Cocky Lying Sales Rep Caught Out!

123457»

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Biggins wrote: »
    The dad used to tell me of some bad jobs he used to come across years ago on sites.
    Makes one wonder what people used to get away with years ago!
    yeah I've heard of estates in the North where half the houses had faulty sockets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

There's no way this guys house was rewired from scratch, along with reslabbing and skimming, fifteen years later.

It's bull. There are too many things that don't add up.
    The dad used to tell me of some bad jobs he used to come across years ago on sites.
    Makes one wonder what people used to get away with years ago!
    yeah I've heard of estates in the North where half the houses had faulty sockets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There's no way this guys house was rewired from scratch, along with reslabbing and skimming, fifteen years later.

I got the work done cheap, thru getting a cheap house what need work.
    I'm not the first and won't be the last.
    I'm sorry you seem to have problems with me. I'm moving on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭N17er

I got the work done cheap

Jeez I hope you didn't hire cheap corner cutting cowboys with shoddy practices like installing indoor sockets outside.. oh wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

How does roundymooney know stuff about Biggins house? From previous posts?

It got very sinister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Seaneh wrote: »
    Protip:

http://allrecipes.com/ has a function where you can scale up or down a recipe :D

Nice one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I got the work done cheap, thru getting a cheap house what need work.
    I'm not the first and won't be the last.
    I'm sorry you seem to have problems with me. I'm moving on...

Our place in Kerry was knocked together by some builder that someone said was "practicing" when he and his team of cowboys built it. We had to have it re-wired when we bought it (it was less than 20 years old) , the roof leaked like a sieve because it wasn't put on properly, all of the concrete paving surrounding the building sank because there wasn't enough hardcore under it, all in all a feckin shambles, not to mention the plumbing and heating. At least we weren't stupid enough not to know how bad it was, and paid a cheap fair price for it.

On reflection, I wish we hadn't bought it, because we've since realised that most of the neighbours are up-themselves arseholes, who've barely spoken to us since we moved in 20 years ago.

The builder himself was quite busy during the boom, conning the local county council into thinking he was keeping to the rules, when in fact he wasn't, particularly with regard to using proper materials for foundations. On one estate that he built, the first house had the proper limestone foundations, and the council gave it the ok when they inspected it. The rest of the houses had everything but the right materials under them, but of course the council didn't know because they didn't look at those when they were being done.

I can well believe that shoddy buildings have been knocked up by 1000s over the decades, and you never hear of anyone getting nailed for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Well folks, there ye go. Another packed episode from the far side.
    Ye now know how to measure choccy bars for making some sort of, err, choccy containing thing, how to go way over the top with some poor sap selling broadband, how to extend a sh1te one line story over five pages, how to induce that stomach lurching feeling when someone who actually knows what they are talking about calls someone out for b.s, and also where to be sitting when the "cowboy electrical inspector man" calls out to Bigginss estate next week to start a "Priory Hall" job.:D
    I'm sure all the neighbours will be delighted that Biggsy has saved them from a firey damnation and I for one would be more than wiling to offer them cheap acomodation in the interim, while their houses are gutted and rebuilt. I'm sure they will all be delighted you have saved them Biggins.:D:D:D Oh God, please make the laughter stop, my feckin sides, someone think of the sides..

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Our place in Kerry was knocked together by some builder that someone said was "practicing" when he and his team of cowboys built it. We had to have it re-wired when we bought it (it was less than 20 years old) , the roof leaked like a sieve because it wasn't put on properly, all of the concrete paving surrounding the building sank because there wasn't enough hardcore under it, all in all a feckin shambles, not to mention the plumbing and heating. At least we weren't stupid enough not to know how bad it was, and paid a cheap fair price for it.

On reflection, I wish we hadn't bought it, because we've since realised that most of the neighbours are up-themselves arseholes, who've barely spoken to us since we moved in 20 years ago.

The builder himself was quite busy during the boom, conning the local county council into thinking he was keeping to the rules, when in fact he wasn't, particularly with regard to using proper materials for foundations. On one estate that he built, the first house had the proper limestone foundations, and the council gave it the ok when they inspected it. The rest of the houses had everything but the right materials under them, but of course the council didn't know because they didn't look at those when they were being done.

I can well believe that shoddy buildings have been knocked up by 1000s over the decades, and you never hear of anyone getting nailed for it.
    Nope. Very few. My parents bought a house at one stage in their home town that was of similar state.
    Instead of using proper filler to place into and around flues of a chimney, the builder used just sand as a filler.
    When one of the upper flues cracked, down came the sand into the fireplace and into the living room.
    The easy part was actually cleaning the mess up, the complicated messy part was actually repairing the inner part of the chimney which created a lot of complications.
    They were thankfully covered by a national builders insurance scheme.
    Pottler wrote: »
    ...my feckin sides, someone think of the sides..
    Glad to help! ;)

Samich wrote: »
    How does roundymooney know stuff about Biggins house? From previous posts?

It got very sinister.

You could have just asked me, you know.

From the thread he bumped last night, the image he posted on this thread, and his responses here. Simples.

Nothing sinister about asking someone to clarify something they've said, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Dub88

Who gives a monkeys? Lay off biggins, your just as bad as the bully salesman

Dub88 wrote: »
    Shades of Enda. Biggins is a big boy, he's well able to fight his own battles. You licking his hole will just distract him. Anyway, it's a union matter, you're taking Abi s job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Firegaurd

Is there a way i can block out everybody elses posts and just see the back and forth from Biggins and Roundy Mooney, it's hilarious :D

Cry me a river. If his stories stacked up, no one would bat an eyelid.

And anyway, he's withdrawn from the discussion, why are you dragging it up again?

You're still calling in the inspectors though? I've set up marqees and bought seats and fifty three gallons of popcorn. No going all soft on us now, ok.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Fair play to Biggins, of all the sales people calling to the door broadband ones are the biggest bullshitters. Airtricity are pretty bad too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

Cienciano wrote: »
    Fair play to Biggins, of all the sales people calling to the door broadband ones are the biggest bullshitters. Airtricity are pretty bad too.

Why even listen to the bullsh1t?

I just say no thanks and try not to be rude about it. But Just slightly forceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

PC CDROM wrote: »
    Why even listen to the bullsh1t?

I just say no thanks and try not to be rude about it. But Just slightly forceful.

That's what they get for knocking on your door and trying to get you to spend your money by telling you lies.

Pottler wrote: »
    Shades of Enda. Biggins is a big boy, he's well able to fight his own battles. You licking his hole will just distract him. Anyway, it's a union matter, you're taking Abi s job.
    You're the one licking mooneys hole ;)

Ok inspector 'cant let it go' gadget.

Oh, do you carry cameras, laser pointers, pen and paper, and bug detectors with you when you go for a walk too?

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Threads gone way off topic