Asylum Seekers /Immigration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yes but the Irish didn't go over there to throw away social welfare buggies before getting on buses and eat swans so it's not the same thing.

We just gave them priests, which had no downside at all, ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

There was a thread on the politics forum ages ago where lots of these were being trotted out. Socialising money is another thing 'Africans' get apparently, there was something about free taxi plates too. Oh and the people working in the social welfare offices are nicer to Africans than 'the Irish' was one of my personal favourites.

Is the socialising money not true? I fell for that one :(

Another one that used to get great millage was the African women getting money to get their hair braided. Who makes up these stories?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Let them all in imo.
    Grand bunch of lads, just trying to get along like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Spotted this earlier today when I was walking home, had to take a picture (and add stereotypical comments) when I saw it. No evidence to suggest asylum seekers being responsible, but when has that ever stopped anyone!

...but if they stop giving away the prams, the pram-makers will go bust, and the prams for blacks bubble will collapse, the economy go to shite, and we'll be down the canal fightin the Romanians for the few swans left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Romanians don't eat swans

That's the Polish ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Look every time you have a system that benefits certain people or is there to protect certain people there will be those that abuse it. This doesn't mean the system itself is inherently a bad one, just that you need to make it as watertight as possible while accepting that you will never be able to prevent some people from taking advantage.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Romanians don't eat swans

That's the Polish ;)

Thats what the liberal media want ye to think, so we'll be attackin the poles while they get the polish wimminz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's funny how if you want tighter immigration laws you are seen as a racist and if you don't you are seen as a bleeding heart liberal.

There has to be middle ground, where most reasonable people can meet. Off the cuff remarks certainly don't help on finding this ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭opo

Nodin wrote: »
    Thats what the liberal media want ye to think, so we'll be attackin the poles while they get the polish wimminz.

Have you ever heard of a spellchecker? or are you happier with your infantile stereotyping? like the nasty "wacists" are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Whoosh, here since 2005 but is this your first time in After Hours?

No we did not.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Whoosh, here since 2005 but is this your first time in After Hours?

Did you check my history that quick?

The answer is no.

Do I need your permission to post here?

opo wrote: »
    No we did not.

You'll find this may shed some light on matters.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humour

You'll find this may shed some light on matters.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humour

When did you discover that?

opo wrote: »
    When did you discover that?

I was born with a sense of it.

And there was me thinking your presence here was the result of suffocating frustration with life in every aspect. How wrong I am :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭zebrafumbler

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Whole post is pure bile and crap.
    Care to actually provided any evidence for the higlighted claims you make in this racist rant?
    Hilarious! Providing statistics is racist now? Loopy left, uh-huh.

Back to this. Dude - No-one is ever gonna say there was no downside to priests giving their lives to the causes or there were no bad priests. However - the priests I know - in the majority - gave a thousand times more than they took. Taking the bigger picture on - what's your point?

^ what is this i don't even

Piste wrote: »

Evidently he didn't read the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Piste wrote: »

Evidently he didn't read the link.
    You can be prone to massive generalisations yourself, slanting off the missionaries who went to these countries when you obviously haven't a clue how they worked down there.
    The priests and Nuns I know who went to Africa faced danger constantly,one was murdered,they devoted their time and energy to helping the population,getting clean water,schools and fighting for the African rights.
    I spent 2 trips to Malawi helping out and the missionaries I met were inspiring,I'm a Buddhist and they couldn't care less about how you believe they are all about making the lives of the locals better.
    You wouldn't last 2 days in some of these areas,the face disease,hunger and death daily and they never judge,so I think you should think twice before posting crap like that.

My post wasn't in response to you Sappa, either the post above me was deleted or I was replying to the poster above you and you happened to post ahead of me, I wasn't replying to you with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Truth is a lot of non nationals wont work for miniuim wage they have copped on draw dole get rent and medical card no brainer really

Hootanany wrote: »
    Truth is a lot of non nationals people wont work for miniuim wage they have copped on draw dole get rent and medical card no brainer really

Same applies for all residents of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Not the Self employed :cool:

Hootanany wrote: »
    Not the Self employed :cool:

They can't draw stamps as they don't pay into it. It's a ridiculous system and you are preaching to the choir.

They can apply for the dole like everyone else, be means tested etc, They won't get feck all :p but they can still look for it.

Sappa wrote: »
    You can be (........) that.

You didn't read the link either,I take it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Doddle wrote: »
    You must have smoked too much weed when you were young .
    Free love and free everything is gone to your head or its just in the sand.
    Can you sell sand to the Arabs ??

And this contribution has got exactly what to do with what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Same applies for a lot of residents of the state.