Travellers street racing with horses, Gardai involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Stark wrote: »
    Seriously?

Absolutly he says there was never a problem before the media got involved with them

Its never their fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Felexicon wrote: »
    Alot of the travelling community have legitimate sources of income

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

How can you be so sure. Alot of the travelling community have legitimate sources of income

Those travellers obviously dont. That was filmed on a weekday during normal human working hours. Unless you count the winnings from these races as legitimate income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

The horses should have being taken of the racers on grounds of cruelty . And the riders charged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Absolutly he says there was never a problem before the media got involved with them

Its never their fault

Brilliant. More excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Pavee Point are blaming the media for all this Anti-social behaviour the mouthpiece on newstalk says programs like Big Fat Tacky Wedding are filling the heads of this innocent,hard working group of people with notions of stardom

I don't know how para phrased that is , but the essence of it is unreal.

These people HAVE to take some responsibility for their actions.

Would it have been channel 4's fault if a dozen of them , plus a few others were wiped out because the HGV driver hadn't seen them and ploughed into them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

So is it a few bad apples, or alot of bad apples.

Used to think live and let live, but having family members living beside

these "deep cultural people" they are a law, unto the selves.

Everyday it is full of drama, look at me, loud in your face behaviour.

Do what they like without any regard for anyone else.

Driving brand new cards+ van, no jobs and even one day the mother of

the brood in the house was telling the men/kids who were fighting.

"To get out, she pays €50 a month rent"

Her house...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

They have no fixed address sothe guards can do nothing about it.as usual or they will be accused of racism by the usual crowd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Law is afraid of them, remember about a year ago when 3 young fellas were messing on the road, hanging out windows etc, they were all done on the evidence from the Youtube clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

hondasam wrote: »
    Seriously you want to live in a country where that could happen?
    It's wrong what they are doing but shooting them is a bit OTT.

It does really work, crime fell drastically in a certain area of Mayo after one guy, who as luck would have it happened to have nearly 20 outstanding warrants for his arrest, accidently got shot twice ;)
    Bazinga_N wrote: »
    Actually they race down a pretty main road frequently.

Listen, this went virally around my school everyone was laughing, as was anyone we met outside of school.

Ah in school. :rolleyes:
    Carlaaaaaaaaaaaaa town is the mothership for travellers.

I think that distinction would go to Rathkeale or even Tuam.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 169 ✭✭skoomi

What the hell is Pavee Point anyway? Just one single traveller who has a blog?

The organization doesn't seem to do anything other than release press statements along the lines of "This does not reflect our society" every time there's a traveller fued/death/riot/shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

skoomi wrote: »
    What the hell is Pavee Point anyway? Just one single traveller who has a blog?

The organization doesn't seem to do anything other than release press statements along the lines of "This does not reflect our society" every time there's a traveller fued/death/riot/shenanigans.

Its a lobby group that blames everything but the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭ravendude

How can you be so sure. Alot of the travelling community have legitimate sources of income
    :D:D:pac::pac::D:D
    You're some comedian you are hahaha, -I nearly fell off my chair laughing, - made my day, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I really want a horse and a sulkie now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭ravendude

Show Time wrote: »
    As i am a law abiding citizen i see no reason not to have the Gardai armed in the current climate of the country in general.

And of course they don't have to shoot to kill when an injury would send the same message. You would see the crime rates drop for copper robbing straight away.

I think we need to call a spade a spade at this point. They are a laughing stock to scumbags.
    I've seen fellas throwing bags of chips at guards in town and all they do was rub themselves down pathetically while other lads throw more chips and ketchup at them. These rats have no respect for them whatsoever, and sure would you blame them when they're such a soft touch (that is except to decent citizens of course).

They need to be given proper batons and carry them visibly, along with pepper spray and tazers if need be.
    We can think of guns later on, - but they need some basic armaments to be taken just a little bit seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Felexicon

ravendude wrote: »
    :D:D:pac::pac::D:D
    You're some comedian you are hahaha, -I nearly fell off my chair laughing, - made my day, thanks
    Couldn't even keep a straight face typing it tbh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Only in Ireland would you see these muppets doing this, absolute disgrace with no respect for others :mad:

Ah leave the poor minority group alone ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

thebaz wrote: »
    I live in dublin , and driving around the place is like something from big brother , if I'm 5 mph over the speed limit , fine and points - a few minutes late on parking , bang - ticket or clamp - so yeah i find it funny what happened in Mallow , we are in the same country ?

I've seen this kind of nonsense in Co. Dublin too. Not to mention the odd horse wandering the M50.

Or, how about the crazy "horse market" that takes place in Smithfield, right in the city centre.

I don't think Mallow's all that different to any random part of Co. Dublin / Kildare etc.

If it had happened in Cork City there'd be more likelihood of Garda back up being near by.

