10 shot dead at Batman showing in Denver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Nodin wrote: »
    and generally have a bit of a gra for weaponry.

I'm willing to bet that if I offered to take most of the posters here to the range to shoot a few pistols and an AR-15 about 80% of the 'anti' posters here would be totally up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's a point I'm always making, if there's a row of shops which will someone try to hold-up, the ones that allow guns or the ones that don't?

I recall reading a study (I'll have a look for it) which showed that criminals are more likely to arm themselves with guns if the wider population are also more likely to be armed. ie, negating the benefit of being armed yourself.

Now I'm no statistician but by my reckoning, if more criminals are carrying guns then I'm more likely to get shot... it doesn't matter whether I myself am armed or not.

Guns don't reduce crime prevalence... that has been shown time and time again. Criminals don't cease to exist just because the majority of people are armed... if anything they take countermeasures to ensure that they don't wind up being the ones who are shot. Armed robberies and home intrusions are more common in the US than in most European countries... despite the fact that criminals are far more likely to get shot in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Any excuse for the UK authorities to start installing X_ray scanners, thermal imaging CCTV and possibly pre booked ticketing only into the cinema.

"Britain has increased security measures for the viewing of "The Dark Knight Rises" after rising fears following the multiple shootings in Colorado, United States.

Intense security has occurred in British cinemas, where bag searches and extra checks were taking place among 478 cinemas across the UK and Ireland that schedule showings of the latest Batman installment.

The largest cinema chain in Britain, Odeon, said it will be vigilant in its safety measures to protect audiences from frenzy fire"

http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2012/07/21/252075/britain-fears-of-dark-knight-copycats/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Any excuse for the UK authorities to start installing X_ray scanners, thermal imaging CCTV and possibly pre booked ticketing only into the cinema.

"Britain has increased security measures for the viewing of "The Dark Knight Rises" after rising fears following the multiple shootings in Colorado, United States.

Intense security has occurred in British cinemas, where bag searches and extra checks were taking place among 478 cinemas across the UK and Ireland that schedule showings of the latest Batman installment.

The largest cinema chain in Britain, Odeon, said it will be vigilant in its safety measures to protect audiences from frenzy fire".

http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2012/07/21/252075/britain-fears-of-dark-knight-copycats/

What would we do, without you and the Iranian press to tell us the truth....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Another point to make is that a lot of shooters appreciate the history of a firearm and how it was made. I would love to buy one of the old rough looking shotgun/rifles my dealer has on his shelf and clean up the metal and restain the wood etc. but unfortuantely the licencing system here is set up so that it's just not worth the effort...dealer loses out on business..government loses on VAT but whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

If that's the case then i think it would be time for cinemas to bring in a cloak room facility that you can leave your bag or jacket in and not have to worry bout having some security guard checking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭CSU

People collect stamps, snail shells, birds eggs, cars, knives, swords, armour, planes, models (of everything), movie props, posters, records, furniture, jewllery, clothing, shoes, razors, tools, books, porn, racist memorbillia, greek pottery, roman penis totems/jewellery, pre-columbian latin american art, native woodwork (from all over) and christ knows what else. Why should firearms be looked at any differently?

...because none of the above are capable of taking a life at a speed of ~850 meters per second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The largest cinema chain in Britain, Odeon, said it will be vigilant in its safety measures to protect audiences from frenzy fire"

So then the nutcase will shoot people as they queue up outside! Ridiculous security theatre, nutjobs happen unfortunately, an x-ray box manned by a college drop-out and an extra queue aren't going to save any lives.

If thats what yer into, sure why not and fuck the begrudgers.

Seriously, people need to show a bit of fucking tolerance. Men collect stuff, always have, and generally have a bit of a gra for weaponry.

Not my thing at all but I'm in no position to make fun. :pac:

As for Odeon's statement, sounds like a fluffy response to a question.

Armed robberies and home intrusions are more common in the US than in most European countries... despite the fact that criminals are far more likely to get shot in the US.

Wish people would stop with these because i said so "statistics" - the US is less crime-ridden in many cases than European countries. Please stop with the unlinked 'statistics'

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_ass_vic-crime-assault-victims
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_rap-crime-rapes
    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_rob-crime-robberies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

MadsL wrote: »
    All this vitriol about US law-abiding gun owners and yet not one single comment about the fact the Gardai consider it acceptable to let illegally-held firearms offenders out on bail. Interesting.
    Since when did the Gardai become responsible for setting bail conditions? I think you will find it's the Judges who decide on bail not guards!:mad:

CSU wrote: »
    ...because none of the above are capable of taking a life at a speed of ~850 meters per second.

Wanna try catching my cutthroat razor collection?
    SocSocPol wrote: »
    Since when did the Gardai become responsible for setting bail conditions? I think you will find it's the Judges who decide on bail not guards!:mad:

Wonder did they oppose bail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Looks like they found some sort of online presence on the dude.
    Not on fb or twitter, but on an adult friend site.

http://6.mshcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/0721-james-holmes-adult-friend-finder-5.jpeg

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,054 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Great. This could do for going to the cinema what 9/11 did for getting on a plane.

I see the studios are holding off on announcing the box office figures as a mark of respect: http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/box-office-figures-put-on-hold-3175244.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Great. This could do for going to the cinema what 9/11 did for getting on a plane.

