Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Jersey Girl

Just for the record about Shane Lowry. His girlfriend or his former
    girlfriend has NOT had a 'Kid' as has been suggested. Total nonsense and misinformation that has been in circulation for the past few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Just for the record about Shane Lowry. His girlfriend or his former
    girlfriend has NOT had a 'Kid' as has been suggested. Total nonsense and misinformation that has been in circulation for the past few months.

And he has played plenty enough this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭esker man

-3 after five today - 9 overall , keep her lit young fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭john why

how did he finish today lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Steven81

-9, got a double bogey on the 7th, his third last hole, he is tied 6th.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Finally get to see a bit of Shane on Sky Sports when I got in around 6 and he 3 putts for a double bogey:o

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭john why

Steven81 wrote: »
    -9, got a double bogey on the 7th, his third last hole, he is tied 6th.
    Ah nice one. Is he playin in the b open next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭abff

No, unless he qualifies from the Scottish Open. Only player from south of the border is PH.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

some coverage of Lowry at last, thank you BBC !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Playing with Luke Donald today. I predict a crumble.

Doubt it, Luke is good under the cosh;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭rednik

Sky are not showing the golf live today or tomorrow, it is on BBC2 from 1pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭gymman39

2 under through 2...good crumble alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Thought this gut curled into a ditch way back years ago after he played in that Irish Open or something. He musn't be up to much, haven't heard anything on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭gymman39

ye your right..he only earned 850000 last year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Neeson wrote: »
    Thought this gut curled into a ditch way back years ago after he played in that Irish Open or something. He musn't be up to much, haven't heard anything on him.

Ah don't worry about it it's probably because your head is too far up you own ass to hear anything about it.He has only racked up over 1.5million as a pro I bet he hates himself.

3 under through 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Ah don't worry about it it's probably because your head is too far up you own ass to hear anything about it.He has only racked up over 1.5million as a pro I bet he hates himself.

3 under through 3.

Oh right well he must be doing alright for himself with that kind of money. I've never read anything in the papers or seen any reports on the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Anytime he seems to gather momentum he throws shots back to the course with a double bogey. Its the third time he's done that this week, must be very frustrating for him ruining what was another great start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Aidric wrote: »
    Playing with Luke Donald today. I predict a crumble.

He wasn't with Donald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭forfcksake

Is there really only 3 hours of live coverage of the golf on tv today? 😢

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

forfcksake wrote: »
    Is there really only 3 hours of live coverage of the golf on tv today? 😢

The sooner ALL golf is taken away from BBC the better. People go on about them as if they are the Gods of Golf coverage when in fact their coverage is so amateur it's not even funny. Peter Alliss used to be worth listening to, but now the poor man is so out of touch with the game, and makes so many mistakes, that it's getting embarrassing. BBC's coverage is instantly recognisable for the amount of errors, mistakes, and camera gaffs that it makes.

SKY get abuse all the time, yet show extensive coverage of two events EVERY WEEK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

For those interested it's probably on the RED button earlier.

11th, €50,790.03, nice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Just looking there at the prize funds. If you make the cut every week you're gonna get at least 5k regardless. Thats still a serious living for the guys who are in no spotlight and are still shooting consistent -1 and -2 rounds of golf. All the free gear and food and whatever else too.

50k there for shane lowry and to be fair hes been maknig a lot of cuts and making top 20s too, id say hes rackin it up nicely now fair play

Tied for 12th at the greenbrier last week got 120k USD, some difference in pay days if ur a pro over there making cuts!!! 11.5k USD for the lowest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭joebloggs123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Tones69 wrote: »
    Just looking there at the prize funds. If you make the cut every week you're gonna get at least 5k regardless. Thats still a serious living for the guys who are in no spotlight and are still shooting consistent -1 and -2 rounds of golf. All the free gear and food and whatever else too.

Yes, but you'd need to do a bit more than that to keep your card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

vienne86 wrote: »
    Tones69 wrote: »

Yes, but you'd need to do a bit more than that to keep your card.

Do you? Im sure if ur making most cuts ul be keeping your card???

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

They have to finish in the top 115 in the race to Dubai to retain the card. Making the cuts are fine but only picking up small cheques is probably not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I remember hearing a stat on Golf Channel or Sky Sports or something a few years back, they checked out how much money you would have won on the PGA Tour the previous year (say 2004 or whatever) if you had made the cut at every event and finished in last place... You would have made $600,000 but lost your card.

Unbelievable money to be played for on both Tours, to be fair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

They have to finish in the top 115 in the race to Dubai to retain the card. Making the cuts are fine but only picking up small cheques is probably not enough

Last year you needed to win over 250,00 to make the top 115.

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/racetodubai/pastseason/index.html

Damien McGrane was 115 and in fact the next three (down to Philip Price) kept their cards as well.