CAGE CONTENDER XIV : DUBLIN : 21 JULY 2012 **SPOILERS**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭themandan6611

and the winner is .......................... at great odds of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

and the winner is .......................... at great odds of
    Any results out there please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,598 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Roddy via Split decision in what was an incredible fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Simply Red

What a night, brilliant fights! Would have loved to see 2 more rounds from roddy and gugerty, 5 round title fights for cage contender?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭theT

Some interesting odds:

213980.PNG
    What happened with the Brennan/queally fight? Don't remember either stepping into the cage?-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

Queally had food poisoning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

Anyone have a list of results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭fightireland

Can't wait to see this on TV.

Owen Roddy Holy Sh!t - He got stuck in nasty (looked like it was impossible to escape) rear naked choke, body triangled, fullly on - the works. For about one and half perhaps two minutes he gutted it out and finally escaped.

Guts and determination aside, the class, technique and professionalism to escape was actually worth the admission alone. You might think I'm talking complete nonsense but escaping that rear naked and bouncing back is one of the most impressive things I have seen in the sport. He could only win the fight after it. Class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭sonic85

CAGE CONTENDER FW TITLE
    Owen "Rowdy" Roddy (SBGi) -v- Shannon Gugerty (Victory MMA) descision

CAGE CONTENDER LHW TITLE
    Ivan Salaverry (Team Salaverry) -v- Fraser "The Omen"
    Opie (Immortal MMA) disqualification due to illegal upkick i think. controversial desicion in my opinion. im nearly 100% there were two upkicks in the moore/ferreira fight in quick succession that were let go but one in this that ended up in disqualification. bit fcuked up i thought.

GLOBE SET BANTAMWEIGHT GRAND PRIX 1 : FINAL
    Paddy "The Holigan" Holohan (SBGi) -v- Artemij Sitenkov (Vale Tudo LT) submission - triangle

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT
    Karl Moore(FAI) -v- Washington Ferreira (Sapphire MMA) submission

PRELIM CARD

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT
    Johnny Dargan (SBGi) -v- Keith Elliot (MMA Lucan) ko

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Johnny Origin (Coolmine MMA) -v- Glenn Moore (Kyoujin) decision

WELTERWEIGHT
    Gerard "RPG" McKee (Evolve) -v- Josh Mahoney (KTP) submission

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Joe McColgan (FAI) -v- James Heelan (SBGi) decision

MIDDLEWEIGHT
    Modestas Ukaitis (Shootfighters) -v- Colin Tynedale (KTP) by submission couldve been a triangle

these are the results i can remember. think there were two more fights but cant remember what they were. open to correction on these my memory isnt the best most of the time!

great night of fights i thought. disappointed brennan didnt get to fight but what can you do

Can't wait to see this on TV.

Owen Roddy Holey Sh!t - He got stuck in nasty (looked like it was impossible to escape) rear naked choke, body triangled, fullly on - the works. For about one and half perhaps two minutes he gutted it out and finally escaped.

Guts and determination aside, the class, technique and professionalism to escape was actually worth the admission alone. You might think I'm talking complete nonsense but escaping that rear naked and bouncing back is one of the most impressive things I have seen in the sport. He could only win the fight after it. Class

It was one of the most unbelievable things i've ever seen! It's one thing not tapping, but how did he stay concious? Full RNC, completely locked in, back body triangle........ the fight was over!

When he finally got out of it the crowd went ballistic. As you say, it must've been about 1:30 - 2mins fully locked in! Amazing!

sonic85 wrote: »
    CAGE CONTENDER LHW TITLE
    Ivan Salaverry (Team Salaverry) -v- Fraser "The Omen"
    Opie (Immortal MMA) disqualification due to illegal upkick i think. controversial desicion in my opinion. im nearly 100% there were two upkicks in the moore/ferreira fight in quick succession that were let go but one in this that ended up in disqualification. bit fcuked up i thought.

Was speaking to Salaverry afterwards and asked him what exactly happened. He said they were having a foot/leg lock battle, rolling about, feet were moving about, he remembers his foot connecting with what he thought was his chest, but must've turned out to be the face.

Now, from what I remember, it seemed like a nothing kick, just an accident that didn't really do anything. I think I remember Opie bringing to the attention of the ref the fact that he'd been illigally kicked.

What was baffling though was the ref's decision not to give a warning or even dock a point..... but to call off the fight and DQ Saliverry! Very bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

There were warnings for cage holding several times during that fight according to Opie who I talked to afterwards. I think we're going to have to watch the VT of that fight to see what happened.

