Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAGE CONTENDER XIV : DUBLIN : 21 JULY 2012 **SPOILERS**

• 30-04-2012 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭

Cage Contender returns to the National Arena, Tallaght on 21st July 2012.

As always we will confirm match ups as the are agreed, tickets will be available from 9am Tuesday 8th May.

CAGE CONTENDER FW TITLE
    Owen "Rowdy" Roddy (SBGi) -v- Shannon Gugerty (Victory MMA)

BANTAMWEIGHT GRAND PRIX 1 : FINAL
    Paddy "The Holigan" Holohan -v- Artemij Sitenkov

ISKA IRISH FW TITLE
    Decky "The Diamond" Dalton -v- TBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Pccb

Jesus john u dont waste no time. Such a fight. Owen vs shannon could blow the roof off this place. The roof might go as high as ur haircut does lol.
    Keep em coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

Great featherweight title match

Gugerty is 2-3 in the UFC, with his losses coming against top talent like Clay Guida, Terry Etim and Spencer Fisher

Should be a great fight and a great test for Roddy!

Also this GP final should be very interesting too, "The Hooligan" looked very sharp and ready last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Fields vs Lister for the MW strap would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

SDTimeout wrote: »
    Fields vs Lister for the MW strap would be great.

DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭John Ferguson

SevereMMA wrote: »
    Also this GP final should be very interesting too, "The Hooligan" looked very sharp and ready last weekend
    I totally agree!! Paddy just seems to get better every time we see him fight.

Are tickets available for this already John?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Are tickets available for this already John?

Tickets are due for release on 8th May.

There are some cracking fights in the slips for this one. On the back of XIII last weekend we've had fighters offered from 23 different clubs.

Excellent news that Jorge Santos is getting another fight!

:D And there was me under the impression I make these things public!

But yes Andrew you are correct I have spoke to Tony Carrick and Jorge will be on this card (and the one after that most likely)

:D And there was me under the impression I make these things public!

But yes Andrew you are correct I have spoke to Tony Carrick and Jorge will be on this card (and the one after that most likely)

You know me John, this commuting has me up before 7AM most mornings. Saw it on his Facebook is all! Looking forward to it

That is indeed a rather unnerving thought, you up prowling the interwebz while most of the MMA community are in the land of nod :D

ISKA Irish FW Title

Decky "The Diamond" Dalton (FAI) -v- Mick "The Basher" Brennan (KTP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MMAIRELANDFAN

ISKA Irish FW Title

Now i think it would have been better off staying on Clan wars

Some great options put up and The basher was not 1 of them

This title fight is just a regular fight now unfortunately

Paddy "The Holigan" Holohan -v- Artemij Sitenkov will be cool though

Now i think it would have been better off staying on Clan wars
    :rolleyes: Yeah, right!!!
    Some great options put up and The basher was not 1 of them

Both guys are pretty novice pro fighters, it makes sense for both fighters. Out of interest who would you match Decky with for his first defense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MMAIRELANDFAN

Both guys are pretty novice pro fighters, it makes sense for both fighters. Out of interest who would you match Decky with for his first defense?

Davis, Moore, Cowzer, Murphy, McGregor, someone that would challenge Decky

At a push you could even give Conor Dillon a rematch as he felt he was hard done by to lose his title

I'm sure there is more to add to the list.

Davis: Taking time off and too much experience at this stage

Moore: Fighting in the CC £10k tourney in Liverpool plus both Dalton and Moore still in the FW Grand Prix

Cowzer: Too much experience

Murphy: Not sure if Tim is still fighting plus has too much experience at this stage

McGregor Catch a ****ing grip, He is about to fight for the CWFC World Title. Decky is a novice pro

Conor Dillon: He is on a 3 fight lose streak, maybe after a few wins perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

given the info up there i see wit Moore didn't get the shot. Why not artem though?
    Mick is a very good fighter thought and will be massive at 66. Be interesting to see how the cut goes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

ISKA Irish FW Title

What's the story with Mick- John, Haven't had the privilidge to see him fight

Like what's his style etc.

