Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Dark Knight Rises - seen thread *SPOILERS WITHIN* See Mod Warning in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Hardy looked particularly big, like massive! Could have been enlarged in any way digitally? When Gordon is in the sewer, and Bane turns around - holy ****, that is one big man.

He packed on 30lb of muscle, mainly by "eating villages of chickens" in his own words :D
    http://www.metro.co.uk/film/898847-the-dark-knight-rises-tom-hardy-ate-villages-of-chickens-to-get-into-shape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

THe voice over states that he clearly wanted to protect the innocence in the kid that he never got to have. He immediatly got persecuted by letting the kid escape he got set on by every single person in the jail, I would imagine he got beatings everyday for weeks. Plus by the looks of it he was the only one to survive the plague when the LoS found him. Plus he lived in contsant pain only relieve by his mask. Taking all that punishment and pain for protecting Talia. I think he had some significant rise.

I'm not saying he didn't come through great adversity but his ability to take a beating notwithstanding he still required rescuing by Talia . My main point is that the revelation about Talia disarms the character of bane as surely as Batman's smashing of his mask .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I didn't hate the film, but its far from the fantastic film 9/10 people on here are making it out to be. To have a 9.2/10 IMDB rating is beyond baffling. I'm going to watch it again this week to give it another chance, which I don't normally do, but having seen the film and gone through the plot, I hope a second viewing will lead me in a different direction. I can sum up many of the showpieces like this:

Batman/Catwoman co-op fight on rooftop - slow and arthritic. Police/Batman chase - utterly underwhelming and wasteful- the most basic of chase scenes with nothing new injected in the slightest. Bane/Batman fight on street - again slow and lethargic, akin to two brothers wrist slapping with each other. Bomb trucks/tumblers going around the city - boring and lacking in any exciting. Acting beyond main characters, Dagget/Foley/congressmen - disappointing. 'Real non-cgi scenes' - mostly slow and uninteresting. Police V mercenaries scenes - ridiculous and lame. Great characters like Bane and Catwoman or the prison/Alfred scenes do not make up for large shortcomings in virtually all the main sequences. By far the poorest of the three, but hopefully a second viewing will change my mind somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,712 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I don't think the Talia reveal diminishes Bane in the slightest. If anything I think it makes him even more intriguing. Unlike the Joker, he's not a force of nature. He's just a man who suffered greatly and was utterly twisted by his experiences. The fact that he loved Talia and protected her so she could escape may lessen his super-villain status, but it also explains his motive and gives him a fascinating layer of complexity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

I don't think the Talia reveal diminishes Bane in the slightest. If anything I think it makes him even more intriguing. Unlike the Joker, he's not a force of nature. He's just a man who suffered greatly and was utterly twisted by his experiences. The fact that he loved Talia and protected her so she could escape may lessen his super-villain status, but it also explains his motive and gives him a fascinating layer of complexity.

It humanizes him sure, but in a way I don't think will do the character any favors on rewatching , as I said previously, before she revealed herself he was the brains & muscle that broke the Bat and his city after it he is merely the muscle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I pegged Miranda as Talia early on the film. Just got the feeling Cotillard was cast with a purpose.

I also felt though that her reveal undermined Bane somewhat although it might be because of what we saw done with the joker previously.

Speaking of which, joker was noticeably absent.

Oh and catwoman was terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Oscorp

faceman wrote: »

First person I've encountered who didn't like her. Probably the best character in the first half of the film for me.

It humanizes him sure, but in a way I don't think will do the character any favors on rewatching , as I said previously, before she revealed herself he was the brains & muscle that broke the Bat and his city after it he is merely the muscle.

I don't think you can look at and everything Bane says and does in the film and say that he's just following Talia's orders. I'd think of them more as partners. All the social upheaval seemed to be his doing rather than hers. He spent a lot more time down in that pit than she did, so his hatred for the privileged is understandable. The way I see it, Talia just wanted revenge and to complete her father's work. Bane wanted to torture everyone with hope before pulling the trigger.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

faceman wrote: »
    I pegged Miranda as Talia early on the film. Just got the feeling Cotillard was cast with a purpose.

