Teenagers experimenting with illegal substances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

An0n wrote: »
    Please, refrain from irrelevant posting trying to demoralize my philosophies.
    I want this thread to be on topic.

Once again, no contribution to the thread at all.

I find your op boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Logain wrote: »
    Ask some of the lads from certain well known North-side estates if they think their parents injecting heroin in front of them when they were children and giving them cans of cider/joints was good for them. See what they say about it.

Of course you cant ask them because they are all Skangers/In prison/Dead.

Good point. Although, I am talking about responsible parents here.
    I completely agree with the point you're trying to make; and I think it's horrible. But people who are educated early about drugs and limits will never fall into a web of heroin or a life of careless activity.

Once again, thank you for your contribution.

Someone very close to me, extremely well reared, upper class background, great education, extremely intelligent fell into this life. NO, its not as common but it does happen.

Who decides What parents are responsible enough? Parents who have a glass of wine every evening, parents who have a joint before bed, they lines would be far too thin for anything of this nature to ever be a concern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Bessiebee

No, not being sarcastic - just being nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Darragh Harte

Shryke wrote: »
    There is a complete lack of reality and of any critical thinking in what i'm reading. And a poor understanding of human behaviour.

Explain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

I'm talking about a safe home in a secure growing up environment.

Heroin addicts should not have kids. Simple as that. That's not my fault, or your fault. That's the social services fault for not acting on such cases.

My points aren't 'absolute shìte' in a relative frame.

In fairness you're points are shîte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

syndeyfife wrote: »
    His point is extremely valid to this.

What happens when parents who smoke weed, use heroin and drink to excess decide to let their children try it in the controlled environment that is their own home??

OP is talking absolute shìte

No, he's not talking shíte.
    If you read his post properly, you'd see that he was referring to parents that dont use drugs to excess.
    He's referring to stable, level-headed non-alcoholic, non-drug addicted parents.

In fairness you're comebacks are too. He makes good points.
    Prove him wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭An0n

LH Pathe wrote: »
    Just to comment on MDNA i don't trust a drug which is all about making someone feel 'special' without really advertising the potential pitfalls a la LSD because acid, suggests a potential hellride on the path to enlightenment but with ecstasy thats not always the case.

I recall with my sister decades ago how girls; really took it onboard as a fun way to lose weight along with the workout soundtrack it came packaged with but I never foresaw all the boys flocking to this veritable girls' gym environment!!!

MDMA is a lot safer than perhaps, nicotine or alcohol.
    It's just that the dosage required is tiny compared to the tablets, so there's a lot of fillers added.
    These fillers can be terrible for your health.
    MDMA is a stimulant, like nicotine. But it's come down is a little worse all the same.

Its similar to underage sex. You can condone or condemn it all you want with regards to your kids. It'll still be there, mostly done on an experimental basis, and they sure as hell won't do it with parent around. I'd like to hear someone who has tried weed and is against it though, I haven't been able to find any.

You my good fellow are a complete boss and just powned any comebacks.
    Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

But is that not the point? Experimentation should be appropriate. You don't throw yourself off a bridge to show the affects of gravity. You conduct an experiment in a safe and secure environment to observe the results yourself.

No because then the whole goals shift, sure the whole country is overly PC now,
    in school you cant call a blackboard a blackboard anymore because its racist, make drugs an experimental process with your parents, theres no control.

Ive tried drugs couple of times, & for some reason i thought legal highs were perfectly safe as well.

I snorted sherbot once, and smoked tea leaves... that was the height of me experimenting as a kid, and i think thats as much as id tell my family.

So you'd be in favour of heroin addicts having children?
    Please tell me why that'd be a good idea...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Logain

Sauve wrote: »
    No, he's not talking shíte.
    If you read his post properly, you'd see that he was referring to parents that dont use drugs to excess.
    He's referring to stable, level-headed non-alcoholic, non-drug addicted parents.

There are no parents that match that profile that would give their children illegal drugs to try.

99% of drug addictions begin because of an experiment. Safe environment or not is irrelevant. Drug addiction is very personal and the environment actually fades into unreality.

