Women enjoying a drink in the pub alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Believe me when I say, they can reject a man like no other...so of course you can if you can handle it ;)

Ah I'm messin, sure I love yis all!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Varied wrote: »
    Can we swap the Irish women for the Latin wans then?!?!

:pac::pac:

I joke I joke.

hold on to your bank balance young man, hold on to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

VEN wrote: »
    they're not exactly loyal though, i hear promiscuity is rife in these parts. shocking in fact. not for mise, better to be safe than sorry and all that :)

Not sure what that has got to do with this topic though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

py2006 wrote: »
    I agree to a certain extent. On paper, if a
    girl is a total bitch to you because she doesn't find you attractive you should be able to shrug your shoulders.

The example of the 18yr old me wasnt about chasing sex from a strange girl. I knew of her and liked her from a far.

Not all guys jump from girl to girl looking for a one night stand. The 'bad guys' (as they call them). Funny how a lot of girls go for them too!

I never said ALL guys. Nothing wrong with chatting up someone for sex though....nothing bad about it but it should be seen as a bit of fun and not taken so personally when a girl rejects you. She didn't fancy you. Big swing. You can't win them all....

So the 18yr old rejected you in a nasty way? Did she seem open to your advances? Also....18. People grow up and get some sense. I'd never compare how I treated people then to how I treat them now at 32 years of age. I was never a total bitch but my attitude has changed a lot in 14 years.

We vaguely knew each other and in a group I made he effort to talk to her. It must have been obvious I liked her. Anyway she basically turned her back. I was nothing but nice to her.

Anyway, yea we were 18. Women in their 30s don't really have the attitude you offen see with the younger girls.

We vaguely knew each other and in a group I made he effort to talk to her. It must have been obvious I liked her. Anyway she basically turned her back. I was nothing but nice to her.

Anyway, yea we were 18. Women in their 30s don't really have the attitude you offen see with the younger girls.

You said before you like younger women though. I suppose you have to accept what comes with that if that's what you're into...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'm not very nice.
    I just glare at them until they go away usually, unless they seem to actually want to just chat and not pick me up.
    Not my fault if they don't see the wedding ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I've travelled a fair bit already and to countries where men have no qualms about chatting up women and taking rejection on the chin....mainly Latin cultures.

That's because male sexuality is not considered as predatory in those places. I've spoken to a few Latin/Hispanic guys who say that women here have all the power. One guy told me he couldn't believe how afraid Irish men are to approach women. It's ridiculous, we make such a song and dance about it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    That's because male sexuality is not considered as predatory in those places.
    Not by the men anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Varied wrote: »
    That's a great reason to be a **** to the lad. :rolleyes:

A simple "no thanks I'm not interested". Don't be a twat about it.

Don't put words in my mouth.

Nowhere did I say it was a reason to be a 'twat'.

Not sure what that has got to do with this topic though :confused:

think of a bee, going from flower to flower, several flowers. these bees take it on the chin of course, sure why not? theres many flowers, different flowers every week. i'd hate to be the flower.

Far too often we hear the "grow a pair" response to men's woes!

What exactly do you expect, given that women have posted experiences on this thread about being harassed and abused despite being polite, and your response (and that of some others) is "oh get over the princess complex nobody would be harassing you"?

That's because male sexuality is not considered as predatory in those places. I've spoken to a few Latin/Hispanic guys who say that women here have all the power. One guy told me he couldn't believe how afraid Irish men are to approach women. It's ridiculous, we make such a song and dance about it here.

because we're pale and ugly, they don't want us anymore unless we've benefits it might help. i blame the TV. its hard to meet someone now who loves you for who you are not what you have. the funny thing is though, its the love, the person that outlives the benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Giselle wrote: »
    Don't put words in my mouth.

Nowhere did I say it was a reason to be a 'twat'.

Sorry, I was speaking in general, not you. :)

bluewolf wrote: »
    Far too often we hear the "grow a pair" response to men's woes!

What exactly do you expect, given that women have posted experiences on this thread about being harassed and abused despite being polite, and your response (and that of some others) is "oh get over the princess complex nobody would be harassing you"?

