10 shot dead at Batman showing in Denver

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

In my opinion, I don't think it matters what kind of weaponry is available to the general public, they will always be misused if an array of individuals within society feel aggrieved, feel they have been cast aside, ignored, failed or betrayed. Finland and Switzerland are two countries I can think of, where gun ownership is either high or service personal of the armed forces bring their weapons home. Finland does have some incidents of people going off the wall and attacking people with firearms, some even recently, but nothing like what happens in the US. There must also be a host of other countries where firearms, even high-powered, high-velocity rifles, are available, yet they aren't offing each other nearly as much as Americans do.

That said - I don't want to make any generalisations, I've been to America, beautiful place and wonderful people, not all of them are sniping the **** out of each other.

In the end, you would have to say that there is something about the US that makes individuals turn into murderous psychopaths and kill innocent people. People are not born that way, maybe with a predisposition, but nobody is born a killer.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

When will the 'Showing' reach here or rather the 'Shootings' since everything rotten over there finds it's way here......... eventually ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

paddyandy wrote: »
    When will the 'Showing' reach here or rather the 'Shootings' since everything rotten over there finds it's way here......... eventually ...

I suggest you answer the question posed earlier to you in the thread before asking one of your own........ http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79844110&postcount=837

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

scamalert wrote: »
    many miss the point speaking about the weapons,its not like gun was shooting himself,the person who did that could easily stab,poison or do another million things to harm the people,drive into the crowd etc.Doesn't mean that every thing he uses should be banned.Im for law that allows people to use guns for self protection within limits house/shop or property,until theres threat to family or property .Imagine if that would of happened in Ireland where guards only have sticks and sock guns at best,the guy probably would murdered whole cinema before being disarmed.BTW been to the movie complete waste of time and money,rather watch spiderman or other crap out there,too long ,not even close to its previous movies,and scenario lacks any sense at all.

But a person with a knife in the same scenario is more than likely going to be much easier to disarm/stop than a person armed with a kalashnikov or similar rifle. Also there were 6 stabbings at the swedish house mafia concert there a few weeks ago in dublin, no one died (from the stabbing incident) and there were some injuries. I am fairly sure if you replaced the knife with a .40 pistol the outcome would have been very very different.
    It is ridiculous this individual was able to purchase 4 guns including two handguns (why would someone need two pistols?), a military grade AR, and a shotgun in only 2 months as well as purchasing over 6, 000 rounds of ammo online (who needs to purchase that quantity?) without trouble.
    America has a very dangerous relationship with guns, its kind of ironic at 18 you cannot drink or smoke over there but your free to buy hand guns/assault rifles. Talk about ridiculous...

Nick

yoyo wrote: »
    (why would someone need two pistols?)

Probably because they have two hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

...It is ridiculous this individual was able to purchase 4 guns including two handguns (why would someone need two pistols?), a military grade AR, and a shotgun in only 2 months as well as purchasing over 6, 000 rounds of ammo online (who needs to purchase that quantity?) without trouble.
    America has a very dangerous relationship with guns, its kind of ironic at 18 you cannot drink or smoke over there but your free to buy hand guns/assault rifles...
    Nick

It seems that we can't post pics in this forum for some reason, so this will have to be a link...

http://www.gomauri.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/kids-with-guns.jpg
    Some 8-year-old kids might want a clown or a magician for their birthday party. The Eagle Gun Range in Lewisville, Texas is catering to a very different kind of kid.
    The gun range now offers children as young as 8 the chance to celebrate their special day by pumping bullets out of cold, hard steel.
    WFAA reports that, beginning this summer, the range will have two rooms available to host birthday parties.
    “The age limit is eight years old. You have to be tall enough to get above the shooting table,” Prince told WFAA. “They’re not gonna be left unattended. Parents are gonna be one-on-one, or if there’s not enough parents, we’ll have range safety officers here to show them how to do it safely.”
    The “Range Rules” on Eagle’s website include the provision, “Young shooters (under 18 years of age) are ONLY allowed to shoot on the range with their parent or guardian; one young shooter per adult. No children are allowed on the range nor are they to be left unaccompanied in the showroom while adults shoot.”
    Yahoo News noted that birthday parties aren’t the only gun-themed events aimed at children. Last Christmas, toddlers in Arizona were allowed to pose for pictures with Santa Clause while holding high-powered firearms.
    WFAA reports that the gun range has been well received by neighbors, but some parents might not be so crazy about their kids firing guns they are too young to legally purchase.

