Travellers street racing with horses, Gardai involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

MagicSean wrote: »
    It's not hairsplitting. It's basic law. You can't arrest someone if there is no legal power to arrest them.
    Absolute guff - If a Gard tries to stop me and I swerve around him and keep going regardless, I WILL be handcuffed face down on the tarmac and given a belt of a baton, a swift trip to the barracks followed by a rapid court apperance. That is a daily fact and you are spouting absolute rubbish to defend the indefensible. If I fail to stop for a gard, even on the right side of the road, driving a fully insured and taxed car, with a valid licence, I will be arrested and charged with evading arrest and failing to stop. No question about it whatsoever. Guff Sean, pure guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Outrageous scenes in that video, there's enough tragedy and carnage on our roads without these clowns doing their best to add to it, in the name of "sport".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

shocking carry on if that happened in any other country there would have been about 20 cop cars surrounding those muppets and have them all in handcuffs and face down in the dirt god we really are a joke of a country:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

On RTE Radio now.

Sure thats no good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

YFlyer wrote: »

If it's real they should get the boot and pension entitlements taken away, simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

meanwhile if you drive a couple of mph over the speed limit in any urban area they are quic to point and fine you , never mind the clamping racket , wonder what Road Safety authority have to say about this - let me guess , lets just reduce the speed limit again for all road users , except of course sulkies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

vicwatson wrote: »
    If it's real they should get the boot and pension entitlements taken away, simples
    Far too much of that goes on - I lived next door to one of Irelands biggest drug dealers for years and it used to sicken my h0le watching the local Gards having a good auld chat and a laugh with him out on the street like he was a jolly good fellow. He was a murdering w4nker who pushed drugs onto kids yet he was best buddies with the Cops. Same as this horse racing crap -ordinary joe has no tax on car - big issue and plenty of hassle from cops. Outlaws taking the total pi55 - Gards back the feck off "shure what could you do"... A thing I hate about Ireland, the double standards applied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

I live in Mallow.. I happen to know a lot of people in this videos.. A lot of people from around the country are acting pretty bad towards this.

I would just like to make a quick point. We see this everyday and are completely used to it. This one did honestly get out of hand but these races are quite common.

Also, the majority of Mallow people found this hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    I live in Mallow.. I happen to know a lot of people in this videos.. A lot of people from around the country are acting pretty bad towards this.

I would just like to make a quick point. We see this everyday and are completely used to it. This one did honestly get out of hand but these races are quite common.

If a fatal accident occurred during that race, would the people of Mallow be laughing as they buried their own relatives and friends? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I find it hard to believe the majority of people in Mallow found this hilarious. Do you see this every day on the main National road? and it's just because this incident was filmed and aired for all to see & the coverage it is receiving from all media.

You saying this happens all the time and allowed to happen all the time in and around Mallow? on this National road or on the tertiary roads around Mallow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭kenmc

the arctic driver should have done his civic duty and "accidentally" lost control of the truck a bit. would've made for a better video to see the trailer block the road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

shamrock55 wrote: »
    shocking carry on if that happened in any other country there would have been about 20 cop cars surrounding those muppets and have them all in handcuffs and face down in the dirt god we really are a joke of a country:mad:

it's our kulture.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Ah that makes it alright then, sure twas only a bit of gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I live in dublin , and driving around the place is like something from big brother , if I'm 5 mph over the speed limit , fine and points - a few minutes late on parking , bang - ticket or clamp - so yeah i find it funny what happened in Mallow , we are in the same country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

If you had to bury one of your kids because of these reckless prícks, would you write such a stupid post, i dont think so. After watching the video i really dont know how it didnt all end in tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I find it hard to believe the majority of people in Mallow found this hilarious. Do you see this every day on the main National road? and it's just because this incident was filmed and aired for all to see & the coverage it is receiving from all media.

You saying this happens all the time and allowed to happen all the time in and around Mallow? on this National road or on the tertiary roads around Mallow?
    Actually they race down a pretty main road frequently.

