Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

If you've ever tried boxing you'll know how hard it is even to hold your guard for 2 or 3 minutes never mind swinging digs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭Pa Dee

Pa Dee wrote: »
    Interesting attitude. You could make the "don't watch it" argument for badger baiting, cock fighting, dog fighting that you do for women beating each other and lads getting off on it

They're not being forced to fight for people's entertainment. They're athletes who put their lives into what they do. Would ya cop on like!
    Not sure about that. Hadn't her father channelled her down this route since she was 8? Seems an odd route to force your daughter down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭klose

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I wonder if she's still single?

Id say you'd be red raw after a romp with her! What a performance best fight I've seen in ages she is simply brilliant!

I love the slo-mo of her shouting "come on" at the Irish support, amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭decies

Well done Katie , credit to both boxers , great fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I cringe when I hear the fields of Athenry, football is one thing but at a boxing match? Urgh

Rubbish. Sharpen your sensibilities and let some pride effuse your soul. The support out there today was brilliant. The support we give our sports teams at all levels of international competition is top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭patmac

You may want to see women smacked around I dont particularly

So you must be against Judo, Fencing, Karate as well maybe The Olympics aren't for you, you should head of to Saudi Arabia or even Afghanistan where you will get people to agree with you.

darced wrote: »

Bernard Dunne was crying? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm feeling nauseous too, but only cos I'll be at the women's finals and now it almost feels real. Go Katie!

(must buy flag)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

I wanna watch that again. Hope someone puts it up on youtube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Great to see, well done Katie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

An Open bus through Dublin I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

kfallon wrote: »
    What time is the final due for on Thursday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Yeah they should be berating her instead :rolleyes:

Had a tear in me eye myself at the end. And I couldn't give a fook what you think about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Interesting attitude. You could make the "don't watch it" argument for badger baiting, cock fighting, dog fighting that you do for women beating each other and lads getting off on it

Your posts make a good argument for abortion and when its too late for idiots like yourself euthanasia

Not sure about that. Hadn't her father channelled her down this route since she was 8? Seems an odd route to force your daughter down

If you actually knew how Katie Taylor took up boxing and werent talking out your anus you'd know that the point you made is redundant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jesus. Some crazy double standards being thrown around. Some of the women that get passed of ordinary looking ion here and people cramming themselves over Taylor . She's rough lads and talks like a heavy smoker. A million Irish passports won't change that .

Getting punched in the face definitely won't change her for the better either

irish-stew wrote: »

Lovely, knock off work early for it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

What time is the final due for on Thursday?
    Semi Final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

That was fantastic. She's unbelievable. 2 beautiful women as well. Jonas and Taylor, both knockouts. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Rubbish. Sharpen your sensibilities and let some pride effuse your soul. The support out there today was brilliant. The support we give our sports teams at all levels of international competition is top notch.

Nah we can't have atmosphere at a sporting event, its embarassing sure!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I was in the same class in Secondary School as Katie and I still can't believe she's on the big stage. Very proud of her. Fully confident she can take the gold :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Wait, are you comparing womens boxing to animals fighting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,904 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

They're not being forced to fight for people's entertainment. They're athletes who put their lives into what they do. Would ya cop on like!

By that logic, we shouldn't watch any sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone who has some stupid grudge against anything about Katies fight is either a prick, or begrudging twat or worse still has no clue what they are talking about.

Katie you were immense today and have done the country proud.

Fair play to British fighter for true sportsmanship.

Womens Boxing is rubbish eh? Some Joke that was:pac::pac:

EVENFLOW

Jesus. Some crazy double standards being thrown around. Some of the women that get passed of ordinary looking ion here and people cramming themselves over Taylor . She's rough lads and talks like a heavy smoker. A million Irish passports won't change that

What is your problem? She comes across as sweet and dedicated and is a winner, what's not to admire?

Nah we can't have atmosphere at a sporting event, its embarassing sure!

Yup supporting our teams in great voice is an issue it seems. Was the same with the Euros. Pathetic stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Jesus. Some crazy double standards being thrown around. Some of the women that get passed of ordinary looking ion here and people cramming themselves over Taylor . She's rough lads and talks like a heavy smoker. A million Irish passports won't change that .

Getting punched in the face definitely won't change her for the better either

Yeah, but you'd feel safe with Katie. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Yeah they should be berating her instead :rolleyes:

Had a tear in me eye myself at the end. And I couldn't give a fook what you think about that

Had a tear in my eye myself.

Anyone who has some stupid grudge against anything about Katies fight is either a prick, or begrudging twat or worse still has no clue what they are talking about.

Katie you were immense today and have done the country proud.

Fair play to British fighter for true sportsmanship.

Womens Boxing is rubbish eh? Some Joke that was:pac::pac:

Well said sir, you will forever be welcome round my gaff with views like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

What happens in the boxing if all the rounds are drawn?