Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Dark Knight Rises - seen thread *SPOILERS WITHIN* See Mod Warning in first post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

So Levitt's character "Blake" or "Robin"...Who is he?

I know Dick Grayson as Robin, but I know there are others

Is he one of the Robin or Nightwing characters?

Blake was created for this film.
    Let me preface my nitpicking by saying I enjoyed the film quite alot , but did anyone else not wonder why Bruce didn't just climb the safety rope which seemed to be anchored higher then the ledge or am I just imagining that ?

The safety rope was anchored lower than the ledge that Bruce jumped from. On his first attempt, he tugs the rope as it hangs below him and it's fairly obvious there's not enough slack on it to allow him to reach the other ledge, indicating that it's not exactly a phenomenal leap that's needed to escape, just the willingness to forgo the safety net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Also when Bane was making his speech why not reveal Batmans identity while he was shouting out secrets about Dent

By incriminating Dent, he was exonerating Batman. If he then went on to tell them Batman was actually that reclusive billionaire that has no need to save/protect them all, it might serve to inspire regular folk to follow suit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

krudler wrote: »
    I kinda liked the lack of Batman in it, seems to be a big complaint from people, but I liked it, its Bruce's story come full circle, think of it as the third act of a near 9 hour movie

Agreed. Batman Begins was about BW more than Batman. Makes sense for them to finish off the journey as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭spankmaster2000

Is it implied at the end that all of Gotham also thinks Batman is dead?
    i.e. they all see him fly away and explode / they even erect a memorial to the "Bat-man".

I'm just wondering - would everyone be pissed off at another "Lie" (a-la Harvey Dent's demise) when Batman eventually reappears? Or Bruce Wayne for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

farna_boy wrote: »
    Just wondering, did all the people who dislike the film watch many trailers and read all the speculation around the film?

I knew that this would be massively over hyped and could be potentially ruined by trailers and speculation so I avoided everything until after I watched the film. I quite enjoyed the film but looking back now, I could see how all the trailers, speculation, sneak previews could have destroyed the movie for me.

In fairness, the trailers for this don't seem that bad, but in general, whoever is marketing movies these days, really doesn't know what a trailer should / shouldn't show and they usually give away half the film, the twists and all the critical information in the trailer. A trailer is supposed to pique your interest, to entice you to come watch the film, not give you a 2 minute synopsis of film before it's even released.
    I didnt watch any trailier besides the first one released last year, have avoided every single piece of media successfully since then.

I didnt hate the film , i thought it was quite good, but i felt it the weakest of the 3 movies . I will tell you why.

The editing was poor, some scenes went on too long , i felt if you got a better editor in , you would have a movie 20mins shorter , paced a lot better , and a tighter more enjoyable movie all round.

I dont knitpick little things, but to me this movie didnt feel like it took place in gotham , it could of taken place in any number of cities worldwide.

As i said i did enjoy it , but the weakest of the 3 imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I just saw it this afternoon in the Swan cinema in Rathmines. Was great, the theatre was only about 1/3 full. The stadium scene was introduced so well with the national anthem, it was like the multiple homicides in The Godfather with Pacino at Mass! Great movie, can't wait to see it again.

nicklauski wrote: »
    As soon as the film ended I said this to my mate. I honestly thought he was gonna cut it there.
    As you said it would have been perfect, the perfect ending. As usual with Nolan it would have left the was he/wasnt he there.

Still I thought it cutting with Blake in the Batcave was a good way to end it also. Him rising up to the mantle of being Batman.

Too simular to Inception though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,450 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I dont knitpick little things, but to me this movie didnt feel like it took place in gotham , it could of taken place in any number of cities worldwide.

As i said i did enjoy it , but the weakest of the 3 imo.

That is what I dislike about the Nolan batmans - Gotham doesn't have its own identity, may as well have taken place in New York. Compare it to the imagery and style of Gotham in Batman and Batman returns - Gotham felt unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭pah

nicklauski wrote: »
    As soon as the film ended I said this to my mate. I honestly thought he was gonna cut it there.
    As you said it would have been perfect, the perfect ending. As usual with Nolan it would have left the was he/wasnt he there.

