Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Fiona wrote: »
    00:16.1 in maniac mode it's too easy!

Way too easy...

205335.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

Right my hand is about to fall off I need to step away from the bubble wrap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jaysus! Imagine he came back with the same name, we'd all be baked off our faces :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You popped 196 bubbles
    in 1 minute and 31.6 seconds
    without using Manic Mode!

Schoolboy carry on! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Somebody came up to look at my 924 that I put up for sale. When to start her and the battery was flat :pac:
    Did you get it going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Somebody came up to look at my 924 that I put up for sale. When to start her and the battery was flat :pac:

Thats a sign to keep it if ever there was one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Dannyboy1987

Lads Nct fail today on diesel 1.6td smoke reading to high any suggestions ? :mad:

I just bought me some motor insurance and for the first in my life I opted for a policy that cost more with better coverage. must be getting old!!

The driving other cars extension actually has me covered for fully comp. Thats new to me. Used to be tpo. Is that a common enough thing now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Ordered a stereo fitting kit and speaker adapters from caraudidirect.co.uk on the 28th april. Emailed them last thursday asking where they were, got an email back saying they were due in stock that friday. Still no sign so emailed again and just told theyre due in today and that ill have them next almost a month after ordering them.What a bull**** service

Planning a second motor related break away, who needs the sun when you can have cars instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Ordered a stereo fitting kit and speaker adapters from caraudidirect.co.uk on the 28th april. Emailed them last thursday asking where they were, got an email back saying they were due in stock that friday. Still no sign so emailed again and just told theyre due in today and that ill have them next almost a month after ordering them.What a bull**** service

I've used them before and never had any issues!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Jemmy wrote: »
    Planning a second motor related break away, who needs the sun when you can have cars instead :D

Where are ye off to? I'm still thinking of doing a roadtrip around Norway in July, the place is so expensive but the thoughts of mountain roads and coastline and getting lost is just too tempting. Couldn't do it in the rex either which is kinda putting me off.

jenizzle wrote: »
    Where are ye off to? I'm still thinking of doing a roadtrip around Norway in July, the place is so expensive but the thoughts of mountain roads and coastline and getting lost is just too tempting. Couldn't do it in the rex either which is kinda putting me off.

Oh that would be an amazing trip, nothing as exciting as that! You're right though couldn't really do it in the Rex, would you buy something else or hire something?

Going to head to Anglesey for the ITCC rounds in June, same wknd as my birthday so good excuse! Still a bit up in the air though nothing booked for def yet. People pulling out :rolleyes: I'll get away somewhere though, wknd around the Donegal roads even!

Thinking about going to JAE in UK in September now too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

BDJW wrote: »
    I've used them before and never had any issues!

I have too and apart from slow delivery they were fine. This lack of emails and delay is poor though

PCH for the win ladies!

Sun and scenery in a V8 with your the top down. :)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    PCH for the win ladies!

Sun and scenery in a V8 with your the top down. :)

Someday, someday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Jimdagym wrote: »
    I just bought me some motor insurance and for the first in my life I opted for a policy that cost more with better coverage. must be getting old!!

The driving other cars extension actually has me covered for fully comp. Thats new to me. Used to be tpo. Is that a common enough thing now?

AXA, at least, upgrade it to fully comp after you've been with them for three years.

Jemmy wrote: »
    Oh that would be an amazing trip, nothing as exciting as that! You're right though couldn't really do it in the Rex, would you buy something else or hire something?

Going to head to Anglesey for the ITCC rounds in June, same wknd as my birthday so good excuse! Still a bit up in the air though nothing booked for def yet. People pulling out :rolleyes: I'll get away somewhere though, wknd around the Donegal roads even!

Thinking about going to JAE in UK in September now too :D

Just book yourself in to go, and wait for others to make up their minds :D

I'll be doing a car hire jobby. I like driving holidays though, gives you much more freedom to stay in the bogarse of nowhere and not have to go into cities etc. I've never gone with anyone else though, it probably wouldn't end well as I like to veer off onto sideroads on a whim :pac:

Someday, someday...

Once you get over there it's not that expensive of a trip. Car hire is cheap, fuel is cheap, beer and food is reasonable, you can find some really nice boutique hotels in the likes of Monterey and Santa Barbara for small money. Scenery is breathtaking. ;)

I've never gone with anyone else though, it probably wouldn't end well as I like to veer off onto sideroads on a whim :pac:

Ha yea that happened me in New Zealand, got bored of main roads & pottered off down county roads, the 2 girls weren't impressed when we ended up going over a mountain with S bends!! Loved it though! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

went to view the glanza... so so so utterly disappointed :(.

photos and advert description seemed sound. car didn't look too abused as glanzas go, fresh timing belt and only done 100kms since its NCT test. Rang the owner and seemed like a pleasant chap.

Rock up at the house, car switched on it the yard ticking over with the keys locked in it and the logbook clearly visible in the drivers door pocket. rang the owner, said he was on his way home, he said the battery was flat from lying up, fair enough i suppose if a little risky/ unusual.

bodywork wasn't amazing, one or two decent scuffs that weren't visible in the photos, the sale is still salvagable.

any paperwork to prove the timing belt and service being done? no. "but its written on the timing cover", lord jaysus.

he shows me the timing cover, and the engine and bay look as if they have had rusty water poured all over them, from a "thermostat change" he says.

can i drive it? "no, but i'l take you for a drive in it". at this stage i was ready to walk.

why are you selling it i asked? "driving ban" he says

he then proceeds to get in and give it a good solid rev to show off the blow off valve, then switches to high boost and revs it even harder.

then says he wont take less than 1650 (advertised at 1800)

i'm really upset because of from the sheer volume of glanzas for sale i thought i picked a genuine one to view. the only consolation is that it was only a 20 minute drive away and i didn't cross the country for it.

andyseadog wrote: »

photos and advert description seemed sound. car didn't look too abused as glanzas go, fresh timing belt and only done 100kms since its NCT test. Rang the owner and seemed like a pleasant chap.

Rock up at the house, car switched on it the yard ticking over with the keys locked in it and the logbook clearly visible in the drivers door pocket. rang the owner, said he was on his way home, he said the battery was flat from lying up, fair enough i suppose if a little risky/ unusual.

bodywork wasn't amazing, one or two decent scuffs that weren't visible in the photos, the sale is still salvagable.

any paperwork to prove the timing belt and service being done? no. "but its written on the timing cover", lord jaysus.

he shows me the timing cover, and the engine and bay look as if they have had rusty water poured all over them, from a "thermostat change" he says.

can i drive it? "no, but i'l take you for a drive in it". at this stage i was ready to walk.

he then proceeds to get in and give it a good solid rev to show off the blow off valve, then switches to high boost and revs it even harder.

i'm really upset because of from the sheer volume of glanzas for sale i thought i picked a genuine one to view. the only consolation is that it was only a 20 minute drive away and i didn't cross the country for it.

Thats a shame but thankfully you didn't go too far. Seems to be a new thing that sellers aren't letting potential buyers drive the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

hey guys,
    Im getting a constant squeaking noise coming from the front passenger side wheel. It goes away with the slightest touch of the brake but is constantly there, very high pitched squeak. Any ideas whats causing this? cheers :)

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Thats a shame but thankfully you didn't go too far. Seems to be a new thing that sellers aren't letting potential buyers drive the car

If they're not insured I can't blame them really.

If, but it wasnt mentioned that he was asked.

If selling I'd look for proof of insurance, if they have that then I'm happy. If not then I can understand but I wouldn't just flat out refuse when asked

Gary ITR wrote: »
    If selling I'd look for proof of insurance, if they have that then I'm happy. If not then I can understand but I wouldn't just flat out refuse when asked

Couldn't agree with you more and fcuked if I'd buy a car without driving it. You know what I was getting at though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

andyseadog wrote: »

Sounds like most galanzas to be honest. I cant remember the last time I saw one that was not abused or in near original condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You guys may have seen that I left very suddenly yesterday. Things were said, I've forgiven and forgot, I've moved on from that now. The past day, I was talking to a few of the members (who will remain nameless;)) in PM. they advised me not to close my account. But per usual, I didn't listen and took a notion and closed it. But them messages I was sent, they didn't seem to make much sense at first. But I went for a midnight drive tonight and the more I thought about what I was told, it made perfect sense. I will be honest, I really didn't think id miss ye guys. But as soon as I closed the account, I really did miss ye all. So I'm back now for good for this time. If ye will have me back in the Motors form, that is? And sorry to ye for all this drama.
    Thanks for yer time.

also, don't ask about the new username, just the first thing that came to mind. :pac:

Midnight drives can work wonders sometimes...

But seriously, good to have you back man the place was much quieter without ya! :p

Couldn't agree with you more and fcuked if I'd buy a car without driving it. You know what I was getting at though. ;)

Yeah you were just trying to get one over on me :pac: