Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Hashy Houdini

Pa Dee wrote: »
    Be prepared. Have change for parking with you like everyone else. Consider this a lesson well learned for the future

get up out of that you righteous twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Removing a private clamp is like liberating an oppressed people against an occupying force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bigpoppa

Yes. Yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

champagne.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

If you need A bolt cutters I'll meet you half way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Ill be done by the time he gets here! Bummerboy is here too now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Removing a private clamp is like liberating an oppressed people against an occupying force.
    History is written by the victors.
    Get away with it and ye will be high fiving each other in haydens.
    Get caught and ye'll be on p5 of the kildare champion as vandals caught in the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭God Father

ah pulling my hair out here waiting on my lift to finish eating dinner! i'll be there in 10mins

Keep your eye on bummer boy would be my advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Squ wrote: »
    Get caught and ye'll be on p5 of the kildare champion an vandals caught in the act.

But if they don't damage the clamp, where's the vandalism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

AltAccount wrote: »
    I'm loving this thread, and I'm glad to see the clampers get an F You, but seriously....

You're in a carpark beside Tescos (who have an ATM according to their website), behind Maxol (who AFAIK also have an ATM), and you come on with a story about not being able to get money/change without leaving your car unattended for 20 mins?

Have the courage of your convictions, admit you were chancing it, and you're not paying it. Seriously...

Read again, he was getting cash from the teller.
    I remember those student days, when i didnt have enough in the bank to use the atm:P

(btw you're probably right, but i just dont care:D vigilante declampification FTW)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

MugMugs wrote: »
    Squ wrote: »
    Get caught and ye'll be on p5 of the kildare champion an vandals caught in the act.

But if they don't damage the clamp, where's the vandalism?
    Joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

This is hilarious, fair play lads! So tempted to pop over and join the ranks :D We should gather a boards.ie task team in every town to help out whenever this happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Legends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Justin10

I know its not an offence to remove the clamp without damaging it but it is a Civil offence to not pay the fine?
    Is that correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

This is hilarious, fair play lads! So tempted to pop over and join the ranks :D We should gather a boards.ie task team in every town to help out whenever this happens!
    I loves it when a plan comes together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Rochey18 wrote: »
    I know its not an offence to remove the clamp without damaging it but it is a Civil offence to not pay the fine?
    Is that correct?
    NCPS have no legal power as a private company to fine anyone. So no offence civil or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Rega

I loves it when a plan comes together.

You'll need this

smart-a-team-e1267484057344.jpg

NCPS have no legal power as a private company to fine anyone. So no offence civil or otherwise.
    Theres an interesting article on it in one of the Irish legal journals... can't remember the name/isue though, would you have read it yourself?

The mod over on the law forum wrote it if I remember correctly

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Is that correct?
    As Our man in Havana said above, they have no right to fine you.

It would be the same as me getting on you car while you go into a shop etc, and demanding €100+ for me to get off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

God Father wrote: »
    ah pulling my hair out here waiting on my lift to finish eating dinner! i'll be there in 10mins

Take your time, if you get back to your car and find somebody else has removed the clamp from your car, with no assistance from you, you're probably about as "in the clear" as you could possibly be!

Theres an interesting article on it in one of the Irish legal journals... can't remember the name/isue though, would you have read it yourself?

The mod over on the law forum wrote it if I remember correctly
    Law Society Gazette March 2011, pg 30 - 33

http://www.lawsociety.ie/Documents/Gazette/Gazette%202011/march2011.pdf

Haven't read it all, but the final, concluding paragraph says
    It appears, therefore, that there are legal difficulties in engaging in the practice of private clamping under Irish law, given that the defence of voluntary assumption of risk has been virtually abolished.

Take your time, if you get back to your car and find somebody else has removed the clamp from your car, with no assistance from you, you're probably about as "in the clear" as you could possibly be!
    Unless your subsequently clamped a second time :)

bigpoppa wrote: »
    Unless your subsequently clamped a second time :)

What if kildare.17hmr unclamps the car, then reclamps it with his own lock and demands double the unclamping fee?

This could get messy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

What if kildare.17hmr unclamps the car, then reclamps it with his own lock and demands double the unclamping fee?

This could get messy...
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

The force is strong with these ones!!!!

Oh god I only now peeked in to this thread!!! Go on boards vandals!!!!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

This could get messy...

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Come on lads. Update!!!

Clamp watch!!