Some people in this thread were agog at the idiot who brought a baby to a midnight showing of Batman, but the above trumps that by a considerable amount.

An ex-work colleague who headed off to Texas with her husbands job told me that she saw adverts for this when they went over to check Texas out in the Spring. I initially thought that she may have been exaggerating a bit.

I despair for that country sometimes, I really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Reindeer wrote: »
    Basically, what I am trying to say is gun control in the US will always be different than in Europe. Too many guns, too many owners, too many laws, too many hurdles to contend with to make any real difference any time soon in firearms ownership, or perhaps even within a lifetime or two.

This invites a few problems not unique unto the States, actually. In many places(admittedly many being 3rd worldish), guns abound. Basically, you are nearly forced to own a firearm merely so that you have even footing with a potential criminal, since the chances of that criminal being armed are high. Add in the fact the average police response time can be as much as 8 minutes, and is often more, and the only real protection you have vs an armed criminal is yourself. Will you be at their mercy, or will they be at yours?

Hunting is widespread and legal in all states in some form or another. Many gun owners merely use the firearms to hunt, some even do so to put food on the table. I've eaten many rabbits I had taken myself with a bow, handgun, and rifle.

Many argue that Americans take it upon themselves to defend themselves as a main ideology when it comes to firearm ownership. This is deeply seeded, and rooted, from winning independence from Britain - one of the main reasons for the second amendment being drawn up and ratified. Americans not only have a 'can do' attitude, but also have a 'must do' attitude; one must look after themselves and protect what they have, whether family, land, or otherwise. Owning a firearm is symbolic to these self-reliant ends, as it is both empowering and enabling to such ends. Ever since the war for independence, the gun has symbolized freedom in the US.

Massacres - by and large these have been committed by career criminals with knowledge on how to make and acquire firearms illegally(and the US does not corner this market, ask anyone in Norway or France recently), or they are committed by people whom are not sane, but may otherwise appear functional(or perhaps be in PHD programs even). How do you guard against such an occurance? Afterall, even with very strict gun laws, they still occur in Europe at nearly the same regularity as in the US, with the worst to date(Virginia Tech, 2007, by Cho, 32 dead) being half that of the massacre perpetrated in Norway by Breivik in 2011 with 77 killed. Well, really, the only way is to prevent the firearms from landing in the hands of these folks from the outset, but this again leads us back to the first few paragraphs. It is a situation that is insurmountable.
    I agree with most of your well articulated post, but I don't agree with the defeatist viewpoint taken that a curb on the availability of firearms in the US will never be achieved. The US, while very slowly and varying in the north and south, has proven itself capable of drastic social change.

If legislation was passed in the US prohibiting the sale of semi-automatic or high-powered firearms (assault rifles) then one would have the slow fizzling out of them. Nobody with a clean record would be able to easily purchase one whenever they get the idea of committing a massacre anyway - they'd have to get one off someone else who's had one since before the ban. Within 100 years, the numbers of functional assault rifles will have dropped - it surely cannot be possible to maintain a huge amount of firearms for that long.

The danger of a lone gunman is one many states struggle to contend with. The BBC actually had a pretty good recent article on the issue. No federal background check is going to be able to find these people, unless the laws become personally intrusive to the extreme. Instead of trying to remove the madman, the easiest thing is to try to take the gun out of his hands.

