Revolting anti-Irish march in Liverpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

dd972 wrote: »
    Don't let it put anyone off Liverpool either, great craic at the weekends, good pubs,culture and friendly people who are very much like the Irish, a good percentage of them actually being of Irish stock

I, in no way, wanted to put people off Liverpool or Liverpudlians. I know that these people do not represent Liverpool or the English as a whole. I just want people to be aware of this march's existence.
    Those invovled in the march are no worse than the tens of thousands of Irish people who have spent the past week posting vile and disgusting comments about the people and country of Mauritius.

Why are you trying to hijack this thread with a completely different subject? I am not one of the "tens of thousands" who made any comment anywhere on the internet about Mauritius, or the death of Michael McAreavey. There are plenty of other threads in which you can talk about that subject.

Again how is making a comparison hijacking a thread? I was merely comparing like with like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Im going there for the weekend in 2 weeks. Have been there 3 times, totally pro irish from what I seen, never seen any anti irish sentiment there. Only hassle we got was from a fella that was half Irish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

They don't seem to be a very nice group of people when they have posters like this... It is a shame in this day and age but I suppose there's scum like this everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There has always been been a loyalist and republican movement on Merseyside but it would be wrong to think that their is NI type situation in the community ...there isn't .The Orange Lodge is only few miles away from the Irish center but it's not like the regulars of either associations square up to each other every week .

I do recall about 10 years ago that a republican parade in Liverpool was hijacked by some hard core Loyalists but that was quickly dealt with by police and in the main I would say that the Irish community in Liverpool is as much established as any other in the city and has been for decades .

The majority of Liverpudlians know the difference between a proposed IRA - anti British march and a Fascist - anti Irish one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

There was an orange lodge just down from Anfield, iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭granturismo

These right wingers:

pnBfF.jpg

want to hold a counter march to the crowd who support this

16.jpg
    http://jimlarkinrfb.blogspot.co.uk/

The 'Irish March' is an anti-fascist demo hijacked by terrorist supporters. One side is no better than the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

This kind of bigoted rubbish is everywhere folks and we're well able to dish it out when we want to. Playing for the London GAA team in Parnell Park I was called a T@n C**t and Queen loving b@stard by Dubs standing 4 or 5 feet from my family who were in the stand.

Number of English players on the London team - 0.

It's more a reflection on the eejits themselves than Liverpool and it's people. From the little I've seen of Liverpool they love the Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

They need to announce publicly the formula for calculating T.M.I. is accurate, the national "average" value has been re-defined downward to 1.5 inches (3.8 cm) was aqnnounced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

What is a "Sinn Fien"?
    I think it means masturbation in Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

ScumLord wrote: »
    What is a "Sinn Fien"?
    I think it means masturbation in Irish.

Close, but I think it means "wanker"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

Out of all the cities in England, I'm surprised there would be such a march in Liverpool considering the large Irish influence on the city, not to mention that probably over three quarters of Liverpudlians have Irish parents, grandparents or ancestry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

So-called 'right-wing' EDL promotes homosexuality, Punjab immigration and has its own 'Jewish Division'. Yet it finds time to hold 'anti-IRA' marches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

El Siglo wrote: »
    They don't seem to be a very nice group of people when they have posters like this... It is a shame in this day and age but I suppose there's scum like this everywhere.
    Ha, Scousers my arse.

Like someone said in the Orange Order thread, the word Taig is unheard of over here. There's definitely a big group packing for the Belfast ferry this weekend.

The Belfast to Liverpool ferry will be busy this weekend.
    brummytom wrote: »

There's definitely a big group packing for the Belfast ferry this weekend.
    Always is for the James Larkin flute band events

I know people coming over on the Dublin ferry to Liverpool this weekend to attend a bus convention which thankfully is not been held in the city centre .
    dttq wrote: »
    Out of all the cities in England, I'm surprised there would be such a march in Liverpool considering the large Irish influence on the city, not to mention that probably over three quarters of Liverpudlians have Irish parents, grandparents or ancestry.

Hopefully wont come to it but It's possible that any outbreak of violence could also be from a % who don't live in Liverpool so best case scenario would be for the police to nip it in the bud while the tourists and locals alike go about their business , looking on with bemusement .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

These are the people involved. Seriously well developed, thought out political and social comment.

And the remix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

I'm actually in tears laughing at my desk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

sure isnt the UK full of bigotry,its rife in football too,eventhough ironically they have a lot of black players on their teams..i mean ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'm actually in tears laughing at my desk.

Don't mock - if it wasn't for him, you'd be musislamed.