I don't know the best ways to make sure your kids don't get addicted to drugs later in life, but I am sure giving them drugs is not one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

My thinking on this is that right a parent knowingly lets their teenager do drugs, teenager thinks to self "ah no mam or dad don't mind if I do this" so their enthusiasm wanes fairly quickly. It's not a bad idea what the OP has suggested. Parents would know what their kids were taking and a rough estimate of how much. Cannibas is fairly harmless but all other drugs should be left as illegal substances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

Im sorry i've never done it before and i dont know the after effect it has on a person.
    my bad. we'll just stick with cocaine...heroin etc. the addicting ones :P

No need to apologise, haha! I haven't done LSD either although I want to. It's generally regarded as one of the least damaging drugs to the body. And of course, heroin, cocaine, meth etc are horrific.

Out of curiosity - what do all of you think of ecstasy? I've done it a couple of times yet many people view it as being an extremely hard drug and like a game of Russian roulette whether or not a pill kills you. I think that when taken responsibly (I am aware that responsible drug use may be an oxymoron), such as ensuring to stay hydrated, doing home tests on the pill to ensure that it's not laced with anything too damaging and only taking it every few months to give your serotonin levels plenty of time to replenish, its adverse effects are limited and it can be enjoyed reasonably safely, especially when compared to a drug such as alcohol.

I'm not trying to advocate the use of ecstasy as although not addictive it does have a lot of potential for abuse, I just don't think it deserves the horrific reputation it has.

Thanks all who have posted.

This thread has exploded into productive conversation and I'm intrigued at all of your ideas.
    Thank you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Shryke wrote: »
    There is a complete lack of reality and of any critical thinking in what i'm reading. And a poor understanding of human behaviour.

Explain

Try saying please. Tell me what you need explained while you're at it. I'm on mobile. I'm not going to be writing any essays.

There are no parents that match that profile that would give their children illegal drugs to try.

I disagree.
    I know a few people that I'd put into that category.

Cannibis is a mind altering drug, any parent that smokes it is not fit enough to be responsible around children, simple as that.

99% of drug addictions begin because of an experiment. Safe environment or not is irrelevant. Drug addiction is very personal and the environment actually fades into unreality.

I don't know the best ways to make sure your kids don't get addicted to drugs later in life, but I am sure giving them drugs is not one of them!

ah hem. My parents allowed me to try some drugs...and if you define drugs you'll see its any substance that harms the body.
    Alcohol is a drug and my parents allow me to drink. Tobacco and nicatin are drugs and my parents allowed me to smoke.
    I know many a parent who has allowed their child test out some of these drugs.
    And im sure he didnt mean class A or B drugs. No parent would allow a child to do a line of coke or try heroin. He probably meant just minor "drugs"

KKkitty wrote: »
    My thinking on this is that right a parent knowingly lets their teenager do drugs, teenager thinks to self "ah no mam or dad don't mind if I do this" so their enthusiasm wanes fairly quickly. It's not a bad idea what the OP has suggested. Parents would know what their kids were taking and a rough estimate of how much. Cannibas is fairly harmless but all other drugs should be left as illegal substances.

No no no. I mean that when they do experience it; they're well educated in the dangers and all the information regarding the drug.

It wouldn't be just 'here you go son, try this' as I kindof picked up from your post.

Cannibis is a mind altering drug, any parent that smokes it is not fit enough to be responsible around children, simple as that.

How does it alter your mind?
    So long as it isn't smoke during times such as parties and critical situations like driving or an accident then it is fine.
    The parent becomes relaxed and there is no after effect to cannibis

Would you be against parents having a glass of wine at night after the kids have gone to bed?

No need to apologise, haha! I haven't done LSD either although I want to. It's generally regarded as one of the least damaging drugs to the body. And of course, heroin, cocaine, meth etc are horrific.

Out of curiosity - what do all of you think of ecstasy? I've done it a couple of times yet many people view it as being an extremely hard drug and like a game of Russian roulette whether or not a pill kills you. I think that when taken responsibly (I am aware that responsible drug use may be an oxymoron), such as ensuring to stay hydrated, doing home tests on the pill to ensure that it's not laced with anything too damaging and only taking it every few months to give your serotonin levels plenty of time to replenish, its adverse effects are limiting and it can be enjoyed reasonably safely, especially when compared to a drug such as alcohol.

