Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Forecast for here was rain in the afternoon. Was in the car, Angelus bells just came on as the drops started hitting the wind shield. How's that for an accurate forecast :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

JohnBoy wrote: »
    grrrrrrrr

Contractor too busy with grass for the last few days to spread fertiliser, finally came and did it last night, and now you're saying it's lashing down this morning.

god dammit.

perfect in my eyes unless you are on the side of a mountain. like a shot of heroin for plants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

actually got a paddock topped today... sun still shining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

:mad:good god have about 20 cows with baby calves about a weak old .will have to bring them in to nite .you should see them after last nites rain it would make you cry.icon8.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

pretty decent day here today. Even got a little sunburnt. I passed a couple of fields that were baled last night and they looked like they had been ploughed and then spread with slurry. up the road 200 yards and they they were in as good a nick as can be expected for the weather. really showed up the variations in the ground within an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

perfect in my eyes unless you are on the side of a mountain. like a shot of heroin for plants

Mountain is a bit of a strong word, but you'd sure feel the burn in the back of your legs walking up it.

The lads who took the silage this year brought a small loader with them to push the trailers up the hill.

hopefully some of it soaked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Pi$$ed out of the heavens all night long, and still coming down,

getting a quick cuppa and heading to the out farm to let the heifers into a field of after grass we had hoped to make bales of in a couple of weeks :(

snowman707 wrote: »
    Pi$$ed out of the heavens all night long, and still coming down,

getting a quick cuppa and heading to the out farm to let the heifers into a field of after grass we had hoped to make bales of in a couple of weeks :(
    thats what it has been like here for the last few weeks... totally depressing:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Temps are supposed to rise next week and the showers not supposed to be as frequent. Fingers and toes crossed :o

I was clearing out my pile of old IFJ's ans was looking at a pic from May this year where a lad got to save Hay. He said the last time he saved hay in May was back about 40years ago and that it rained for 6weeks non stop after that...... history repeating itself ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I remember reading that. Make Hay while the sun shines !!!!

"Tis down for the day"

On a more uplifting note, just watching the calf who lost his mum about three weeks ago walking in out of the fields and going about 150m to eat some of the finishing cattles grub in the feed passage, smart f*cker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Mowing here today:D

Also managed to dye my hair a form of orange yesterday......it would happen on the day that was in it!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

next door mowed 15 acres at 9am and is baling now.

I walked 12 acres i hope to pull slurry out onto. If it comes right ill let fly with it sunday morning:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

leg wax wrote: »

Some paper trail and button pushing goes on to satisify traceability. Rightly so.
    I noticed one farmer in Moyvore crept through the name blanking out process.

I walked 12 acres i hope to pull slurry out onto. If it comes right ill let fly with it sunday morning:rolleyes:

Indian curry saturday night so? :D

splashplate or trailing shoe Iakill? :D:D

leg wax wrote: »
    well done bordbia.

And well done to those farmers featured in the charolais, BB, limousin videos. Serious quality uniform stock and excellent grass/clover.

Anyone know any of the lads that had their stock featured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

"Irish farmers should face facts and prepare for an end to the live cattle export trade, Green MEP Ms Patricia McKenna said yesterday."

From, Year 2004;
    http://friendsoftheirishenvironment.net/paperstoday/index.php?action=view&id=3473

The irony of an MEP giving out about live exports, sure didn't we export her too :D

(Apologies, this isn't farming related but some might enjoy it if it turns up!)

Apparently the effects of a "coronal mass ejection" from the sun will reach the Earth from 7pm tonight. Hopefully it'll put on a decent light show.

The weather forecast (bold words for here I know) is promising for somewhat clear skies.

http://www.facebook.com/AstronomyIRL

http://lightyears.blogs.cnn.com/2012/07/13/solar-storm-expected-to-hit-earth-on-saturday/?hpt=hp_t2

crappy day today, one of the kids up all night with kidney infection, temperature peaked at 39.9:eek::eek: trip to out of hours doc €60 and medicine €46! cows are still in at night, one of them went down in cubicle shed during the night , she was bulling last night, had to lift her out this morning... 50/50 chance she will stand again... was going out with digger to lift her again this evening, had a bucket of silage another one of meal and a drum of water in front bucket of digger, stopped digger to open gap in to paddock, it wouldnt start when i got back in:eek: got it started loader wouldnt lift... hardy spicer had broken on the live drive to the hydraulics:mad:... 4pm on a saturday evening ffs, with a total lack of sleep the night before... local jcb dealer had had a bad accident a few weeks ago and is still in hospital... eventually got the part and a neighbour fixed it up for me

Remember whelan those bad days make the good ones feel so much better. i tried to think of that yesterday evening while i was cutting a weanling out of a gate with a consaw. (gate not animal for any activists reading this)

1chippy wrote: »
    i tried to think of that yesterday evening while i was cutting a weanling out of a gate with a consaw.

While driving the roads I'd often spot gates bent in a hoop or with a big bow in the top and I'd ponder what the f**k happened it......I'd do some head scratching if I came across your gate!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Have one of those gates, bowed in the middle due to a 5yr old CH bull who figured he could clear the gate. He landed in the middle of it and then tipped himself forward. Shortly afterwards he was on the menu in Super£acs:D

took the gate with her off the hangers and the main problem was trying to hold her down. you wouldnt believe how entangled she was.cutting bars that were wrapped round her legs when she was moving wasnt easy. A lad who worKs for me is getting a week upgrading all gates and barriers next week. Had planned to do it any way, but so much more on the list to do, it made me prioritise a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You'd be surprised how well a towel/sheet across the eyes and cotton wool in the ears works with that. Our weanling gates to the lying area of our shed are no more :rolleyes:
    How we learned- Consaw + sparks + Lim heifer......enjoyable day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

enough with the rain, for f**k's sake

the fun has gone out of it altogether

looking out the window at the cows in the field out side this evening, thinking where the f**k will i put ye Monday morning

some one please

dar31 wrote: »
    enough with the rain, for f**k's sake

the fun has gone out of it altogether

looking out the window at the cows in the field out side this evening, thinking where the f**k will i put ye Monday morning

some one please

cheer up man, there is no money to be made from dust, wherever there is water there's money.