I think what annoys me most about the US and general social attitude is the fierce reluctance by mainly right-wing groups to tolerate any change/removal to the second amendment restricting gun laws, but they don't complain about the Patriot Act (okay, that might just about be constitutionally acceptable) or tortures at Guantanamo Bay, which is just a mockery of the entire thing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

jumpguy wrote: »
    If legislation was passed in the US prohibiting the sale of semi-automatic or high-powered firearms (assault rifles) then one would have the slow fizzling out of them. Nobody with a clean record would be able to easily purchase one whenever they get the idea of committing a massacre anyway - they'd have to get one off someone else who's had one since before the ban. Within 100 years, the numbers of functional assault rifles will have dropped - it surely cannot be possible to maintain a huge amount of firearms for that long.
    Good idea at face value JG, but defintions then come into play. Semi auto? Lots of legitimate hunting rifles are semi automatic. High powered? The average Joe or Jane Doe going deer hunting is carrying a rifle with significantly more whack than an AR15 round and more damaging with it. Then like I mentioned earlier, shotguns, firearms that would be way down the list to be banned, more powerful and destructive than either at the ranges associated with nutjob massacres. Turns out now that this latest bastard also bought a shotgun and switched to it when his AR15 jammed. So in your scenario with "assault rifles" banned, he'd still have the shotgun(and the pistol).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Good point on the shotgun, by far the most lethal weapon he carried at short range. And widely held in Ireland and used in armed robberies, should it be banned?

As to "rapid fire" weapons - you can make anything rapid if you practice with it enough.

As to owning two pistols - do you have more than one pair of shoes?

MadsL wrote: »

Now come on, theres a bit of a difference between having two shoes and needing two pistols. Would people actually go hunting dual wielding pistols, I highly doubt it :pac:

Nick

Now come on, theres a bit of a difference between having two shoes and needing two pistols. Would people actually go hunting dual wielding pistols, I highly doubt it :pac:

Nick

Pistols in different calibres - difference between bunnies and wild boars.
    Spare pistol - backup for when the main one is in the gun shop
    Three gun shooting competitions - Two calibers are required
    Locations - a home pistol and a car pistol
    Weight home "hand cannon" and lightweight concealed carry

There are lots of reasons for more than one pistol, no stranger or more suspicious than owning two pairs of shoes in the US.

Pistols in different calibres - difference between bunnies and wild boars.
    Spare pistol - backup for when the main one is in the gun shop
    Three gun shooting competitions - Two calibers are required
    Locations - a home pistol and a car pistol
    Weight home "hand cannon" and lightweight concealed carry

Point taken, although this bloke baught two identical .40 Glocks, surely someone wouldn't need two of the same gun :) .
    There are lots of reasons for more than one pistol, no stranger or more suspicious than owning two pairs of shoes in the US.
    Thats the scarey thing :eek:

Nick

Point taken, although this bloke baught two identical .40 Glocks, surely someone wouldn't need two of the same gun :) .

Thats the scarey thing :eek:

Nick

Does it scare you that your local farmer has a shotgun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

*Goes on a mass kick-up-the-hole rampage at the Irish Batman premiere*

*Gets thrown out*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The UN Treaty has absoloutely nothing to do with the freedom of Americans to buy US manufactured firearms. It MAY lead to a situation where treaty signatories would refuse to export arms to the USA, but I am fairly sure the US has enough of an internal industry to keep the NRA boys stocked.

