If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Car Stolen in 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

i was wondering about the cars keys, if the car is stolen and sold on, then they would have to get new keys and ignition? to pass it off. but what about the door locks, and central locking, change them aswell. Is this a big deal with modern cars with onboard computers. hope it all works out for ya in the end frynge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Jebus, the DOT are useless bunch of feckers. 1.25 hours lunch break? not answering phones and giving misleading/incorrect information?

Thing is, they are in a job for life and it would be nigh on impossible to get one of those feckers fired ....

Is there an ombudsman for that shower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭granturismo

tbh wrote: »
    Consider the torch passed :) OP, if my experience is anything to go by you'll just have to be a pain, call every day if you have to.

I'm just posting so I get a notification for this thread. TBH and Frynge shoud get a thread of the month award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,531 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

I'm just posting so I get a notification for this thread. TBH and Frynge shoud get a thread of the month award.

You do know, that there is a button called "follow thread" in the top, so you don't have to post ?

Agreed on the thread of the month though.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

So, just so I'm clear on this because this reeks of such interdepartmental incompetence its beyond belief.

If I have a car stolen, let say from a apartment where there is a high percentage of rentals. And I move a year or two later. Then somebody try's to register my stolen car, letter gets sent to the last known address confirming the registration change?

There is no check against the stolen vehicles database ? They just get full legal control of the car if I move and forget to keep updating the address of a stolen car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,129 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

So, just so I'm clear on this because this reeks of such interdepartmental incompetence its beyond belief.

If I have a car stolen, let say from a apartment where there is a high percentage of rentals. And I move a year or two later. Then somebody try's to register my stolen car, letter gets sent to the last known address confirming the registration change?

There is no check against the stolen vehicles database ? They just get full legal control of the car if I move and forget to keep updating the address of a stolen car?
    It seems that way. So basically, rob a car from outside an apartment (generally short term residents) then sit on it for a few years, and register it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

The registered owner is not necessarily the legal owner though, so even it you succeeded in getting it re-registered this does not mean you are now the legal owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Pete67 wrote: »
    The registered owner is not necessarily the legal owner though, so even it you succeeded in getting it re-registered this does not mean you are now the legal owner.

No but if you are the registered owner with VLC and Insurance in your name on the car, you are in the clear until/(if) Insurance starts asking for VIN or NCT VIN lookup crossreferences stolen car database.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I seem to be going backwards in getting this sorted.

If the person in possession of the car right now were to ring the DOT they would be told exactly what is going on (to my utter amazement)

There seems to be no GO with anyone in the DOT, and now they will close at 4 for another day leaving this matter unresolved still.

I was in a state of losing faith but now I'm just getting angry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Frynge wrote: »

If the person in possession of the car right now were to ring the DOT they would be told exactly what is going on (to my utter amazement)

There seems to be no GO with anyone in the DOT, and now they will close at 4 for another day leaving this matter unresolved still.

That is just absolutely astonishing....I know it's been suggested before but have you considered contacting the meedjah? I the DOT eejits are going to give the new 'owner' the headsup anyways then you don't exactly have much to loose.

Even if it might just shame some people in the DOT into action?
    (although I guess shame would suggest a certain amount of pride to start with)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Go to the Gardai again, only this time go higher up the food chain. Frankly what you are going through is ludicrous.

Your car was stolen, and now you want it back. How much more simple could it be?

Go to the Gardai again, only this time go higher up the food chain. Frankly what you are going through is ludicrous.

Your car was stolen, and now you want it back. How much more simple could it be?

In theory it should be a very simple senario.

Actually in theory i should have just gotten a call from the Gardai telling me they have recovered my car.

on a plus note if the DOT ever pull their finger('s) out the Gardai will get it back and hold onto it for as long as i like.

Starting to think going the solicitor route my have some merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Just reading through this thread, as mentioned throughout this is completely unacceptable from the DoT.
    If I were you I would write an email detailing all that you have in this thread and send it to all newspapers, liveline, online news sites and you will get a response from some of them.
    Also highlight their long lunch breaks, in this day an age no public service provider should be closing down for lunch when that is the time most people try to contact them. Don't let them get away with it and best of luck.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Is there a complaints procedure in DOT?