The Roddy RNC?? In all honesty I was looking around already checking that the security guys were in place because I really thought "oh, its all over". There's just no way, no way anyone gets out of that choke... but Mr Roddy found something. Its probably the craziest comeback since Edgar Vs Maynard. Its that crazy. Even then it was a war with Gurgerty not giving an inch but I think he pretty much blew out his arms in that choke and the subsequent slugfest. Roddy had more gas in the tank and would have finished a 5 round fight so it was a good decision by the judges imho but man that was close.

Paddy Holohan just finishes his fights too early hahah... I've told him he should showboat a bit more to get more TV time lol! Man he has a good game, good on the ground, good in stand up ... 10-0 record... but its like he's late for a bus or something!! :)

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Was speaking to Salaverry afterwards and asked him what exactly happened. He said they were having a foot/leg lock battle, rolling about, feet were moving about, he remembers his foot connecting with what he thought was his chest, but must've turned out to be the face.

Now, from what I remember, it seemed like a nothing kick, just an accident that didn't really do anything. I think I remember Opie bringing to the attention of the ref the fact that he'd been illigally kicked.

What was baffling though was the ref's decision not to give a warning or even dock a point..... but to call off the fight and DQ Saliverry! Very bizarre!

yeah it was so innocuous - it looked like nothing happened. the bit in bold is what i said at the time - surely a warning or at the very most a point off wouldve been enough.

ferreira landed two huge upkicks on karl moore who was on his knees and the ref didnt even bat an eyelid! bizarre is right

DeVore wrote: »
    Even then it was a war with Gurgerty not giving an inch but I think he pretty much blew out his arms in that choke and the subsequent slugfest. Roddy had more gas in the tank and would have finished a 5 round fight so it was a good decision by the judges imho but man that was close.

gugerty was running on empty for a big chunk of the second and for the whole third it looked to me. it was a pity because he looked awesome in the first and seemed to have roddy in all sorts of trouble.

tried a couple of last gasp subs in the third round but just had no strength left at all.

dargan looked great - what was it 16 seconds?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Afraid

I thought I would share my experience at Cage Contender last night. I'm a big Mma fan and this was my first live event in Ireland but I've attended a couple of UFC events in the uk and Vegas.

I heard that Cage Contender was the premier Irish event and have watched the last few on setanta which were great. So i purchased 2 x45euro tickets for my girlfriend and I. She has attended a couple of BJJ tournaments with me which she loved and also enjoys watching Mma so we were excited to see a live show together and made the trip up to Dublin last night.

To say it was a disappointment would be putting it mildly. This is in no way the fault of the talent on display in the cage which was top notch and I salute the fighters and their coaches.

The problems were most certainly with the promotion and the crowd. From the moment we arrived I had a bad feelIng. Drunken and coked up thugs swaggered menacingly around clutching bottles of beer in their steroid bloated arms. We weren't in the door 30 seconds when my girlfriend was subjected to a vile sexual remark by one of the aforementioned Tattoed thugs much to the amusement of his brain dead associates.

We quickly found our seats hoping to avoid any further louts but alas were soon joined by 6 more inebriated scumbags who pushed another couple out of their seats while rejoicing in the fact that they hadn't paid for tickets but "knew the owner"

When the fights started it was impossible to hear any of the announcements or post fight interviews due to the terrible sound system. The referees also appeared to have trouble hearing the hopelessly inadiquite horn signifying the end of the round and their frustration was clear.

My scumbag friends were soon joined by more boozed up freeloaders and proceeded to spew forth some of the most repugnant comments I have ever heard towards any female unfortunate enough to cross their eyeline. Their comments towords the fighters in the cage were equally offenceive and their inane discussions ranged from whom they had assaulted at the "house maffia" concert to where they could score some more "snowblow"

I approached one of the few security personal I could find at one stage to bring their behaviour to his attention. He shrugged his shoulders and went back to leaning on a pole.

The scumbag behaviour reached a crescendo during the decision to the (excellant) Roddy fight which culminated in one particularly odious numbskull leaping onto the side of the cage and hanging there like a corpulent King Kong. At this stage I quickly grabbed my by now traumatised girlfriend and left fearing an all out riot.

In short it will be my first and last attendance at the ametaurly run and criminallly under policied cage contender and I would advise anybody considering attending in the future to reconsider if they value their personal safety.

Having said that Bravo to the excellant fighters.

Sorry lad but it just seems to me like you're a tad sensitive. I mean, most of your gripe seems to be with those who attended, ie the general public. What do you want exactly?