Still I thought it cutting with Blake in the Batcave was a good way to end it also. Him rising up to the mantle of being Batman.

I don't get it.

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/_/dict.aspx?word=simular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

To hell with all you all:

[Lights go out in the tunnel]

[Bikes power off]

[Cop car powers off]

[Lights flicker back on]

"What the hell was that?"

"...Heh, you're in for a show tonight, kid."

pah wrote: »

I meant similar. Apologies.

Yours gratefully,
    The_Dazzler

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Overheal wrote: »

[Bikes power off]

[Cop car powers off]

[Lights flicker back on]

The following moments, I haven't been so excited in a long time. He appears out of nowhere and Hans Zimmer goes into full DUM DUM DUM mode... 'mazin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

A lot of people have kinda come to expect that from Nolan though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

You say that as if pissing off audiences is a bad thing :P Ambiguity FTW!

Nah, I don't really mind the shot of Batman and Selina, but I would have had a big ol' grin on my face if they had left that single shot out. I had absolutely no bother with the ending (I thought it was extremely satisfying), but as a personal preference I would have preferred Nolan to have trusted the audience and just excised that single shot. Again, that's just me :)

Same here. In fact, it might have been even a little better without Alfred's scene at all; a little bit more ambiguous again. We all knew he was alive.. as soon as they made such a big deal about the auto-pilot earlier in the movie, you knew there had to be some significance to it. But then they had to put in the BW/Selina scene...

..I'm just surprised they didn't put a "i.e. He wasn't on the bat, he's still alive!" subtitles underneath! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Overheal wrote: »

[Bikes power off]

[Cop car powers off]

[Lights flicker back on]

That was a fantastic moment, best crowdpleasing part of it for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭pah

I meant similar. Apologies.

Yours gratefully,
    The_Dazzler

I know, sorry i cant help myself.

Why do people you feel it was so similar to inception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

I liked the film very much, in spite of its flaws.

I like what it brings to the trilogy. In Batman Begins, Bruce sets out to become more than a man. "As a symbol, I can become incorruptable, I can be everlasting." In The Dark Knight, Joker says in admiration, "You truly are incorruptable, aren't you?" And in The Dark Knight Rises, he lets that symbol become everlasting.

Because they don't know if it was a dream or not.

I wish I'd watched BB and TDK not long before TDKR because there were a couple of bits and pieces that I didn't really like but I know they worked within the trilogy, the amount of daylight being one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Bane looks as if he's standing on a foot stool in some of the scenes. The part where he puts his hand on yer mans shoulder, he's about a foot taller than yer man.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Not at all surprised this thread has not only exploded in length, but already descended into pedantic nit-picking of the minutiae; it's always amazing to me how certain films & genres of film appear to attract the larger percentage of pedants & intensity of criticism.

As for my own thoughts? I saw it last night, it was good, rounded off the trilogy brilliantly yada yada yada. Nothing new to offer there.

But you know what? I don't care, I felt completely dissinterested after I walked out of the cinema and as I did I felt unable to quantify my dissatisfaction. It wasn't because of some plot-hole, perceived or otherwise. It wasn't a problem with characterisation. It wasn't a problem with the direction, which seemed less of a visual mess that Dark Knight was. It only just hit me this evening - I actually think I'm sick to death of superhero movies. I've had enough, and completely overdosed on them at this stage; you really can have too much of a good thing.

When I had thought about it, 90% of the films I'd seen in the cinema in the past 2/3 months have been superhero flicks. Nobody's forcing me to go to them of course - bar the preference of the GF - but at this point they're all beginning to merge into each other, one lycra-clad feature after the next. It didn't help that I saw DKR not that long after finally watching the dreadful Spiderman reboot, but even so - I think I'm done with this genre.

Talk like Yoda, we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

I think they had two strong endings in mind, Alfred's nod to the camera and Robin "rising" and they kind of forced a way to have both of them in it. Maybe if it had ended with the nod and then had Robyn as a post credit sequence (or visa versa) it might have worked better but I still liked it. (Ending on the nod would have fuelled the bogus Inception talk but what the hell, some supposed film fans aren't very cine literate, why on earth do people think they had the scene with Fox and the autopilot!?)

