Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

pred racer wrote: »
    Me too, for 25 years, doesnt mean I agree with what clamping companies do.
    It also doesnt mean i haven't been caught without change from time to time;)
    I'm still waiting for you to explain why you accused me of trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for you to explain why you accused me of trolling.

I'm not going to engage with a keyboard warrior such as yourself, who posts contrary opinions in any parking thread just to stir ****. Ive reported one of your posts, the mods can decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Me too, for 25 years, doesnt mean I agree with what clamping companies do.
    It also doesnt mean i haven't been caught without change from time to time;)

Yeah, but if everyone was like us, clamping companies wouldn't exist! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,193 ✭✭✭✭Stark

For some people, the feeling of helping someone is its own reward. It's not about who wins and who loses from the act. If I give up my seat to let an elderly woman sit down, I don't think "oh she got one over on me".

I'm not going to engage with a keyboard warrior such as youself, who posts contrary opinions in any parking thread just to stir ****. Ive reported one of your posts, the mods can decide.
    Just because you don't like my opinions doesn't make them trolling. Feel free to report my posts, but don't call me a troll if you can't back it up. Not everyone holds the same opinions as you - better get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

@GaryItr can you bring your clamp to the next meet? We can have a declampification class:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

who posts contrary opinions, the mods can decide.

Calling someone a troll is against the charter, so if anyone's getting an infraction it'll be you, and not Anan for daring to have an alternate opinion..

And I'll prolly get one for dragging the tread off topic!!

Stark wrote: »
    For some people, the feeling of helping someone is its own reward. It's not about who wins and who loses from the act. If I give up my seat to let an elderly woman sit down, I don't think "oh she got one over on me".
    What an irrelevant analogy. How does not being bothered to carry change make the OP the 'elderly woman' in this scenario? :D

You know what? I'm driving 23 years and have never been clamped, nor ticketed.

Guess why...
    I have been driving two years, and have been clamped by Apcoa.

But I parked in a spot hoping I would be clamped!

Removing that clamp from my car made my week!

Never heard anything back from the Guards and/or Apcoa!

Edit: For future reference, I have a 700W angle grinder and 1000W 12V power inverter if anyone needs a lend of it for cutting some metal. In or around Blanch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

Stark wrote: »

I see your point alright, I often mow my elderly neighbours lawn, and I never think "how much did that cost me", or "he owes me.... the old fart".

But removing a clamp from someones car...or giving an old lady a seat.

I think they are on different ends of the benevolence scale.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

They put the chain through my wheel so removing it without damage wasn't an option. Didn't stop me though :D

Warning to Anan1: this picture might give you a stroke, look away now!

photon.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭God Father

I'm just telling you how it is. OP saved 50c, and you lot spent your evening under a carvan. But hey, whatever floats your boat. ;)
    But you didn't get one over on them. The OP got one over on you. For 50c..
    It just seems like an awful lot of wasted effort because the OP wasn't bothered having a couple of cents change for the meter. If you'd got someone out of a hole that wasn't caused by their own laziness/meanness then i'd have been first in line to cheer you on.

Absolute rubbish, I returned with change and bought my ticket for 2 euro.

I am very grateful to the lads for helping me out as otherwise my car would still be there now.

I bought ticket at 4:09 missed the clampers by minutes.

602175430.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1340192905&Signature=0HR7NZl7%2FoRHXAyzJkFS%2FgD638k%3D&key=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Lads, enough of the crap on who is up what and who is down what. The real winner here is community spirit as eptomised by a bunch of lads surfing on the net last night and then deciding to help someone in a bit of bother. It's nice to see it still exists and that not everybody will pass you by in a moment of need.

No doubt the OP has learnt a lesson, we all know now where there is 30 mins free parking in Naas, a few people went home feeling they have done their good deed for the day/week and a few hundred of us got a great laugh out of what will prove to be a legendary thread.

Nice one again to all involved. :pac:

Guess why...

You drive a train?

