Travellers street racing with horses, Gardai involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

micropig wrote: »

Anyway, to stop the race the Gardai should just have formed a roadblock up ahead, instead of trying to be like Starksy & Hutch:D

How do you form a roadblock accross 4 lanes using 1 car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

How do you form a roadblock accross 4 lanes using 1 car?

This might blow your mind altogether but park the car sidewards across 2 lanes and the 2 Gardai in the car get out and stand on the road with their hand in the air to signal Stop..at least it would have stopped traffic in the other direction from heading straight in to the race. Had they any cones in the boot of the car? Also, there the Gardai in Mallow have more than one car and 2 Gardai ;)

http://aardvarkian.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/gardabreakfastroll.gif

This might blow your mind altogether but park the car sidewards across 2 lanes and the 2 Gardai in the car get out and stand on the road with their hand in the air to signal Stop..at least it would have stopped traffic in the other direction from heading straight in to the race. Had they any cones in the boot of the car? Also, there the Gardai in Mallow have more than one car and 2 Gardai ;)

http://aardvarkian.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/gardabreakfastroll.gif

Nice for the Gardai In mallow, but it happened 20 miles away, in the area covered by Gurranabraher District, at 7am the morning after a stabbing. Other gardai had better things to do, than chase knackers.
    Also, standing in the middle of a national route with your hand in the air is a great way to get yourself killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

And to follow on from what Goldie Fish said,did you watch the vid at all Micropig ?
    Cos if you did you will have noticed that the two jockeys werent keen too stop,even when a squad car was trying to box them in.
    Maybe standing up in a classroom in front of unruly 5 year olds and putting up your hand and telling them to stop will work for you,but trying the same on a National road will get you run over,if not by the oncoming traffic in the opposing lane, then by the onrushing collection of horses,
    sulkies ,travellers,vans,dags and whatever else is on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Goldie fish was that Garda ok after in the video you posted?

Dutch Police I believe. Hospitalised with a broken jaw and badly shaken.
    Caused by driver rubbernecking accident on opposite carriageway where ambulance had come from.
    Same incident, different angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭ciaran_h

yore wrote: »
    Gardai display power best when intimidating others.
    These boys were not intimidated.
    Gardai knew that they would respond.
    Amazing how you and I can get penalty points doing 10 miles over the speed limit and these boys walk away.

The majority of Gardai are fat lazy cowards and bullies. We see plenty of footage of them battering students and ordinary local people down at the likes of Rossport (or Ballinaboy...See The film "The Pipe"). Funnily enough, I've never seen any footage of them going into gang areas like Moyross or Drimnagh and using similar force to break up those gangs. Battering protesters is a day out for them and something to laugh about with their mates afterwards.

The footage of the unconscious girl in the student protests being dragged out and dumped on the side of the road is disgusting.

A lot of them are as bad if not worse than the criminals. That's my personal experience of them.

Believe it or not theres not hordes of gangs to b
    reak up in drimnagh.....herald is a grand read isnt it

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭Invader_Zimmy

Wow, travelers involved in illegal activities. I find this truly surprising.

A wise Garda told me that they have done nothing illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

ciaran_h wrote: »
    Believe it or not theres not hordes of gangs to b
    reak up in drimnagh.....herald is a grand read isnt it

I never said there was. However there have been groupings of people connected to there who have been shot due to on-going feuds.

It's nothing got to do with the vast majority of people from there.

The point is that the man on the street knows who the troublemakers are. The Guards know it too..... Yet these people seem to operate with impunity :confused:

One "gang" causes a problem. You don't need hordes of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

An oxymoron if ever I saw one * :D

* in 90% of cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

It's made it on TV in the States now. Dan Lebatard's show on ESPN were having a good laugh about it.

I'm sure they are.

This crowd along with the IRA/SF brigade are enough to make one ashamed to be Irish sometimes.:mad:

They're a total drag on the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 rosco12

really?!?!?!?! your "wise" garda is a fool. Endangerment, endangering traffic and that's just to name a few offences that all the drivers and sulky drivers could be done for, the van and car drivers could also be done for dangerous driving. I am also sure that all people identified will be fully prosecuted (unless your "wise" garda is investigating). Micropig coupling this comment with your previous comment I can only come to one conclusion, and that sir is that you are an idiot.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Your ignorance is astounding. What should they be arrested for?

rosco12 wrote: »
    really?!?!?!?! your "wise" garda is a fool. Endangerment, endangering traffic and that's just to name a few offences that all the drivers and sulky drivers could be done for, the van and car drivers could also be done for dangerous driving. I am also sure that all people identified will be fully prosecuted (unless your "wise" garda is investigating). Micropig coupling this comment with your previous comment I can only come to one conclusion, and that sir is that you are an idiot.