What's attracting them to Mallow is the infrastructure i.e. the road, it's not something that's a particular issue associated with Northern Co. Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Those travlers live up near where I work in Hollyhill in Cork. My bus driver said he recognised at least 2 or 3 of them :( You should see them with the horses on the street right outside Apple :( It's awful :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

I'd get banned if I said what I really want.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

thebiglad wrote: »
    teednab-el wrote: »
    I know what I would have done if driving one of those artic lorries. I would have creamed the van on the wrong side of the road too if possible. Scum of the earth there.

You can be sure they would make an insurance claim using their insurance provider - the Motor Insurance Bureau of Ireland - and probably win!!

At the very least your insurance policy would be tied up for 2-3 years whilst the claim is processed regardless of whether the ultimate claim is successful.

Oh and AGS will probably prosecute for driving without due care or similar...

I would have made sure that by creaming the van no one in it would live. I'm sorry but I feel so strongly about this. Therefore no one would be alive to claim but they wouldn't have a chance anyway as there is a video clearly showing that they were on the wrong side of the road. Try defending that in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Think this song is pretty appropriate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

You cannot take the Traaaavelrer out, in the blood (BOSS)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Solair wrote: »

Or, how about the crazy "horse market" that takes place in Smithfield, right in the city centre.

Isn't that where Guards go for the ride?:D

Laois_Man wrote: »
    I got caught in the middle of one of these races just outside Carlow town a couple of months ago!

They were racing in front of me, behind me and overtaking me on both sides - all while screaming abuse at me to get out of the way - as if I could! (and me with a 2 year old in the back of the car).

Couldn't even overtake for ages as infront of the race, there were load of vans with young lads hanging out of them recording the whole thing - with the best of cameras!

I'm surprised you weren't arrested for obstructing the race:p

• Site Banned Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Ares

There really is a very simple solution to all this. I outlined before in detail but here's the without detail part.

1) Clear the Aran and all other hospitable islands and put them on the mainland.
    2) Gather travellers together.
    3) Keep the law abiding and socially contributing travellers on the mainland and actively help them source employment and housing.
    4) Put the travellers that are bad eggs, i.e the types racing horses on roads and cause general issues, on the islands left to there own devices with food helicoptered in on a fortnightly basis.

Society keeps the desirable element, the undesirable element are free to practice their culture as they wish with being interfered with or interfering.

Ares wrote: »
    There really is a very simple solution to all this. I outlined before in detail but here's the without detail part.

1) Clear the Aran and all other hospitable islands and put them on the mainland.
    2) Gather travellers together.
    3) Keep the law abiding and socially contributing travellers on the mainland and actively help them source employment and housing.
    4) Put the travellers that are bad eggs, i.e the types racing horses on roads and cause general issues, on the islands left to there own devices with food helicoptered in on a fortnightly basis.

Society keeps the desirable element, the undesirable element are free to practice their culture as they wish with being interfered with or interfering.

No, our islands are lovely

Now Spike Island, with a few renovations on the buildings might just suit......We could rename it Pike Island:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

Hi Ares,

I agree with you, although I dont think I would be so generous.
    JB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

batistuta9 wrote: »
    what law are yous talking about that there is no power to arrest them with

can people not be done for motoring offences if they weren't caught breaking them at the time or what

Dangerous driving and failing to stop only carry powers of arrest for identifying and charging the driver. Charging the driver requires permission to be obtained following an investigation file. So if the Garda knows who the driver is he submits the file looking for a prosecution and then arrests and charges the person or summons them to court. If the Gardaí know the identities of the people involved then they don't actually need to arrest them to bring them to court.
    Pottler wrote: »
    Absolute guff - If a Gard tries to stop me and I swerve around him and keep going regardless, I WILL be handcuffed face down on the tarmac and given a belt of a baton, a swift trip to the barracks followed by a rapid court apperance. That is a daily fact and you are spouting absolute rubbish to defend the indefensible. If I fail to stop for a gard, even on the right side of the road, driving a fully insured and taxed car, with a valid licence, I will be arrested and charged with evading arrest and failing to stop. No question about it whatsoever. Guff Sean, pure guff.

If you are arrested it will be for identification or charging only. In a case involving multiple vehicles and drivers there needs to be an investigation before anyone can be charged and so there will be no arrest made until the investigation is complete. There is no power to arrest for the investigation.
    micropig wrote: »

Now Spike Island, with a few renovations on the buildings might just suit......We could rename it Pike Island:D

You're out of hiding. Have you studied up on your material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

micropig wrote: »

Too near, how about Wake Island

MagicSean wrote: »

You're out of hiding. Have you studied up on your material.

Yeah, I was banged up for doing 51 in a 50km/h zone

How about this?:p

Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994
    Disorderly conduct in public place.

5.—(1) It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to engage in offensive conduct—

(a) between the hours of 12 o'clock midnight and 7 o'clock in the morning next following, or

(b) at any other time, after having been requested by a member of the Garda Síochána to desist.

(2) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500.

(3) In this section “offensive conduct” means any unreasonable behaviour which, having regard to all the circumstances, is likely to cause serious offence or serious annoyance to any person who is, or might reasonably be expected to be, aware of such behaviour.

Too near, how about Wake Island

Perfect