Won't really matter. US law already has restrictions on the import of foreign manufactured firearms, and has done since 1986. As a result, there are a number of more recent firearms which are not uncommon in Canada or Europe (eg G36, Tavor) which cannot be purchased in the US. As a result, the foreign companies either have to license, or just set up their own manufacturing facilities. Steyr's AUG is an excellent example: After 1986, they became harder to come by. About four years ago, they built a factory in the US and the AUG is now available for sale again. Incomplete firearms may still be imported, but require a number of US manufactured parts. My FAL is a case in point, it came as an ex South African Army R1, but I needed to buy a US receiver and exchange a futher six parts from a specified list with some from a US manufacturer of the rifle (DS Arms)
    The salient point is that weapons like this...
    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...x-Stag2wi_.jpg

...should not be available over any counter, or at the very least the person wanting to buy such an item should have to go through some ridiculous hoops to get one. An evaluation of one's mental capacity and a rigorous examination of their justification for wanting to own one in the first place should be a basic minimum. "Hunting", or "defence" doesn't cut it and shouldn't cut it.

Can't help but notice you picked an American-made EBR for your picture. Why not something like this Benelli R1 from one of our favourite Italian companies and used worldwide with little issue. I'll not be surprised if some people in Ireland have one.

http://www.benelliusa.com/assets/silos/medium_png/silo_1004_r1_300wm_aawalnut_standard_rifle_r1sights.png

Nowhere near as scary with the same emotional effect you desire, is it? Of course, the problem is that this is basically the same rifle:

http://www.hitman.co/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/Benelli-MR1-1600x2133-768x1024.jpg

Look at the mechanism and upper receiver design. All they did was take an inoffensive hunting rifle, and attack it with a screwdriver and some plastic. I'll bet you nobody has taken their Benelli to the local Garda superintendent in that condition for licensing, it wouldn't pass what is known as the "Idunlikedalookadat" test. This is why any arguments based on pictures, or accessories not related to the mechanism of the rifle is a complete red herring.

The only practical thing you object to is that of the semi-automatic rifle. You believe that there is no place for it in pastimes like hunting. This hunting magazine article goes over the pros and cons of bolt action vs semi-auto for those who are undecided.

http://www.gameandfishmag.com/2010/10/07/hunting_guns-shooting_bolt_action_or_semi-auto_big_game_hunting_rifles_1010/

Bottom line, semi-autos have their place in hunting, and are getting more common.

And whether you personally think 'defense' doesn't cut it doesn't really matter in a country where police can have long response times. When the zombie apocalypse comes, the guys with the semi-autos will have a nice advantage. More realistically, and contrary to common opinon, such rifles are actually better for home defense than any other weapon, shotgun or pistol, if the owner knows what he's doing.
    The whole basis for allowing military grade weapons dates to a time when a Soviet invasion was, due to paranoia, a possible situation, and the belief that if the US regular army was defeated guerilla resistance would be the Plan B.

Eh?! It dates back to the founding days when the militia were expected to bring their personal weapons to go fight the British Army. .30-06 bolt actions were used for hunting at the same time as the Springfield 1903 .30-06 bolt action was the standard service rifle of the US Army. M1 Garands as the service weapon in the Army? Guess what, privately owned as well. Restricting privately owned weapons to things less powerful than military grade is a relatively recent phenomenon. There's a bit of reverse process as well: With so many personnel getting out of the military every year, when they go shopping for a rifle, they tend to gravitate to what they already know and have been trained to use and maintain. This explains the popularity of the Garand in the post-war years, the Springfield M1 after Vietnam, and the AR-15 today (In addition to the fact that they're just damned good rifles).

The idea at the DoD level isn't so much that the locals will go 'wolverine', given that an invasion of the USA is a tad unlikely, but that in the event that the US military needed to undergo a rapid expansion, such as in WWIII, the population they would be drafting from would already know how to shoot, and thus reduce the training time required. (Which experience has shown to be true, in published results new recruits who already knew their way around the service rifle tended to score better on the rifle range than gun-neophytes).
    Some people in this thread were agog at the idiot who brought a baby to a midnight showing of Batman, but the above trumps that by a considerable amount.

Why? Might as well teach kids about firearms at an age that they can understand them. They will encounter them in their lives before they hit the age of 18, and as long as they are capable enough to understand some basic lessons of safety, and also as long as the 'mystery' is taken out of it, what's the problem? Or we can just hide the issue of firearm safety under the table, and let them figure out the truth of guns behind the bike sheds in school.

Now, I don't know if I'll be getting my daughter a .22LR at the age of 8... Just because some kids are suited for it doesn't mean they all are, but I'm sure she'll have her own rifle by her teens. Locked away where she can't get at it, but she can come to the range with me and do a little father/daughter bonding in a fun, safe manner.
    As to "rapid fire" weapons - you can make anything rapid if you practice with it enough.

Fair point. The record for a Lee Enfield (Bolt action loaded with 5-round-clips) is 38 rounds into a 12" target at 300 yards in one minute. That ain't bad. Of course, it's a very well designed rifle, I own one. Shooting rapidly is very easy.

Here's another fun video: 12 shots from a six-shooter revolver in under 3 seconds.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLk1v5bSFPw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

JupiterKid wrote: »
    The pro gun and pro weapons opinions expressed on this thread are disgusting.

Imagine that, people not getting all up with the hysteria and blaming the tool not the workman....sure if that kept up emotional reasoning as we know it might be under threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Nodin wrote: »
    Imagine that, people not getting all up with the hysteria and blaming the tool not the workman....sure if that kept up emotional reasoning as we know it might be under threat.

If it wasn't for such an easy availability of guns and assault weapons in the USA there would not be nearly so many of these mass killing sprees that are sadly all too common in America. Guns make it much easier for deranged people to kill en masse.

America has a sick obsession with guns with regrettable consequences. End of.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah but Nodin, it's easy to blame the weapon. Takes far less thought and gets far more airtime and more votes to shout ban "assault rifles" etc. Asking the questions why someone goes postal is a lot more layered and complex. Harder to fit in a soundbite and may require more mental input. Asking why people go postal in the US more than other societies is a harder task. Actually why people go postal in some parts of the US and not in other parts is another question. Parts that may have even more lax gun controls. Like you said earlier bombs are illegal everywhere, are stupidly easy to rig up and do more damage yet...

I'd also be looking at the practicalities too. How do you get the genie back in the bottle even if you wanted to? I've known sound out, intelligent, very stable and considered yanks who would have a shítfit if the government wanted their guns in such circumstances. Over here we tend to think of and are often more exposed to the more "right wing" American nutbags and less the "liberal" nutbags. In my experience anyway, face to face, the liberal nutbags were significantly more intransigent and ignorant with it on whatever subject involved. For a start I found the stereotypical "right winger good ole boys" more willing to listen out of a sense of politeness, even if they thought you were mad. :) Bear in mind I was in deepest Georgia at the time where a sports car was a pickup with fancy wheels... :D

Yes access to weapons is one part of the jigsaw, but it would be my humble it's one of the least important parts, even if it seems very logical that it has more importance.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

If it wasn't for such an easy availability of guns and assault weapons in the USA there would not be nearly so many of these mass killing sprees that are sadly all too common in America.
    What about other nations with high gun possession among the citizens? Switzerland for example? Or The Yemen? Or Saudi Arabia? How many Columbines do you recall from those nations?

America has a sick obsession with guns with regrettable consequences. End of.

O its "sick" now, is it? Dear me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ah but Nodin, it's easy to blame the weapon. Takes far less thought and gets far more airtime and more votes to shout ban "assault rifles" etc. Asking the questions why someone goes postal is a lot more layered and complex. Harder to fit in a soundbite and may require more mental input. Asking why people go postal in the US more than other societies is a harder task. Actually why people go postal in some parts of the US and not in other parts is another question. Parts that may have even more lax gun controls. Like you said earlier bombs are illegal everywhere, are stupidly easy to rig up and do more damage yet...

I'd also be looking at the practicalities too. How do you get the genie back in the bottle even if you wanted to? I've known sound out, intelligent, very stable and considered yanks who would have a shítfit if the government wanted their guns in such circumstances. Over here we tend to think of and are often more exposed to the more "right wing" American nutbags and less the "liberal" nutbags. In my experience anyway, face to face, the liberal nutbags were significantly more intransigent and ignorant with it on whatever subject involved. For a start I found the stereotypical "right winger good ole boys" more willing to listen out of a sense of politeness, even if they thought you were mad. :) Bear in mind I was in deepest Georgia at the time where a sports car was a pickup with fancy wheels... :D

Yes access to weapons is one part of the jigsaw, but it would be my humble it's one of the least important parts, even if it seems very logical that it has more importance.

I agree with alot of what you say with regard to the cultural differences between here and the US. I've had conversations with Americans about gun control, and even the left leaning over there can be quite against the idea of gun control as Europeans would see it.

However, I think more controlled (or no) access to guns would be the first step in stopping these types of killing sprees, and I think it's essential. It's unfortunate the US won't confront this issue head on, and they'll continue to see tragic events like this taking place.

In short, every society's gonna have nutjobs, but it's imperative that they can't purchase firearms the same way they can buy toilet paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You wouldn't call it the smallest piece of the jigsaw if a loved one got shot in the head during such an event. I'm not trying to be emotive about it either... I genuinely don't understand how people can downplay or argue against the fact that the easier it is for people to get hold of a gun, the more likely it is that some nutbag (of any variety) will shoot a place up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I don't consider a society where there is almost a gun for every person in
    the country as one that anywhere should aspire to.

Can anyone seriously believe that the easy availability of guns of all sorts doesn't make it far easier for mentally unbalanced individuals to go on killing sprees, which are becoming more and more frequent in America?

Sad to see so many posters defending guns - but this being AH perhaps it's not. Just go and play with your toys boys!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Just wondering if anyone saw the new episode of "The Simpsons" this evening?

Almost at the very start of the programme the was a scene with the Simpsons going to the "TV Museum".
    Comic book guy is pushing the batmobile as lisa walks past lots on Batman signs etc.
    The very next thing is Bart finds a gun and accidently shoots Homer, then Homer pulls out gun and accidently discharges it.

Now,I love the Simpsons but with the recent shootings maybe this episode should have been re-scheduled?

Or was a point being made about the USA and guns?

I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

mishkalucy wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone saw the new episode of "The Simpsons" this evening?

Almost at the very start of the programme the was a scene with the Simpsons going to the "TV Museum".
    Comic book guy is pushing the batmobile as lisa walks past lots on Batman signs etc.
    The very next thing is Bart finds a gun and accidently shoots Homer, then Homer pulls out gun and accidently discharges it.

Now,I love the Simpsons but with the recent shootings maybe this episode should have been re-scheduled?

Or was a point being made about the USA and guns?

I dunno
    Re-scheduling tv, halting premieres, stopping the previous two Nolan Batman films being shown on tv all just feed into the hype. I'm sure the shooter will love that he's having such an effect.

I think it gives the perpetrator this aura of power, even though they're dead/locked up. The best thing we can do is continue as normal. Narcissists hate being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,496 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Before the screening of The Dark Knight Rises in Sligo on Friday night, they showed a trailer for 'Gangster Squad' in which four men shoot from behind a cinema screen at an audience! :eek:

It's apparently been pulled by WB, but it's definitely still on plenty of prints out there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

The whole gun debate is a bit silly, from the sounds of it he would have been capable of more efficient carnage if he used explosives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Haelium wrote: »
    The whole gun debate is a bit silly, from the sounds of it he would have been capable of more efficient carnage if he used explosives.

Given the number killed by Timothy Mcveigh, you may well be correct.

Haelium wrote: »

The classic example
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timothy_McVeigh

I don't consider a society where there is almost a gun for every person in
    the country as one that anywhere should aspire to.

Yep. I hear if you hold one you may go all "shooty".