You couldve had the exact same experience in any place you chose to place yourself whilst in the presence of other people. Unfortunately, a lot of people are idiots and as well as going to MMA events they go to cinemas, pubs, clubs, shops, everywhere. You can't blame Cage Contender for the existence of dopes.

Last night, at least where I was, there was none of that. But I've seen it at other events, in pubs, clubs, shops....... you just have to come to terms with the fact that you have to share the earth with some clowns sometimes.

As for the parts about Swedish House Mafia and "snowblow", IMO this indicates you might be exaggerating a bit. I mean, not even my Granny would use the term "snowblow" and shes a MASSIVE fan of both Cocaine and Swedish House Mafia!

I take your point and it may be that this is normal behaviour at irish MMA events and im just being nieve l. But i have to say I'm not being in any way over sensitive. This was behaviour I would expect to witness in the rec room of a prison not a sporting event to which ive been to many.

My problem with cage contender is with their lack of security guards and the fact that the ones that they did have looked uninterested in challenging anybody. They litterly turned the other cheek.

I wish I were exaggerating about their conversation but that is what was said. Snowblow I believe is what was once sold as a "legal high" in head shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭p to the e

This was definitely not the behaviour of the majority. I've been to several Cage Contender events now and have never had so much as a bad look thrown my way. The majority of the crowd was filled with members of the Irish MMA community who know each other or know them through certain degrees of separation. I thought the crowd seemed quite knowledgeable about what was happening in the cage at all times and I even carried a small sense of pride when I didn't hear any boos when Gugerty walked in. Hopefully you may have ended up beside the minority who, frankly, would be just as much scumbags no matter the venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

p to the e wrote: »
    This was definitely not the behaviour of the majority. I've been to several Cage Contender events now and have never had so much as a bad look thrown my way. The majority of the crowd was filled with members of the Irish MMA community who know each other or know them through certain degrees of separation. I thought the crowd seemed quite knowledgeable about what was happening in the cage at all times and I even carried a small sense of pride when I didn't hear any boos when Gugerty walked in. Hopefully you may have ended up beside the minority who, frankly, would be just as much scumbags no matter the venue.

I agree, everyone i spoke to and saw was polite and in no way did i fear a "riot" as "Afraid" said

Could be alittle harsh but maybe you should stay at home in cotton wool incase someone makes a comment about your girlfriend or walks around with a plastic/rubbery bottle near you

Recommending people stay away if they value their safety is absolutely ridiculous, with that attitude why even bother living

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Stephen_King

Afraid wrote: »
    I take your point and it may be that this is normal behaviour at Irish MMA events and I’m just being naive l.

I’m actually in two minds about whether your telling complete porkies or not, how can you have been to quite a few MMA shows and not seen "Drunken and coked up thugs swaggered menacingly around clutching bottles of beer in their steroid bloated arms"? Their pretty much par for the course at these shows, there’s always at least one or two wandering around.

Plenty of shows in the UK have a similar (if not worse) audiences-there’s been the odd riot over from what I recall, I can have a dig around for links. I'd wager the American and Brazilian crowds can get a bit lairy as well. At the end of the day it’s a combat sport, you can’t expect the same audience as a cricket match.
    But I have to say I'm not being in any way over sensitive. This was behaviour I would expect to witness in the rec room of a prison not a sporting event to which I’ve been to many.

Have you been to many football matches in the UK? A GAA match? I've heard some god-awful abuse that would make the devil himself blush shouted by fine upstanding members of the community at those events.
    My problem with cage contender is with their lack of security guards and the fact that the ones that they did have looked uninterested in challenging anybody. They litterly turned the other cheek. .

If there isn’t a major problem to begin with, then it’s better not to get aggressive and risk kicking something off. What did you expect, a security cordon formed around yourself and your missus or the group of lads turfed out? Couldn’t you just have moved seats? There’s usually quite a few empties dotted around at these events.

Coincidentally, just after I replied here earlier I went to the cinema and some guy pointed at my girlfriend and make that "Penis into Vagina" motion with his hand.

Should I complain to the cinema? Maybe its Batman's fault?

Look what I say I saw is what I saw. I'm not guilding the lily and I don't live under a rock.

Did I imagine the 2 Roddy supporters litterallly swinging from the cage when the result was announced?

Listen I'm not a tough guy or a fighter just a fan of the sport who wanted to share a live Mma event with my partner. From what I'm told here then the behaviour I experienced and the abuse she received is par for the course at these events and is tolerated. I accept what your all saying. I guess I should have done more research beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Stephen_King

Look what I say I saw is what I saw. I'm not guilding the lily and I don't live under a rock.

Did I imagine the 2 Roddy supporters litterallly swinging from the cage when the result was announced?