About a million people pegged her as Talia when the role was cast :pac:

Herecy!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

I'm sure this has been mentioned in the thread but will Warner Bros. milk the franchise now with Joseph-Gordon Levitt and sans the Nolan? I sure hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

3 out of 10, thought it was truly awful, gets the crap kicked out of him by bane who then puts him in a cell with a physio and a doctor and all he had to do is climb out a hole, dirt.

so thats all you took from 2 hrs 45 minutes of the film?

if you wanted something realistic, i recommend you stay at home and watch national geographic. its a film about a man in a cape, protecting a fictional city and you find the 5 month recovery hard to believe.

its a damn good film, personally my favorite of the trilogy. im doubting you even saw it or are delibertly trying to be petty and controversial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Meh out of ten. Definitely the weakest of the three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

"Daddy, why is Bane freeing violent criminals in Gotham wrong, but Bruce Wayne freeing violent criminals in a far away land ok?"

Bringing your kids to see this? Better have an answer ready! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I know it's an opinion that will be slated, but I honestly rate this like I do Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. There really was very little that I liked in this. It felt like a film Nolan made because he had no choice. I loved the first two films and that's where this series ends for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

humanji wrote: »
    I know it's an opinion that will be slated, but I honestly rate this like I do Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. There really was very little that I liked in this. It felt like a film Nolan made because he had no choice. I loved the first two films and that's where this series ends for me.

If he had the balls to kill Batman then at least it would had something. Or in the very least, end with Alfred nodding to an unseen person. But no, Batman and Catwoman having a romantic holiday. Sigh.

humanji wrote: »

I have now read it all.

Sweet mother of Jebus.

Chalk and cheese my friend.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,789 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

a5y wrote: »
    "Daddy, why is Bane freeing violent criminals in Gotham wrong, but Bruce Wayne freeing violent criminals in a far away land ok?"

Simple answer for said kid: he didn't free any prisoners in the far away land, he just threw the rope he was handed by the guy at the bottom back down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

a5y wrote: »

"Well imaginary child, it seems that none of these prisoners received Due Process and may have only been political prisoners or simply people who stood up to the corrupt people who ran the prison. Also we know they had no problem condemning children for no reason. I believe Batman decided that the prison was a human rights violation that if left unchecked could do more harm then good to society.

Parenting? Piss easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Simple answer for said kid: he didn't free any prisoners in the far away land, he just threw the rope he was handed by the guy at the bottom back down.

Nah the rope was conveniently there at the top of the well. I thought it was a bit weird that the prison was made out to be a hell pit when actually it just seemed like a bunch of old guys hanging out and occasionally trying to climb out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

If he had the balls to kill Batman then at least it would had something. Or in the very least, end with Alfred nodding to an unseen person. But no, Batman and Catwoman having a romantic holiday. Sigh.
    Actually, in his defence, I'd say no studio would allow him to do that. There's too much money to be made from the franchise, even with the mantle being handed on, to kill him off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

I'm sure this has been mentioned in the thread but will Warner Bros. milk the franchise now with Joseph-Gordon Levitt and sans the Nolan? I sure hope not.

Seriously looks like it doesn't it! Tbh I find it very annoying that these days hollywood can't simply end a movie without leaving some sort of hint or opening for a potential sequel or spin off....

On subject, I saw the movie on Saturday evening. Not what I expected at all, but i still thought it was a brilliant movie.

I purposely stayed away from anything related to the movie beforehand so nothing would be ruined for me, really expected 'Robin' to play a bigger role, and particularly in the guise of Nightwing which I thought better suited Nolan's take on the Batman story.