I wouldn't even be arsed looking at any videos , it's about making it onto Sky News for many of these morons than any statement of concern for the ' British way of life ' ....as we know it Jim .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

sure isnt the UK full of bigotry,its rife in football too,eventhough ironically they have a lot of black players on their teams..i mean ffs

I wouldn't say it's any more bigoted than any other multi-cultural place. It attracts its fair share of immigrants and asylum seekers probably because it's quite tolerant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Latchy wrote: »
    I wouldn't even be arsed looking at any videos , it's about making it onto Sky News

Or comedy gold, tbh.

I wouldn't say it's any more bigoted than any other multi-cultural place. It attracts it's fair share of immigrants and asylum seekers probably because it's quite tolerant.
    Probably more than any other country in Europe... which is sometimes lost on people .
    RustyNut wrote: »
    Or comedy gold, tbh.
    That funny eh ? ..save me having to view.

Incidentally ,I hadn't heard of this group or the march this weekend until I seen this thread .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭indioblack

By now, many of you will have heard of the demonstration organised by right-wing nutjobs the North-West Infidels (NWI) this Saturday in Liverpool. These thugs are a splinter group from the English Defence League (EDL), ironically, formed by second-generation Irishman Stephen Lennon (alias 'Tommy Robinson')

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/generationemigration/files/2012/07/brian5.jpg

They proclaim to be conducting an anti-IRA march in Liverpool this Saturday, yet the event they are disrupting is actually a rally for "Working Class Unity Against Racism & Fascism". The words "Irish", "Ireland", "Catholic", "Republican", "Sinn Fein" or "IRA" are never used.

http://liveraf.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/h.jpg

This is simply an excuse for moronic thugs to vent their spleens against their white Celtic neighbours, instead of members of the Asian community, whom they so often attack. They claim that "anti-British feeling is projected... by immigrant families from the Republic of Ireland"

They also claim, "these people are much like the Islamics (sic), they take take take with one hand and abuse their host nation with the other"(!)

This would all be laughable, considering the contribution hard-working Irish immigrants made to Liverpool and Britain as a whole, and the fact that the majority of the IRA who wreaked havoc on Britain were from Northern Ireland, not the Republic. However, these knuckle-draggers are capable of causing serious damage.

They do not have an official website, but they do have a facebook page.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/North-West-Infidels-Liverpool-and-Wirral/190747504303808

They could do with being told where they can shove their "Loyalist" march.

I'd never heard of these EDL people until last week when they had a march near me in Bristol.
    The march was against Islam or Muslims - they claimed it was a demonstration against extreme Islamists.
    There was a counter demonstration organised by Bristolians of different faiths and cultures to show that not everyone was like these people.
    A few scuffles, a couple of arrests and I heard no more about them until this thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Those invovled in the march are no worse than the tens of thousands of Irish people who have spent the past week posting vile and disgusting comments about the people and country of Mauritius.

May get a banning but **** 100% off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 fitzYOLO

Hah so people I couldn't care less about are are marching in a place I couldn't care less about in a vain attempt to annoy me.

Oh god I'm splitting my ass laughing at these guys.

In fairness to them though a lot of people round here are ***** towards the British for no reason. Wah wah wah they shot my great, great grand uncle who was trying to shove a knife in their backs. Get over it.

Augmerson wrote: »
    May get a banning but **** 100% off.

When a small group of English people spout offensive crap about the Irish and hold an antiIrish march it's a vile, offensive and downright disgusting act.

When a small group of Irish people spout offensive crap about Mauritius and it's people and talk of how any Mauritians in Ireland will be severely beaten it's somewhat less disgusting and more acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Again how is making a comparison hijacking a thread? I was merely comparing like with like.

You would be comparing like with like if you were comparing an anti-Mauritus march in Ireland with an anti-Irish march in the UK. Can you find anyway.

Like with like with the anti-Mauritus sentiment on the internet in Ireland, which was minor - would be hostile anti-Irish sentiment on the internet in the UK and that is just a google away. -->

So you are, very much, hijacking this thread.

You would be comparing like with like if you were comparing an anti-Mauritus march with an anti-Irish march in the UK. Can you find anyway.

Like with like with the anti-Mauritus sentiment - which was minor - would be hostile anti-Irish sentiment on the internet and that is just a google away. -->

So you are, very much, hijacking this thread.

While we have yet to have an anti-Mauritus march we have had a number of businesses boycotting the country which is pretty much the same thing. It's funny reading how offended people are by a proposed march yet seem to find Irish businesses boycotting another country perfectly acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

While we have yet to have an anti-Mauritus march we have had a number of businesses boycotting the country which is pretty much the same thing. It's funny reading how offended people are by a proposed march yet seem to find Irish businesses boycotting another country perfectly acceptable.

You fallacious arguments are:

1) Whataboutary - argument tu quoque
    2) generalisations.
    3) strawman. The people who are against this are in favour of the anti-Mauritus sentiment. Probably they are not.

Nobody could ever condemn racism, if we assumed that everybody had to be perfect on the side receiving the racism... This is not the thread for the Mauritus discussion -->