Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

So is that her out now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Is her name not Nicky McGee?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Hard luck chloe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭Brian017

How does the sailing work? Has she built up a lead to 2nd and 3rd overall?

What's the story with Annalise Murphy, something to do with a red flag on committe boat. Hope nothing to do with our girl

statesaver wrote: »
    What's the story with Annalise Murphy, something to do with a red flag on committe boat. Hope nothing to do with our girl

I think the boat failed a drugs test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I thought Pi had lost the plot entirely for a bit allowing all those points against herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,904 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Brian017 wrote: »
    How does the sailing work? Has she built up a lead to 2nd and 3rd overall?

There are ten races, you get a point equal to the position you finish. So 4 1st gives her 4 points. Belgium are in second with 16 points. Lowest points win obviously. After the 10 races, there is a medal race, for the top ten competitors, where the points are doubled and added to your total.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Have a bet of 50c on the North Korean to beat the US in womens football :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭Brian017

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    There are ten races, you get a point equal to the position you finish. So 4 1st gives her 4 points. Belgium are in second with 16 points. Lowest points win obviously. After the 10 races, there is a medal race, for the top ten competitors, where the points are doubled and added to your total.

Ah thanks for that. Long way to go so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

She's won four races from four races. I didn't hear anything about a protest underway. So I presume she's coming first.

There are ten races. If you come first you get 1 point, second 2 point, 3 three points etc. The person with the least amount of points after all the races gets the gold. The last race is worth double points so first gets 2 points, second 4 points etc.

I don't know if you're allowed to discard the worst two or three of your performances. I would hope you would be allowed because a rope could break or a sail rip and you have to retire means someone could go from first to way down the table with no chance of recovery all because of a technical failure in the equipment, which would just be unlucky.

So far Annalise has 4 points and the person in second place has 16 points.

Brian017 wrote: »
    Ah thanks for that. Long way to go so.

Jaysus, long way to go is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ah poor Chloe but it will stand to her for her third Olympics in Brazil! ;)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I'm sick of commentators telling us that he or she will have their sights set on Rio in 4 years time when yet another one of our competitors is knocked out.

Its the same thing every 4 years. We heard it all in Beijing.

FFS these are the games where Ireland should be winning medals.
    They're practically on our doorstep.

Fek waiting for Brazil in 2016.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    She's won four races from four races. I didn't hear anything about a protest underway. So I presume she's coming first.

There are ten races. If you come first you get 1 point, second 2 point, 3 three points etc. The person with the least amount of points after all the races gets the gold. The last race is worth double points so first gets 2 points, second 4 points etc.

I don't know if you're allowed to discard the worst two or three of your performances. I would hope you would be allowed because a rope could break or a sail rip and you have to retire means someone could go from first to way down the table with no chance of recovery all because of a technical failure in the equipment, which would just be unlucky.

So far Annalise has 4 points and the person in second place has 16 points.

You discard your single worst run afaik

Lapin wrote: »
    I'm sick of commentators telling us that he or she will have their sights set on Rio in 4 years time when yet another one of our competitors is knocked out.

I understand where your coming from but CALM DOWN, CALM DOWN
    :D Though Chloe does seem very young

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

shes 23.

Nex thing they'll be saying Sonia O' Sullivan is training for Brazil :rolleyes:

And who is this Chloe one? I was watching the Irish Badminton player?

Samich wrote: »

She is the irish player?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

This does rankle a bit. It wouldn't have been too much to invest in athletes when the event is in London. Katie Taylor didn't have so much as a bathroom at her disposal. She would use the one in the pub next door from where she was training.
    There was little to no funding going toward that lad we had in the gymnastics as far as I know. I was watching the Beeb and they were talking about his history and what an amazing underdog story it was, including how he had to do a load of fund raising to get himself there in the first place.
    That was embarrassing to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    You discard your single worst run afaik

A single discard seems very stingy. I would have imagined at least 2 if the 10 are raced, probably 3, and I've seen 4 discards on 10 race series before.

We just dont have the funding to invest properly in athletes. We could adopt GB's approach and concentrate on one or two sports to increase our chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Samich wrote: »

Chloe magee.. The player you were watching:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I'm quite calm.

I just have a low tolerance to horse shít when I hear it.

I'm no expert on Badminton, but is 23 considered young for the game?

BTW, I wasn't trying to single out Magee there, my gripe is with the commentators and their back slapping, gallant performance, better luck next time response.

Call it as it is, we're not good enough. We weren't 4 years ago and won't be in 4 years time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Shryke wrote: »
    This does rankle a bit. It wouldn't have been too much to invest in athletes when the event is in London. Katie Taylor didn't have so much as a bathroom at her disposal. She would use the one in the pub next door from where she was training.
    There was little to no funding going toward that lad we had in the gymnastics as far as I know. I was watching the Beeb and they were talking about his history and what an amazing underdog story it was, including how he had to do a load of fund raising to get himself there in the first place.

Really encapsulates the 'ah shure it's grand, next time, next time" and "shure we should be happy to even be here" attitude we have.

Roy Keane makes some very good points around this - albeit at very inappropriate times. I do think he is on to something though. We shouldn't be happy with just being there, going along for the sing song so to speak.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

keano_afc wrote: »
    We just dont have the funding to invest properly in athletes. We could adopt GB's approach and concentrate on one or two sports to increase our chances.
    most of the stuff we are god at is fairly cheap
    Boxing
    Middle distance running
    Sailing
    Dressage (it's already paid for by the Army)

garv123 wrote: »
    Chloe magee.. The player you were watching:confused:

I thought they called her Nicky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I'm quite calm.

I just have a low tolerance to horse shít when I hear it.

I'm no expert on Badminton, but is 23 considered young for the game?

BTW, I wasn't trying to single out Magee there, my gripe is with the commentators and their back slapping, gallant performance, better luck next time response.

Call it as it is, we're not good enough. We weren't 4 years ago and won't be in 4 years time.

We'll PI was 33 so She's young enough... she will pick up plenty more experience in the next few years.

Commentator hadn't a clue about badminton, reading out random facts out off the internet, calling the shuttle a ball twice, saying the minimum Evans should be doing was reaching the back lines with his clears.. During the game he could only say if a person served long or short, in or out and the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Shryke wrote: »

apparently he was barred from the climbing frame in the local park as the kids couldn't get a look in :pac: