If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I can't believe there are still Northern Irish people like this.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 140 ✭✭nizo888

Spent more than six months working in Belfast last year and I had no problems and I've a thick enough Dublin accent.

Didn't venture much into the known flashpoint areas though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

Eddie Irvine used the tricolour until his family got death threats from Loyalists.
    Not quite, the Union Flag was used initially, but on one of his early races the Irish Tricolour was used by mistake. He asked for a neutral flag (like Barry McGuigan used) to be flown but the FIA refused. I thought too that his family were intimated by loyalists over this issue, but I can't find a reference at the mo. He certainly didn't want to use the Tricolour all the time, however; another possibility was alternating flags.
    Rory McIlroy snubbed the tricolour and the red hand flag.

I have seen footage of his father waving the red hand flag - probably best to avoid that really - flag waving like that isn't good for his image.

its fair to say some unionists are a bit not right

And it's fair to say the same about some nationalists. Your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Protestant behind enemy lines

Richard wrote: »
    Not quite, the Union Flag was used initially, but on one of his early races the Irish Tricolour was used by mistake. He asked for a neutral flag (like Barry McGuigan used) to be flown but the FIA refused. I thought too that his family were intimated by loyalists over this issue, but I can't find a reference at the mo. He certainly didn't want to use the Tricolour all the time, however; another possibility was alternating flags.

I have seen footage of his father waving the red hand flag - probably best to avoid that really - flag waving like that isn't good for his image.
    Lucky for Rory though, there is a freedom to be able to hold what flag you want. Hopefully he isn't intimidated to abandon his political views.

forfuxsake wrote: »
    The Miami Showband found them very nice too, until they started shooting. In reality most of them today are as nice as any other Police Force, in the past they were not. This is why the UDR and the RUC were disbanded.

The UDR was incorporated into the Royal Irish Regiment, whilst the RUC became "Police Service of Northern Ireland (incorporating the Royal Ulster Constabulary)".

Lucky for Rory though, there is a freedom to be able to hold what flag you want. Hopefully he isn't intimidated to abandon his political views.

No, but whatever your political feelings, political wisdom is going to tell you that waving the Ulster Banner is going to alienate some of your fans.

Imagine the outcry that there would be if another Northern Irish golfer or his family started waving the tricolour about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,602 ✭✭✭✭briany

Richard wrote: »
    No, but whatever your political feelings, political wisdom is going to tell you that waving the Ulster Banner is going to alienate some of your fans.

Imagine the outcry that there would be if another Northern Irish golfer or his family started waving the tricolour about.

Not as likely to happen because golf's a relatively cultured game and the people involved in it not so apt to be drawn into sectarianism which is lucky because when the bullets run out, a 9 iron could be used as a weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

briany wrote: »
    Not as likely to happen because golf's a relatively cultured game and the people involved in it not so apt to be drawn into sectarianism which is lucky because when the bullets run out, a 9 iron could be used as a weapon.

How exactly is that sectarian?

A bad choice maybe, but certainly not an expression of sectarian views.

How exactly is that sectarian?

A bad choice maybe, but certainly not an expression of sectarian views.

The waving of a flag is not necessarily sectarian but it certainly wouldn't be a big leap for the act to be taken that way by some whichever flag they decide to wave. I say fair play to any Northern Irish sportsman who can sidestep the issue of identifying with one community or the other and just get on with his profession with minimal drama.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

As for me, I've never really heard any sectarian slurs in the Nationalist community.

Never opened your ears dring a match against rangers or England? During the troubles, I sometimes heard comments like " another black protestant b****d gone" expressed with glee by some nationalists / republicans / PIRA sympathisers if/when they heard another UDR or RUC man was shot. Everyone else heard sectarian comments from some nationalists, especially after a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

true wrote: »
    During the troubles, I sometimes heard comments like " another black protestant b****d gone" expressed with glee by some nationalists / republicans / PIRA sympathisers if/when they heard another UDR or RUC man was shot. Everyone else heard sectarian comments from some nationalists, especially after a few pints.

I've never heard the term "black protestant b*****d".
    Surely if a Catholic "Black B*****d" was killed that would be the same if not more welcomed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Some great whataboutery going on now?

Going back to the OP, why is OWC.co.uk a private site? Ybig.ie is public to everyone and anyone to view!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

I am old enough to remember the troubles as we tend to call them, I always thought it was an economic problem rather than a political one. Most people involved with paramilitary groups on both sides were poor working class people from estates that in the south or in England would see them in prison as members of some criminal gang.
    Most people had more in common with each other but the Unionist middle class kept the divide in place, the old divide and conquer principle.
    I don,t think you will ever have a normal society in the north to be honest, the two governments are happy that soldiers and policemen are not being killed and the bombs have stopped. Apart from that if you live in a poor estate in the north I don't think you got much out of the peace process.

