Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Tipp Man wrote: »
    My point is to eliminate the 100 day intensive finishing period - grass all the way with no meal (or as little as possible)

Our biggest market for beef is the UK - where ironically the "traditional" breeds hail from

Markets like germany also prefer traditional beef over the leaner continental carcasses - although we have not penetrated (or really tried) this market

Both Angus and Hereford are offering generous carcass bonuses over other breeds - this must be for a reason
    Yeah grass all the way makes since. But would a 100% traditional bred animal not perform better under this regime?

What I'm getting at here is a LMX out of a HE/AA cross cow for me seems to be falling between the stools. It's neither traditional or continental. My understanding of the schemes for traditional breeds is the breed of the terminal sire is what is important? Being in the scheme makes up for the poorer grading carcase regarding c/kg.

Love Limo's and out of a hereford/angus i think you'd have a great animal that would finish well - ideal for irish grass finishing i'd say

Would the 50% LM finish well enough off grass alone?

I'm curious as I really toyed with the idea of going down the traditional breed route but stayed with the continentals as targeting the weanling market makes more sense for me.

When the comic did it's end of 3yr period supplement on the Better Farms it had two contrasting beef systems opposite each other. 1st was the guy pushing his farm with continentals all the way (high cost system) getting around €1,000/ha. The other was a guy who switched from finishing to a traditional calving thru to finish system (low cost) and he was making €900/ha. It seems to me farmer A had to make a much bigger investment of time and money for the extra €100/HA. I don't think his own extra labour costs were factored in. And that is in a good year. What in a bad year? Bank will still need repaying etc :confused:

(Now got to go training, will look in again later! :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Is it just my computer or are links not working since this new boards arrived??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

go back to the old way,i did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Link works for me fine, I switched to the new look as soon as it was available, used to it now.

whelan1 wrote: »
    when we had a bull in tully test station- angus- he out performed all breeds for daily live weight gain over the period

And it's the breed you want for weather like this! How are they holding up over the last few weeks in comparision to the diary cows? (friesian or holstein).

ah yeah I agree with you there aswell. But when I have the figures I'd like to compare and contrast
    This will make you feel better:
    My weight gains are at post 4391 here. Not so great in comparision (yet;)) and they also got €80 worth of meal each. One important point I'd make is I'd no c/section and the grazing land got no fertilizer so those costs are low.

Tismesoitis posted great weight gains a good while back so over to the search engine for those ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

just do it wrote: »
    Went to bed Sunday night thinking I was getting up Monday morning to move the cattle to a boggy field with plenty grass. Lashed all night so housed then instead. Not too bothered as I've plenty silage left from last year. (Yet to save this year but planned one heavy crop within the next 2/3 weeks.

But here's an annoying thing. A neighbour is badly stuck so I've told him take as much as he needs (I'm charging him cost price, - what goes around comes around). I asked him to use one particular batch of bales that are fine but not as good quality as my second batch. What does my boyo do? Took one of the batch I asked him and has since helped himself from the other batch :confused:.

Could you park a trailer in front of the better ones, or offer to drop them down for him, or leave move a few to make it " handier" for him

Hate people taking liberties

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

But when I have the figures I'd like to compare and contrast

There would surely be a lesson in something like this for us all. Even within herd comparing year on year would be a valuable exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Went to bed Sunday night thinking I was getting up Monday morning to move the cattle to a boggy field with plenty grass. Lashed all night so housed then instead. Not too bothered as I've plenty silage left from last year. (Yet to save this year but planned one heavy crop within the next 2/3 weeks.

But here's an annoying thing. A neighbour is badly stuck so I've told him take as much as he needs (I'm charging him cost price, - what goes around comes around). I asked him to use one particular batch of bales that are fine but not as good quality as my second batch. What does my boyo do? Took one of the batch I asked him and has since helped himself from the other batch :confused:.

typical of what someone would do when you do them a good favour. Get on the blower and explain your annoyance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,470 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

This will make you feel better:
    My weight gains are at post 4391 here. Not so great in comparision (yet;)) and they also got €80 worth of meal each. One important point I'd make is I'd no c/section and the grazing land got no fertilizer so those costs are low.

Tismesoitis posted great weight gains a good while back so over to the search engine for those ones!

