10 shot dead at Batman showing in Denver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

thanks for that,
    it was also very unusual when his mom used the words, that they had the right person,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Source link to your evidence of Gardai NOT oppossing bail to those on weapons charges, or is it just a case of you not letting the facts get in the way of a bit of s**t stirring?

Source link that they did? Would it be normal practice would you say for a judge to overide Gardai objections in weapons cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

MadsL wrote: »
    Source link that they did? Would it be normal practice would you say for a judge to overide Gardai objections in weapons cases?

The Gardai object to nearly everyone's bail but the judges let them out anyway. Probably because there's nowhere to put them in jails.

Tony EH wrote: »
    You gold plated genius.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

The names of the victims are starting to be released. Most of them are young, just in their 20s. One of them was only 6 years old. http://news.yahoo.com/families-colorado-shooting-victims-faced-agonizing-wait-192927912.html

And the police have been able to disable the worst bombs in the guy's apartment. They still have to disable some more, but they're coming close to getting in there. They think he booby-trapped it with the aim of killing first responders/police who tried to enter.
    http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/authorities-defuse-trip-wire-colorado-movie-shooting-suspect-182341574.html

So, you're advocating that instead of one guy with weapons firing at people, there should have been more than one...in a darkened theatre...with paniced people running about.

You gold plated genius.

Did you miss the part about 3 ex-military guys being injured, they hardly had a chance now did they. I'm not arguing that they would have necessarily prevented it, but Cinemark's no gun policy didn't exactly give them the option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

One of them was only 6 years old
    Lads, what the f**k is going on with the planet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Lads, what the f**k is going on with the planet?

Humanity, much as it has been since it emerged as a distinct species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

stevenmu wrote: »
    It's far to early to know what the "real issues" are, and tbh making pre-emptive judgements about them being gun control and mental health is only further blurring.
    How can gun control NOT be an issue here? The man was armed to the teeth with guns he bought legally. He bought an automatic assualt rifle legally. Seriously, who the fúck outside of the military actually needs an automatic rifle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

jumpguy wrote: »
    How can gun control NOT be an issue here? The man was armed to the teeth with guns he bought legally. He bought an automatic assualt rifle legally. Seriously, who the fúck outside of the military actually needs an automatic rifle?

It wasn't an automatic. They're illegal* even in the US.

I'm aware you can get a transferable AR15 on a Class III for about $15000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Fair play to the EOD squad .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Guns don't reduce crime prevalence... that has been shown time and time again. Criminals don't cease to exist just because the majority of people are armed

True, it also doesn't increase the amount of crime either, this has also been shown time and time again. However, although it has no macro effect, there is definitely a micro-effect: Persons who avail themselves of the opportunity to defend themselves and their property can reduce their personal risk, at the cost of the other poor sod who has chosen not to do so.
    Armed robberies and home intrusions are more common in the US than in most European countries... despite the fact that criminals are far more likely to get shot in the US.

That said, it is also worth noting that when the home intrusion occurs, the burglars in the US take much greater effort than in most European countries to make sure that the homeowner isn't around. Much safer for everyone in the long run, that way it's only property at risk.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,966 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Did you miss the part about 3 ex-military guys being injured, they hardly had a chance now did they. I'm not arguing that they would have necessarily prevented it, but Cinemark's no gun policy didn't exactly give them the option.

You know what would have prevent it..don't sell guns to just anyone and especially don't sell rapid firing automatic assualt weaponry.

Personally, if I had the way, anyone wishing to buy a firearm should undergo a psych evaluation.

What allowed this to happen is the fact that a person with severe psychological problems was able to purchase an assualt rifle, a couple of glocks, tear gas, a kevlar bullet proof vest, etc.

I mean really...wtf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So the answer is to bring a gun to the cinema!

I don't know, it doesn't strike me as rational thought. I mean why would you do that? Unless you thought you were at risk. I just don't understand that train of thought.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    So the answer is to bring a gun to the cinema!

I don't know, it doesn't strike me as rational thought. I mean why would you do that? Unless you thought you were at risk. I just don't understand that train of thought.

You do accept that you are at risk every time you walk outside the door, right? Just because something is unlikely doesn't mean it's not worth thinking about. It doesn't cost anything to bring a gun along, so why not be prepared just in case? From insurance to airbags to fire sprinklers, how many 'just in case' things are around you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

You do accept that you are at risk every time you walk outside the door, right? Just because something is unlikely doesn't mean it's not worth thinking about.

I accept that by getting out of the bed in the morning.
    It doesn't cost anything to bring a gun along, so why not be prepared just in case? From insurance to airbags to fire sprinklers, how many 'just in case' things are around you?

It doesn't cost anything at all. I'd query my mental sanity in carrying a handgun down my main street because i might get involved in an armed robbery gone wrong. It tells me far more about the society I live in if that is a reasonable option.

Seriously, we've had Dunblane, Norway etc. etc. People didn't react to those by saying the solution is to be better armed. Why? Because it isn't logical.

I mean seriously, a significant section of the US population reacted to this by saying somebody should have brought a gun to a, wait for it, a Batman movie premiere.

No harm to RuntodaHills, but it's close to Conspiracy Theory stuff he has posted, as we'd expect. A rational poster like you?

I was posting about the North earlier, believe me I wouldn't want for any "civilised" society to reach the levels of paranoia it did in the late 80's.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

You know what would have prevent it..don't sell guns to just anyone and especially don't sell rapid firing automatic assualt weaponry.