Apparently not http://www.dttas.ie/contactus.aspx

Isn't there a Civil Service Ombudsman?

reading up on them now

http://www.ombudsman.gov.ie/en/

Have to make a complaint to the department first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭padraig.od

reading up on them now

http://www.ombudsman.gov.ie/en/

Have to make a complaint to the department first

Email the Minister for Transport, Minister for Justice, all your constituency TDs. If you are in Dublin go to either Shatter's or Varadker's constituency office and cause a stink. This is unbelievable really.

Take a half day and drive to Shannon. Be there when they open. Don't leave until they have given you the details. If they call the Gardai on you even better! Demand to speak to someone higher up. They can't ignore you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Try

Customerservice@dttas.ie

from

http://www.transport.ie/contacts/?lang=ENG&loc=1679

also their customer charter is here which states
    How to complain

To make a complaint, we recommend that you first contact the staff you were dealing with directly to see if they can deal with your concerns. However, if you are not happy with our response, you can contact our Customer Service Manager (see details below), who will review the matter and contact you within 10 working days
    Customer Service Manager
    Department of Transport,
    Clare Street,
    Dublin 2
    Telephone: (01) 604 1525
    Fax: (01) 6041320
    E-mail: customerservice@transport.ie

The fact that you have complained to us does not stop you from also complaining through the Ombudsman (see contact details below) However the Ombudsman will normally expect you to have made a complaint to us first.

The Ombudsman is completely independent of the Government, and the service is free.
    Office of the Ombudsman,
    18 Lower Leeson Street,
    Dublin 2
    Telephone: (01) 639 5600
    LoCall 1 890 223030(from outside 01 area)
    Fax: +353 1 6395674
    E-mail: ombudsman@ombudsman.irlgov.ie

We promise to co-operate with the Ombudsman or any other people or organizations that act for you. Our Customer Service Manager will be happy to give any information or help you may need

See the bold bit, once 10 days has expired, go straight to the ombudsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

See the bold bit, once 10 days has expired, go straight to the ombudsman.[/QUOTE]

Image if u had a problem with a private business and were told send in a written complaint and well get back to u in ten day, (most likely 10 working day), it would be crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭dingding

mhigh86 wrote: »
    See the bold bit, once 10 days has expired, go straight to the ombudsman.

Image if u had a problem with a private business and were told send in a written complaint and well get back to u in ten day, (most likely 10 working day), it would be crazy.[/QUOTE]

I think that is the case with the financial ombudsman also. You need to give a number of days to sort it out I think it was 21 days.

I would email the minister because your car will be long gone by the time the DOE get their act together.

Also consider contacting Brendan Howlin TD as he is the Minister for Public Sector Reform and was the minister of the DOE last time they were in government.

If you can get your local TD to ask an appropriate PQ (Parliamentary Question) You cant make them help you but you can make them wish they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

on a plus note if the DOT ever pull their finger('s) out the Gardai will get it back and hold onto it for as long as i like.

What are the gardai saying? how do you mean they will hold onto it?

hondasam wrote: »
    What are the gardai saying? how do you mean they will hold onto it?

When they seize the car they will keep it in the garda station until i decide to tax and insure it. Free of Charge.

Really they have got generous all of a sudden. They are going to give you a free parking space until you decide to tax and insure it or they decide to crush it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

They have no lawful authority to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

At the rate things are going the car will be moved on again anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I've followed this thread since the original post and there is one thing baffling me.
    If this car was reported stolen in 2009 how come it's not on the stolen vehicle database now? And if it is, then the Gardai have to get involved. They have been told another person is attempting to claim ownership so that should be much easier for them, given the DoT has that persons details.
    I would try and get hold of a senior Garda officer and explain all. There's a lot of laziness and 'send the fool further' going on rather than real work in two different parts of our Civil Service. I would'nt let it pass tomorrow either.

I want to know the make/year of the car to see if it's worth all the hassle.

red sean wrote: »
    I've followed this thread since the original post and there is one thing baffling me.
    If this car was reported stolen in 2009 how come it's not on the stolen vehicle database now? And if it is, then the Gardai have to get involved. They have been told another person is attempting to claim ownership so that should be much easier for them, given the DoT has that persons details.
    I would try and get hold of a senior Garda officer and explain all. There's a lot of laziness and 'send the fool further' going on rather than real work in two different parts of our Civil Service. I would'nt let it pass tomorrow either.

It takes any guard two seconds to run the reg to see if it's on the stolen list.It's not rocket science believe me.
    If it was reported stolen and never recovered it stays on the system with a status of stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

They have no lawful authority to do so.

To take back a stolen car?