hide.

I would have no problem with my wife logging onto my email or facebook account, because there's nothing there I would have any issue with her seeing.

I think the real key is the motive. If they're logging onto these things just to check up on you, then that's an issue and you're right to withhold your password.

But if you just withhold your password to prevent them checking up on you (without them having asked), then equally you're in a weird position because you don't trust them to know your password and not use it responsibly.

For example, today I logged onto my wife's email because she ordered something online and I wanted to get the tracking number for it to see where it is.
    If she had gotten defensive and insisted that I can't have her password, I would instantly be suspicious because of her defensiveness.

I guess every relationship is different. For example, most of my family have a key to my house. That doesn't bother me. But I can see how it would bother some people because their family can't be trusted to not enter their house and snoop around.
    Likewise, I can log onto my wife's email account, but I can be trusted not to go reading her mails. If I need specific information, I take it and I'm done.

Same with passwords. If you refuse to give your password to someone, you're tacitly implying that they can't be trusted to use that password responsibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Well, she´s offered and written down her email/facebook passwords, which I will never access. Because, well ... I´ve more productive things to be doing.

Would she be happy to announce publicly on Facebook that she has given you her passwords, and that you now have access to every private message that any friend/family member has ever sent to her?

I'd be pretty pissed off to know that any friend of mine would share my private information and conversations with a boyfriend like that. The fact that you're choosing not to look at her messages isn't really really relevant here ... the issue is that she seems to have such little respect for the privacy of her friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Geebag alert!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Well she's very trusting.

You, on the other hand have every right to say "no" to anything personal.

But um, no I wouldn't ever give out my email password or Facebook or anything like that.

If she gets pissy with you the next thing you know is you have a very strongly worded letter sent to your job from your email and you get to explain why you think it's a good idea to give out your password to the nutjob partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Of course I would not allow it.

That's would be grounds for dumping, for me.

Whatever about your own privacy, what about the privacy of anybody that mails you something that is supposed to be between you and them?

If you really don't want to dump her, set up a dummy account and give her the password to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

bbam wrote: »
    Wow.
    When you say OH do you mean long term partner or married or what. We only have one email account that we both use. I fail to see why I'd need or want my own. Has been the same since we got email, must be over 12 years. We're together 18 years and from the start shared banking, credit cards, bills everything. Neither phone is password locked so texts aren't private either.
    Just never seemed like a problem and honestly don't even remember making the decision.

Thats because it was made for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Set up a dummy account and then tell her you'll give her the password, get her to sit down at the laptop while you spell out the p/w:

Y-O-U-R-E-A-C-L-I-T-B-A-G

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Insane Rambling

She just wants to make sure you are reading all the grow your penis 4 inches in 4 weeks spam she keeps forwarding on to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Honestly this, and a few other problems started nearly the second after we made the decision to move in together.

Example: two weeks back I noticed a few contacts missing from my phone (all female). When confronted about it, she confirmed that yes she had deleted the numbers, ´in case I was flirting´ :eek: They were business contacts, which I can´t get back so easily.

I´m in two minds here, tell her to cop on, or accept that this isn´t going to work. We´re together about a year, but living together for a bit less than 3 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

When confronted about it, she confirmed that yes she had deleted the numbers, ´in case I was flirting´ :eek:

Dealbreaker, imo.