Decky is very good and i agree that he is 1 for the future and there is no need to rush him just yet, a year or 2 and he can fight all comers-I know he would now if asked to aswell.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Mick is very handy on the ground and coming down from 70 i think Paul. Only saw him fight once but rolled with him a couple times. Very solid
    although coming outta ktp you can expect his stand up to be up to scratch too

cowzerp wrote: »
    What's the story with Mick- John, Haven't had the privilidge to see him fight

He is a pretty solid all round fighter with a pro record of 3-1-1 (sherdog record is not correct). His only pro loss was against Pat McAllister at lightweight. In my opinion both Mick and Decky (3-0-0) are quite evenly matched and it should be a good test for both lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Kieran81

Mick is a very good fighter thought and will be massive at 66. Be interesting to see how the cut goes though.

he's fought at 66 plenty of times , cut shouldn't be an issue . i think he's one of the most rounded and under rated guys at 66 and i'd give him a better chance than any of the guys mentioned apart from mcgregor , definetly deserves his opportunity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Apprentice123

Havn't seen much of mick but what i have saw, he is a decent fighter, this is mma anything can happen never under estimate any fighter, i think this will be a great fight for both decky and mick, really interested in the holahan vs sitenkov, would love to be making the show, hopefully i can get to watch it in spain, good luck all fighters and good luck cage contender, well done john, looks like it going to be a smashing card once again :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

where can i get tickets for this?

sonic85 wrote: »
    where can i get tickets for this?

From tomorrow you can get tickets from www.cagecontender.net and www.premiertickets.ie from Monday you can get tickets from any fighters of clubs featured on the event (good option as fighters get a few quid plus you save all booking fees). If none of these suit then from Monday you can purchase tickets from any Xtravision branch in Ireland (ROI & NI)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

From tomorrow you can get tickets from www.cagecontender.net and www.premiertickets.ie from Monday you can get tickets from any fighters of clubs featured on the event (good option as fighters get a few quid plus you save all booking fees). If none of these suit then from Monday you can purchase tickets from any Xtravision branch in Ireland (ROI & NI)

wow lots of options there. thanks

MIDDLEWEIGHT

John "Baby Faced Assasin" Redmond (Rush FA) -v- Conor "Da Crook" Cooke (Red Dragon)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Pccb

MIDDLEWEIGHT

John "Wrecking Machine" Redmond (Rush FA) -v- Conor "Da Crook" Cooke (Red Dragon)

Some cracking nicknames flying about. Gotta get myself 1. John "the vending machine" ferguson

Absolute respect to John Redmond he seems to keep taking really really tough fights, love to see that.

Pccb wrote: »
    Some cracking nicknames flying about. Gotta get myself 1. John "the vending machine" ferguson

Very witty Shando, very witty indeed :D You and Uncle Garfield have alot to answer for LOL

CAGE CONTENDER FW TITLE

CAGE CONTENDER LHW TITLE
    Marius Lapenas -v- TBC

Paddy "The Holigan" Holohan (SBGi) -v- Artemij Sitenkov

ISKA IRISH FW TITLE

MIDDLEWEIGHT
    John "Baby Faced Assasin" Redmond (Rush FA) -v- Conor "Da Crook" Cooke (Red Dragon)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jitz

CAGE CONTENDER FW TITLE

CAGE CONTENDER LHW TITLE
    Marius Lapenas -v- Karl Moore

ISKA IRISH FW TITLE

MIDDLEWEIGHT

Any more you need sorted John just give me a shout :D

jitz wrote: »
    Any more you need sorted John just give me a shout :D

Karl is still a few fights away from that level at the minute. His pro record is still only 1-0-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jitz

Karl is still a few fights away from that level at the minute. His pro record is still only 1-0-0

In most cases I would agree with you John, that usually after only one pro fight you should not be fighting for a belt. Although in this case I would make an exception, the reason being that in his first pro fight Karl won a title against a much more experienced guy. Then to add to this in his last amateur fight less than a year ago he fought and KO'd a guy who at the minute is ranked number 10 in the UK. I think this would be a good fight, but just a suggestion:)

Great fight card btw, looks like another great show!

jitz wrote: »
    In most cases I would agree with you John, that usually after only one pro fight you should not be fighting for a belt. Although in this case I would make an exception, the reason being that in his first pro fight Karl won a title against a much more experienced guy. Then to add to this in his last amateur fight less than a year ago he fought and KO'd a guy who at the minute is ranked number 10 in the UK. I think this would be a good fight, but just a suggestion:)

Great fight card btw, looks like another great show!

