Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

If you read the thread, the OP had no money and was going to the bank. I also doubt parking was as cheap as 50c :rolleyes: Anything to piss off these NCPS **** is a victory in my eyes anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Anan1 wrote: »
    Gary ITR wrote: »
    You really are a miserable sod sometimes. These clampers are bullys, I've seen first hand how aggressive they have been so me hiving up 40 minutes of my time to get one over was well worth it
    I'm just telling you how it is. OP saved 50c, and you lot spend your evening under a carvan. But hey, whatever floats your boat. ;)
    Getting one over a shower of bullys floats my boat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

But you didn't get one over on them. The OP got one over on you. For 50c..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,910 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

How long did it take one clamper to put the clamp on? And how long did it take you lot to get there, remove the wheel, crawl under the car, disassemble the suspension to remove the clamp, put it all back together, go home, and get yourselves cleaned up afterwards? And you think you won?? All you did was save the OP the trouble of carrying a 50c coin to pay for parking in the first place. ;)

Quite an alternative view there! Of course they won.

Clamp company: - €90
    OP: + €90

Not to mention the satisfaction of the outcome.

Whether or not they got one over on the NCPS; the NCPS didn't manage to get one over on the OP which is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Not really Anan.... Clamper had his clamp removed, Lads had the pleasure of pissing off the clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

You really are a miserable sod sometimes. These clampers are bullys, I've seen first hand how aggressive they have been so me hiving up 40 minutes of my time to get one over was well worth it

+1 anytime anyone needs an hour (or several) of my time to put one over on these shysters.......count me in!

mickdw wrote: »
    Quite an alternative view there! Of course they won.

Clamp company: - €90
    OP: + €90

Not to mention the satisfaction of the outcome.
    Dream on - here's how it really is:

The clamp company are down the time it took to fit the clamp.

The OP is up the cost of 20 mins parking.

You lot are down your time and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Anan1, to me this was a bit of crack and helpin out a young lad. It took 20 minutes to do the job but we were there for about an hour and a half talkin ****e and havin the crack. Not waisted time in my eyes. Like gary said they are bullies and some of the stories her prove that especially the one in this thread with the pregnant woman, thats just wrong!

We did get one over on the clampers because they rang the guards and were smug telling me they were on the way but what happened? We all had a joke about it and i have the clamp in the boot and no one got arrested.

Lucky we're not all as misserable as you but i suppose there is always one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Anan1, to me this was a bit of crack and helpin out a young lad. It took 20 minutes to do the job but we were there for about an hour and a half talkin ****e and havin the crack. Not waisted time in my eyes. Like gary said they are bullies and some of the stories her prove that especially the one in this thread with the pregnant woman, thats just wrong!

We did get one over on the clampers because they rang the guards and were smug telling me they were on the way but what happened? We all had a joke about it and i have the clamp in the boot and no one got arrested.

you were making a good point up to the 3rd paragraph..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Dream on - here's how it really is:

The clamp company are down the time it took to fit the clamp.

The OP is up the cost of 20 mins parking.

You lot are down your time and effort.

Dude Seriuosly?

I will go and pay lads few quid each just for removing the clamp, and helping out op when he was in trouble.

It was being nice and showing a huge finger to campers, not about wasted time and money.
    If it would make you feel better, then maybe Gary itr amd Kildare.17hmr can post their PayPal details? Wil drop a few quid just for being gentlemen. I am prety sure a lot of the lads would do same thing. You know, just to compensate for that lost time you on about...

Look, if you enjoyed it that's fair enough, but don't be kidding yourselves you got one over on the clampers. You'd have to keep the clamp for that. As things stand, the OP is the winner here.

Squ wrote: »
    you were making a good point up to the 3rd paragraph..

I think the third paragraph was the best point of all!

I stand by what o said!

As things stand, the OP is the winner here.
    well at least we agree on something

Absolutely, but at your expense and not the clampers. ;)

The waste of the clamper's time is definitely an expense. Time is money and all that ;)

Ether way better than sittin at home watchin tv! I understand what your saying but i dont agree because if you dont think they will feel hard done by you should think again

Look, if you enjoyed it that's fair enough, but don't be kidding yourselves you got one over on the clampers. You'd have to keep the clamp for that. As things stand, the OP is the winner here.

Yes the op is the winner, helped by some new friends that were kind enough to give him a dig out. And as the clampers didnt get €90, had to pay the driver and all other associated costs, its OP 1 - clampers 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

I am slightly relieved that I was not the only one who thought like Anan1, but I didn't feel like posting my thoughts earlier cos of the "bring it on".

Kudos to everyone involved. You each did a really nice thing, acted within the law etc. But in reality, it was a "one off".

Is anyone really going to keep up this sort of momentum, night after night, night after night?

Much as I dislike Clampers, I would rather pay and display, than have my suspension dismantled.

Even if my car was clamped, I'd find it easier to ring up the clampers and unlock it, rather than work on the car in the street. I'm not agreeing with Clampers one bit, nor disagreeing with anything that was done here, just looking at it from the facts....just like Anan1......:cool:

Well, you have clearly never been illegally clamped by the NCPS.

Its not a once off, between the lads who came to help last night i think we have done it 7 times!

Ether way better than sittin at home watchin tv! I understand what your saying but i dont agree because if you dont think they will feel hard done by you should think again
    It just seems like an awful lot of wasted effort because the OP wasn't bothered having a couple of cents change for the meter. If you'd got someone out of a hole that wasn't caused by their own laziness/meanness then i'd have been first in line to cheer you on.

You're just trolling now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

You know what? I'm driving 23 years and have never been clamped, nor ticketed.

Guess why...

pred racer wrote: »
    You're just trolling now!
    Explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

Its not a once off, between the lads who came to help last night i think we have done it 7 times!

Well fair play for that. I'm being honest.
    I just don't see how someone could keep doing that time after time, unless it was their own or their mates vehicle.

I'm not trying to be awkward with you guys, just thinking about the whole episode. Dont get me wrong, If it was my mate, I'd probably be out helping too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Guess why...

You're a TD?

Guess why...

Me too, for 25 years, doesnt mean I agree with what clamping companies do.
    It also doesnt mean i haven't been caught without change from time to time;)