Sad really been to the north a few times, once stayed in Derry for an Easter weekend playing hurling, put up by a family in the bog side, they had feck all but we're the nicest people you could wish to meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

irish-stew wrote: »
    As for scotish and english football. In terms of the UK, they are the mainland.
    And not just for NI fans. Most ROI folks don't give a toss and know even less about Irish football, but cram the pubs and planes to watch teams from Birmingham, Glasgow, Manchester and London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Never opened your ears dring a match against rangers or England? During the troubles, I sometimes heard comments like " another black protestant b****d gone" expressed with glee by some nationalists / republicans / PIRA sympathisers if/when they heard another UDR or RUC man was shot. Everyone else heard sectarian comments from some nationalists, especially after a few pints.

This is a strange one. One could only know such detail unless they were a regular follower of Rangers or Celtic as Ireland rarely played England in soccer over the last 30 years. Curious, which side you support?

I know of and Ireland v England game in the 5 nations in 1972 where the Irish crowd gave England a standing ovation before the game even started. And rightly so, under the threat of violence from the PIRA the England team still travelled unlike their Scottish and Welsh counterparts.

Also the title to the thread is can't believe there are still people like this today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

I wont bother with the 'us' and 'them' arguments.
    Deedsie wrote: »
    I know of and Ireland v England game in the 5 nations in 1972 where the Irish crowd gave England a standing ovation before the game even started. And rightly so, under the threat of violence from the PIRA the England team still travelled unlike their Scottish and Welsh counterparts.

However, on a football related matter, I'm not sure this is the case Deedsie. I have a notion that there were a number of years at the start of the troubles where there was no international matches in Belfast. The reason I say this is that I recall as a kid going to see Northern Ireland play Yugoslavia (possibly 1975), and from memory it was the first international match to be played in Belfast since 1971 when the USSR had played. I'm open to correction though.

As regards 1972, that was actually a famous Northern Ireland victory over Engalnd at Wembley - Terry Neill scored the winner in a 1-0 win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I wont bother with the 'us' and 'them' arguments.

However, on a football related matter, I'm not sure this is the case Deedsie. I have a notion that there were a number of years at the start of the troubles where there was no international matches in Belfast. The reason I say this is that I recall as a kid going to see Northern Ireland play Yugoslavia (possibly 1975), and from memory it was the first international match to be played in Belfast since 1971 when the USSR had played. I'm open to correction though.

As regards 1972, that was actually a famous Northern Ireland victory over Engalnd at Wembley - Terry Neill scored the winner in a 1-0 win.
    It was a Five Nations game - rugby. The English were hammered, and at the after-match dinner that evening, the captain said 'we may be rubbish, but at least we turn up'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

It was a Five Nations game - rugby. The English were hammered, and at the after-match dinner that evening, the captain said 'we may be rubbish, but at least we turn up'.

Apologies to Deedsie - just noticed that - thanks Monty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

gurramok wrote: »
    This is a strange one. One could only know such detail unless they were a regular follower of Rangers or Celtic as Ireland rarely played England in soccer over the last 30 years. Curious, which side you support?

But gurramok, if you were a bitter sectarian Catholic wouldn't it be smart to post like this? Could be misconstrued to represent an unfortunate element of unionist society...
    Or you could just be a not very smart bitter sectarian Protestant.

Smart and sectarian don't seem to go well together though.

But that poster is a southerner. Phew! I would sure hate to offend anyone. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Believe it OP. Still loads of bitter mofos up North.

Going back to the OP, why is OWC.co.uk a private site? Ybig.ie is public to everyone and anyone to view!

I think the members are worried people will get to read their views or perhaps they just dont want to be trolled by their nationalist counterparts? I am not sure!

Either way, the views on that site seem to bother people. Maybe the IFA should look into it.

I think the members are worried people will get to read their views or perhaps they just dont want to be trolled by their nationalist counterparts? I am not sure!

Either way, the views on that site seem to bother people. Maybe the IFA should look into it.

Posters on YBIG regard NI with casual disdain and/or regard them as insignificant except for their underage setup sometimes providing RoI with quality players and discussions about NI are relatively few while the subject of the RoI team is never far from the fingertips of posters on OWC who are burning up over the question of player eligiblity and frequently accuse the FAI of openly carrying out a sectarian campaign to destroy football for all in NI so I'm not surprised there are some more extreme opinions on that site but to be fair, could we say that it wouldn't be the same on YBIG if the show were on the other foot?

briany wrote: »
    Posters on YBIG regard NI with casual disdain and/or regard them as insignificant except for their underage setup sometimes providing RoI with quality players and discussions about NI are relatively few while the subject of the RoI team is never far from the fingertips of posters on OWC who are burning up over the question of player eligiblity and frequently accuse the FAI of openly carrying out a sectarian campaign to destroy football for all in NI so I'm not surprised there are some more extreme opinions on that site but to be fair, could we say that it wouldn't be the same on YBIG if the show were on the other foot?

