Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

tanko wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine had a similar problem. He put the bull into his crush and got him squeezed. The owner of the bull didnt realise what had happened until three months later!!

How did that end up? did the fella who sqeezed him have to pay compensation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

tanko wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine had a similar problem. He put the bull into his crush and got him squeezed. The owner of the bull didnt realise what had happened until three months later!!

two wrongs don't make a right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭tanko

Finno59 wrote: »
    How did that end up? did the fella who sqeezed him have to pay compensation?

I suppose this wasnt a very good example to give. The bull was a scrub and owned by a farmer in his seventies who thinks its still the 1950's. The man who did the job on the bull is "well connected" and theres no question of compensation being paid.

I think that anyone with a bull should have a good mains electric fence to keep him in his place. Good fences make good neighbours and all that. It sounds like the bull in this case should be on a hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

How much is a foot or Meter of 6" x 3" RSJ? (or what is know as 6x3rsj but now metric)

I gave €6.80 inclusive of vat for 6" channel last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

fantastic evening here... feels like summer at last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I'm not that far from you whelan and you need a canoe round me. Surface water running down fields is pretty bad round here.

1chippy wrote: »
    I'm not that far from you whelan and you need a canoe round me. Surface water running down fields is pretty bad round here.
    wasraining last night and this morning but sun shining since dinner time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

We are nearly washed away here in west cork and its pouring now as I look out the window. Cattle will have to come in again if it continues!! summer my arse!icon8.gificon8.gificon8.gificon8.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

cjpm wrote: »
    There was a court case in Donegal a year or 2 ago where a fella got done for putting a ring on his neighbours dog. The neighbour thought that the dog was off form and took him to the vet. Vet descovered that the dog was missing a bit!!!:D:D:D

I think yer man admitted that he done it. Big mistake!! Would have been easier and cheaper to sing dumb!!

Hilarious, burst out laughin readin that. Best laugh I had all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

If he had any sense he would give him the hook. Can not see the reason some people keep bulls like that around the place. As you said an accident waiting to happen is the only way to describe it.

Agreed - He'd prob get €1700 for him in the factory. Get a decent replacement for a couple of hundred euro more. What's a couple of hundred euro if someone gets badly injured? That bull sounds like he'll do damage sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone got some big anchors, some heavy rope and a few rachet straps.... the farm ready to float off here :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Agreed - He'd prob get €1700 for him in the factory. Get a decent replacement for a couple of hundred euro more. What's a couple of hundred euro if someone gets badly injured? That bull sounds like he'll do damage sooner or later.

He would be better off without him for sure but he is/was a great breeding bull but he also has heifers up out of him now too and safetywise which should be the No. 1 priority and or the fact that he is really destroying other peoples fences and will in time more than likely hurt/cut himself due to his antics/size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

We are nearly washed away here in west cork and its pouring now as I look out the window. Cattle will have to come in again if it continues!! summer my arse!icon8.gificon8.gificon8.gificon8.gif

Here in West Cork too. Our landlord has beef and dairy and the electric fence was struck by lightning. The cattle fled and last night they were still hunting for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Was up in Dublin yesterday getting a newer spec laptop and managed to get sunburned.
    Came home and could have washed my hair in the rain outside:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

sold a shorthorn weanling bull 11months old 450kg for €1080 fairly happy with him think its a good price for a shorthorn anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

limo_100 wrote: »
    sold a shorthorn weanling bull 11months old 450kg for €1080 fairly happy with him think its a good price for a shorthorn anyway
    Sure is. It wasn't that long ago when the Comic were talking about 1000 Euro being a reality for weanlings. I think we've passed that now......;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqxa03Abo3U

I cannot embed this but hehehhhehehehehehe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

may the sun shine on your wet fields and the grass grow,while i rub oil on my white legs in the comfort of french wine and food while putting up kilos of weight for the busy calving season when i get home.ps i will be keeping a eye on you's so behave. legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,467 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Us? Behave? Pfft! ;)

Enjoy yourself over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

ballinasloe mart today anybody?
    two super charolais calves... 370ish 1170/80ish... followed owner out asking questions expecting them to be out of cottage devon or crosmolina...

CWI out of heifers, serious stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

anyone direct me to where cull cows prices are resonable:D

simx wrote: »
    anyone direct me to where cull cows prices are resonable:D
    have had 3 lads ring me in lastfew weeks looking for some culls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭SilverKrest

Anyone have any good farm safety tips. Someone almost lost their fingers the other day on a mchale wrapper. They were tying the wrap onto the table but the driver thought he was holding it for him to squeeze and he caught 2 fingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

is it possible to use a bluetooth enabled radio from a car or some thing, in the parlour, and then play your tunes from iphone/smartphone
    or would it just keep disconecting as you walked up and down the pit???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

i'm after renting more land than i can handle and i need to sell grazing. how much should i charge neighbour for grass? lets say 20 cows and calves, how much per week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

ballinasloe mart today anybody?
    two super charolais calves... 370ish 1170/80ish... followed owner out asking questions expecting them to be out of cottage devon or crosmolina...

CWI out of heifers, serious stuff!

We were in headford yesterday, them prices were the norm, bought two charolais's at that weight, at very similar prices!
    There was a few real serious blue heifers in it, the real deal ones, seller refused €1600 for 345kg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

We were in headford yesterday, them prices were the norm, bought two charolais's at that weight, at very similar prices!
    There was a few real serious blue heifers in it, the real deal ones, seller refused €1600 for 345kg!
    It woud be interesting to see how much more he will get at a different day / mart .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

dar31 wrote: »
    is it possible to use a bluetooth enabled radio from a car or some thing, in the parlour, and then play your tunes from iphone/smartphone
    or would it just keep disconecting as you walked up and down the pit???

would it be easier get a little dock station with speakers, pop iphone or whatever in there when milking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Just wondering how soon I can inject some heifers that the bull broke into last week, they're for selling so don't want them incalf. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Angus4life

think these heifer were on done deal... unreal heifers tho of the highest quality. 1600 wasnt bad for a show heifers as alot of buks wit calfs claming them be show standard and there pretty average for the quality of the stock for sale now days