Overall though I reckon the 2nd movie was the best of the 3. The Joker was done so well and you can't help but feel if Ledger was still alive, maybe there would have been a couple of more movies involving his awesome character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

my problems with the film

1 - Why did Bane wait three months to detonate the bomb? Why not just do it after a day or two. This "giving people hope/making them suffer" doesnt explain why wait 3 months. Why not leave the core intact and blow it after a year then?

2 - why were Talia and Bane happy to get blown up too? Why not fly away from gotham and trigger the bomb then?

3 - Bane's voice was a bit difficult to understand.

4 - Cops V the goons. the "war" thing. Why the hell would the cops run headlong into guns? Then , like only 2/3 cops got shot! Where the hell were the goons sub machine gun bullets going? And why didnt the cops shoot at them instead of running?

5 - That "hell on earth prison" was so stupid. hell on earth?? A doctor beside you, and another guy to feed you and take care of you. Nobody pooing on your face or shooting you or beating you up. No, just somewhere nice to recuperate.
    And why didnt the inmates build a little plank to get from the ledge to the one you had to jump to!!?? Build it from wood or rope or some ****! they had enough "materials" to build Banes mask!!

6 - Was the "bat plane" at the end a new one? obviously it was, cos the other one was in a nuclear explosion! So banes group took the 3 batmobiles, but ignored the bat plane thing (that defeated the 3 bat mobiles!). Stupid by them.

7 - When the cops were underground, how come they could get food and water into them but not cops out?

Im sure theres a couple more I cant think of right now.

In saying that id still give it 8/10 for the UNBELIEVABLY good scenes in it - Alfred at the grave, Bane's fights, the entire last hour!

Just a lot of lazy scriptwriting imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,957 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

MJ23 wrote: »
    Bane looks as if he's standing on a foot stool in some of the scenes. The part where he puts his hand on yer mans shoulder, he's about a foot taller than yer man.

Hardy wore special shoes for his scenes with Bale to make him look taller as he is only 5 foot 8.
    His pants looked padded to make his legs look bigger and there was no doubt some trick photography used to make him look much bigger as he was only 14 stone for the role,he looked 18 stone in some scenes.
    His head looked gigantic in some scenes but when Cotillard put her hand up to his face near the end his head looked small.

1 - Why did Bane wait three months to detonate the bomb? Why not just do it after a day or two. This "giving people hope/making them suffer" doesnt explain why wait 3 months. Why not leave the core intact and blow it after a year then?
    They wanted Gotham to suffer and they wanted Bruce to watch. They didn't wait 5 months to denote the bomb. That's just how long the core took to degrade once they removed it from the reactor. They did this to ensure there was no way to disable the bomb. They only attempted to denote it at the end when Batman showed up.
    2 - why were Talia and Bane happy to get blown up too? Why not fly away from gotham and trigger the bomb then?
    They were happy to die. Death meant nothing to them. They were terrorists.
    5 - That "hell on earth prison" was so stupid. hell on earth?? A doctor beside you, and another guy to feed you and take care of you. Nobody pooing on your face or shooting you or beating you up. No, just somewhere nice to recuperate.
    As I recall the doctor said he was paid to keep Bruce alive. Bane truly didn't think Bruce could escape. But he wanted him to try and fail. As Bane told Bruce, he wanted to torture his mind, not his body.
    And why didnt the inmates build a little plank to get from the ledge to the one you had to jump to!!?? Build it from wood or rope or some ****! they had enough "materials" to build Banes mask!!
    I'm pretty sure he got his mask later, after he left the prison.
    6 - Was the "bat plane" at the end a new one? obviously it was, cos the other one was in a nuclear explosion! So banes group took the 3 batmobiles, but ignored the bat plane thing (that defeated the 3 bat mobiles!). Stupid by them.
    It looked like an incomplete prototype. It was of no use to them.
    7 - When the cops were underground, how come they could get food and water into them but not cops out?
    I'm not sure, but I think the supplies were being sent down by the League, not the resistance. They wanted the city to believe they were liberators. And again, they wanted to keep hope alive.

didnt he fix the autopilot though? Would he fix it on an incomplete prototype?

the whole "Bruce being forced to watch" too was nonsense, Bruce could have thrown a stone at the TV anytime he wanted! Which he eventually did!
    the prison was very VERY little torture of his mind too. It was like a nice recovery place for him! Guys healed him and taught him some valuable lessons!