I enjoyed it overall, and I think I will enjoy it more on a second viewing. Preferred it to Begins, which while having the tightest of all the scripts, lacked strong villains and action sequences and I think Nolan was still finding his Gotham City, which was so clear from the opening frame of The Dark Knight.

Cons:
    -While the film had the epic feel that we now expect I rarely felt that the story earned that epicness. I didn't really get the urgent need of the Bat's return. (his return was still great though)
    -I was a bit bored by the French Resistance stuff, seemed like it was there just to give all these other characters something to do. Why not have Gordon trapped underground too, and have Blake alone up top, futilely trying to work with the authorities? Why was Tate recruited to help track that truck thing, surely she would have stood out more then some random trusted person? I didn't care about Matt Modin's story arc either.
    -There was always going to be a second villain and Talia was a week one. Once Bane was defeated the film sort of lost it's urgency, odd considering there was a countdown to a nuclear explosion... People say the Joker would have been the judge in this and while funny it would have been a wasted use for him. No way would he not have used the chaos to his advantage and found a way to earn Batman's full attention, as he said in TDK he and the Batman were destined to fight forever, perhaps he was replaced by a fusion bomb which always felt cheap and out of place in this.
    -I had trouble with the sound. It wasn't just Bane either, I had trouble with Gordon as well. The only other time this was a problem was with Inception and in particular Ken Watanabe so I don't really know what that says about audio on Nolan's film's. And the remix to help with Bane's dialogue sounded way off.

Pros
    -Anne Hathaway was really good. Difficult to get that anti-hero balance right and I think she did it perfectly, when Batman said there was more to her then that you knew exactly what he meant.
    -Thought Hardy was great as Bane. I think he was almost defeated the moment he saw Wayne had escaped the pit, with the reveal that it was something even he never managed. That was a great moment.
    -It looked amazing. Sure we expected it to but despite the probability of a grizzly death I'd still choose to live in Nolan's/Pfister's Gotham City just to look around in awe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

For anyone who played Arkham city, did ye not find the whole catwoman staying to help batman dilemma thing not a bit too familiar. Literally the exact same situation came up in Arkham city where she has the option to leave the city or go back and help batman. Different setting but exact same situation, felt a bit of a copy paste tbh for a game that came out a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

hightower1 wrote: »
    For anyone who played Arkham city, did ye not find the whole catwoman staying to help batman dilemma thing not a bit too familiar. Literally the exact same situation came up in Arkham city where she has the option to leave the city or go back and help batman. Different setting but exact same situation, felt a bit of a copy paste tbh for a game that came out a year ago.

Its just what happens with Catwoman & Batman. Its been their dynamic for years. Catwoman always tries to just look after herself but never can when it comes to Bruce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,916 ✭✭✭✭Basq

At least Bale's Batman growl was probably at it's most restrained in TDKR.

Especially when compared to the Flass interrogation scene from Batman Begins..

"WHERE ARE THE OTHER DRUGS GOING!?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Basq wrote: »
    At least Bale's Batman growl was probably at it's most restrained in TDKR.

Especially when compared to the Flass interrogation scene from Batman Begins..

"WHERE ARE THE OTHER DRUGS GOING!?"

this is the worst scene for it by far imo

"YHU'LLBEINAPADDEDCELLFOREVURRRR!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I never got the criticism of the growl, bar the hockey pads line I always found Bale perfectly understandable in TDK. Plus, I found his voice to be quite inconsistent in BB, sounding quite nasally at times.

I prefer what he did with it in TDK and TDKR to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The scene where he finally disabled Bane and starts demanding to know where the bomb is was a parody of himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Dempsey wrote: »
    The scene where he finally disabled Bane and starts demanding to know where the bomb is was a parody of himself!

I loved that, complete domination in his voice and a complete turnaround to the cocky fcuk that Bane was in the sewer fight!