How many times do we need to repeat on this thread that it wasn't an automatic weapon?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,054 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

You do accept that you are at risk every time you walk outside the door, right? Just because something is unlikely doesn't mean it's not worth thinking about. It doesn't cost anything to bring a gun along, so why not be prepared just in case? From insurance to airbags to fire sprinklers, how many 'just in case' things are around you?

I can see how it could be justified carrying a gun in the states to a point, since they're legal thereby making the likelyhood of you encountering one considerably higher but there's no way anyone could justify and need to carry a gun around in ireland. You'd have to be seriously paranoid. And of all those 'just in case' things you mentioned, not one of them was invented to kill or maim, where a gun doesn't really have any other purpose. Having the average person walk around armed is a giant step backwards in terms of our society imo, it hasn't been the norm for the best part of what 150 years?

How many times do we need to repeat on this thread that it wasn't an automatic weapon?

According to reports, he was armed with an AR-15 semi auto assault rifle. It's still a rapid firing assault weapon.

Please, STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

[debating whether it's worth reading 950 posts and giving it the ol' Overheal]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

According to reports, he was armed with an AR-15 semi auto assault rifle. It's still a rapid firing assault weapon.

Please, STFU.

One of the criteria often used to classify something as an Assault Rifle is select fire capability. A semi-auto AR15 doesn't have this.

'Assault Weapon' on the other hand gets thrown about a lot in the US and can apply to a semi if it has some military style features. (like threaded barrels)

/Pedantic

It doesn't cost anything at all. I'd query my mental sanity in carrying a handgun down my main street because i might get involved in an armed robbery gone wrong. It tells me far more about the society I live in if that is a reasonable option.

Perhaps. However, fixing societal issues like that in my lifetime are a little outside of my control. What is in my control is what happens when society's problems catch up with me, the individual.
    I mean seriously, a significant section of the US population reacted to this by saying somebody should have brought a gun to a, wait for it, a Batman movie premiere.

How many of these incidents happen in a place where someone can be expected to need a gun? We've had universities, shopping malls, churches, restaurants, post offices, stock trading firms... Where does anyone rationally go and think to himself "Gee, I'd better bring a gun because I expect to run into crime!" Unless you know something I don't and can tell me that a Batman movie is significantly safer from such things than anywhere else, maybe someone should have brought one. Apparently people ordinarily do, or the cinema wouldn't have had to implement a "No guns" policy. And we know how well that worked, like every other place that has had one.
    And of all those 'just in case' things you mentioned, not one of them was invented to kill or maim, where a gun doesn't really have any other purpose.

Don't look at the firearm as a tool to kill or maim, look at it as a tool to save yourself or someone else. That's what legitimate self-defence uses do. By killing, yes, but that's incidental to the intended effect, and nothing else does a better job of self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I must say I'm surprised by some of the people who are arguing on the side of the pro-gun argument. I wouldn't have expected some of those to be of that particular persuasion.

Somebody will be linking to Conservapedia next... oh wait.
    Look at me, starting to crawl backwards through this thread...

It's real easy to grasp given the incidences where concealed carry weapons have stopped would-be massacres in their tracks. It wouldve been 2006/7 when I think it was a Colorado college in fact (could be wrong. Ohio?) where a shooting was in progress but someone with a concealed weapon brought it to a quick end. Florida is also typically a hotspot of - well crazy, when you have guys running into sidewalks to run little black girls over with their cars and eating peoples faces high on bath salts - a hotspot for incidences where convenience store holdups are stopped or deterred by other customers carrying concealed weapons.

Obviously I dont suspect they'd ever try it (primarily because of the science of a pressurized environment) but if you gave everyone a gun on an airplane hypothetically how many people you think would step up to take it hostage? They'd be lucky to hit the bathroom curtain without falling dead on the floor.

Please, STFU.

Rapid as you can pull the trigger. Thats the difference between full auto at roughly 800 rounds per minute and semi-auto. The AR-15 he had was no different in rate of fire to any semi-auto pistol or rifle.

As to STFU - I will when you stop posting ill-informed nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

So the suspect has been arrested - will be charged - probably convicted ............

So what will it be :

life

death penalty

?

Do you see the difference in saying somebody should have brought a gun to the premiere, and that CCWs should not have been been legally prevented from having a gun they normally carry daily with them in the cinema rather than left in their vehicle?

I think lives may have been saved be that is hypothetical. I've already posted an example where a CCW protected other patrons just two days before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,118 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

One of my friends is at a cinema in New York going to see it now, he said the place is filled with armed cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The pro gun and pro weapons opinions expressed on this thread are disgusting.

I don't ever want Ireland to become like America with respect to weapons and guns
    and I suspect most on AH and boards share my view. Keep your guns Stateside please.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    The pro gun and pro weapons opinions expressed on this thread are disgusting.

I don't ever want Ireland to become like America with respect to weapons and guns
    and I suspect most on AH and boards share my view. Keep your guns Stateside please.

No one has suggested anything about Ireland changing about its laws.

Rapid as you can pull the trigger. Thats the difference between full auto at roughly 800 rounds per minute and semi-auto. The AR-15 he had was no different in rate of fire to any semi-auto pistol or rifle.

As to STFU - I will when you stop posting ill-informed nonsense.

It's not ill informed nonsense and your pedantry (nor your redundant points having more people armed) serve no purpose.

The fact of the matter is that he can tool himself up in the most vicious way with incredible ease.

Whether his weapon of choice was semi auto or full auto makes no bloody difference.