Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭irishmadboy

****ing lag, I went to another server too play with mates because IE1 was full.

My friend got shot in the hills of cherno so I went up to shoot the flanker, I pumped him full of my M4A1 only to have him stand still for a few seconds, unfreeze and then be presented with the "You are dead" screen.

Looks like I should stick to IE1 no matter what.

The server I played on was DE 19 by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

You 2 in the high grass! Looking for that car too? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dennjoe

hey lads any chance i could add ye on steam and maybe team up playing with a group of guys from america but only play on us servers and ping is fecking me up dennjoe21 on steam cheers. loving the game its like a mix of bear grylls and dawn of the dead lots of tense moments already and only been playing 3 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

dennjoe wrote: »
    loving the game its like a mix of bear grylls and dawn of the dead

I'm sure Rocket is working on a "drink your own piss" option as we speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

Sarky wrote: »
    I refuse to kill someone who hasn't attacked me first. Managed well enough so far, plenty of players get killed while holding some nice loot, or distract the zombie hordes long enough for me to slip in and clean out a house. Maybe some day I'll actually plug in my mic and make an effort at real human contact, although seeing everyone tear into each other like rabid wolves puts me off bothering.

I'm not saying that you should turn into a serial killer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Idioteque

Whats the craic with 'zeroing' weapons. I saw in at the Arma shooting range te weapon had a number beside it (100, 200 etc) and you could change the value on it - is it the same for DayZ?
    I've an ASK 74-U at the moment but there's no number I can see to let me see how I can change the range on it?

Do people use the ingame chat system at all in this? Theres 3 different channels and they all seem dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

Idioteque wrote: »
    Whats the craic with 'zeroing' weapons. I saw in at the Arma shooting range te weapon had a number beside it (100, 200 etc) and you could change the value on it - is it the same for DayZ?
    I've an ASK 74-U at the moment but there's no number I can see to let me see how I can change the range on it?

PG UP/ PG Down, you see the range in the upper right I believe. Doesn't work on all weapons.
    cocoshovel wrote: »
    Do people use the ingame chat system at all in this? Theres 3 different channels and they all seem dead.

It was disabled in a previous patch, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Most people use mumble/TS/Skype etc unless they are lone wolves in which case I rarely hear anything from them unless it is their gun going off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

jay-me wrote: »
    Most people use mumble/TS/Skype etc unless they are lone wolves in which case I rarely hear anything from them unless it is their gun going off.

I used to use direct comms, but I gave up. Getting shot in the back when you say "I'm friendly" and they're like "me too", then bang. Meh...

Gah, finally died. Im getting the hang of this game now :D weapon equipping/changing is still kinda awkward though.

Was somebody ringing that church bell or does it just do that anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Hawke

A steam group wouldn't be a bad idea since we could use the chat instead of the side chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Komsomolitz

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Same problem here with the axe.
    Right click it after pressing "G" to open your pack.

It should give you the option to "remove from toolbelt"<<well it did for me.

Then it will be in your pack above to the right.Just highlight it select "rearm" and then when you have it in your hand you have to hit "r" to reload it.

Does that work for the flashlight as well? cant figure out how to use that thing.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

The whole point of the game is that you can only speak to the people close to you. No way in-game to speak to players spread across the map. You're supposed to feel alone.
    If you switch to the white 'direct communications' and type then people within 40m will see your text. If you use the mic to speak it goes up to 80m (speaking doesn't attract Zeds)

Hawke wrote: »
    A steam group wouldn't be a bad idea since we could use the chat instead of the side chat.

You'll find all the Dayz Steam names in the Social Group. Apply for access if you don't already have one. There is also a Boards.ie and a Boards.ie Dayzs Steam group.
    Does that work for the flashlight as well? cant figure out how to use that thing.

Yep, same thing. Take it out of the belt and it's L to switch it on. If you press F it cycles through the different lighting options (flares, torch, chemlights) as it cycles through the different firing mods for weapons (full, semi, etc...)

Idioteque wrote: »

Take a look at this chart to see which weapons you can zero with.

http://i.imgur.com/8cScU.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Hawke

Ponster wrote: »
    You'll find all the Dayz Steam names in the Social Group. Apply for access if you don't already have one. There is also a Boards.ie and a Boards.ie Dayzs Steam group.