I see the studios are holding off on announcing the box office figures as a mark of respect: http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/box-office-figures-put-on-hold-3175244.html

This is why I suspect that this incident was the work of professionals in a false flag attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Mickeroo wrote: »

Cinema tickets sales are already waning, it is unlikely they would go for this, flying is often a necessity with few and less convenient alternatives, the cinema is the opposite of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Wonder did they oppose bail?
    Source link to your evidence of Gardai NOT oppossing bail to those on weapons charges, or is it just a case of you not letting the facts get in the way of a bit of s**t stirring?

So its ok to do it within the usual speed limit?

You realise that they require somebody to go and use them for that purpose? They can't do it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

This is why I suspect that this incident was the work of professionals in a false flag attack.

Ah here, get over to your own forum with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

All this vitriol about US law-abiding gun owners and yet not one single comment about the fact the Gardai consider it acceptable to let illegally-held firearms offenders out on bail. Interesting.

According to the story they were arrested after the fact - not caught red handed. They may not have been the gunmen.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,054 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Cinema tickets sales are already waning, it is unlikely they would go for this, flying is often a necessity with few and less convenient alternatives, the cinema is the opposite of this.

Glad you sorted that conundrum out for us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭CSU

So its ok to do it within the usual speed limit?

You realise that they require somebody to go and use them for that purpose? They can't do it themselves.

Nope, just really flucking dangerous is the point I was trying to make.

I'd rather kill myself than live in a society where every tom Dick & Harry is armed to the teeth, I'll leave the killing to the professionals thanks.

Wanna try shaving with my glock? :pac:

Nope, just really flucking dangerous is the point I was trying to make.

I'd rather kill myself than live in a society where every tom Dick & Harry is armed to the teeth, I'll leave the killing to the professionals thanks.

...you know, just because you have one, you don't go all 'killy'.

Killing yourself because people own firearms...yep, that makes perfect sense.

According to the story they were arrested after the fact - not caught red handed. They may not have been the gunmen.

Despite a gun being found at one of their homes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,965 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

If anyone wants to start about gun-control answer me this; if there'd been a few dozen of the cinema-goers armed would the scumbag have killed and injured as many people? I'm gonna take a guess that the cinema (assuming the area it was in has liberal carrying laws) was "gun-free", as are most places where such shootings happen.

So, you're advocating that instead of one guy with weapons firing at people, there should have been more than one...in a darkened theatre...with paniced people running about.

You gold plated genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,965 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

seamus wrote: »
    I checked the Colorado laws, and the concelead weapon permit only requires that the applicant has completed a "handgun training class".

Which presumably handles things like properly holding & aiming the weapon, checking the safety, not using the gun to picks your ear, etc.

I agree that in general it would be experienced handlers who hold these permits, but people in a crisis can be idiots. Unless they've been specifically trained for combat, they're likely to do more harm than good in situations like this.

On the subject, it would appear that the cops have evacuated the area around this guy's house after saying that the house is rigged with explosives in a "Very sophisticated" manner.
    Sick cvnt was probably hoping that a few cops would go to raid his house and just barge in. That's no doubt why he so readily gave himself up, so he could watch it happen.

If the training doesn't extend to what you do when your target is firing back at you with a rapid firing assualt rifle, then it's useless in these type of situations. The only result would be more people dead.

What needs to be done is that America and Americans in general need to take a long hard look at the current ease with which extreme weaponry is available over the counter.

"The Right to Bear Arms" is one thing, but having assualt weaponry and explosives available to all and sundry was not what the founding fathers were thinking of when they sat down to write the second amendment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

i am wondering,
    how could he as a student afford to have so much delivered to his address,

i know nothing of firearms, so therefore i would not know the price of this stuff, but he was going to college and buying this , where did he get the money,
    and he must have spent a long time planning as he was ordering this and waiting for it to arrive, yet he did not have a change of heart, i wonder did he share living space with others, and if so, did they notice that he was pruchasing all of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I sat on my safe sofa, watch the aftermath of this sad, sad murder take fold. My heart went out....we couldn't imagine this in our worst nightmares....Jesus, if it did...I hope the outpouring is as it is. The entire planet asking "WTF like"....life is too precious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

goat2 wrote: »
    i am wondering,
    how could he as a student afford to have so much delivered to his address,

i know nothing of firearms, so therefore i would not know the price of this stuff, but he was going to college and buying this , where did he get the money,
    and he must have spent a long time planning as he was ordering this and waiting for it to arrive, yet he did not have a change of heart, i wonder did he share living space with others, and if so, did they notice that he was pruchasing all of this.

From what I understand - he is 24 years old and was doing graduate research in medicine. That means he completed high school, then his four years of undergraduate school, and was in the middle of post-graduate work (probably a Masters).

Typically, if you are doing research as a graduate student you are considered an employee of the University. Tuition is normally waived and you receive a pay-check. Even if he wasn't getting paid - the amount of student loans you can get as a US student are pretty amazing.

Any graduate student who is a full-time student at an accredited school in good standing can take out as much 'graduate-plus' student loans they want. It's at something like 7.8% interest - and does have some cap - but it's really, really high.

For example - a US student studying at UCD can trivially borrow $80,000 USD per year.

So - getting money for some guns wouldn't be a problem for someone who made it a priority.