You live on Tory Island? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Hashy Houdini

ignore Anan1 congrats to all of ye on a fine victory i'm delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭choons

Defo a win for Boardsies!

Well done lads :)

God Father wrote: »

I am very grateful to the lads for helping me out as otherwise my car would still be there now.

What's absolute rubbish? These people came out and removed your clamp, which you got for leaving the car for 20 minutes without a ticket. No wonder you're happy!

JUST IGNORE :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭lostboy

question: how is the wheel removed? is there enough play in the chain to get a socket in behind the clamp?

they might start tightening chains then to stop this, but deflate the tire and that problem is solved, or just cut the ****er off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

lostboy wrote: »
    question: how is the wheel removed? is there enough play in the chain to get a socket in behind the clamp?

they might start tightening chains then to stop this, but deflate the tire and that problem is solved, or just cut the ****er off.

It could be done with the wheel on, taking it off just makes it a bit easier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭lostboy

is it removed like that though? i was under the impression for a good while that the chain is wrapped around the tire to make it that bit harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

It could be done with the wheel on, taking it off just makes it a bit easier

Fair play to you lot for going out and helping a boardsie in need :)

One question though, would you not mess up the alignment by taking it off that way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Look, if you enjoyed it that's fair enough, but don't be kidding yourselves you got one over on the clampers. You'd have to keep the clamp for that. As things stand, the OP is the winner here.
    Absolutely, but at your expense and not the clampers. ;)
    Just because you don't like my opinions doesn't make them trolling. Feel free to report my posts, but don't call me a troll if you can't back it up. Not everyone holds the same opinions as you - better get used to it.
    What an irrelevant analogy. How does not being bothered to carry change make the OP the 'elderly woman' in this scenario? :D
    God Father wrote: »

Anan1, You are trolling and your posts have been reported. Clearly all you think is euros and cents, not in the human factor of things. Not everybody always has change with them, there's not always a pay machine nearby, sometimes these pay machines don't work, then you have to go even further and the OP clearly explained, why it took him so long to get change.

Not having a free parking grace period is an absolute disgrace and 20-30 minutes before clamping should be an absolute minimum to allow people buying their ticket. Everything else is rip off !!
    What's absolute rubbish? These people came out and removed your clamp, which you got for leaving the car for 20 minutes without a ticket. No wonder you're happy!

Obviously you're just dissing on people. If you haven't realised it yet, you have zero sympathy here.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Keep trolling and I will ban the clamping apologist.

Marlow wrote: »
    Anan1, You are trolling and your posts have been reported. Clearly all you think is euros and cents, not in the human factor of things. Not everybody always has change with them, there's not always a pay machine nearby, sometimes these pay machines don't work, then you have to go even further and the OP clearly explained, why it took him so long to get change.
    This is nonsense. Like most people, I keep change in the car so as not to get caught out.
    Not having a free parking grace period is an absolute disgrace and 20-30 minutes before clamping should be an absolute minimum to allow people buying their ticket. Everything else is rip off !!
    Even if you didn't have change, it's almost impossible that it would take that long to get some.

Obviously you're just dissing on people. If you haven't realised it yet, you have zero sympathy here.

/M
    No, i'm not. I'm telling you what I think, and i'm explaining why. The fact that you don't like it makes it not a jot less valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

This is nonsense. Like most people, I keep change in the car so as not to get caught out.

Even if you didn't have change, it's almost impossible that it would take that long to get some.

No, i'm not. I'm telling you what I think, and i'm explaining why. The fact that you don't like it makes it not a jot less valid.

586-no-one-cares-not-even-a-little-im-serious.jpg

If you don't care then why answer?

IGNORE IGNORE IGNORE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

You might, but not everybody has at all times and to be honest, you shouldn't have to. Also, the case of the bust parking machine would even catch you out.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Guess why...

You drive a train?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Great thread. It reminds me that a couple of weeks ago I saw a clamp leaning against a no parking sign on Burlington Road. Have you boys been around the city centre???:D