Whatever way you look at it... There are more important things in life than soccer. Any attempts to block someone's right to choose their nationality should be an issue for the Northern Ireland assembly. This site is a forum for people to create an atmosphere where people think its ok to dictate the rights of others to choose their nationality.

I don't care about them slagging the ROI team, that is natural enough. The very same as Ireland fans attitude to France after the playoff incident or Holland, Belgium or Turkey after the playoff incidents...

I don't think you would find anyone insulting the French, Dutch, Belgian or Turkish or for that matter British people on ybig.ie...

I am confident the Irish people are a legitimate target on owc... That's a step beyond acceptable in my view. Sites like this and obviously if there are counter Irish supporter sites they should be policed.

The Internet is a great tool for bigots and prejudiced people all over the world to air their disturbing views. I'd rather Seán Sherlock et al focused on this rather than copyright infringement...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

I just cannot believe the arrogance of some posters in relation to their people across the border. Its sickening to see such contempt for people in their own country and the lack of understanding they have for the injustices they suffered, when only a hundred years ago, their ancestors went through the same ordeals.

Whatever way you look at it... There are more important things in life than soccer. Any attempts to block someone's right to choose their nationality should be an issue for the Northern Ireland assembly. This site is a forum for people to create an atmosphere where people think its ok to dictate the rights of others to choose their nationality.

I don't care about them slagging the ROI team, that is natural enough. The very same as Ireland fans attitude to France after the playoff incident or Holland, Belgium or Turkey after the playoff incidents...

I don't think you would find anyone insulting the French, Dutch, Belgian or Turkish or for that matter British people on ybig.ie...

I am confident the Irish people are a legitimate target on owc... That's a step beyond acceptable in my view. Sites like this and obviously if there are counter Irish supporter sites they should be policed.

The Internet is a great tool for bigots and prejudiced people all over the world to air their disturbing views. I'd rather Seán Sherlock et al focused on this rather than copyright infringement...

Yes it's true the issue of a person's right to choose their nationality goes far beyond the remit of a soccer forum although I wouldn't say posters on OWC were trying to block anything because they have no power to, they were and are having a big moan about it though. It is also true that there are things bigger than soccer which is why the NI assembly shouldn't question a player's right to identify as an Irish citizen if he so chooses although I think the issue of the FAI/IFA dispute was raised there at least once and it's an issue that could lead down some thorny avenues.

A lot of NI fans talk about football for all, their pride in it, maybe their own personal role in it and then take a very negative stance toward the RoI team. That isn't smart because some of what they say will feed into that idea of a team that only represents one side of the community and it will not help to entice nationalist/catholic players to the NI team if they're showing a lot of bitterness and vitriol toward the team many of those said players have grown up supporting to an extent. It would be better to take a policy of neutrality toward the RoI team/FAI as much as possible and channel that energy into trying to sort grievances through official channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

This is generally what happens to any small, insular tribe. The amish though, hah, they're eh, hahaha.........Ahaha........BAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA....hahahaha....hehehe...oh man. To much fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭omgitsthelazor

Was looking through the site again today and found the "Happy St Patricks Day" (suggested irony) thread and thought this'd be good. :rolleyes:

Some comments from it below:

"God bless the BBC, great thinking to put Cromwell on BBC2 on St Patricks Day, always remind those bog trotters who is boss"

"yes, same to you. Sing a few rebel songs and it'll be great craic"

"Pray for the heavens to open and go to the pub, you'll feel much better for it on Sunday morning no matter how raging a hangover you have. "

"I'm hoping for tornado's and flash floods"

"Should be fine in Newtownards, we get over-whelmed by our indifference to St Patrick, Wont be a tri-colour, Gaa top or shamrock in sight"

Not one bit surprising, but don't you know there'll be similar threads on other sites making disparaging comments about the Orange order and their activities.

Basically all the cultural differences between the two will be commented on by the other.

I do agree though OWC is a very dodgy site for what it gets away with... I honestly think sectarian comments on either side should be monitored by the PSNI & the Gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Not one bit surprising, but don't you know there'll be similar threads on other sites making disparaging comments about the Orange order and their activities.

Criticizing the OO is hardly the same.