Why would death mean nothing to them? Surely they could have ruined Gotham AND lived?

I still dont get my first question. they wanted Gotham to suffer? Why? Why not just blow it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭val_jester

First of all you have to remember it is a movie, and a superhero movie at that. You have to allow for movies to be different from real life due to the fact something must always be happening. It would have been fairly pointless for him to blow the bomb after two days as the movie would have been over straight away at that point. But the whole point of waiting for the 3 months is too give them actual hope. After two days the people would not have any real hope, they are still living in fear but after a few months, although still living in fear they will have adapted to a new life and begun to hope that the bomb isn't going to go off. If they left the core intact, there wouldn't be the same drama, or the same worldwide attention, they got with bringing the bomb into a stadium.

Because that was there mission in life, to destroy Gotham. After they had completed that task, they would have nothing else to do. They were happy to sacrifice themselves for their cause.

3 - Bane's voice was a bit difficult to understand.

I thought it was clear for the most part but can understand that some people found it difficult to get used to. It didn't help trying to understand him if someone near you was stuffing their face with popcorn when he was talking. But I'm not really sure what they could have done to change his voice that much, it is supposed to be distorted and I thought they made it fairly clear.

4 - Cops V the goons. the "war" thing. Why the hell would the cops run headlong into guns? Then , like only 2/3 cops got shot! Where the hell were the goons sub machine gun bullets going? And why didnt the cops shoot at them instead of running?

Again, its a film, and its the big climatic action scene, you have to suspend belief. What annoyed/made be laugh about that scene was one of the cops forgetting that he was supposed to be fighting and just running through the mercenaries.

First of all, they didn't build Bane's mask in the prison. Secondly, I don't think the prison was exactly the height of comfort. Thirdly, you seem to be completely missing the point of it being hell on earth. The point was that it should have been impossible for Wayne to escape, the guy feeding him is only doing that so that Wayne won't stop eating and let himself die rather than watch as Gotham tears itself apart.

It was a helicopter and it was a new one, the bat had originally been held in a different place to all the other stuff, if you remember at the beginning the went through another door to get to it. There is a possibility that the mercenaries didn't find it.

Bane and the mercenaries were the ones giving the cops food. They were guarding all the exits/entrances but once again were keeping them alive to give them the hope that they would escape.

Im sure theres a couple more I cant think of right now.

In saying that id still give it 8/10 for the UNBELIEVABLY good scenes in it - Alfred at the grave, Bane's fights, the entire last hour!

Just a lot of lazy scriptwriting imo.

There isn't lazy scriptwriting, that is one thing you can't accuse the writers of. Everything that happens in the film has an explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I'm not sure, but I think the supplies were being sent down by the League, not the resistance. They wanted the city to believe they were liberators. And again, they wanted to keep hope alive.

The League sent down supplies to give the police hope of rescue before they killed them with the bomb.

That's why Teal'c from Stargate was guarding the manhole when JGL's Asian cop friend was shot trying to escape.

In any case, the nitpicking going on in this thread is nauseating. Nolan's plots are very complex and a lot of the finer details tend to go over the viewer's head. TDK and Inception were accused of having loads of plot holes as well. It was remarkable the level of scrutiny they held up to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,789 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Frank Miller probably could have put it more eloquently, but the general moral of the statement is true. Whenever in doubt, remember:

5538350322_90e587e0b2_z.jpg

lol, remember, it doesnt matter, look theres batman! GO BATMAN!