Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Nodin wrote: »
    Some might be of the opinion that saying things on the internet that you might regret in the morning is not a good idea.

I am rubber drunk. Its all good, Nodin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

ok here goes(sorry about the spelling)

drugs/prostitution shouls be legalised and taxed

most womans sport is nosense,as soon as a woman is as good as a man at darts,golf,soccer etc then i will appaud her

lost was the greatest tv show ever created

rugby requires very little skill,if you are strong and fast you should be a decent rugby player

muse are the best band of the last 20 years

eduacation and health care should be free to every citizen of the country

no person sould be able to rack up 20+ convictions, 3 strike rule so 3rd offence means life

abortion is morally wrong unless under extreme curcumstances

irish should be scrapped in schools, its a dead language

dance music is not actually music its just noise

the world economy is going to completely collapse and most of us will be farmers again within 2 years

I agree with most of your statement there, never saw lost so can't comment! Oh and for my unpopular opinion, I don't think the word n*gg*r is that bad. Sorry for not spelling it out, boards wouldn't let me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

IrishAm wrote: »
    I am rubber drunk. Its all good, Nodin.

As ye will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭greensausage

you should definitely catch lost while you can raseed:)

As ye will.

No bull with me, Nodin. On the sofa. Probaby shall walk and give her me gaff.

Time I start with nada. Again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 LambChop...

Atheism is a religion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

The Provos were great. They took care of business. Drug dealers didn't act the bollix when they were around.

Apart from the ones that were provo scum you mean.

kieranfitz wrote: »
    Apart from the ones that were provo scum you mean.

Phrases like scum are easily thrown about. I suggest you read up on certain PIRA members.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 LambChop...

Ball games (sports) are children's games

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 250 ✭✭DuPLeX

Provisional IRA Is and Was always controlled by MI6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

DuPLeX wrote: »
    Provisional IRA Is and Was always controlled by MI6

That's not so much unpopular as incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Brit army area.

Sad that non BA died. God rest them.

Still, great folk. Irish patriots.

Suppose the proxy bombs were the Brits as well! ;)

Any patriotic organisation that resorts to proxy bombs all by itself, would have no problem with Warrington.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Long Legged Mack Daddy

I think that many people who take an anti religion stance, do so because it makes them feel "enlightened" and "liberated". I think that these people are blind and stupid. I don't think this because I like religion. I think this because while people are banging on about the evils of religion they fail to recognize that religion, as we know it, is nothing more than a mechanism of control which is being deliberately decommissioned and replaced with an even more powerful mechanism of mass control, i.e media (in all it's forms). The same power structure still exists. They just have newer methods.

The "enlightened" ones will happily ride their high horse on the subject of the teaching of creationism in schools but they will give little thought to the insidious and corrupting ideologies being installed in to the minds of our children through the tv, video games and the internet. They are to stupid to realize that we are no more liberated or enlightened without religion. In fact we are being led well and truly away from liberation and enlightenment and it's media that's doing the leading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭apsalar

A lot of Adele's music sounds the same. While her voice is superb, I find her music rather boring. Her albums are not as good as all the hype calls for.

Also, it is impossible to listen to more than two Celine Dion songs a day without going nuts from her wailing. Vocal ability - superb. Extremely irritating- yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Atheism is a religion

Opticom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

Phrases like scum are easily thrown about. I suggest you read up on certain PIRA members.

Which one's do you suggest, the drug dealers, bank robbers, pimps, extortionists or just the illiterate celtic jersey wearing thugs that mooch about estates/the dole office?

kieranfitz wrote: »
    Which one's do you suggest, the drug dealers, bank robbers, pimps, extortionists or just the illiterate celtic jersey wearing thugs that mooch about estates/the dole office?

.....dear o dear o dear.

They say never meet your heroes, they always let you down.:pac:

RVP 11 wrote: »
    They say never meet your heroes, they always let you down.:pac:

You know who I have or haven't met? Fascinating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

A lot of the general younger (say 18-30) Irish public come across as incredibly immature, naive and blinkered and I say this as a 25 year old so I'm still young myself.

Like when me and the other half are out and he gets called Jesus, simply because he has long hair, or I get called a hippie cos of how I'm dressed.
    Granted it annoys me, but at the same time it baffles me that people can be so childish.