Listen, this went virally around my school everyone was laughing, as was anyone we met outside of school.

Also, I pointed out that, this particular one was very bad. Oh and just in case I gave off the wrong impression, I'm not in favour of this happening. Completely the opposite!! I think it's horrible to the animals and shocking they get away with it. But, they do. And ye are all here throwing a big fuss about it, when I most of ye don't live anywhere near Mallow.

I personally live in a council estate near a large traveller family, who have some connection to the race, I'm assuming. Try living with it. I have much more of a right to complain than most of ye do. So please, it would be very much appreciated if you didn't complain how myself and many other Mallow residents cope with this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

I swear if i was driving in the opposite direction id plow right into one of them, the only thing putting me off is i wouldn't want to hurt the horse..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Pottler wrote: »
    Far too much of that goes on - I lived next door to one of Irelands biggest drug dealers for years and it used to sicken my h0le watching the local Gards having a good auld chat and a laugh with him out on the street like he was a jolly good fellow. He was a murdering w4nker who pushed drugs onto kids yet he was best buddies with the Cops. Same as this horse racing crap -ordinary joe has no tax on car - big issue and plenty of hassle from cops. Outlaws taking the total pi55 - Gards back the feck off "shure what could you do"... A thing I hate about Ireland, the double standards applied.

It would make you wonder, wouldn't it ?

Pity more people don't take their heads out of the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Actually they race down a pretty main road frequently.

Listen, this went virally around my school everyone was laughing, as was anyone we met outside of school.

Also, I pointed out that, this particular one was very bad. Oh and just in case I gave off the wrong impression, I'm not in favour of this happening. Completely the opposite!! I think it's horrible to the animals and shocking they get away with it. But, they do. And ye are all here throwing a big fuss about it, when I most of ye don't live anywhere near Mallow.

I personally live in a council estate near a large traveller family, who have some connection to the race, I'm assuming. Try living with it. I have much more of a right to complain than most of ye do. So please, it would be very much appreciated if you didn't complain how myself and many other Mallow residents cope with this situation.

Don't blow things out of proportion here. You said the majority of people in Mallow found this hilarious, bit of an over-statement? How's about clarity in not saying the majority of Mallow people found it hilarious instead of just saying what you said here, and what you saw yourself at the school? Mallow is a fairly large area, and you cannot justify saying the majority of people from Mallow found it hilarious, very hard to believe. It going viral at school and that being laughed at there - yes, very believeable on the other hand & probably accurate too.

I don't see how saying that just because you are used to seeing it, and that you say the majority of Mallow people find it hilarious is showing how you are coping with it.

It goes on country-wide. I've driven against this on tertiary roads up the country before & reported the incidents.
    You should just state what you know and see first-hand and not bring in the majority of people from an area to try and justify a point (in saying they found it hilarious).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

this went virally around my school

Mystery solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

feel sorry for the horses been driven by a lesser species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

recognised one of the "gentlemen" at the end, he's barred from my place of work for stealing.

Such nice chaps. Lock em up i say, let them do the time. The don't give two f*cks about the law or decent law abiding people.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I know what I would have done if driving one of those artic lorries. I would have creamed the van on the wrong side of the road too if possible. Scum of the earth there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

Oh, if only Operation Green had gone ahead :(

I will normally defend our Gardai until I'm blue in the face, but it's utterly pathetic that they didn't take more effective action in this case when they had people driving down the other side of the road at high speeds into oncoming traffic.

I didn't find the video funny, I do find it hilarious that we're expected to sit back and respect this "culture" though along with contribute to its success in the taxes that are taken from us every month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

How did they all get time off work to attend this?

uberalles wrote: »
    How did they all get time off work to attend this?
    Their excitement over horses and bass was thoroughly misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I just watched it again, Apparently the horses' names are Russian Lady and Chrissy's Philly..I knew some Travellers before that named their two horses, Applejack and pepper. :)