Whooo!! Hold on a sec there buddy! I said nothing of the sort. I merely mentioned one of the reasons some women dont drink alone is because of they belive they are really hot and will be chatted up too much or they feel awkward.

I've seen women harassed by tossers alright

That's because male sexuality is not considered as predatory in those places.

Ehhh.....you couldn't be further from the truth...Latin men? Not predatory?? In a nightclub in Chile who stuck his hand up my skirt and grabbed my crotch. In Brazil I had men coming behind men grabbing in a bear hug and I had to wriggle my way from them telling. Not so bad here in Spain but the approach in Latin America is the very definition of predatory in some countries (I spent a year there).

think of a bee, going from flower to flower, several flowers. these bees take it on the chin of course, sure why not? theres many flowers, different flowers every week. i'd hate to be the flower.

I'm the flower and no problems so far. :)

because we're pale and ugly, they don't want us anymore unless we've benefits it might help. i blame the TV. its hard to meet someone now who loves you for who you are not what you have. the funny thing is though, its the love, the person that outlives the benefits.

God, would you ever stop going on like that? I have a group of very good looking Irish friends (two of them have worked as models) and you know what? None of their boyfriends are particularly handsome and most don't have much money either.

If you really believe most women are only interested in good looks and money, you're meeting the wrong type or you're making excuses. Stop feeling sorry for yourself and look at the real reasons you're not successful with women.

I'm the flower and no problems so far. :)

i admire your self respect :)

Getting back to the original point...

I'm in a pub on my own right now. There is a woman on her own across from me and nobody is batting an eyelid. Fair play to her

The only reason I noticed her is because of this thread!

i admire your self respect :)

In that my boyfriend is latin and he hasn't cheated. You're making zero sense now. Off ye pop :rolleyes:

I'm in a pub on my own right now. There is a woman on her own across from me and nobody is baring an eyelid. Fair play to her

Go and talk to her! I'm sure she'd love that! Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

What's a nice girl like you doing in a place like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I think it's kind of taboo where I live. I s'pose it depends on the pub, I don't know which ones are hookey-up places so I don't go, but I like the idea of being able to pass the time when going to meet a friend later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'm in a pub on my own right now. There is a woman on her own across from me and nobody is batting an eyelid. Fair play to her

Fair play to her for what? Existing? Go pat her on the head while you're at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Ehhh.....you couldn't be further from the truth...Latin men? Not predatory?? In a nightclub in Chile who stuck his hand up my skirt and grabbed my crotch. In Brazil I had men coming behind men grabbing in a bear hug and I had to wriggle my way from them telling. Not so bad here in Spain but the approach in Latin America is the very definition of predatory in some countries (I spent a year there).

Yes but that's exactly what I mean. It's more acceptable there and the women put up with it. In other words the men have the power there.

Shryke wrote: »

Fair play to her for what? Existing? Go pat her on the head while you're at it.

Fair play to her because she doesn't have the stuck up attitude of some women. She is having a drink and not being harassed in any way!!

Yes but that's exactly what I mean. It's more acceptable there and the women put up with it. In other words the men have the power there.

Women put up with it?? Have you ever experienced the wrath of a Latin woman before??

Fair play to her because she doesn't have the stuck up attitude of some women. She is having a drink and not being harassed in any way!!

That makes zero sense.

I've seen women harassed by tossers alright

yep only tossers harass, and i've seen tossers win with their ridiculously shallow charm. nowadays i don't look at a woman when out, even during the day, on the street. some love attention but i've learned not to give it, not to feed their ego. i see many that can have a look on their face that would stop a bus, scary. how could you approach that? the talk of all this lack of self confidence in men, eh hold on till i put on my bravest fake tan mask, my fake eyelash and push ups and walk out the door with my head up high AND get asked out while i'm waiting at the bus stop.

That makes zero sense.

Sometimes I think you don't like any post from men at all.

This thread is about women having a drink on their own and the potential of being harassed. In the right bar surrounded my decent people this is not the case.