Listen I'm not a tough guy or a fighter just a fan of the sport who wanted to share a live Mma event with my partner. From what I'm told here then the behaviour I experienced and the abuse she received is par for the course at these events and is tolerated. I accept what your all saying. I guess I should have done more research beforehand.

Look Im sorry they ruined your night, but in fairness you can bump into people like that anywhere. MMA shows usually have a pretty charged atmosphere, mix that with beer and there can be some unpleasantness but I think you misunderstood me a little there-its by no means par for the course to be getting direct abuse at a show over here.

My experience attending Cage Contender events has always been positive, but any sporting event you attend theres a chance you'll run into a gang of arseholes somewhere in the crowd, its not unique to Cage Contender, MMA or Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

I was in the audience and the crowd was well behaved

Few drunks guys about but I've seen worse at Slane etc...

I've done the door in the past and have a feel for when there's a risk of trouble and I never sensed any at all

Paddy H has to be knocking on the door of the UFC soon. Really like his style and demeanour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Coincidentally, just after I replied here earlier I went to the cinema and some guy pointed at my girlfriend and make that "Penis into Vagina" motion with his hand.

Should I complain to the cinema? Maybe its Batman's fault?
    Stuffins with a lady type?
    You're foolin nobody lad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Sorry lad but it just seems to me like you're a tad sensitive. I mean, most of your gripe seems to be with those who attended, ie the general public. What do you want exactly?

Have to disagree - There were a few scumbags sitting near enough to where I was sitting and they were getting more and more agro / riled up through out the night, trying to knock over barriers, starting play fights (which were getting pretty serious, couple of hard splas thrown), saw at least 1 bottle thrown and hitting some random guy in the audience.
    As or the coke remarks, my intial thought was these guys were coked up too...

At one stage I went to get a security guard but the only one I could find was a young woman, probably about 20 years of age who looked terrified!

I didn't let it spoil the night for me but I was sitting far enough away from these guys to not be affected by much of their B.S.

I think if a few security guards were to have made their presence known, it would have quieted things down a bit, however as I said, the only security guard I saw was not really in a position to help matters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

The crowd was for the most part well behaved. There was only one section that wasn't, but they made up for small numbers by having very loud active presence. Right beside me. Really, really loudly.
    Even then, most of what they were doing might be rowdy, but it wasn;t things that required security to intervene. Screaming, foot-stomping, cheering are all acceptable behaviour at a sporting event.
    There were however a few of that section who took it a bit further. The making a mess, spilling beer everywhere, and sexism towards passing females, were all pretty obnoxious. Still not really security concerns though. Just annoying.
    The attempts to push through barricades, also to climb on the cage were security concerns, but they were dealt with quite promptly.
    So overall, some drunken louts, being drunken louts. I generally wouldn't consider that par for the course for MMA events here in Ireland.
    There have been a few incidents at previous ones, like Ring of Truth 6 for example, but for the most part the crowd sticks to noise.

Anyway, event itself was awesome. Great fights, happy with how it all went overall. Some brilliant fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭DeadlyByDesign

What were the pre lims like? couldn't make the even unfortunately :( Were they as entertaining as the main card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

The reality is that there is a certain element of the Dublin MMA crowd that is rough as f$ck. It’s not a secret and it’s not a secret what fighters they are there to support. I can sympathise completely with the poster who wasn’t comfortable being in the middle of these jokers with his girlfriend. My parents and family where sitting in front of a similar (actually probably the same) crowd at the Ring of Truth in the Boxing Stadium that somebody mentioned above and I knew as soon as they arrived that they’d be trouble and they didn’t let me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

Tim_Murphy wrote: »
    The reality is that there is a certain element of the Dublin MMA crowd that is rough as f$ck. It’s not a secret and it’s not a secret what fighters they are there to support. I can sympathise completely with the poster who wasn’t comfortable being in the middle of these jokers with his girlfriend. My parents and family where sitting in front of a similar (actually probably the same) crowd at the Ring of Truth in the Boxing Stadium that somebody mentioned above and I knew as soon as they arrived that they’d be trouble and they didn’t let me down.

Aye, and I'm pretty sure if the decision in the Roddy vs Gugerty fight had gone the other way, things might have gotten rather unpleasant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭SaoriseBiker

Ok getting back to the action, was away for the weekend but I see Jonathan Dargan won again, this time by ko with punches after 16 seconds. I know he trains with SBG but his main background is Tae Kwon Do as he runs a TKD club in Harolds Cross, so much for TKDers can't punch :eek: :)

He also won fighter of the night the first time he fought in CC. Surely he should be on the main card for his next fight ?