And a great suggestion it was too :D

I personally think that Karl is probably the best raw potential talent in Ireland today. That's why it's important not to rush him, and move forward at a steady pace. It was one of the things that we considered carefully when I signed Karl a few months ago. He is one of those guys who if he applies himself might just go all the way :)

I think I do have him matched for this card, just waiting on bout agreements being returned!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 5weenytodd

Cant wait to get back to another CC show. This looks excellent so far.

204916.jpg
    MMA legend Jeff “The Snowman” Monson will compete for the Cage Contender Light Heavyweight Title in Dublin, Ireland on 21st July 2012 against a yet unnamed opponent.

Cage Contender announced Monson through their twitter account late on Sunday afternoon in a move that nobody saw coming. Monson, one of the biggest names in the world of MMA, has a record that reads like a who’s who of the worlds best heavyweight fighters, with wins over superstars such as former UFC Champion Ricco Rodriguez and Roy “Big Country” Nelson. Only months ago Monson lost a decision to arguably the greatest heavyweight of all time, Fedor........ READ MORE

Sweeeeet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭samk1

"a yet unnamed opponent"

Is Marius out??

samk1 wrote: »
    "a yet unnamed opponent"

Is Marius out??

Yeah, he decided he didn't want to fight. From what I hear he is concentrating more on weights and stuff now rather than fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭samk1

Yeah, he decided he didn't want to fight. From what I hear he is concentrating more on weights and stuff now rather than fighting.

I see he did that before a few years back and focus on strong men competitions. After he won a few of those he came back to MMA .

More importantly who have you lined up??or in typical fashion are we going to have to play the JF waiting/guessing game???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

That's a shame

samk1 wrote: »
    or in typical fashion are we going to have to play the JF waiting/guessing game???

204943.jpg

MWAHH HAHA :p

There are a few more fighters confirmed for this card, will announce the opponents when we have the bout agreements returned.

CAGE CONTENDER FW TITLE

CAGE CONTENDER LHW TITLE
    Jeff "The Snowman" Monson -v- TBC

CAGE CONTENDER WW TITLE
    Cathal "The Punisher" Pendred (SBGi) -v- TBC

ISKA IRISH FW TITLE

MIDDLEWEIGHT
    John "Baby Faced Assasin" Redmond (Rush FA) -v- Conor "Da Crook" Cooke
    (Red Dragon)

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Peter "The Show Stopper" Queally (Waterford MMA) -v- TBC

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT
    Karl Moore (FAI) -v- TBC

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Jorges Sanos (MMA Lucan) -v- TBC

FEMALE BOUT
    Catherine "The Alpha Female " Costigan -v- TBC

PRELIM CARD

BANTAMWEIGHT
    Gavin Kelly (Evolve) -v- TBC

LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT
    Johnny Dargon (SBGi) -v- TBC

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Fran O Kelly (Coolmine MMA) -v- TBC

In the run up to CCXIV we will be posting quotes from all the fighters involved in case anyone misses them on our website.

First up is FW Champ Owen Roddy.... If your a Roddy fan don't miss your first chance to see him fight in Dublin since his defense over Ben Davis back at CCX.
    " I'm very happy with the match up. I'd like to thank John Ferguson for making it happen. Its a pleasure to compete against a guy with Shannons experience he is a great fighter. When we fight on 21 july im going to prove that im a great fighter too!!!!" - Owen Roddy

I wonder would Amanda English be a good match up for Catherine. Her kickboxing experience may be a little too much of an advantage however.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Amanda has never kickboxed in her life.

I wonder would Amanda English be a good match up for Catherine. Her kickboxing experience may be a little too much of an advantage however.

Lol are you sure you haven't put a bug in the CC offices? The issue is not the experience etc it's the weight category. But we will see ;)

Amanda has never kickboxed in her life.

Sorry for the way I phrased that Barry. I mean Catherine's kickboxing experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Ah understood, and no I don't think that would be a barrier to any potential match up given that everyone who steps in at pro level these days has a wide arsenal. The two girls operate at very different weight classes however.

Guys remember that we WILL NOT allow any professional rules fighter to compete unless we have a clear blood cert dated within 12 months of the bout. As stated in the bout agreement we must have the cert with us 2 weeks before the event.