Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yusssss!

Had someone do this to me on the bike yesterday, but it was worse, in between two speed ramps on a very tight stretch of road where there's room enough for 2 cars to pass, but not much else. Cycling in between the two ramps, this young one in a mondeo decides to over take...with an oncoming car approaching, and a speed ramp. She nearly killed me.

No notice of you as a cyclist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Stheno wrote: »

Word is he has trouble accepting the fuel consumption of the 325...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Oh she saw me, but it was only half way through her manoeuvre that she realised what mess she was in.

Option 1 - Brake and pull in behind me for 5 seconds until the ramp and oncoming car had passed.
    Option 2 - Accelerate hard, swerve in on top of me and flip me off.

They went with option two, had to take some serious evasive action to not get hit.

166man wrote: »
    Word is he has trouble accepting the fuel consumption of the 325...

I drive for fun, commuting is no fun in a car! No matter what it is! Bike is quicker too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The amount of people that flip me off when I'm cycling because they do something stupid is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I drive for fun, commuting is no fun in a car! No matter what it is! Bike is quicker too!

Jaysus I knew they weren't an M3 but they're that slow? :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3663933

Fairly standard VW TDI ad here

''1.9 tdi 5 speed june 2003

alloys wheels, can sell car without alloys wheels for less money

80% tyres all around

on fk coilovers only 7 months old with 1 year warrenty, hav original shocks and springs aswell

shark fin, hid ligths, fogs, arm rest, air con

boot spoiler,led bulbs inside

very clean reliable car, no marks or tears on seats

2 new electric window motors and cables for front windows

all new arms in front car cant be faulted,

all new break dicks all around

timing belt and service done at 176 668

tax 8/12 nct 6/13

this car was standard when i got it and alot of work has been put into it., when the car needed anything done to it, it got it right away''

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

CianRyan wrote: »
    The amount of people that flip me off when I'm cycling because they do something stupid is staggering.

The amount of cyclists on Dorset Street of a morning who don't realise one lane is for left hand turns drives me nuts.

That aside, I try to make sure I look out for cyclists, even slowing down for cyclists in the wrong lane.:)

Light, good power (depending on the rider), nimble and RWD, what more could you want?

I've recently taken to drifting my bike around my local park on rainy days. With no one around and slippery smooth tarmac to play on the windy downhill path right the way through it is great fun.

Bikes are awesome. :cool:

The amount of cyclists on Dorset Street of a morning who don't realise one lane is for left hand turns drives me nuts.

That aside, I try to make sure I look out for cyclists, even slowing down for cyclists in the wrong lane.:)

I gave up on cycling in town when I was working in there, the amount of cyclists that don't know how to act on the road is unreal.
    I honestly don't know which is worse, being piled in with the idiots and having cars get pissed at me for nothing or trying not to die when a stupid cyclists almost forces me under a bus.

CianRyan wrote: »
    I've recently taken to drifting my bike around my local park on rainy days. With no one around and slippery smooth tarmac to play on the windy downhill path right the way through it is great fun.

Telling the wrong person - as a kid I had more burst, blown-out and completely worn out tyres from that :p

It's grand as a kid but when people see a hair man on a bike going side ways you get the weirdest looks! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Shut up diesel boy :P

I remember the first time I got a decent bike as a kid, I couldn't get over how cool it felt to be skidding all over the place. I think most people have this when they are young, but one day there were lads from my school in the year above me at the traffic lights so I decided to be cool and skid in front of them and then pedal off.

Ended up pulling the front brake instead of back brake and flooring myself much to their amusement. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

just done my sums, averaging 43mpg in the glanza this last week, probably 50/50 town to motorway driving, not too shabby at all. i have been driving like a nun but sure how bad, its yet another refreshing change in a glanza :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

andyseadog wrote: »
    just done my sums, averaging 43mpg in the glanza this last week, probably 50/50 town to motorway driving, not too shabby at all. i have been driving like a nun but sure how bad, its yet another refreshing change in a glanza :)

Must be right happy with that :)
    Still haven't spotted you in arklow, will have a stalk of tesco car park next time I'm over! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Ive got a conundrum for you andy, what mpg would a 1.0 polo get?

MPG depends on car, driver, roads and style of driving. It's like saying how accurate is an AK-47. Depends who's using it!

gollywog wrote: »
    Still haven't spotted you in arklow, will have a stalk of tesco car park next time I'm over! :p

i generally do the evening shift, drop over between 4 and 10pm :pac: i'm behind the hardware desk :P.

i was in gorey today, appreciating that new roundabout system there at the top of esmond street (i think its called), pretty riddiculous they need those cones to "train" the drivers as to what now happens.

@bubblewrap, i let the fuel light come on, set my trip counter to zero, put in 'x' amount of fuel and drive until the fuel light comes on again. its not 100% accurate but you get a rough idea.

MPG depends on car, driver, roads and style of driving. It's like saying how accurate is an AK-47. Depends who's using it!

Right.. A mixed of mtorway and city driving. Sensible driving. A wild guess would do, as I have no idea.

@bubblewrap, i let the fuel light come on, set my trip counter to zero, put in 'x' amount of fuel and drive until the fuel light comes on again. its not 100% accurate but you get a rough idea.

Aw right, I dont have a Polo though.

i generally do the evening shift, drop over between 4 and 10pm :pac: i'm behind the hardware desk :P.

i was in gorey today, appreciating that new roundabout system there at the top of esmond street (i think its called), pretty riddiculous they need those cones to "train" the drivers as to what now happens.

Ah right cool. If I can do a deal tommorrow I might pop over tommorrow night with a new car surely be looking for places to drive lol :)
    Ya it makes an awful difference, was a slightly dodgy junction at times as sometimes both cars coming onto main street from esmonde street and ars going off main street down towards the church would both think they had right of way, was interesting to watch all the same....!

Ah right cool. If I can do a deal tommorrow I might pop over tommorrow night with a new car surely be looking for places to drive lol :)
    Ya it makes an awful difference, was a slightly dodgy junction at times as sometimes both cars coming onto main street from esmonde street and ars going off main street down towards the church would both think they had right of way, was interesting to watch all the same....!

still not found the right car, no?

gorey is still a traffic nightmare i think, it drives me crackers all the one way streets and tailbacks and stuff, give me arklow any day :pac:

still not found the right car, no?

gorey is still a traffic nightmare i think, it drives me crackers all the one way streets and tailbacks and stuff, give me arklow any day :pac:

Well I'll answer that question tommorrow evening Andy! Hopefully I'll have to buy some custard when im in tesco :p
    Ya gorey a weird little town alright, used to be ten times worse though. Gone rough as all hell too

Well I'll answer that question tommorrow evening Andy! Hopefully I'll have to buy some custard when im in tesco :p
    Ya gorey a weird little town alright, used to be ten times worse though. Gone rough as all hell too

hope it all goes well for you, no feeling better than drving a new car home :)

Cheers man!
    Right bedtime, good night all!

603500_500896626603887_291521048_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Were you up all night CM?!!

dgt wrote: »
    Were you up all night CM?!!
    Of course I was. What sort of responsible adult do you take me for? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

I bought a new motor the other day,

been keeping it quiet, it's not what expected to go and buy when I posted about wanting a bit of luxury. Quite the opposite, :(

I Bought a
    hilux surf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Have an idea for a horn to put on the 406... Maybe 2 if I ditch the standard horn :D

Better tidy up the interior first though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I've always wanted in install one of these as the horn. It's guaranteed to make cars move out of your way. :cool:.

horn_kit09.jpg