I'm not trying to advocate the use of ecstasy as although not addictive it does have a lot of potential for abuse, I just don't think it deserves the horrific reputation it has.

With safe tablet additives and fillers, and correct hydration and environment; MDMA could 'probably' be a very productive stimulant.

But stimulants are addictive naturally, because of the heightened focus and feel good nature of the drug. Like nicotine on a greater scale.
    I think MDMA should stay illegal, but still have people educated about it. Because it is one of the most common drugs out there and extremely cheap.

How does it alter your mind?
    So long as it isn't smoke during times such as parties and critical situations like driving or an accident then it is fine.
    The parent becomes relaxed and there is no after effect to cannibis

So its not safe to drive but youre fine to mind children whilst smoking it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

LSD can cause flashbacks and mental illness.
    There are actual cases of this; even though it's rare.

A more 'suitable' hallucinogen would be DMT, which lasts a fraction of the time of LSD and it used in your body during REM sleep, and dreaming. It's fairly interesting, but it's a class A drug.
    I know, I've read about those 'flashbacks' actually, it's quite intriguing in an odd way. I wasn't trying to suggest that LSD has no adverse effects, just that it should not be grouped with heroin and cocaine.
    What a ridiculously ignorant statement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Its similar to underage sex. You can condone or condemn it all you want with regards to your kids. It'll still be there, mostly done on an experimental basis, and they sure as hell won't do it with parent around. I'd like to hear someone who has tried weed and is against it though, I haven't been able to find any.
    Anseo.:)

I think weed is vile, smells awful, and is a bit too mindaltering for my liking.

Not that I'm against it per se, whatever anyone else wants to fuk themselves up with isn't my concern, I just think it's sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I stupidly took an E about 3 years ago, just the once. My mother would probably die if she knew, let alone let me take one at home under her supervision.

This is something I can see the next generation doing with their children. More and more things like this are becoming social norms so by the time they grow up taking drugs recreationally may even be tolerated like smoking is now.

Alcohol + Nicotine are mind altering drugs? Alcohol on a drastic scale causes much more harm than illegal drugs. Most domestic abuse cases are a result of alcohol. Some british doctors have compared alcohol's potential damage to that of heroin.

So its not safe to drive but youre fine to mind children whilst smoking it??

Yes i would say so. You become more relaxed and children can sense the moods of adults. if you're angry they're scared. if you're happy they are. And cannibis makes you calm and relaxed and happy. Your mind is still fairly alert so if anything happens you can react. My uncle is a major pot head and he used to mind me as a child. We had great craic together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm in favour of most drugs being legalised, or at least decriminalised. If there was a proper system of monitoring them, and ensuring they were chemically safe and used by adults in a proper environment. Also with supply streams monitored, possibly even an accreditation course for people who sell them in proper drugs-use approved premises. For softer drugs like ecstasy, mushrooms, weed, etc, I wouldn't have a problem with someone who did a few years in college learning how to manage drug-customers selling them. For heavier stuff like cocaine, crystal meth, crack and heroin then I'd allow specially trained doctors to prescribe them to addicts, presuming there was a proper monitoring system that helped people get off them when they wanted to.

I wouldn't let kids of any age try them, maybe not even until people are 21 (people's brains develop right into their 20's but 21 is a good cut off age for most development.) There'd be harsh penalties for anyone selling them illegally, whether this was using their personal legally-bought drugs as product to push to addicts on the street, or even worse if it was illegal supplies. There would have to be a proper education system. I in no way deny that drugs can be dangerous, even something as soft as weed. However my problem is at the moment it's being completely ignored. Instead of saying, "You're going to get addicted and will die on the streets sucking cock for drug money" they need to say, "You might become addicted, you might suffer mental trauma, you might use them as for pain-relief rather than for pleasure, etc. and here are the signs to look out for to see if it's happening to you, here's what you need to do and here's who to seek help from." All the while demystifying and de-stigmatising drug use, letting people know that it is an adult activity that is fine for most people when approached in the correct manner, but that it could cause problems for pretty much anyone and there's no way of knowing who.

Also, I'd provide weed to cancer, ME, chronic-pain suffering patients on the medical card and the drug payments scheme.