I thought we had gotten to a stage now where dressing/presenting yourself slightly different to the majority wasnt a big deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

A lot of the general younger (say 18-30) Irish public come across as incredibly immature, naive and blinkered and I say this as a 25 year old so I'm still young myself.

Like when me and the other half are out and he gets called Jesus, simply because he has long hair, or I get called a hippie cos of how I'm dressed.
    Granted it annoys me, but at the same time it baffles me that people can be so childish.

I thought we had gotten to a stage now where dressing/presenting yourself slightly different to the majority wasnt a big deal?

Only if how you dress yourself differently conforms to what those in TOWIE or some other foreign TV show dictates, is it acceptable:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I think that many people who take an anti religion stance, do so because it makes them feel "enlightened" and "liberated". I think that these people are blind and stupid. I don't think this because I like religion. I think this because while people are banging on about the evils of religion they fail to recognize that religion, as we know it, is nothing more than a mechanism of control which is being deliberately decommissioned and replaced with an even more powerful mechanism of mass control, i.e media (in all it's forms). The same power structure still exists. They just have newer methods.

The "enlightened" ones will happily ride their high horse on the subject of the teaching of creationism in schools but they will give little thought to the insidious and corrupting ideologies being installed in to the minds of our children through the tv, video games and the internet. They are to stupid to realize that we are no more liberated or enlightened without religion. In fact we are being led well and truly away from liberation and enlightenment and it's media that's doing the leading.

So, ostensibly you're saying that anyone who doesn't believe in god is doing so as some pretentious stance to show their smarter than other people. But in doing so, they are leaving a spiritual void in their lives that is being manipulated by insidious media overlords to enslave them.

You don't get out much, do you…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

So, ostensibly...…

I think you are wrong. More and more people, religious and atheist btw, like to imagine they are free and liberated and enlightened, but in the end are still slaving away to some new ideals, and what he is saying is that while some people celebrate the end of religion as some sort of victory it is but one form of control being used, so in the end you may celebrate winning one battle but you're still losing the war.

prinz wrote: »
    I think you are wrong. More and more people, religious and atheist btw, like to imagine they are free and liberated and enlightened, but in the end are still slaving away to some new ideals, and what he is saying is that while some people celebrate the end of religion as some sort of victory it is but one form of control being used, so in the end you may celebrate winning one battle but you're still losing the war.

What are the new ideals that are going to enslave me? How is media going to capture me beyond giving me a subconscious desire to have a big mac? Why does what I choose to or not to privately believe in terms of spirituality become part of a battle or war?

All I'm getting here is a vague doomsday scenario that I, no matter what I choose to do or believe, will be controlled by some unseen, malignant force. Féck that feces...

It's all the trappings that go with the uniforms that people impose on themselves that makes it all so wearisome. The half-baked ideologies, the weird smells of vanilla essence and the knee-wiggling sincere conversations…

How is media going to capture me beyond giving me a subconscious desire to have a big mac?..

You've pretty much answered your own question there. Big mac, clothes, computer, phone, car, lifestyle, partner.. and on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Telling people your annual salary without being asked is quite vulgar.

But then again, so is asking someone how much they earn.

You've pretty much answered your own question there. Big mac, clothes, computer, phone, car, lifestyle, partner.. and on.....

That part of my answer was a joke… So my wife was chosen for me by media and the multinationals? Give over… although, come to think of it, she does look like a chicken mc nugget when the light hits her a certain way.

People can acquiesce to the pursuit of the latest fads in consumerism if they choose (and it is a choice) but that doesn't mean we are all enslaved to it and just because we pursue one line of spiritual over another does not mean we somehow co-opt ourselves in to mind control by the media. That is the train of thought of the paranoid and the slightly sweaty…

People can acquiesce to the pursuit of the latest fads in consumerism if they choose (and it is a choice) but that doesn't mean we are all enslaved to it ...

Right, so you're one of those who think they are in no way influenced by the media-saturated world we live in. Enjoy, I think I have more time for run_to_da_hills' brand of whackjobbery than the people who claim to be above subconcious conditioning.

I read the websites, newspapers and books and form my opinions based on what I read in these and what I agree or disagree with so yes, it does have an influence on my life but to say then by extension that I'm enslaved by the media is another matter entirely.

Please show me concrete examples of how subconscious conditioning is being applied to my life at this moment.