Im in both the groups. I don't see a link to a Steam group for DayZ to use. It would be useful for people wanting to group up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭jackoire

****ing lag, I went to another server too play with mates because IE1 was full.

My friend got shot in the hills of cherno so I went up to shoot the flanker, I pumped him full of my M4A1 only to have him stand still for a few seconds, unfreeze and then be presented with the "You are dead" screen.

Looks like I should stick to IE1 no matter what.

The server I played on was DE 19 by the way.

If boards server is full you are welcome on DE 93.
    There are some friendlies but of course some bandits too.
    Server is running nice with latest version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,959 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Yea latest updates seem to have helped performance a lot with a lot of people reporting an improvement in FPS. IE2 is online again too.

Im in both the groups. I don't see a link to a Steam group for DayZ to use. It would be useful for people wanting to group up.

Your nick isn't listed in the Steam thread so that's why you may not had
    received invite? Just search for "Boards Dayz" in Steam.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/group.php?do=discuss&group=&discussionid=1338

Whenever I launch day-z it doesnt show me as playing it in steam. I cant seem to connect to the boards server if I just try to connect from Arma 2. Launching from six

Is that normal or what? Its a shame my play time is being counted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

Social Group now contains:
    Boards Server Details
    Mumble Details
    Updated Usernames (if you want your changed/removed let me know)
    Link to Steam Group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,518 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Posted my stuff again, assumed signature would have showed up the first time.

How exactly do you have a primary and secondary weapon?

I did it yesterday somehow with the enfield and an axe, then an enfield and a pistol, but now I cant seem to do it at all. I just get the message "not enough room in inventory". Even though there is plenty of room.

I just get the message "not enough room in inventory". Even though there is plenty of room.

What exactly are you trying to do when you get this?

If you have an axe and it's not on your toolbelt (i.e. it's in your hands, your primary weapon) then if you try to pick up a primary weapon then the game will try to put it into your inventory and not your primary weapon slot.

If this is the case then press 'G' and right-click on the axe and select 'add to toolbelt'. This will free up the primary weapon slot and you'll be able to pick up the rifle/shotgun.

What exactly are you trying to do when you get this?

If you have an axe and it's not on your toolbelt (i.e. it's in your hands, your primary weapon) then if you try to pick up a primary weapon then the game will try to put it into your inventory and not your primary weapon slot.

If this is the case then press 'G' and right-click on the axe and select 'add to toolbelt'. This will free up the primary weapon slot and you'll be able to pick up the rifle/shotgun.

I have a rifle in my main weapon slot/my hand. I also have an axe on my toolbelt. I want to be able to freely switch between my rifle and axe with my mousewheel like I was able to do yesterday, but I dont seem to be able to do this. It either says "not enough room in inventory", or If its another weapon Im trying to pick up off the ground, I end up dropping my rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭hawkeye_bmr

I have a rifle in my main weapon slot/my hand. I also have an axe on my toolbelt. I want to be able to freely switch between my rifle and axe with my mousewheel like I was able to do yesterday, but I dont seem to be able to do this. It either says "not enough room in inventory", or If its another weapon Im trying to pick up off the ground, I end up dropping my rifle.

You shouldnt have been able to do that with a primary and the axe, but you can do it with a secondary and axe, or secondary and primary.

Anyone on here involved in that firefight south of Novy near the crashed site?

As hawkeye said, you shouldn't have been able to do that though a lot of people have requested it (I'm guessing it's part of the ARMA code).

Thanks for baring with all my questions. Im slowly getting the hang of this game.

Just out of curiosity, how many of you are playing it using the SixLauncher, as apposed to playing it on steam?

I couldnt get it to work on steam for nothing! Following all the instructions and videos around I was met with a "wrong serial code" error. I dont really mind, but it would be nice to have my playtime counted, and to be able to use my steam name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

Thanks for baring with all my questions. Im slowly getting the hang of this game.

Just out of curiosity, how many of you are playing it using the SixLauncher, as apposed to playing it on steam?

I couldnt get it to work on steam for nothing! Following all the instructions and videos around I was met with a "wrong serial code" error. I dont really mind, but it would be nice to have my playtime counted, and to be able to use my steam name.

I'm on the launcher. Don't think it works through steam (could be wrong) and the Beta Patcher never worked right for me. When I right click on an item to drink or eat and such, the option instantly disappears again so when I need to bandage myself I lose an extra 2-3000 blood trying to get it to work... Was very frustrating until the launcher came out.