I'm quite sure yours had better shape than mine though since you were able to sell them to an exporter.

still it was good to have somebody to compare against

Askim wrote: »

Could you park a trailer in front of the better ones, or offer to drop them down for him, or leave move a few to make it " handier" for him.

Hate people taking liberties

A
    Yeah I took your approach. I was taking a few for my own (they're 500m from shed) so I dropped a few of them blocking the better ones. I see this morning he's gotten the hint :)

Bizzum wrote: »
    But when I have the figures I'd like to compare and contrast

There would surely be a lesson in something like this for us all. Even within herd comparing year on year would be a valuable exercise.
    Agree with you there Bizzum, comparing year on year will be the real benefit

Working fine for me, it's still in test phase though so there are a few gremlins in the system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

another inspection to morrow, may as well clean out the spare room and let them sleep here :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

snowman707 wrote: »
    another inspection to morrow, may as well clean out the spare room and let them sleep here :mad:

Good luck with it. If you don't mind would you post up what they picked you up on. I'd be worried if we get one around here. Perhaps we should start a thread on inspections and post up info?

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Good luck with it. If you don't mind would you post up what they picked you up on. I'd be worried if we get one around here. Perhaps we should start a thread on inspections and post up info?
    Good suggestion Jimmy.

Snowman - what's tomorrow's inspection for?

What type of inspections are they on at the moment? is it not a bit early for the lads to be out of the office on summer holidays, suppose a few fine days and they want to stretch the legs. Whatever you do, don't incriminate yourself or admit anything. always use the excuse of ignorance or the saying "i would have to check with the bossman who does the paperwork". the bossman can relate to her indoors or anyone who happens to be around

the bossman can relate to her indoors or anyone who happens to be around
    Or someone who just happens not to be around;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

tough one to keep ahead of. we got another bit done this evening to try and keep ahead but if they were to inspect us at the moment i reckon they would clean us of a lot of the payments.

on another point a mate just lost three calves with botulism during the week. Had them brought to a lab to prove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

1chippy wrote: »
    tough one to keep ahead of. we got another bit done this evening to try and keep ahead but if they were to inspect us at the moment i reckon they would clean us of a lot of the payments.

on another point a mate just lost three calves with botulism during the week. Had them brought to a lab to prove it.

Wonder was someone spreading hen dung

Any inspection we ever had they just turned up, so much so that last time a couple of teams of them turned up at our 2 different farmyards all at the same time, demanding me to be present for both nitrate inspections. I can't be in two places at once so just told one crowd to sit tight and enjoy the view. They were all grand and happy with our systems.

Are you sure, as far as I know botulism can't be proven beyond all reasonable doubt but can be presumed. Thats were it gets tricky in court. Are our parts used to be a great place for botulism, nowadays most of the chicken manure is hauled around 120miles away, apart from my neighbor who spread it about a month ago on aftergrass and now has cattle grazing away on it no problems. typical of what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Good suggestion Jimmy.

Snowman - what's tomorrow's inspection for?

The inspection is by the HSA, he called a couple of weeks ago one day we were literally up the wall & very kindly offered to call back at a more convenient time, anyhow I have just updated the safety statement, & may get a couple of things tipped up in the morning, don't think there is any thing too drastically wrong

Well I took advantage of having the cattle in and got out the neddle and syringes early this morning. Ivomec, covexin 8 and, would you believe it, throdax! Will be keeping a close eye as well for any ill-thrift as I lost a two, and brought one back from the edge, to rumen fluke 3 years ago. They were bought-in and had outwintered on land that was flooded at one end from a river. I just hope it has taken up residence on my land. If they don't get it in this wet summer I should be ok.

you havnt covered rumen fluke though in what you have given them

Yeah I know and have some zanil at the ready. I don't intend dosing them unless it's required.

Cattle out again, yippee :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You were up early this morning! I'm just back from the creep feeder, wormed 8 of the 9 there with pour on. It's a blessing to have quiet cattle!

Kovu Murr wrote: »

You were up early this morning! I'm just back from the creep feeder, wormed 8 of the 9 there with pour on. It's a blessing to have quiet cattle!
    Up at 5.18 this morning! I seem to wake early on fine mornings like this :)