Maybe read the thread next time or is that how the Guards work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

OP, you might even say they were "horsing around."

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

horatio.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Any word from Pavee Point?

Have they informed us we are all bigots :(

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Any word from Pavee Point?

Have they informed us we are all bigots :(

Sulkies Racing Statement
    May 8th, 2012
    Pavee Point has issued a statement on the issue of Sulkies Racing, subsequent to the publication online of footage online showing illegal and dangerous racing on a main road.

8 May 2012:

Pavee Point is concerned that all the participants involved in the event filmed placed themselves, their animals and other road users in danger.

This was a completely unacceptable misuse of a public road and Pavee Point calls on anybody contemplating similar activities to stop and consider the safety of their animals, themselves and other road users.

We are concerned that the practice of Sulkie Racing, which is a longstanding tradition within and outside the Traveller Community, should not be conflated with the actions of the participants in this event — Sulkie Racing can be carried out in a way which is safe and well regulated, where there is space for it to take place. Examples of good practice exist around Ireland.

Notwithstanding the investigation which will now rightly take place into the events filmed, Pavee Point calls on local authorities to engage with Traveller organisations, horse owner projects and the Gardaí to investigate how to bring about a resolution which allows this long-standing tradition to continue in a manner which is safe and legal.

Update:

Independent.ie was earlier carrying an erroneous headline, describing Pavee Point press officer Ben Archibald as ‘Traveller Chief’ and ‘Traveller leader’. Neither of these descriptions are accurate.

After we made contact with them, the headline has been amended. At no point has Pavee Point or any staff member sought to be described in that manner

Maybe it wasn't the race the gardai was trying to stop, but the horse to ask why she never returned his calls:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Independent.ie was earlier carrying an erroneous headline, describing Pavee Point press officer Ben Archibald as ‘Traveller Chief’ and ‘Traveller leader’. Neither of these descriptions are accurate.

After we made contact with them, the headline has been amended. At no point has Pavee Point or any staff member sought to be described in that manner

Should have addressed him by his correct title: "King of the Pikeys".

Stark wrote: »
    Should have addressed him by his correct title: "King of the Pikeys".

From what I gather 'Boss' will do just fine:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

Ares wrote: »
    There really is a very simple solution to all this. I outlined before in detail but here's the without detail part.

1) Clear the Aran and all other hospitable islands and put them on the mainland.
    2) Gather travellers together.
    3) Keep the law abiding and socially contributing travellers on the mainland and actively help them source employment and housing.
    4) Put the travellers that are bad eggs, i.e the types racing horses on roads and cause general issues, on the islands left to there own devices with food helicoptered in on a fortnightly basis.

Society keeps the desirable element, the undesirable element are free to practice their culture as they wish with being interfered with or interfering.
    And Steralise the lot of them so no more in-breeding !

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

four18 wrote: »
    And Steralise the lot of them so no more in-breeding !

Anymore updates on this? I'm guessing they got away with it because this country is so fcuked up big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

One of these would have stopped them :cool: Just run the bastards over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Gingernuts31

teednab-el wrote: »
    Anymore updates on this? I'm guessing they got away with it because this country is so fcuked up big time.

You ca be guaranteed they starting shouting discrimination and boll!x like that and the guards let them go. Traveller : what guard?, no that wasn't me driving that car into oncoming traffic following patrick, that was my passenger who was driving. Guard: I saw you driving I was beside you and saw you driving. Traveller: No guard that was patrick the boy you think you saw on the sulky, I was on the sulky and he was driving the car.

Id say the conversation went something like that. Fcuking b*stards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

OP, you might even say they were "horsing around."

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

horatio.jpg

"Don's Glasses"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

CruelCoin wrote: »
    "Don's Glasses"

YEAAAAAH!, It dident really work as I planed. :(

:cool:
    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAHH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

Ares wrote: »
    There really is a very simple solution to all this. I outlined before in detail but here's the without detail part.

1) Clear the Aran and all other hospitable islands and put them on the mainland.
    2) Gather travellers together.
    3) Keep the law abiding and socially contributing travellers on the mainland and actively help them source employment and housing.
    4) Put the travellers that are bad eggs, i.e the types racing horses on roads and cause general issues, on the islands left to there own devices with food helicoptered in on a fortnightly basis.

Society keeps the desirable element, the undesirable element are free to practice their culture as they wish with being interfered with or interfering.

And nuke it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Sorry for bringing up this old thread up again but I thought this video of someone from America viewing it and giving their reaction was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Water off a ducks back, they will be back at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

MagicSean wrote: »

Delighted!, they should have been charges with animal cruelty as well. Lets be honest though they will only get a fine though.